Laramie Martinez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 46
7.5Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Adventure Time: 2016 SpOooktacular #1

Sep 21, 2016

This isn't a comic that is going to change the way you see comics. It isn't the best example of what makes Adventure Time great. But it is a solid piece of writing and artwork for any Adventure Time fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness: Ash for President (One Shot) #1

Aug 31, 2016

All in all, this is a great funny book. Will it win an Eisner? No. Will it encourage a third party candidate to enter the fray late in the presidential race? Maybe. But what it will definitely do is make you laugh. And laughing about what's on the news is always better than being embarrassed by it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Baltimore: Empty Graves #5

Aug 3, 2016

It's a difficult job to wrap up an arc, an even more difficult job to wrap up an arc with a reveal of a character so long coming. While not a major misstep, this issue does feel a little rushed, a little setup heavy and, as a conclusion to a storyline, falls short of previous concluding issues. But there is hope in this issue as well. The Red King has finally arrived and to use his own words, "there is so much more to come."

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Battlestar Galactica: Gods & Monsters #1

Nov 2, 2016

This issue falls into the realm of average. It doesn't make any mistakes, but I think it misses the opportunity to be something more. If you're a fan this issue could be hit or miss, but both the art and the narrative are consistent. They are both focused on telling a smaller story.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #2

Aug 17, 2016

This is an excellent comeback for the creative team. After six months of not working together it's good to see a team hit the ground running. I can't wait to see what this team will do with the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #3

Sep 21, 2016

The story continues to move forward, diving deeper into characters and raising the stakes for the family as a unit. From the cover of issue #4 it looks like Abe will be getting the background treatment next, and as for rest of the family, it looks like there might be some hope for them yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #4

Oct 19, 2016

That's it for this issue. Again, if you haven't picked this up already, please do. You're missing out. Unless you're waiting for that trade, in which case, stay strong. The time will come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #5

Nov 18, 2016

It's a decent issue, a little sad that we didn't get more narrative bang for our buck, but I trust this team. There was one small hint in this issue, a single window where the Colonel saw into the future. It's a storyline I hope to see come into the forefront now that the main cast have been established.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #6

Dec 21, 2016

This will probably be the last issue for a while and it leaves us with a lot to think about. Overall I've enjoyed this series. It wears its influences on it's sleeve, bouncing from genre to genre in the same way a party host gives guests the full house tour. I feel as though we have now just finished the tour and we're set to spending some time in this world they've made. I'm looking forward to getting comfortable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Conan: The Slayer #2

Aug 24, 2016

These are small problems. And in some case, my critiques can still be fixed through storytelling. Overall this issue is a dramatic improvement from the last issue. I feel as though the team is working their way up. The pacing is there, and the art feels strong enough to deliver. It's problems still bring it down to the ranking of "good", but it's a "good" that has the potential for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Conan: The Slayer #3

Sep 28, 2016

Conan the Slayer #3 is a well-paced book with solid art with some standout panels. It contains three storylines which all provide the audience with a different level of suspense. I have to say that after this issue, I'm convinced that the storyline and art style are headed in the right direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Conan: The Slayer #4

Oct 26, 2016

My final word on this issue is that it's a decent comic, if you're following the series you'll need to pick this one up and you won't regret it too much. I do think some of the character development could have been done a little better, but it does seem like, Cullen Bunn is looking to either make a sacrifice out of him or bring him into power.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 9, 2017

If you're a fan of the Weird Western genre this is definitely worth a pick up. In my opinion there are never enough weird westerns in the world so any new book is worth looking into, but this one especially shows promise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death Be Damned #2

Mar 17, 2017

In addition to the above mentioned reveals, the issue as some well executed gun fights and another body that rises from the dead. We're still very much in the set up part of the arch, with the creators keeping their narrative cards close to their chests. But this issue also gave me just enough to keep me from feeling that I'm in a plot desert, waiting desperately for another wiff of some important information.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Demonic (2016) #1

Aug 17, 2016

In the end, this issue just has too much going on to be considered better than average. It suffers from the age-old problem of trying to do too much in the introductory issue. There are good moments, and if you're a fan of crime/horror and can get past the superhero/supervillain aspects, it provides some intriguing mysteries. Let's hope the next issues will focus a bit more and decide where this character will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dungeons & Dragons: Frost Giant's Fury #1

