Lucas's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Geek-O-Rama Reviews: 8
6.5Avg. Review Rating

7.0
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jul 6, 2017

Overall, Batman/Elmer Fudd works as a joke at the expense of noir films and Batman by way of Looney Toons. Its not laugh out loud funny, but its amusing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bloodshot's Day Off #1

Jul 20, 2017

The stories of the two main characters carry the comic, and while I don't have much desire to follow this as a series, it works well as a stand-alone comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rai: The History of the Valiant Universe #1

Jun 29, 2017

So, I got nothing out of it myself, I dont know what fans would think of it, and there really isnt much to talk about as far as writing and art are concerned All I can really say is that I didnt enjoy it that much, but if youre interested in the history of Valiant, you might enjoy it a lot more than I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rapture #1

May 28, 2017

While I personally would have preferred time to get to know the characters and the world of Rapture a little more, Kindts likeable characters and sharp dialogue combined with Cafus beautiful artwork that brings the world of Deadside and the characters to life make Rapture #1 an enjoyable read, and Im interested to learn more about this world and these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Samaritan: Veritas #1

Jul 13, 2017

If youve heard of the Edenverse before, or are just a fan of political thrillers, then you should probably pick up Samaritan Veritas. It doesnt do as much as I hoped it would to stand out, but what is there works well enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Samaritan: Veritas #2

Jul 14, 2017

Samaritan Veritas #2 ends on another cliffhanger after having moved the plot forward. If you liked the first issue, then youll like this one, though I still wish this series had something to make it stand out more outside of its particular target for political commentary being religion and religious figures (which is a little out of place in the whole assassinate the President plot, but its something).

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Secret Weapons #1

Jul 8, 2017

Part of me wants to like Secret Weapons, but I just really cant get into it. Again, if youre already a fan of Valiant, then maybe youll like it, the art is solid and in combination with the writing it can create what seems like could be pretty powerful moments, but for people unfamiliar with Valiant, I really cant recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mighty Zodiac #1

Jun 9, 2017

The Mighty Zodiac is a fun, light-hearted fantasy world with a unique aesthetic and good writing and art. Issue #1 seems like a solid start for new series, and its definitely worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

2nd

July

June

More