mahargen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 99
7.3Avg. Review Rating

10
100th Anniversary: Guardians of the Galaxy #1

Aug 4, 2014

This comic was a welcome surprise. A majority of the characters we know and love from the current Guardians run are there as well as a few welcome additions. I generally don't get my hopes up for anniversary events such as these, but this brought a lot to the table. I credit the creative staff for bringing a lot of energy to this story and making it far more than merely average. In fact, I'd love to see this team tackle future stories in the cosmic universe. Their take is fresh and fun, something sorely missing from the darker, serious tones of a lot of the books out there.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Age of Ultron #9

Jun 5, 2013

Peterson again proves that he’s a capable penciller for this series, but he doesn’t seem to understand how Bendis is playing the characters either. Artists can really elaborate on the storytelling in an emotional way. The presentation of characters and their settings are just as important as what they are saying. However, when there is a disconnect, as I believe there is in this issue, what could be a solid story is further muddled. I am looking forward to the conclusion of this event, if only so we can move on to whatever is next. I’d like to talk more about the concept of the fallout from this event and how it stands up against other event fallouts, but I’ll save that for the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Age of Ultron #10

Jun 19, 2013

It seems that the majority of Age of Ultron really didn't even matter in the end, which may be the most upsetting part of the last ten issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New X-Men: Special #1

Oct 4, 2013

A fun story that is really interesting will keep me around for the rest of the crossover. Hopefully more stories like this will happen in the future if this is successful.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Avengers A.I. #2

Aug 7, 2013

I’d much rather be seeing a Mark Waid scripted series like the Age of Ultron A.I. one-shot that led into this series. However, this is definitely a “feeder” book where talent is built up. Humphries has been around for a little while, making a name for himself in the Ultimate universe, mainly. He’s been given a chance with this title and the latest incarnation of Uncanny X-Force. Neither title does much to forward the plot of the family of titles, but serves well to develop the talent associated with the book to see if they have what it takes to get to the next level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Avengers Arena #10

Jun 6, 2013

I love Burchielli's work here. He excels at presenting these situations to the reader. The images of a broken Nico were quite powerful. It's hard to show so many characters in a truncated space, as he does during the sentinel chase scene towards the climax of this issue. At the same time, he managed to show how boxed in the heroes were despite the open-nature of Murder World. The story can only build so much tens ion, it relies on the art to echo those sentiments. It's obvious that Burchielli and Hopeless are on the same page here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #22

Jul 11, 2013

Greg Capullo is easily one of the best artists who have tackled Bruce Wayne. His Gotham comes alive and his museum at night was perfect. During the aforementioned conversation between Wayne and Nygma, there is a splash page that is just amazing. Turning their conversation into a board game was a really original take on the characters. I reread their interaction multiple times to get everything. The layout was great. Do yourself a favor and follow Capullo on Twitter, you'll get lots of insight into his Zero Year work.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #23

Aug 15, 2013

The term Zero Year is being thrown around a lot. Gordon even mentioned it in an issue of Batman, Incorporated. I’m wondering if there is more to the title than there seems to be, and something expanding on the name will occur down the road.. I don’t recall characters ever referring to Year One explicitly. That has always just been story arc name for the readers. I’m curious to see if anything comes of this, or if I’m looking for clues where there are none.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2011) #23.1

Sep 5, 2013

This was a fine story with decent artwork. It wasn't what I wanted, and I don't think it's what we needed. Hopefully Villains Month picks up from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) #23.2

Sep 13, 2013

Pretty good fill-in issue. Ties back to the continuity of Zero Year, and it is pleasing to the eye. The character feels right. Totally made up for the train wreck that was issue #23.1.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2011) Annual #2

Jul 31, 2013

Very few things irritate me as much as a creator not getting appropriate credit for their work. Case in point, the DC website solicit for this issue lists Scott Snyder as the sole writer, no mention of newcomer Marguerite Bennett. DC has been getting sloppy in their solicits, and it’s not cool.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #1

