Lowell Newton's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: FanboyNation Reviews: 33
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.3
4001 A.D. #1

May 2, 2016

All in all we have a great comic book. This is great jumping in point for Valiant Comics. Get in this story while it's still fresh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D. #2

May 30, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this issue. I can't wait to see how it goes down in the next couple of issues. So if you read the first one pick this one up. If you haven't read the first one pick this one, you'll be brought up to speed. I'm just one of many reviewers beating the drum of Valiant, but Valiant has a great line up on the shelves every Wednesday. I'm glad I'll be able to look back and say I was there for their revival.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D. #3

Jul 26, 2016

Clayton Craine and Matt Kindt have gift wrapped another great addition to the ongoing series of 4001 A.D. #3. I recommend this book to all you out there in Fanboynation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
4001 A.D.: Warmother #1

Aug 1, 2016

Overall we have a brand new character and story, that I believes a chance. I recommend the book, and I enjoyed the characters thoroughly. In fact buy two, one for yourself and one for someone looking to get into comic books. This is a great entry point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Assassin's Creed: Templars #1

Mar 18, 2016

Writer Fred Van Lente teams up again with artist Dennis Calero. Lente's writing has a nice rhythm to it, and I appreciate the authentic time appropriate lingo he uses. The dialogue doesn't feel forced and the story moves smoothly. Dennis Calero's art in this book is dark, which he's known for. I believe this book calls for that, and Calero certainly delivers

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Souls #1

Apr 11, 2016

In other reviews I've done for Titan Comics, I see they've recruited a great amount of talented people to work on their books. Don't let this studio slip your gaze. Take a chance with Dark Souls: The Breath of Andolus #1, it's an outstanding book with talented people behind it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Souls #2

May 31, 2016

Dark Souls: The Breath of Andolus #2 is every thing I want in a comic book. And yes I recommend this book for others as well. This is a great book for a first time comic book reader.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Dark Souls #4

Aug 23, 2016

Dark Souls: The Breath of Andolus #4 is a must buy. If you like seeing your protagonist in all kinds of peril, than this is your story. It's void of current politics, trending topics, and repulsive pandering. This is the break you've been needing. Can't afford Tahiti this summer? You can still afford and escape to the Crystal Labyrinth. One last note before I sign off here, this is a great read for young readers. Have someone consuming a hefty amounts of books from the young adult sections? This is a great opportunity to spark their interest in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dishonored #1

Aug 3, 2016

All around great book. If your looking to take the leap into comics, take a chance with Dishonored #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 14, 2017

In the end I recommend this for your pull list. You don't have to have read any Archer & Armstrong comics in the past, to enjoy this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor #1

Mar 23, 2016

Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor #1 has all the campiness of the original show. Writers Gordon Rennie and Emma Beeby delivered the goods in the respect of being accurate. I like that they didn't try to update or make it dark and gritty for modern readers. I believe comic books are the perfect medium for Doctor Who.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Doctor Who: The Ninth Doctor (2016) #1

Apr 8, 2016

DOCTOR WHO: THE NINTH DOCTOR ONGOING #1 is a great example in how comic books should be done. This is what I would call a "text book" example.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Doctor Who: The Ninth Doctor (2016) #5

Sep 6, 2016

Overall Doctor Who: The Ninth Doctor Ongoing #5 is a solid buy for your Wednesday pull. It's safe for young readers, but heavy enough for us adults out there. Give a young reader their first comic book if you know any. I think that Doctor Who has appeal to both boys and girls. In addition to getting young people to read comics, we need to inspire future writers and artist as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Doctor Who: The Ninth Doctor (2016) #11

Mar 28, 2017

Doctor Who 9th Doctor #11 is a comic book for people who might not be fans already. Or if your looking to jump into this franchise, this is your golden opportunity. With all that said, I highly recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Two #5

May 9, 2016

My ear isn't too close to the ground with the Doctor Who fanbase. I'm not sure whose version of Doctor Who is they're favorite. I'm still pretty fresh in the series. I think that separation between myself and the fans of the Doctor keeps my biases in check. With that being said this is my favorite Doctor Who comic that I've read so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Doctor Who: The Twelfth Doctor: Year Two #8

Aug 10, 2016

I've mentioned this before, but I prefer my Doctors in comic book format, I do enjoy the television series. But it could be my bias too. One more thing to mention before I sign off here, I can safely recommend this for young readers too. If you're looking to break your niece, brother, or grandkid into comics, this is a great series. Doctor Who comics are everything thats good about comic books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #1

