Lisa Allison's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 21
8.0Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Bera: The One-Headed Troll #1

Aug 2, 2016

Bera the One-Headed Troll is a charming story that weaves in elements of adventure and magic. Children will root for Bera to succeed as they struggle right along with her on her quest.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #1

Oct 11, 2016

Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #1 is light-hearted and magical story that reminds us of how for better or worse, we are all human. Readers will be swept up easily in the whimsy and delight in Lula and Chimi's adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #2

Nov 8, 2016

My Fears? People will think this is solely for young children because of the child protagonist.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Chimichanga: Sorrow of the World's Worst Face #3

Dec 13, 2016

My Fears? Powell has not thought beyond the baseline adventures. After being disappointed by the lack of an origin story I am fearful there will not be a solid conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
I Am Legion #1

Jul 15, 2016

It does drag a bit at times so hang on. In the end I think it is worth it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Orcs #1

Feb 9, 2016

In any event, the tone is set and the map is marked, where will Bog and crew go next?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shade, the Changing Girl #1

Oct 5, 2016

My Fears? It will be interesting to see where the story leads us as one mind takes control of another. I just hope that Castellucci does not lead us in the direction of the CW.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shade, the Changing Girl #2

Nov 3, 2016

I wanted a bit more action and found myself a little bored. We just lolled along through Loma's discovery of the human body and high school classes. The story is a bit shallow for my liking. I hope they dare to swim in the deep end in future issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Shade, the Changing Girl #11

Aug 2, 2017

On the surface this appears to be a light comic but if you take a chance and scratch it, you will uncover deeper emotions and a reflection of what it is to be human.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Skin & Earth #1

Jul 11, 2017

Lights has produced a stunner with Skin & Earth. This thought-provoking and entertaining narrative makes you hunger for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sons of Anarchy: Redwood Original #1

Aug 8, 2016

My Fears? Not sure I have any right now. There is so much to work with. This storyline can cover over a decade leading up to when the television series started. Plus there is the opportunity to provide deeper back stories for the other club members. Masters and Pizzari seem to have it on lock.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sons of Anarchy: Redwood Original #2

Sep 14, 2016

Masters does a fantastic job of balancing the storyline. Moving back and forth between the juvenile bravado of Jax and Opie and the harsh business of the older members of the club. Underneath their tough exteriors these men seem to want to do right by their town and their families, they just happen to go about it in a criminal manner. It's not all serious though; Tig is still up to no good which always leads to some comic relief.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #1

Feb 21, 2017

Did I like it? This is a fantastic tribute to the original. Readers will be swept up in the beauty and mystery of Thra and its inhabitants all over again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Power of the Dark Crystal #2

Apr 19, 2017

This story captures your imagination.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #3

May 22, 2017

This is a must read series for Dark Crystal fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Power of the Dark Crystal #4

Jun 27, 2017

Mystical goodness that is sure to delight.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #1

Sep 14, 2016

My Fears? This will be a revisit of the books. I hope this story delves deeper and shows us a new side of Mr. Quinlan.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #2

Oct 12, 2016

I want to learn more about the Strigoi half of Quinlan. Fans of The Strain need to check out Mister Quinlan " Vampire Hunter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wacky Raceland #1

Jun 8, 2016

After researching the older cartoon I am impressed by the character makeovers. We have only had a peek into the characters' backstories and the Announcer has me intrigued. This storyline has great potential and could go in many different directions. My interest is piqued to see which way they turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wacky Raceland #2

Jul 13, 2016

It's silly and serious with a sense of mystery, how could I not like it? The story isn't afraid to be fun amongst all this darkness. Each racer has a distinct personality and the cars are characters in their own right. If you haven't given it a read yet, do so. Wacky Raceland is one hell of a ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wacky Raceland #3

Aug 24, 2016

My Fears? That we will never learn who or what the Ant Hill mob are. I mean they are short little men that dress alike and have some sort of skin condition. I have to know what's happening there.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More