Jun 26, 2013

I’m excited for what’s to come. DC’s faltered as of late in the public eye, and there has been a revolving door of talent coming and going. The acquisition of Pak from Marvel is a big win for DC, and a step in the right direction. I’m hoping Pak is able to continue telling the story he wants to tell and doesn’t receive interference from any of the DC brass looking to push their agendas. This month’s Superman Unchained gave us a great glimpse into how the Man of Steel acts when he’s working alone, but I really look forward to his one-on-one interactions with Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #2

Jul 25, 2013

Really, I'm not a fan of Jae Lee's Superman. He looks like Sloth from the Goonie

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #3

Aug 28, 2013

According to DC’s historically unreliable solicits, Jae Lee’s done with the book after this storyline. Brett Booth (Teen Titans) picks up duties with issue 5, including the Villains Month Doomsday 3.1 issue. Maybe I’ll stick around a little while longer.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) Annual #1

May 30, 2013

Gregg Hurwitz gives us an interesting, creepy set-up: three villains alone in a creepy, run-down abandoned orphanage, once run by the Arkhams. Scarecrow, Penguin, and.... Mad Hatter? I can let that one slide. Sometimes a writer has a character that they always wanted to work with, or have a special emotional connection to that they want to pull into a story. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. The inclusion of the Hatter seems a bit arbitrary, as he is a C-list villain at best with a couple of A-listers. Why either of the others would even respond to his invitation is beyond me. They quickly realize they've been set up. Hijinks ensue. It's pretty bland, there are some interesting flash backs that occur from a jolt of Scarecrow's fear toxin, but nothing we haven't seen before. The whole release of the fear toxin scene was muddled and confusing as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ben Reilly: The Scarlet Spider #1

Apr 27, 2017

Mark Bagley has had a storied career, but in recent years his work has been slipping. I’m happy to say he’s back on point with this issue. Nothing seems to be rushed and everything pops. There is an essential flow to a Spider-Man action scene and Mark hasn’t forgotten it. Scenes flow well together and there is an organic feel to the book that is hard to describe. There’s no stiffness or trying to find the voice of the story. This feels like just another chapter in an ongoing saga. My only gripe is the costume. Ditch the hood or keep it down and we’re good. At the end of the day, if it has to happen, I’m glad the return of Ben Reilly is in the capable hands of Peter David and Mark Bagley. They are weaving an interesting story and I hope they get to tell all of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Buzzkill #1

Dec 18, 2013

Buy this book when the trade comes out. I can't recommend it enough. It's sure to be on a lot of 2013 Best Of lists. It's a superhero story without the pomp and circumstance; gritty, funny and moving. There are more stories to be told in this world, so I hope we get to revisit these characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Ultimate #1

Jul 20, 2013

This sucker is only 99 cents. Do it. You’ve got a buck to spare. Don't gripe that you don't have room in your list for this. Drop one of the eighteen Wolverine titles for a week. I'll tell you what happens: he growls and kills someone. One issue of a Wolverine series will net you three months worth of Captain Ultimate. Think on that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Captain Ultimate #2

Sep 19, 2013

It’s a dollar. Skip that Coke from McDonald’s. Get a story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cataclysm: The Ultimates Last Stand #0.1

Nov 2, 2013

This is an interesting and somewhat uncomfortable look at the Ultimate world which begs the question of whether or not it is worth saving. I was there at the beginning with Bendis and Bagley, and I'll be there for the end, terrible or not. Stay tuned.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cataclysm: The Ultimates Last Stand #2

Dec 7, 2013

A lot of my fears have been alleviated. If the tie-in stories step up their game to match the quality of this title, we could be sitting on a nice little event

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cataclysm: Ultimates #1

Nov 22, 2013

Good, but not great. Pick it up a bit faster, Marvel. More Galactus. More destruction. I want the Ultimate universe to go out with a bang and I don't want to regret buying the finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curb Stomp #1

Feb 24, 2015

Matthew can be found on Twitter as @mahargen, where he spends most of his time moaning about the way punk rock used to be, even though it may or may not have been dead before he was even born.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
D4VE #1

Jun 6, 2014

The overall arc of the story is confined to five issues, giving us just enough time to get to know the characters and become invested in where their artificial lives take them. The brevity doesn't leave much time for exposition, so the story beats are quick, if a little rushed at times. Ramon's art falls very much in line with the story. The robot characters are equal parts fluid human and stiff machine, an interesting juxtaposition that could have easily wrecked the overall effect the book. The muted color palettes help bring the sterile future to life. The designs of the future are very logical extensions of current technology and make the aesthetic believable. Ramon was firing on all cylinders here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #949

