L.E.H. Light's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 46
7.7Avg. Review Rating

8.5
A-Force #4

Sep 14, 2015

This is a classic story told well. It isn't surprising and the "twist" — oh, Loki is the villian! — isn't. But the characterizations are true and believable. The all-women crew works well and never resorts to stereotyping while also remaining distinctively women, centered in their own paradise. Next issue is the conclusion of this arc, making way for the all-new, all-different A-Force which continues on after the end of BattleWorld. So much to read, so little time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A-Force #5

Oct 16, 2015

Overall, this is a great comic series. It has a concise plot arc and the art fits each action perfectly. It is both action packed and emotional. While it is clear that a point about an all-women's team is being made, that is never taken too seriously. Practically every issue has a tongue-in-cheek reference to the woman-centered nature of the island and the plot, always keeping the reader in on the joke. It is accessible, fun, but not frivolous. If you're looking for an on-ramp to comics and the All-New, All-Different Marvel, it doesn't get much better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
A-Force (2016) #1

Jan 8, 2016

I love that shot. It is simultaneously the intelligent, rational lawyer Jennifer Walters and the muscle-bound, irrational She-Hulk. This is the kind of juxtaposition that this team can pull together, bringing a million stories into one panel. I expected nothing less. This was a good first issue and if they keep delivering, this will be one of my favorites of the new year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
A-Force (2016) #2

Feb 5, 2016

There's goodness in this comic " punching, kicking, magic-ing, dazzling goodness. Kelly Thompson joins the writing team on this issue as lead writer, with G. Willow Wilson getting the "with" next to her name. Thompson is coming off her success with Jem and the Holograms and Captain Marvel and the Carol Corps. It is hard to tell where she starts and Wilson ends, which is exactly what you want in a collabo of this level.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
A-Force (2016) #3

Mar 3, 2016

This issue ends with the set up for the showdown between Singularity and Antimatter. Let's see what revelations remain, and what sacrifices are yet to be made, in this battle to get rid of Antimatter for good.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
A-Force (2016) #4

Apr 15, 2016

For this arc though, there's no doubt this creative team is at the top of their game. The action-to-dialog balance was perfect and the emotional tenor was strong. This is pretty much everything you could ask for in a superhero comic. My recommendation is that you should buy two, one for you and one for your best girlfriend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A-Force (2016) #5

May 5, 2016

As expected, Thompson delivers the characterization and female relationships that you're looking for, drawing the team closer together even as they reveal all the secrets they're keeping from each other. This is a fun read that doesn't disappoint. You'd be hard pressed to find a better comic for your money. I recommend you get in on this before the plot gets any deeper, you don't want to miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
A-Force (2016) #6

Jun 3, 2016

I love Singularity. Her look, her personality, she's just a pile of joy in every panel she's in. Unfortunately, her compliments don't slow down She-Hulk and the situation gets more and more out of A-Force's control and into The Countess'. The ending is a magnificent cliff-hanger that makes me want to make writer Kelly Thompson my best friend so she'll tell me what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
A-Force (2016) #7

Jul 21, 2016

The central fight of the issue looks fantastic, all Countess teal and Dazzler pink. The artists aligned well to bring the climax with a punch that had me cheering. I can't give you more detail or else I will spoil the hilarity and humanity of the ending, but just know that being up on your 80's pop will greatly deepen your appreciation of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
A-Force (2016) #8

Aug 12, 2016

This issue brings us the art of Paolo Siqueira and Rachelle Rosenberg. Their style is NOTHING at all like Caldwell and teams' from previous issues, and returns to the candy-coated look of Molina. I loved Molina's work on the first arc, and I think that this style will be well suited to fighting giant bugs.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
A-Force (2016) #10

Oct 21, 2016

This is a a'ight issue, the art still wins even with the new artist team on board, and it has a few of those moments that make superhero-ing seem like smash-bang-pow-fun. But maybe it is because this is the last issue that I'm left feeling disappointed. I don't know of any other all-women team up that will fill these A-Force shoes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New All-Different Avengers Annual #1

