Leroy Dee's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 39
7.8Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Action Comics (2011) #1

Feb 10, 2016

Several other great stories like alternare unvierse President Superman, Metallo being a creation of Steel instead of Luthor, the big bad actually influencing Clark's life ever since Krypton, Neil Degrasse Tyson being the person that helps Superman locate Krypton, and crazy new powers like being able to read information on a thumb drive by looking at it. As I said before the end can get somewhat confusing, and sadly the more powerful Superman becomes in the story you find yourself missing the weaker version because he was more interesting as a character (which is maybe more or less why they brought him back).

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Action Comics (2016) #958

Jun 27, 2016

Although the last issue had my attention with SuperLex, this issue lost it with Doomsday. Maybe answers will be revealed as to why these things are happening soon, but I'm not holding my breath. Hopefully the mysterious guy that's watching the Kent farm and the Doomsday fight on monitors will at least be named in the future. Sorry Jurgens, one step forward, two steps back. Put Super Luthor back in the spotlight and all is forgiven.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #49

Feb 11, 2016

Well comic fans, you got exactly what you wanted, the return of status quo. It may sound spoiler-ish but that's the nature of comics: the more things change the more they stay the same. I applaud Snyder and Capullo for trying something new. Did I agree with the direction? Not really, but the writing and art is so good that I can go with it. Will this still be a new direction for Batman? Find out next month. Same Bat time. Same Bat Channel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2011) #51

Apr 29, 2016

Snyder and Capullo had fun with their toys, but now it's time to put the toys back in the box before it's time to leave the playhouse. One could say this story is basically the equivalent of not doing any work at 4:30 right before you clock out at 5, but as much as this entire run has been going at such a breakneck pace, they're owed a day off just as much as Batman has. In fact it's probably my favorite single issue non-story arc of the entire run, because at its heart it's a love letter to the fans that have kept up with this series. I hope you comic fans understand and appreciate how special this run really was. This doesn't happen often in this industry.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black #1

Oct 1, 2016

VerdictOverall it feels like two stories that fits together like oil and vinegar. Taking both on their own, however, they're very captivating stories. You're dealing with a controversial topic of not only police brutality, but one officer speaking against it (which I can't recall ANY officer doing as such). As for the sci-fi portion of the story it does a great job of setting up a world that I actually want to see explored. I'll even go out on the limb and say the concept is brilliant, since the sky is the limit on the kind of stories that can be told in this universe. Definite recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Black Panther (2016) #1

Apr 7, 2016

I urge you to read this story twice. It drags on the first reading because Ta-Nahesi did not structure this first issue as we comic fans are accustomed to, but there are still some interesting concepts and characters introduced. I do wish that in future issues that they remember they are writing a COMIC book. It's okay to have fun. It's pretty easy to fall in the social political trappings with a character named Black Panther, but at the end of the day he's still a superhero. Hopefully the second issue will feature more Black Panther in my Black Panther comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2016) #2

May 12, 2016

This book does plant seeds for a better story down the road, and even on it's own its very entertaining. There's even some closure to the Zenzi confrontation. It does end on a very weird cliffhanger, but an interesting twist makes T'Challa questions his actions. The story is gaining momentum, so I recommend picking it up now to keep up with the current arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Panther (2016) #6

Sep 16, 2016

VerdictWhen it all boils down to it, this issue is really just set up for the NEXT issue. The next issue is basically giving the fans what they've been asking for since the series started. In fact the last panel of this issue has already went viral on social media. You know the old saying, “best things come to those who wait.” As patient as we readers have been, we have high expectations for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Black Panther (2016) #9

Jan 8, 2017

This series has mixed opinion from fans but I enjoy it because Coates doesn't spoonfeed his readers. Some people will read this story from page to page and completely miss the fact that the Midnight Angels break away from Tetu because of his army's record of sexual abuse on the women of the villages they conquered. The writer made be an acquired taste, but I'm so glad that Stelfreeze is back. His style is the closest thing Marvel has to Manga, and his style was sorely missed on the last few issues that featured heavy action.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Cage (2016) #1

Oct 7, 2016

In many ways this book feels like a love letter to the early Hero For Hire comics as much as it is a parody or spoof. There's a fine line, but if anyone can walk that like it's Tartakovsky. There's 70's slang, Cage rhymes sometimes in his dialogue, but it's all done tongue and cheek. His impatience is also played for laughs, since he completely loses his cool when Misty is ONLY 35 minutes late.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Champions #1

Oct 9, 2016

Which is what I appreciate about this story. At this point we've already read the superhero team up origin story, and for the first half of the book it checks off every trope on the list, but halfway through the book the story takes a hard turn that I didn't see coming with a book of this tone. In fact, the ending of the book wraps up the entire story that some will accuse of being a little preachy, while others won't even catch the context of it altogether. Plus the splash page of potential new members to come has me curious for future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War II #5