Jan 25, 2017

“Batwoman Begins” did exactly what it needed to do. Gave a bit of background on Batwoman, brought her to the forefront for a quick moment, and gave us the setup we need for her upcoming ongoing. I was originally on the fence about whether or not I’d be adding the title to my already-packed list, but I’m leaning towards it after getting this taste.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #950

Feb 10, 2017

There we have it. A great, powerful issue with perfect writing and great art across the board. Everything a milestone issue should be. I, for one, can’t wait to see what #1000 brings.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
EGOs #1

Jan 20, 2014

Check it out, see if it's your thing. If you're not normally a Sci-Fi person, this might be up your alley. I'm not and it drew me in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2011) #32

Jun 26, 2014

Matthew can be found on Twitter at @mahargen, and he totally didn’t watch the leaked Flash pilot. But if he did, he’d be wondering when he could review it without the man coming down on him. Thoughts?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil #1

Sep 5, 2013

A great introduction to the new status quo. Our characters are being put into interesting situations, so I look forward to seeing what they are capable of doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Forever Evil #2

Oct 4, 2013

Art and story collide and really got me involved here. I've always been committed to this event, but now I'm finally excited for what it will bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Forever Evil: Arkham War #1

Oct 11, 2013

This is a solid piece of work. Nothing groundbreaking, but entertaining for now. I’m hoping for more insight into why the villains constantly are at war even after they’ve won, but I’m fine with them just fighting as well. I’ll stick around.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghosted #3

Sep 13, 2013

I’m in this one for the long haul. Really interesting story that I’m looking forward getting into deeper. The art blends well with the narrative and sets up a great atmosphere.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ghosted #4

Oct 9, 2013

Limited series? On-going? I don’t care. I’m sticking with this title so long as the creative team is kept together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy #4

Jan 27, 2015

Matthew can be found on Twitter as @mahargen. During this review he came to the realization that this year the children born after he turned 20 will become teenagers themselves.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Arrow (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

This is consistently one of my favorite Rebirth titles. This is the Ollie and Dinah I know and love. Percy has done a great job inserting the character of Green Arrow into today’s political landscape. The taste of the New 52 Green Arrow is out of my mouth, and we’re getting some insight into the past of the character that up until now has been pretty fuzzy since the reboot in 2012. I’m hoping we’re to the point where the team is going to start rebuilding the character, but I’m afraid Ollie might have some more drama ahead of him before we get there. I’ll be there either way.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Green Lantern Corps (2011) #21

Jun 12, 2013

Chang’s art is solid, if not a little on the bland side. One of the most important abilities a Green Lantern artist needs to master is the ability to draw alien species. Some artists have this, and some don’t. I see promise in Chang’s work and look forward to seeing how he grows in issues to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #21

Jun 19, 2013

While not much happens in the beginning of this storyline, the atmosphere is set up for what is to come. The universe does not trust the Guardians. Hal and Kyle don’t trust the Guardians. Some high-level destruction is coming down upon Oa in the near future. Will the New Guardians go the way of their predecessors, or will they ride in and aide the Corps in saving the day? This issue gave me hope that these stories can be told well. I hope the newly Guy Gardner-infused Red Lantern issue matches the success of this issue and the other titles take a few cues as well. The elements are all here for a great Green Lantern story, they just need to be put to use.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lantern: New Guardians #22

Jul 17, 2013

I am still somewhat upset at what has become of Hal Jordan and Carol Ferris’ relationship. It seems like it was left in one place at the end of Johns’ run and then careened in a completely different direction with the beginning of Venditti’s run on the core title. I don’t know if this is Venditti’s decision, so other writers have to have their characters play into the situation or if this is DC’s famously over-reaching editors finally getting their fingers into the pot.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Guardians 3000 #5

Feb 13, 2015

Matthew can be found on Twitter as @mahargen, where he is incessantly celebrating his release from the world of retail management and his impending career as a desk jockey.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2013) #24