Jan 11, 2017

A good start for what I hope to be another great series. A few fumbles by a new artist getting their feet wet in a new series, but, as I've said with many a comic before this, it isn't enough to ruin the whole issue for me. Good writing and solid art make for a fun read for any fantasy fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Empowered and the Soldier of Love #1

Feb 9, 2017

That's it for empowered, I have to say, it was ok. I'll probably read the rest of the series. I only have one question. Is her suit really made of stretched out versions of this? Fans of the series let me know.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #1

Nov 18, 2016

This comic is a buddy comedy, it's sci fi, it's fantasy and it's got a surprising amount of heart. I'm looking forward to what this team is going to do with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ether #2

Jan 2, 2017

At this point the most interesting thing about this book isn't the main whodoneit plot thread. The most interesting aspect is whether or not Boone Dias is actually experiencing all of these adventures or if he is just a man telling himself something to keep going.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #3

Jan 25, 2017

It looks like Kindt is heading towards some kind of revelation. Maybe a convergence of the two plot lines we've seen in the series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Faith #2

Aug 29, 2016

This issue has great art, decent pacing, and intriguing plot developments. It struggles in the beginning, telling us more than it shows, but by the end of the issue, there is a sense of beginning. Houser is still finding her feet, and that shows in this issue. But overall the issue is still a good time. There is a lot of hope in this issue, and I think it provides a lot of hope for the series. As I was reading, I kept thinking, "This is how it starts, this is how the story begins." Now we get to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Faith #3

Sep 14, 2016

This issue feels like everyone is hitting all of their marks at full steam. The plot was well paced, the character voices and interactions were superb, and the art is the most creative I've seen it the three issues. Faith continues to be one of the best feel good comics on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash Gordon: Kings Cross #1

Nov 3, 2016

You're going to have fun with this book. Even if you are not a fan of the series, you won't regret picking this one up. It is shaping up to be a classic adventure story with grand schemes and daring heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash Gordon: Kings Cross #2

Dec 8, 2016

If you want a break from grimdark narratives, with brooding heroes draped in shadows, pick up this issue. You'll probably find that special something that got you into comics as a kid. Maybe it was rip-roaring adventure, maybe it was over the top villains, or maybe it was just the art. What ever it was, this issue will have it. Or at the very least it will change the way you feel about the definition of a spider monkey.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
From Under Mountains #1

Oct 18, 2016

As I said earlier, this book feels like an introduction. As if Claire Gibson and Marian Churchland just wanted to place their pieces where they wanted. There is one character's story arc that is told pretty much from start to finish in this issue, but as for the rest of cast by then end, we only catch a glimpse of where they could possibly end up. This emphasis on setting up the plot comes at the cost of a satisfactory ending. By the end of it, you want more out of the arc. Again, this is a small complaint for a book which manages to create a lush world filled with a pantheon of its own unique mythic figures, legends, and history. The world building within this story is what really impressed me, each culture feels flushed out and different. It leaves you feeling like there are so much more of this world to explore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harrow County #16

Sep 14, 2016

If you read this comic like I did the first time around, you will probably be disappointed. This isn't a climax issue. This is a plateau, an experiment in how comics are told. It's one of those issues that's true worth won't be known until the arc is resolved. Despite its flaws, it's still one of the better books out there. And if the story is going where I think it's going, I think the real answers should be coming in soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Giants #1

Dec 8, 2016

The Storyteller: Giants #1 is a must read for any fans of the series or for any lover of folk tales. I can't think of any other series which presents these old tales with the level of dedication to the source material. You simply cannot beat it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jim Henson's The Storyteller: Giants #2

Jan 12, 2017

I don't see this series ever dropping below a 4/5 for me. They have constantly shown dedication not only to the original sources, but the soul of the stories they present. Fables can often be a minefield of outdated prejudice and backward ways of thinking, but the Storyteller series continues to shine a light on the heart of what makes these stories great. It is their ability to inspire.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Judge Dredd (2015) Annual #2017

Mar 6, 2017

This annual makes me want to read the Judge Dredd ongoing. It's as simple as that. If you're looking for a gateway into a new comic, give this one shot. If you don't like great science fiction comics, then why are you reading this?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Neil Gaiman's Troll Bridge #1

Sep 26, 2016

If you like taking chances on experimental art styles, are a fan of Gaiman or are just looking for a comic to fill that dark and strange corner of your bookshelf, give this one a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Night's Dominion #1