Jul 20, 2016

Overall this book will be talked about for years. Not to put any pressure on the team behind Faith #1, but they have a burden on their shoulders to keep doing great things. But as long as they have fun doing what they're doing we'll have an awesome book to keep adding to our pull lists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith #3

Sep 14, 2016

Overall Faith is one the funnest books on the shelves. I personally dig this book due to the true to life personalities in the book. The writing and art are text book examples of comic book creation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Faith (Mini-Series) #4

Apr 25, 2016

I recommend this book to you and to your non-comic reader friends. Lend your friends this comic after your done or do Valiant a favor and buy two, one for you and your buddy. Faith #4 is great place to start with Valiant Entertainment. Are you getting bored with a title with your pull list? I'd ad this one to your list. It could also be that gateway drug for your non comic reading friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Generation Zero #2

Sep 27, 2016

If you ever wathed M83's music video Midnight City then you'd get the gist of Generation Zero #2. The whole time I read it, there was an unsettling feeling I kept feeling. Like the book threw me off a little. But it did its job of pulling me in from reality and absorbed me. If you want different then look no further.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Independence Day #1

Mar 20, 2016

Independence Day#1 stands on it's own merits. This is a great stand alone title, with an interesting premise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Independence Day #2

Apr 26, 2016

The first issue was a good read and this issue is too. Titan Comics has a great title on their hands and I hope to see it continue even after the movie comes out in the summer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Independence Day #4

May 31, 2016

Overall we have another great addition to the series. I recomend this to anyone interested in the movie franchise. Also do yourself a favor and check out the other three issues to the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #5

Jul 20, 2016

So over all this book is a great read, with fun art and action. Buy two of these books one for you and one for a new reader. I love giving my nieces and nephews comic books to read, it fosters a hunger for fiction. This book is appropriate for all ages and has a good lesson in it. Boy or girl I think they'll enjoy it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #27

May 24, 2017

Ninjak #27 is what I've been aching for a while now. It feels like in some ways an ode to action films panning the 80's and 90's. But also I got a Metal Gear Solid vibe as well. But strongest of all was the GI JOE movie from 1987, which I rented every chance I got as a kid. Speaking of kids, this is a perfect comic to introduce young readers to. Be sure to add Ninjak #27 to your pull list this Wednesday.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Rivers of London: Night Witches #1

Mar 16, 2016

The story has places to go, and I can't wait to see where they're going to take it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Snowfall #1

Feb 16, 2016

When I consume media, I'm always aware of the saying "there's nothing new under the sun." Understanding this gives the consumer liberty to enjoy the clich tropes. Even with this awareness, I still wasn't able to enjoy Snow Fall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Immortal #1

Oct 11, 2016

Overall I highly recommend getting this book. Its a weird and wonderful take on the future. Reading it, gave me the feeling I had when I first watched "The Fifth Element."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Vikings #1

Apr 26, 2016

This was a fun comic book with plenty of intrigue. There are a lot of players in this story, and I appreciated the way Scott told the story through Floki's point of view. Even if you haven't seen the television show Vikings: Godhead #1 is a good jumping in point for newcommers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Warhammer 40,000: Revelations #2

Apr 11, 2017

Would I recommend this as part of your pull list on Wednesday? That would be a resounding yes. Not only are you doing you a favor, but your doing the industry a favor. Remember that your voting with your wallet!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Warhammer 40,000: Will of Iron #1

Oct 5, 2016

You don't have to read the books or play the tabletop game to appreciate this comic book. This is a great jumping in point for those interested.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Warhammer 40,000: Will of Iron #3

Dec 13, 2016

As big of a fan of the novels as I am, I'm so glad Titan Comics got a hold of this IP. Warhammer 40,000: Will of Iron #3 is a solid buy. It's true that we live in a golden age of comics right now. There are lot of great titles out there. But if I could recommend something different for your Wednesday pull, grab this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Warhammer 40,000: Will of Iron #4

Jan 22, 2017

When I read this book I had Warpigs by Black Sabbath playing in the background. Maybe that's why I got so hyped reading this issue. But man oh man did I dig reading this issue. Buy two issues on Wednesday and give this to a friend looking to get into comic books. You can jump right into the series with no problems, they give you plenty of back story to fill you in, on whats been going on with the story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More