Feb 13, 2015

Matthew can be found on Twitter as @mahargen, where he is enjoying a scotch while he wistfully remembers the days of Abnett and Lanning’s Guardians of the Galaxy. The throwback with Mantis and Cosmo on the cover of this issue was pretty great, though.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #13

Jan 25, 2017

Overall, this was a fine book. It was a momentum killer, unfortunately, so I can’t recommend it. This story would have made more sense having been edited down and put as a backup story in an annual. It would have worked perfectly in that situation. As a breather between major stories, it didn’t have enough behind it to be fulfilling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infinity #1

Aug 14, 2013

How awesome is that Adam Kubert/Laura Martin cover? If you’re wondering if it is my new desktop background, it is. And the digital back-up with Silver Surfer isn’t half bad, either.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinity #4

Oct 9, 2013

I'll continue with Infinity just because I want to stay informed. The lack of heart is unfortunate, but the storytelling is worth the admission. At least it's better than Age of Ultron.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Infinity #6

Nov 29, 2013

This was a fun read. Solid art and an interesting premise give us a story that's worth reading. However, the absence of clear consequences and the vague story set-ups take away from the heart of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Inhumanity #1

Dec 7, 2013

Not as interesting or as captivating an introduction as Infinity's, but well done nonetheless. I'm unsure if this is a one-shot out part of a miniseries, so the ambiguity there lessens my anticipation as bit. But, hey, there's a checklist at the end. I love checklists.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Inhumanity: The Awakening #1

Dec 13, 2013

They're kids, but they've people too. Heroes in the own right. Too many writers focus on their youth, really alienating some readers like myself. The reliance on social media here killed me, really sapping the enjoyment of what should have been a fun story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #23

Aug 28, 2013

Using the main Justice League titles as opposed to releasing a mini-series was a great idea. Hopefully it pays off for DC. I’ll be interested to see the August sales numbers, and compare sales for Trinity War and its tie-ins to Infinity and and its tie-ins. Maybe it won’t be the financial success DC was hoping for, but the fans appreciate the lightened load on their wallets.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League #23.4

Sep 28, 2013

I wanted a lot out of this issue. Some things were delivered on, but there are a lot of unanswered questions still. A decent outing overall that I'm happy to have spent time with, especially considering how pretty it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League #24

Oct 24, 2013

DC is making up for an underwhelming Villains Month now. After last week's somewhat disappointing JLA #8 I was worried about the direction of the tie-ins to Forever Evil. Thankfully, I had nothing to worry about.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League #25

Dec 13, 2013

Things need to pick up. There pay issues have only given us half stories, leaving me unfulfilled. It's rather have issues based solely on Earth-3 or in the present. The flipping between without more detailed connection to the separate stories bogs down the advancement.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League Dark #22

Jul 26, 2013

Constantine is a bastard, and I love him. Pick up Constantine #5 for more Trinity War tie-in action with Captain Marvel.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League of America (2013) #8

Oct 19, 2013

It’s Forever Evil. I”m going to continue with it. I’m just hoping the title takes a big jump up in quality now that the plot points in this issue have been hit on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 18, 2017

This is a really fun one-shot that sets up the character and his supporting cast well. I'm going to say I'm a little disappointed that this isn't an ongoing title. There is a lot to unpack in this issue, and I'd really like to see more of Ray's adventures without him having to share the spotlight with the rest of the JLA. I'm also interested in seeing how the character plays out without the "legacy" aspect that existed pre-Flashpoint. On the strength of the one-shots alone I'm suggesting everyone check out JLA when it drops next month. Steve Orlando's got a great set-up and I'm anxious to see his follow-through.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Last Born #1

Oct 1, 2014

Matthew lives a stable suburban life outside of Chicago. He doesn’t feel trapped though. Well, mayble a little. Regardless, he can be found on Twitter as @mahargen. Also, he highly suggests you check out Patrick Meaney’s films based on comic staples Grant Morrison, Warren Ellis and Neil Gaiman. Quality viewing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Last Song #1

Jul 12, 2017

If you’re into killer art, this is a book you need to check out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Locke & Key Alpha #1