Sep 9, 2016

I had a lot of questions at the end of this issue, which is always a good sign for a premier issue. I'm putting it down as one of the standouts for this week. If you're a fan of sword and sorcery or heists, check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Night's Dominion #2

Oct 19, 2016

If you haven't picked this one up, I urge you to do so. It's a great comic with a lot to offer any fan of fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Night's Dominion #3

Nov 23, 2016

The bottom line is that this issue wasn't bad enough to keep me form coming back. I have faith that this series still has a great story to tell. I believe this issue was just a rushed attempt to get a bunch of loose threads tied up. Hopefully, this will clear Naifeh to tell the story he wants to tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Night's Dominion #5

Jan 19, 2017

My final word on this issue is to stick with it. If you're like me you've followed this arc to the penultimate issue. I believe it is good enough to warrant us seeing it through to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Night's Dominion #6

Feb 17, 2017

If you've followed this series so far, make sure to check out this conclusion, if this is the first review you've read of this series, make sure to start from the beginning and read through this arc. This was one of the more surprising series to come out recently and I've had a great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
One Week In The Library #1

Dec 14, 2016

I liked this book. I liked the direction it took and I'm still thinking about it a week after I read it. I will read it again and I'll probably have a new opinion about it by the time I finish it a second time. The only reason I'm not giving it five stars is because this book isn't for everyone. This book is for a certain person looking for something a bit more literary in their comic book. If that describes you or even if you think there is a chance it could describe you, check this one out.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Riverdale (One Shot) #1

Mar 6, 2017

This book isn't really for fans of comic book Archie; this is a book for people looking to get into the CW series. And while there may be some crossover there, I think it is an important distinction to make. Ultimately, this comic is an execution of a very specific goal, to introduce comic book fans to the Riverdale T.V. show. It is a goal which I think they adequately pull off, but I cannot really recommend for anyone who isn't in this comic's very small target audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Serenity: No Power In The 'Verse #1

Oct 26, 2016

The story doesn't offer a whole lot of new ideas, but it does lay some groundwork for what could be interesting conflicts.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Serenity: No Power In The 'Verse #2

Dec 3, 2016

That's really all I've got for this issue. It's not bad, but definitely a step back from a much stronger first issue. Plots were moved forward, art had some great moments, but still is figuring out characters. As a whole series however, I still think they're moving in the right direction. They've given almost everyone on the crew something to worry about and I'mintrigued to see how it's all going to play out.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Killer Inside Me #1

Aug 31, 2016

There is definitely effort here. You can see it in the writing as well as the art, but sometimes for one reason or another the end product does not live up to what we would have liked. As I said earlier, the creators make an attempt at respecting the source material, but in the end, they just can't seem to squeeze enough of the story into the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Killer Inside Me #2

Oct 17, 2016

I probably won't be continuing with this series, not because it doesn't show promise, but I think I've seen what the best and the worst it will likely be. Also, I find that my bias from reading the book is just way too overwhelming to be a fair judge. I wish them the best of luck; this issue could be the stepping stone they need to bring this series up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Power of the Dark Crystal #1

Feb 23, 2017

I don't know what space The Dark Crystal occupies in most people's minds, Personally, I don't think there is enough of a dedicated fan base for this to hit a widespread nostalgic spot for readers. However, I do think that this series has the potential to be something interesting for anyone who likes fantasy.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Underwater Welder #1

Aug 10, 2016

I think it's fitting that I write this review upon my second reading of this book. The story deals with the concept of memory and how our perception of events can have a dramatic impact on our lives. It reminds that sometimes you might not like what you see when you glimpse into your past, but what you can learn when you look back is always worth the struggle.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Wicked Righteous #1

Jan 19, 2017

This comic was a mixed bag. The flashback seems clich and the art needs a little bit more oomph in portraying the violence of this world, but there were things I liked too. There are a few mysteries which make this book different from most post-apocalyptic books. Sadly, I just can't bring myself to give it a stamp of approval. There is too much wrong with this to be considered average.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Toil and Trouble #1

Sep 21, 2016

In short, Toil and Trouble is a great comic. Scripted by a talented writer and brought to life by two up and coming artists. If you like comics, this is one of the good ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Warhammer 40,000: Will of Iron #1

Oct 18, 2016

If you like Warhammer 40K odds are you're going to like this book. It's a big, hulking brute force kind of book, but the lack of background information make it a hard sell for any newcomer.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

March

More