Manny Gomez's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Monkeys Fighting Robots, Florida Geek Scene Reviews: 27
9.6Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Although the book was a good read, it perhaps wasnt the best place to start fresh. There seems to be a lot going on, and its a bit offputting for new readers. Still, there is a strong atmosphere and great looking art, so that definitely holds an interest. At the very least this issue makes me want to go and pick up Kings first arc on the book, and play catch up. As I have no doubt he has a good story planned for Batman and his rogues' gallery.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

ArtMikel Janin, Hugo Petrus and June Chung are simply destroying on this book. This is some of the best Batman art I have seen. It not only perfectly fits the somber, more serious mood of the story, it also is inventive as hell. The continuing use of single page backgrounds with multiple renditions of Batman moving throughoutthe page to convey action is simply stunning. The level of detail is incredible and begs for multiple readings and flipping through. And the panels where colorist Chung uses that shade of yellow to highlight moments of action are especially effective. They pop too, giving the feeling of a cinematic quick cut. And thats the key word for the art here: cinematic. This book reads like a serious Batman film.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

This is still a solid book and a must read for Batman fans. The creative team is obviously laying groundwork for a long, slow burn story yet still dropping in enough attention to details and characters to make it rich and filled with substance. Its not boring by any means, but there is a meatiness and seriousness to this title that I havent found in any of the other Rebirth titles. I will continue to read Batman as long as King, Janin, Petrus and Chung are all involved. Lets see where the next arc takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

I really enjoyed this issue, and found it a nice change of pace from the previous storyline. Tom King seems to be attempting to write a very fully realized and three demnsional Batman, and its working. He is also working with some fantastic artists that compliment each story perfectly. If you love Batman, it is a great time to be reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

I really enjoyed this two-parter, and this issue in particular was a pleasure. It was a nice change of pace from the heavier four part arcs that have been the norm for the title and gave it a nice break in rhythm. Ive said this before but this a great time for Batman fans to be reading this comic, so go ahead and pick it up. Next issue will begin a new arc titled I Am Bane so it looks like this ride is going to continue in full force.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Beetle (2016) #3

Nov 23, 2016

Blue Beetle #3 is what great comics are all about. The perfect marriage of pictures, words, layout, and color. I highly recommend you pick the book up if you are a fan of classic and fun superheroics. Its a nice change from the heavy doom and gloom that hangs over the Rebirth event, and I hope this book and creative team continue to tell stories together.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Beetle (2016) #4

Dec 30, 2016

If you're a fan of old-school superhero comics, then this is the book for you. I can't think of another book on the stands right now that feels like this one (maybe Savage Dragon when it is at its best). With so many of DC's Rebirth titles falling on the gloomier and darker side, it's great to see the balance this comic brings. It's is most assuredly my favorite DCU title at the moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Blue Beetle (2016) #5

Jan 25, 2017

Enough is enough, just go ahead and pick up this title. You really wont be disappointed. Youll be reminded why we all were drawn to comics in the first place. They have a delivery that no other medium can provide. A synchronicity of story, art, and color that give you a particular type of experience. Pure. Good. Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #1

Oct 26, 2016

Cave Carson Has a Cybernetic Eye is probably my favorite of the Young Animal titles thus far, and it's definitely the one I would recommend the most. It's easier to dive into than the other more out there titles, but still has plenty of weirdness to make it all original.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Chew #60

Nov 30, 2016

Its bittersweet to see any comic book series end, as it means we can no longer live in that particular story or world. But its a heavy testament to the power of these creators that even someone who wasnt a constant reader of this title, was able to get absolute pleasure from reading this issue. Do yourself a favor pick It up. Or better yet, start checking out the collected editions and give the whole series a shot. I know I am going to.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #7

Dec 28, 2016

It all ends on a cliffhanger, with the Kryptonians poised to battle the Amazons. Admittingly this is a great idea, but one I was hoping would be resolved in this issue. Dark Knight III keeps getting longer, and sometimes it feels a bit stretched out. But the series has hooked me, and I will continue to read it until the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Oct 12, 2016