Dec 18, 2013

Locke and Key is easily in my Top Five series of all time. It is something I consistently suggest to people looking for something new to discover. The ending was as near as perfect as you can get.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nailbiter #3

Jul 1, 2014

Matthew can be found on Twitter as @mahargen. He really doesn’t want to talk about the Belgium/USA game right now. Too soon. Sob.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Avengers (2013) #20

Jun 26, 2014

The team is headed down a very dark road, and the part of me that enjoys the darkness that Hickman is pushing on our heroes is quite enjoying it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
No Angel #1

Nov 28, 2016

I'm chalking this one up as another win for Black Mask. Despite launching with less pomp and circumstance than other titles, "No Angel" should find its way to your stack if you're into supernatural fare. This introductory chapter gives us a solid footing before pulling the rug out from under us on the last page, and the story promises to be nothing if not interesting. The book can go in a number of different directions.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Red Lanterns #21

Jun 26, 2013

There was a lot of mediocre in this installment with a touch of great. There’s enough substance to keep Green Lantern fans coming back, but with now five titles in the Green Lantern family thanks to this week’s debut of Larfleeze the Orange Lantern’s solo title, there is some healthy competition for sales. I really want to see the creative teams stepping up to make sure readers are keeping their books on their pull lists.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scarlet Spider #20

Aug 15, 2013

Great toss-up to the clone saga at the end. Spidercide 2.0 made me laugh out loud. I look back on the clone saga fondly, which puts me in the minority. I was young and naive back then. Reminds me of simpler times with convoluted stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Seconds #1

Jul 25, 2014

The supporting cast and minor characters all benefit from the length of this story. Everyone is given a chance to be fleshed out and have their moment in the story, even the line cook. The thought and preparation O'Malley must have put into this story are evident, as things could easily become tangled and confusing with the nature of the plot device. The way the story builds upon itself as Katie finds herself simultaneously drawn towards her goal while being pulled from it is a testament to O'Malley's skill. This is a Book of the Year contender. The last long-form comic/graphic novel I felt this strongly about was 2003's Blankets from Craig Thompson. I strongly encourage you to pick up this book and spend some time with it. My first read-through was fairly hectic, as I dove head first into the world. I couldn't put it down. As I told fellow CTG writer F. D. White, this is a story that needs to marinate. This is a story that warrants discussion, which is wh

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Han Solo #1

Jun 16, 2016

Han Solo has gone from the smuggler mixing with the Rebellion to the smuggler mixing with professional racers, and I couldn’t be happier. It’s not an obvious extension of his story, but it’ totally works. With the exception of Darth Vader, this may be one of my favorite books from the Star Wars Marvel line.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #3

Jun 10, 2016

When it comes down to it, this just wasn’t a very thrilling installment. I want to reiterate that I have hope for this book. All the right pieces are there, and there is no arguing with the degree of talent, but it is taking longer to get everyone on the same page than I would like. This is Star Wars Light, I want the real thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Carnage #1

Jul 17, 2013

It’s totally random that the Frightful Four should pop up in this book. I finally just started watching the Ultimate Spider-Man animated series two days ago, and the Frightful Four were the villains in the first episode. Spooky. If you haven’t seen the animated series, check it out. It’s fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Carnage #2

Aug 7, 2013

More continuity issues here. This apparently takes place during the Sibling Rivalry mini-event that crosses over in Superior Team-Up and Scarlet Spider. However, those books have yet to come out. Wasn't really an issue big enough to be called out, but it was still noticed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superior Carnage #3

Sep 19, 2013

Two issues to go, and I’m sufficiently curious as to how things will play out. I’m anxious to see Spider-Man go up against the Carnage symbiote with its new host and direction. It is becoming obvious that this is going to end badly for everyone involved, and I can’t wait to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #1

Jul 3, 2013

If you're digging Spencer's writing, be sure to check out his work over in Avengers with Hickman on the build-up to Infinity. Also, check out Image's Morning Glories. I've been a fan for a while, and that's where I first came across Spencer. I'm new to Lieber, but would love some recommendations on his work. Contact me at @mahargen on Twitter to share your suggestions!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Foes of Spider-Man #2