Sep 22, 2016

This was the first issue that made me forget about the terrible plot and that's it's a cash grab, until Tony and Star Lord do the “Carol's my friend” “So was I” bit from the movie, then I was immediately snapped back into reality. At this point I'm just seeing what new lows the story can reach, as I see it firmly placing itself as my least favorite Marvel crossover event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #1

Sep 23, 2016

Will people give solo Cyborg a chance? Only time (and Diamond sales) will tell, but I can say I'm bought in. He's a digital hero in a digital age. Most importantly, he's a black digital hero in a digital age. There's actually a lot of potential both in the character and the story, and so far it's off to a strong start

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cyborg (2016) #2

Oct 9, 2016

As I suspected, two steps forward, two steps back. After a really thought provoking last issue, this issue goes back to robot fight #1743764547. The moral dilemma that Cyborg's opponent tries to put him through was also resolved last issue, so there isn't even a hint of dilemma in this one. The selling point of this book, just like the last, is Cyborg's interaction with his father and Sarah. The artwork makes it impossible to not fall in love with Sarah, plus Victor and Silas Stone may have one of the most complex father/son relationships in comics. I'll keep reading because those relationships seemed to get even more intriguing, but hopefully action-wise they can shake up the formula a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyborg: Rebirth #1

Sep 9, 2016

VerdictAs far as #1 Rebirth issues go, even though this one didn't blow me away,it was still an entertaining read. It does however makes me feel like DC is no longer giving Cyborg the push they gave him last year, which further makes me believe his solo movie is cancelled. I'll stick with it a little further, mainly because not only because it's a POC character with a POC writer, but he's also a digital hero in a new digital age. Cyborg has potential for great stories, so we'll just have to see it this creative team can “crack the code” on Cyborg.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 26, 2016

This book feels like a promise of good things to come. Will it deliver? Only time will tell, but as of right now I'm greatly anticipating the next title. Instead of shock value just for the sake of it (we ALL know what I'm talking about") DC simply delivers with a great story. It's very rare when an issue locks me in like this, but I've also learn to never underestimate Geoff Johns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 9, 2016

Some nods whoever felt right at home, like Jessica wearing a Dazzler Live t-shirt or the voice message from Captain Marvel. The one that took me by surprise the most was Jessica Drew – aka Spider-Woman – making an appearance. Mainly because she looked EXACTLY like the Netflix version of Jessica Jones. So much in fact that I kept getting confused who was talking.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League Dark #1

Feb 4, 2017

VerdictThink of this similar to Assault on Arkham, a movie marketed around Batman but has very little to do with Batman. This movie is all about exploring the supernatural side of DC that's often overlooked. For those unfamiliar with these characters they mostly get backstories, which is really the only time the movie ever slows down, but it's a necessary evil to get newer viewers up to speed. You don't however get any origin of Constantine. I suggest you do what I'm about to do and watch the cancelled NBC Constantine series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Jan 3, 2017

This isn't some introspective think piece. It's superheroes punching each other. This is junk food, but who says junk food can't be fun? Just sit back, eat your popcorn, and enjoy the story. It's okay for a comic to just be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Jan 3, 2017

The issue ends on actually a few cliffhangers, so I'm bought in on the series. It's also pretty fun that most of these characters already know each other, and use that knowledge their personal backgrounds to gain a psychological advantage. What is Waller really planning? What is Maxwell Lord really planning? We'll have to tune in to find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 8, 2017

This issue is really just set up for the real fight, which is Superman vs Lobo (the REAL Lobo, not that new 52 crap version). The entire book is really promo material for new readers to jump in. You don't need an extensive knowledge of these characters, or even how Superman knows Maxwell Lord. Don't expect some deep introspective story that will change your perspective on life, just read it and enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Darkseid War: Batman #1

Nov 17, 2015

So basically this is the same story that has been told better before. Batman ignoring the judicial system and passing his own judgment was much more interesting but that felt like a side story to Joe Chill.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Darkseid War: Green Lantern #1

Nov 16, 2015

If you just have to complete the entire "The Darkseid War" story them by all means go for it, but if you have to choose between which story to get because of budgetary reasons you'll have a clear conscious if you pass.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Darkseid War: Shazam #1

Nov 15, 2015

Just like Japan has brushed aside Goku for One Punch Man, it looks like we have also. Stand aside Superman, go wash your t-shirt or something. Get ready for Shazam: God of Gods!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League: Darkseid War: Superman #1

Nov 17, 2015

Feel free to skip this issue and go right from Justice League #45 to #46 if you feel so inclined, unless you like bad Superman of course.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Justice League: Darkseid War: The Flash #1

Nov 17, 2015

Out of all the one shots I recommend this one the most. Not only is it a good story but I feel the God of Death may have the most significant impact on the current Justice League arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
New Superman #1

Jul 14, 2016

Overall this story isn't even that memorable. Hate to say it, but it'll be a miracle if this series makes it 12 issues. Honestly I feel they should have either made him a brand new character or vary his powers where he's a different version of Superman. He literally has the exact same powers, so overall you feel like you're reading the same hero, just in a different location. Half the fun of reading a superhero origin story is learning what kind of power he just received, but since we already know Superman's powers we won't get to share that experience with our new hero. They didn't go far enough to distance themselves from the Superman we all know and love (or hate if you're a Batman fan). It wasn't a bad read, but the 2nd issue must be a LOT better to keep my attention, which is almost never the case.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #6