*I picked up the cover by Jaime Hernandez, which alone is worth the cover price.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 19, 2016

With its great storytelling and fabulous art, this is a book that is definitely going and staying on my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jughead (2015) #10

Oct 26, 2016

With this issue's great cliffhanger, I will definitely be getting Jughead #11, and maybe sticking around for a while. Id forgotten how much I love this character and this book reminded me.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jughead (2015) #11

Nov 30, 2016

Do yourself a favor and pick up Jughead #11. If you have been curious about the new Archie universe, its a great place to start. Its also a great book for people just getting into comics. Its funny, modern, and accessible. Grab a hamburger and sit down to read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #1

Nov 16, 2016

So if you were hesitating to jump into this new imprint, I suggest you give Mother Panic a try. Itll be enough like a DCU book that you wont be put off, yet it will still give you a feel for the kind of comics Way and DC are trying to create with Young Animal; new, exciting, and experimental.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #2

Dec 28, 2016

If you have been sitting on getting onboard with any of the Young Animal titles, Mother Panic is probably the best title to do finally do so. It will give you the unique experience that the comic book line provides, yet its accessible enough for mainstream fans as well. This creative team has introduced a new addition to Gothams mythology that I believe could be here to stay. I cant wait to read issue #3.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Namesake #1

Nov 9, 2016

CONCLUSIONNamesake is a solid first issue overall, and a nice addition to BOOM! Studios original, non-licensed work. As much as I have enjoyed those properties, it's great to see the publisher step out with more new and original work to put on the shelves. And at just four issues, it's an investment well worth your time. I'll stick around and see where this takes me and I think you should do.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Reborn #1

Oct 19, 2016

If I have one complaint, its the short length. I read the book fairly quicklyand wanted perhaps a few more pages once the reveal is made. Although the ending does serve as an emotional and narrative punch, I still could have used just a little bit more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #3

Dec 14, 2016

If you are looking for a comic that will transport you, entertain you, move you and leave you wanting more, then go ahead and pick up Reborn. Its one of the most purely joyful and readable comics on the shelves now, and also one of the most unique. Image and Millarworld have indeed done it again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Reborn #4

Jan 24, 2017

This a fun, smart, and original fantasy comic that hasnt stopped delivering the goods. Image and Mark Millar are a marriage you can always count on. The book is also pretty accessible for new readers " something you dont get in many fantasy titles. If the pace keeps up like this, I will continue reading and reviewing this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Seven to Eternity #1

Sep 28, 2016

Fans of fantasy world building (think Stephen King's Dark Tower series) should find much to like here. This could definitely go places, and Remender and company have rarely failed to deliver (Rage of Ultron for Marvel being the only weak chain I can think of). With this book, Image continues to be the best publisher of mainstream comics in the business today. Give this book a chance.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #1

Oct 12, 2016

After two series, Young Animal is well on its way to becoming the line to keep your eye on. With so much convoluted New 52, Convergence, Rebirth bombardment, its great to see DC truly do reinvention and rebooting the right way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #2

Nov 9, 2016

I really can't sing enough praises about this title, or Young Animal in general. This whole line has the potential to be a new Vertigo, but with an identity of its own, relevant to its place and time; reflectiveof a new generation of comic book creators and fans. Visit your local comics shop today and pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #4

Jan 6, 2017

Admittingly this may be the least accessible book from Young Animal, but I would not let that keep you away. Its a strange, challenging and unique book. But it is a comic well worth reading and giving a chance. It reminds me of the kind of books Vertigo released in its early days, which of course led to a revolution in the industry. I have a feeling the same is being done here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Hood #2

Dec 22, 2016

This is a must add to your pull list. Dark Circle Comics are creating an identity with quality, sophisticated and grown up books. Black Hood is a definite read if you love stuff like Criminal, Kill or Be Killed, Stray Bullets, or Garth Ennis' classic Punisher runs.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Black Hood: Season 2 #1

Nov 2, 2016

If the rest of The Black Hood plays out this good, then there might just be a new contender in the world of crime comics (better watch your backs, Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips!). Kudos must also be given to editor Alex Segura for helping bring the package together.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

1st

February

January

More