Aug 7, 2013

There is an alternate version of Boomerang's daydream during his meeting with his lawyer. It wasn't suitable for printing, and it's pretty great. Track it down. It is out there on the interwebs somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #16

Aug 22, 2013

Spider-Man 2099 is up next. It has been a while since we’ve seen Miguel O’Hara. Last I remember he took ahold of Mjolnir and headed to space or something. This looks like a pre-Mjolnir Miguel, though, so I’m curious as to what point in the future he’s coming from.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #18

Sep 19, 2013

This is consistently one of Marvel’s top-selling books, and it is deserved. The real Peter Parker will be back eventually, but this isn’t a bad way to spend our time until that happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superior Spider-Man #19

Oct 19, 2013

This is consistently a Top 10 book for Marvel. It’s probably my favorite title from the House of Ideas at the moment. I’m looking forward to what’s next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Spider-Man #20

Nov 2, 2013

This was a momentum killer for me. I'll stick around because I know great things are coming, but that doesn't take the bland taste out of my mouth from this installment.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Spider-Man #21

Nov 13, 2013

It wasn't terrible, but I'm glad it's over. I've gotten too used to Slott's fairly fast-paced story presentation, so this step back threw me for a loop. Regardless, I'm ready for things to pick back up with a Venom story that should be interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man #22

Nov 29, 2013

Pretty great. This issue makes me wonder if this story isn’t so much about Peter Parker’s eventual return or Otto Octavius’ possibilities of redemption. Either way, I’m hooked.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #1

Jul 25, 2013

Scarlet Spider is up next? How did I miss that. I’ve known about the upcoming stories with Venom and Spider-Man 2099, but I completely missed any news of Kaine’s return. This is pretty great, and made me really look forward to the next installment. Kaine has to notice something’s going on with Spider-Ock, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #3

Sep 26, 2013

I really thought this was going to be an X-Men team-up issue since Wolverine and Beast are on the cover. Kinda bummed with the characters we were given since it was pretty much just an issue of Mighty Avengers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #5

Oct 26, 2013

If it's Superior Spider-Man, I'm going to be there. I'm more interested in the Spider-books now than I have been in years. Unfortunately, they can't all be winners. This book had some serious issues, but a lot of good ideas. They balance one another out for an ultimately readable, but forgettable, book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superior Spider-Man Team-Up #6

Nov 22, 2013

A good book. The story is fun, and the art handles the heavy lifting well. I'm looking forward to the conclusion of this story more out of interest than the desire to get to whatever is coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Unchained #1

Jun 12, 2013

Snyder and Lee hit a home run here, there’s really no other way to put it. I look forward to the next installment, and I’m already upset that this book won’t be shipping in September.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman Unchained #2

Jul 11, 2013

Jim Lee is Jim Lee. Love him or hate him, he's a top-tier talent. He has an obvious style that doesn't change much. His set pieces here are great and just the right degree of epic. His design on the assorted black hole weaponry of Lane's is solid and fits well into the almost sci-fi approach Snyder seems to be taking to this title. I hope this direction is expanded on in future issues. Snyder's characteristic darkness is beginning to seep in as well, so I'm very interested in where this story might be going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Thanos: The Infinity Revelation #1

Aug 8, 2014

If you enjoyed Starlin's previous work with Thanos, definitely give this book a read. It is well worth your time. If that wasn't your cup of tea, don't expect anything else here. This, while entertaining, left me wanting a lot more and having a number of unanswered questions. Will Starlin be given the opportunity to create a modern Infinity trilogy with these characters, or is The Infinity Revelation a one-off story? Time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #2

Feb 1, 2017

I’ve never been a huge Captain Atom guy. He’s always been a side character who occasionally pops up in a story. Giving him a chance with this book was a great move on DC’s part, and you should do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Fuse #1

Feb 11, 2014

Not a perfect introduction to the story, but enough to keep me interested. I’ll be back for issue two with hopes the team ironed out some of the wrinkles and gotten themselves into more of a groove.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Illegitimates #1

Dec 19, 2013

A solid introductory issue. Pick it up, see if you connect with the material. It won't be for everyone, but there are some who will greatly enjoy this riff on espionage books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Mercenary Sea #1

