Levi Remington's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Bastards Reviews: 15
7.5Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Animal Noir #2

Mar 29, 2017

Animal Noir is a frustrating read. Its sense of humor feels underdeveloped and the characters are overly simplistic. The art is expressive and fun, reminiscent of a European style that's uncommon in most IDW comics, but it's not enough to save these animals from monotony. The superficial nature of the story appears to be an intentional presentation for comedy, but as hard as I tried, I couldn't find much to laugh about.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batgirl (2016) #10

Apr 26, 2017

Batgirl #10 proves once again that Hope Larson is a wonderful fit for Barbara Gordon. This light-hearted story is entertaining, adventurous, and rich with positive morals; the mystery is intriguing and well-paced, and the characters are well-defined and dynamically illustrated. A no-brainer for lovers of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #7

Mar 22, 2017

Black Hammer is a terrific series. Lemire is doing top-notch character work while Ormston and Stewart are executing some lovely and expressive art. However, this issue was not as strong as what we've come to expect. I'm not sold on the Black Hammer character, and I think they may have been leaning too hard into his death for drama, but I'm looking forward to see how the creative team develops newcomer Lucy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Coady & The Creepies #2

Apr 19, 2017

Scraped out of the bottom of the Boom! Box, Coady and the Creepies doesn't attempt to reinvent the wheel in any way, despite it's supposedly punk roots. Worse yet, it's just not funny; there are more soulless chimichanga jokes packed in one issue than in a Deadpool compendium. The best thing about this series " and ironically, the worst thing " is that it really does feel like you're going on a roadtrip with a bunch of sixteen-year-olds who act twelve. With nothing grand to say, nothing fun to celebrate, and nothing distinct about its execution, this book amounts to fleeting entertainment at best.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eleanor and the Egret #1

Apr 5, 2017

What Eleanor and the Egret lacks in plot specifics and well developed characters, it more than makes up for with its charming style, stunning art, and lively page designs. Seeing as this is the debut issue for the miniseries, the "lack of information" complaint doesn't hold much water. But even if it did (and it eventually may), I'll happily be along for the ride, because this book looks and feels like nothing else on the stands.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #5

Mar 15, 2017

I'm enormously pleased with the results of Matt Kindt and David Rubin's collaboration. Boone's story strikes a chord with me on an emotional and aesthetic level. It's a joyous read with marvelous characters, vibrant art, and a riveting story. Issue #5 is a turning point for the series, and an excellent conclusion to the first arc. Here's to an equally ethereal second volume!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
God Country #3

Mar 15, 2017

God Country is more impressive every month it's released, and issue #3 may be the best yet. Donny Cates' writing is top notch, and even in a bleaker, less visually-engaging setting, Geoff Shaw's art is expressive, moody, and satisfying. If the team can keep this up, we're in for one hell of a ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim Reaper #1

Apr 5, 2017

The success of Kim Reaper rides firmly on the hinges of your sense of humor. If your heart has grown cold and weary of the outlandish and juvenile, then maybe take a pass. But for those who gravitate toward the odd and amusing, this is a worthy and delightfully silly diversion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 22, 2017

Mother Panic is a worthwhile, angst-fueled adventure with great art and a fun protagonist. Violet is a vigilante unlike any other in Gotham, even if her damaged persona and haunted past ring one too many bells. Her personality is juvenile and that's the point; these are growing pains for Violet. It's a risky move to introduce readers to a character in this stage of her life, but I like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #2

Mar 29, 2017

Greg Rucka has done it again. Issue #2 of The Old Guard is " by design " less exhilarating than the first, but the lore and core-character expansion found within this briskly paced story keep it just as engaging. Fernandez's art with Miwa's colors continues to be an absolute delight, and Rucka has established an enthralling tone for this promising series. I'm thrilled to see where things pick up from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rose #1

Apr 12, 2017

It's an enjoyable read, to be sure, and the art is excellent, but at this stage everything feels too familiar to give it a full recommendation. Only time will tell if this escalates beyond your run-of-the-mill fantasy. For now, it will do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Weapons #1

Apr 27, 2017

The first issue succeeds on every major level. It's so promising that I wish the book could last for longer than its solicited 4 issues. Your heart will melt in-between smiling fits, your eyes will grow spoiled rotten from Raul Allen and Patricia Martin's visual splendor, and Eric Heisserer's character work will have you clutching the nearest pillow, yearning for more. Secret Weapons unknowingly fulfills a prophecy set forth by its title, coming out of nowhere and dominating from the start with a creative team that you never knew was a dream collaboration. This issue proves that Valiant's own secret weapon is an onslaught of brilliant stories from great talents, and while this issue is just the beginning, I miss the series already.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #7

Apr 6, 2017

While the issue is stand-alone in the sense that it exists between arcs, it is an absolutely essential and cathartic piece of the story that greatly benefits from the context of the previous issues. I wouldn't exactly recommend this for new readers, but I strongly suggest you pick up the first volume when it releases in July, or at least catch up digitally so you can stay current with this marvelous series.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Shaolin Cowboy: Who'll Stop the Reign? #1

Apr 19, 2017

The Shaolin Cowboy is completely off the wall. Like an unhinged stream of consciousness, but less of a stream, more of an unrelenting downpour. Like a scathing commentary on modern America and technology, but with more chi paths, talking crabs, and house pets with a cigarette problem. The book follows no traditional narrative structure. It meanders and it confuses. It's a mess, really. But it's a lovably offensive, beautifully illustrated, remarkably hilarious mess. A magnificent, whimsical disaster.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Vampirella (2017) #2

Apr 12, 2017

Emotionally barren, lacking in excitement, and struggling artistically, Vampirella continues its everlasting stumble through mediocrity in issue #2 of Dynamite's 2017 relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

More