Aug 12, 2016

This comic is witty and biting and on point. This comic is like Twitter without the Trolls and the Trump. It is what I needed this week, and may be what you need next week. If you're a Ms. Marvel fan, or a fan fiction fan of any sort, this needs to be in your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #3

Feb 7, 2017

Black Panther: World of Wakanda has started out delivering on its promise to bring us the rest of the story about Wakanda. It feeds our communal imagination about the country and gives us more characters for our personal fan-fictions. It deserves a spot in your collection.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #4

Feb 16, 2017

The energy of the story is starting to drag. This is also the challenge of writing a story the ending of which I already know: you have to give me a reason to stay around for the telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #5

Mar 16, 2017

From here World of Wakanda continues, but without Roxane Gay, Alitha Martinez, Roberto Poggi, and Rachelle Rosenberg. The next issue will feature Rembert Browne as writer (he's got Grantland and New York Magazine credentials) and Joe Bennett as artist (who drew the original The Crew series back in the day). The story will return Kasper Cole, AKA The White Tiger, to comics, with a new direction and almost certainly more cross-over with the main Black Panther title and The Crew spin-off. In short, it is a great time to be a Black Panther fan. Keep it here to read reviews and commentary on all this goodness.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #5

Sep 30, 2016

Despite some odd artistic choices, this is still a good book. Well, at least I know it'll still be good as long as I know it's still going somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mae #1

May 17, 2016

The art is a blend of digital sleek and hand drawn sketchiness, with a muted color palette that switches to all blue/grey at every right moment. So far, the cast is all-white and all-female, but the hints of the plot allow for that to change. This a good start to a comic that has plenty of room to grow. I feel like I've just opened a door and am peeking around the edge to see what's on the other side. I'm walking through. If you're looking for a new fantasy title, you may want to also.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Mae #2

Jun 29, 2016

So while the comic itself is visually beautiful and the forces behind all of the secondary characters is clear, the main character feels like an empty space. It is hard to invest in an empty space or be interested in what happens to her. I am curious to see what's on the other side of the magic door, so I'm still reading to see how Ha spins his tale. But as to Mae herself? *shrug*

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mae #3

Jul 29, 2016

This was a fun issue, full of action and anticipation of adventure. The imagery is intriging, right down to the costume design of the Cimrterens. I'm glad I stuck with Mae and I'm hopeful that the coming issues will just keep getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mockingbird #1

Mar 11, 2016

The art is a work in progress. At times, the perspective is skewed even for a genre famous for improbable perspectives. At all times, however, Mockingbird looks badass, physically strong, socially confident, intellectually curious. This is a woman who's been in the shit, but never on her own, with her own plot and direction. Now here she is. Let's see how this puzzle box unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mockingbird #2

Apr 15, 2016

The art from Niemczyk and Rosenberg keeps up well, maintaining the classic super spy aesthetic while also introducing great color and emotion. There are a few odd visual moments, but none enough to ruin the overall fun of this comic. I'm now very intrigued by the challenge here " for Cain to maintain and interlock the plot of each individual issue with the start is one thing, but to maintain and interlock the art, clothes, and all the other little details that make a flashback believable " I'm excited to see the artistic team pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mockingbird #3

May 30, 2016

The issue wraps up with success, but doesn't move us any closer to solving the puzzle box of the overall plot. So we wait for next month. Rumor has it that Civil War II will impact Bobbi too. I for one look forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Mockingbird #4

Jun 30, 2016

I'm going to spend time this long weekend re-reading the previous issues and getting the events aligned so I'm ready for whatever surprises there are in the next issue. Is Mockingbird now a superhero? Or just a scientist with a strange relationship to ping pong balls? We'll find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mockingbird #5