Feb 11, 2014

There is a hole in my pull list that this title fills. This is a fun action/adventure story that takes the reader on a cinematic trip with a group of likeable adventurers. I can’t wait to see where the story takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Wicked + The Divine #1

Jun 19, 2014

This may not be a book for everyone. Gillen has a tendency to work with very modern phrasing, and not everyone enjoys that sort of approach to storytelling. There is an ongoing debate as to whether or not this affects the ability of the story to age well and remain relatable. Regardless, it's an excellent story that warrants at least a run-through of this first installment. I for one, am fully committed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Three #1

Oct 9, 2013

I’m a sucker for a historical tale. I’m in for the remainder of this arc. There’s great cinematic pacing and brutal art that really make this tale shine. Also, there’s a historical consult on this book. How many comics can add that credit?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #7

Jan 11, 2017

I'm not getting into half as much as I'd like to, so I can simply say that this is a book you need to be reading. It's a monthly, so there's really no excuse.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #8

Feb 8, 2017

So, Titans remains in my top 3 Rebirth titles for another month. Spoiler alert - I don't see it going anywhere anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toe Tag Riot #1

Nov 26, 2014

The book is raw and to the point, much like the music that inspires it. What you see is what you get. I mentioned earlier that there's a place for everything. Sometimes you want the Grant Morrison treatment on a story, sometimes you just want to see and zombie with a mohawk eat a bunch of Aryan tools. This hit home with me, so I can't recommend it enough. Matt Miner is an emerging voice in comics and I look forward to seeing him grow.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Trinity (2016) #8

Apr 20, 2017

I don’t like being down on books. I just wanted a lot more from this epilogue than space filler. Use these moments to tease what’s to come or expand on what’s already happened. Limping through is no way to spend 20 pages worth of story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #1

Jul 3, 2013

To gear up for Trinity War, I've recently started rereading the various titles that lead up to it. I have had no experience with Justice League Dark up until last week. I've never been found of DC's magic world. The closest I've gotten over the years is the odd Shazam/Captain Marvel story here or there. Dark is a pretty solid title, so I'm glad I'm getting a bit more of the background before the crossover hits in earnest. For a prologue, this was a pretty effective book. However, this isn’t a one-shot. This is a kick-off issue for an ongoing, so I was really looking for something else to keep my interest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #2

Jul 31, 2013

I have no idea if this is a limited or an ongoing series. I would assume it is going to be ongoing since there is nothing on the cover to indicate a specific number of issues. I think I would prefer this story to be a limited series, just to avoid dragging out the reveals. I want to see Pandora’s involvement in the Trinity War, which will be completed next month. Where does the title go from there? I’m hoping we get some sort of resolution in the core Trinity War titles to Pandora’s Box, and the plot thread isn’t stretched out in this title too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #25

Jul 18, 2013

I’m not sure where things are going with the Ultimate universe as a whole. Rumors of its impending demise run pretty strong these days. Can’t wait to see where things are going with Ultimate Hunger whenever it winds up being released. There’s talk of Morales coming over to 616, but I’d really like some closure from the end of the Spider-Men miniseries where 616 Peter Parker Googles that universe’s Miles Morales.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #30

May 30, 2013

Pasqual Ferry is a welcome addition the Wolverine and the X-Men family. His pencils are great. For what may be the first time in the series, I'm truly seeing the students as the kids they are. It's sometimes easy to forget when things get heavy, but these are a bunch of fourteen to sixteen year olds running around with these incredible powers and emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wraith: Welcome To Christmasland #1

Nov 13, 2013

I've been a card carrying member of the Joe Hill groupies since his releases of 20th Century Ghosts and IDW's Locke & Key. The guy can write. Comics, novels, whatever. There were some hiccups here and there, but he's earned my faith. I'm committed for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wraith: Welcome To Christmasland #2

Dec 11, 2013

Even without the Christmasland aspect, this was a fun story. Easily something that would be at home in a book of Hill's short stories. In the comic medium it exceeds the previous wordy installment. I'm a completist and I really enjoy Hill's work with IDW. I'm in for the duration.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Young Avengers (2013) #8

Jul 26, 2013

A great combination of storytelling with killer art. I just hope the story starts winding up with Mother.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More