Jul 6, 2016

This is in no way canonical, and if you're one of those readers that like your comics taken seriously and hate comedy, this isn't the issue for you. For those looking for a good laugh as well as a smart commentary on super hero movies, this is a high recommendation. Just a word of advice, fanboys: it's just jokes, people.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #2

Sep 20, 2016

VerdictMy friends and I are having a bet on how long Jim Lee will last on this book. I give him six issues tops, but they say less. The point is, enjoy this story while you can. DC is giving a Suicide Squad a huge push, and judging by the shocking cliffhanger, they're doubling down. This is DC's best team book Post Rebirth, so I highly recommend picking up this issue as well as issue #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #3

Sep 29, 2016

VerdictThis series so far is my favorite Post-Rebirth series. Really fun characters with all their own personalities. Jim Lee's class action you've been accustommed to for the last 20 years. All bets are off so NOBODY is guaranteed to make it out alive (except Harley…DC knows their money maker). If you don't read this book, then prepared to be spoiled once scans flood the internet. Might as well see if for yourself before it's spoiled.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad: Rebirth #1

Aug 9, 2016

Out of all the single issue Rebirth titles, Suicide Squad may be my favorite. It's un-apologetically entertaining and it's something about seeing psychos with no conscious enjoying being psychos with no conscious. I'm really exited for the next issue, plus (the real) Jim Lee will actually draw that book, so time for the Master to show the Student how it's done.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2011) #47

Jan 11, 2016

I'm not ready for classic Supes to come back just yet, so I'm going to ride nerfed Supes out for as long as I can. I really wish the fans wouldn't have turned so quickly against this version, because I actually feel this is the best thing to happen to the character in years. The potential for a great story is there, even if I don't really care for the current story. I do applaud them for bringing in new characters, even though most make their exit at the end of this issue. The villain Supes has to go against now would give him a run at full power, so it will be interesting to see how he handles him in his current condition. See you in Superman Annual for the approiately named "Savage Dawn."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 11, 2016

Overall this story gives you what you want, the return of the Superman you grew up with. Is it a cop out? We'll have to see. Until then"SUPERMAN IS DEAD! LONG LIVE SUPERMAN!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superwoman #1

Aug 15, 2016

After last month's underwhelming "New Super-Man," I was afraid DC is starting to cram Superman titles down our throats. I mean"they are, but this one is actually an entertaining read that tries to throw a curve ball or two. I'm actually going to give this issue half a point more than usual because I REALLY think DC is going to double down on this ending, which will be a Metal Gear Solid 2 type of twist (that's all I'm going to say and I may have said too much). Judging by the title of the next issue, if you don't read issue #2 I have a feeling you will eventually hear about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superwoman #2

Sep 17, 2016

As long as they keep the momentum with this series then I'm bought in. Lex Luthor seems to have a bigger role in this series then in the main Superman titles, which I felt sidelined him in favor of the new Superboy. If Steel is a major character in this book then you have my money. All I ask is that you follow through with what I consider one of the most shocking plot twist in recent comics, and not undo everything we've just read. We've seen that happen too many times in other books, and bring back dead characters is always the fastest way to kill a series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Totally Awesome Hulk #1

Dec 14, 2015

One thing that I haven't seen mentioned that much is that this All New All Different Hulk is another hero that has been raced or gender changed. We have a Korean Hulk now. Miles Morales for one has become a fan favorite for black comic readers, and female fans love Spider-Gwen. I wonder will Asian comic fans gravitate to Amadeus Cho the same fashion? Only time will tell. Actually comic sales will tell, because if this new direction doesn't catch on with anybody Banner will be back sooner than later. I'll have to read issue #2 to see how I eventually feel about issue #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 24, 2016

VerdictI feel maybe I set my expectations just a tad too high. Last time I saw these three team up"they fought a Lex Luthor powered Doomsday with an awesome guitar riff playing in the background. Am I the one at fault here? All of their solo issues are currently cranking out their best stories of these characters in years, so I would imagine their first Post-Rebirth title to deliver similar results but times 3. It may sound like I'm being too hard on this issue. Don't get me wrong, it's not a bad story, but if you're buying this thinking it's some must read story that will be a future collector's item, I would skip this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine by Claremont & Miller #1

Jan 4, 2016

It's not the deepest story ever told. It's basically a test to see if Wolverine can work as a solo character. He's had better stories since then, but as an introduction to the character, it's a worthy read on its own. For any die hard Wolverine fan or Frank Miller completionist, I say it's a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #7

Sep 29, 2016

VerdictThis arc has really displayed what separates Wonder Woman from every other hero. Her fists aren't her most powerful weapon, it's truth. Cheetah actually has a more complicated relationship with Wonder Woman than the casual reader realizes, so it'll be interesting in see where they go from here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

More