Jul 29, 2016

One thing you have to say about this comic beginning to end, is that it is an action comic. Whether it is Hellfire Club members, teenaged girls, or science-terrorists, Bobbi knocks them all out with grace and skill and not one bit of remorse. It is fantastic to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mockingbird #6

Aug 18, 2016

In the end, what started as a "get the dirt on Hawkeye" mission turns into a much bigger mystery. Just as the boat sails into the Bermuda Triangle. The set up is clear, now let's watch while Bobbi goes full Miss Marple and cracks this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mockingbird #8

Oct 20, 2016

The wrap-up here is in keeping with the rest of the run " funny, sassy, Chardonnay-soaked, and corgi-filled. I enjoyed this comic so much and frankly I'm surprised and impressed that it came from one of the Big Two. If you can get your hands on the back issues, do so and see for yourself what a mainstream comic can be. You can read all our Mockingbird reviews here.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #1

Nov 23, 2015

There's definitely more to the gentrifying company than at first meets the eye and it is clear that Kamala's going to be drawn in. But can she save the neighborhood and get back her not-a-boyfriend Bruno at the same time?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #3

Jan 25, 2016

With Mike's help, Ms. Marvel settles the matter at hand but that doesn't let her off the hook with her fans, who expected who knows what from their idealized Internet folk hero. So while this intro hook is wrapped up, the outlines and themes of this series are becoming clear: what does a hero owe to her fans? Her community? How does she maintain her balance between her public and private lives? What do you do with the new girlfriend of your old crush? What is kombucha anyway? Whatever the answers, Ms. Marvel and her friends (and Wilson and the art team) will keep bringing their best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #5

Mar 11, 2016

And now I want to know how it ends. Not because I doubt that Kamala will defeat her own doubles, of course she will. I want to know how she satisfies the need to have them in the first place. What does she give up? Who does she finally have an honest conversation with? What is she going to wear to her brother's wedding?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #7

May 28, 2016

It is a fun setting full of sight gags in the backgrounds of the panels that will have you doing double takes. They definitely let Alphona do whatever he wanted with this art and it is glorious in its chaotic creativity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #9

Jul 29, 2016

It is all bad, but feeling manageable, until all of a sudden, it is altogether not manageable. What's Kamala going to do now? What do you mean I have to wait a month to find out?!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #14

Jan 12, 2017

Wilson and crew have perfected the short stories within a larger story framework of comic book story telling. This comic is nothing if not consistent in both quality and appearance. It is reliably good. In a world with new comics on offer every week, it is great to have a few of these reliable stories to come back to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2015) #15

Feb 10, 2017

This issue is short on action, and answers, but this is only part 2 of 4, there's so much more to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #16

Mar 16, 2017

Now everything is set for a final issue in the arc, which I'm sure Kamala will survive through a combination of embiggening and heart. But more heart than anything else. This comic just continues to win and make me feel good doing it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan #4

Aug 27, 2015

In The Deadlands, Logan meets another old friend and they team up for some classic zombie killing fun (not going to spoil that surprise!). I do enjoy Bendis' characterizations, each person is so distinct in accent, word choice, pacing — if you're writing dialog, this is how it should be done. In the end though, The Deadlands isn't where Logan is supposed to meet his Doom (hee hee. Sorry, couldn't resist that pun) and he again finds himself thrown into another realm. With this landing, I know we're getting somewhere: Logan lands in Manhattan which is where the roads in many of the other Secret Wars titles end. There's a convergence coming, and it is going to be good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Old Man Logan #5

Oct 9, 2015

And that's my final critique of this issue: nothing seems to happen. Logan lands. Emma explains. There's an implied or suggested ending to the Secret Wars event, then Logan is dropped back into a world just like ours, off to do"whatever it is Logan does. After being taken on a tour of so many domains, to imply an ending without giving me one is anti-climactic and leaves me feeling like this was all a set-up to get me to read the main Secret Wars title " Which I'm doing any way. I'm unsatisfied and Emma Frost, well-written angst, and beautiful art can't quite make up for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #7

Apr 22, 2016

There's no doubt that Raven has collected a surprisingly capable crew that is entertaining to follow even when she's not on the scene. Now to see what they can do when faced with their first real test in Free Woman's Castle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #8

May 20, 2016

The art in this issue is generally good but without the real standout scenes of the last issue. The color is a little muddy for my tastes. Characterization remains the highpoint, with each pirate having a unique face, range of expressions, and style of dress.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Princeless: Raven: The Pirate Princess #9

Jun 22, 2016

This issue is a real change of pace from previous issues — a fact that is both good and surprising. After the climax of meeting the key villains of the story, it is time for the characters and the plot to step back and redirect to the next arc. Don't worry, there's still plenty of swashbuckling and a good side of character development for the supporting cast. But there's also romance and angst, both of which have been bubbling under the surface in the triangle of Raven, Sunshine, and Ximena. These serious adult emotions are well handled by Whitley and an artist crew that just keeps growing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rat Queens #13

Nov 21, 2015

Overall, this is a solid, if not amazing, issue. It didn't feel like it was just passing time, but there is a sense that we're building up to something on the same level as the battle for Palisades. We just aren't there yet, so in the meantime, we get to enjoy the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Rat Queens #14

Jan 7, 2016

If I'm keeping it a-hundred, the plots haven't been as tight since Roc Upchurch had his run in with the law and left (was booted from) the series. I've given it a fair chance and the comic hasn't been the same. The art and story don't inform each other in the same way. I'm trying to be patient for Weibe and Fowler to develop that same rapport but it doesn't seem to be happening, leaving the plot wandering from character to character. I know the resolution is coming, and I'm hopeful that it will be as big as the last climax. But I picked up this comic because of the combination of the female characters and their aggressive, Gods-be-Damned, fantasy RPG hero ways. One without the other is just leaving me as limp as, well as limp as any Gary.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rat Queens #15

Mar 16, 2016

This is an emotional issue, filled with meaty, dramatic dialog and a couple of good fight scenes. In that way it is closer to what I like in my Rat Queens comics. Vi and Betty still get shorted on their time, but the time they do have expands their characters and plays the foil well for Dee and Hannah. I have no doubt the Queens will get back together by the end of the next issue, promised for next month, this all feels too formulaic for them not to. Maybe as the plot bends to make that happen it will continue to improve, bringing us back to the stronger issues of the first run.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rat Queens #16

May 4, 2016

The issue ends with a cliffhanger, of course, but one that could, if necessary only imply that the Queens are up to their old tricks. Their personalities are intact with sharp, funny lines. Their style reset has been completed, with a brighter color palette and more nudity. The team has been juggled just enough to give us something to speculate about. I do hope they all come back. As much as I disliked the last issues, the Rat Queens are still my girls and I don't want them to go. In the meantime, I'll be looking for a new dungeon crawl of a comic to enjoy. Recommendations anyone?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rat Queens (2017) #1

Mar 1, 2017

Should you pick it up? Yeah. If you have lingering issues about the team, I can understand that. But if you were a fan of Rat Queens before, there's plenty here to like. The team is coming together and the plot is developing nicely. The whole thing is snarky as all hell. I was excited to see this new opening and I remain optimistic about the future of the team. Fuck yeah, Rat Queens!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 8, 2016

If you like your comics complicated, unresolved, or edgy, this isn't it. If you're here for the fun, buy The Unstoppable Wasp. If you know a pre-teen girl who's interested in comics but doesn't know where to start, buy her a subscription. When she becomes a theoretical physicist, you can take a little slice of the credit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Unstoppable Wasp #2

Feb 2, 2017

The action and dialogue continue to be fun and friendly, I'm on board to see what G.I.R.L comes up with.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

April

5th

March

More