Mark Tweedale's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Multiversity Comics Reviews: 102
8.0Avg. Review Rating

6.0
Abe Sapien #10

Feb 12, 2014

I hope this is something that can be reined in in future, because the wall it's putting between the characters and readers is troubling, and used sparsely it is far more powerful.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Abe Sapien #11

Mar 12, 2014

I liked this more than the last one, but the story still needs a tighter focus on the emotional components.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Abe Sapien #13

Jun 11, 2014

This was a good issue. With a stronger ending, I would have given it an 8, but the abruptness of the it grabbed me by the scruff of the neck and and pulled me out of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abe Sapien #14

Jul 9, 2014

Pick up this issue. If you're new to the series, pick up 12 and 13 while you're at it, otherwise this could be tricky to understand. For long term readers, this issue is going to blow you away. This issue does what comics do best. It tells the story in the most visually engaging way possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #15

Aug 13, 2014

I liked this issue. It stands alone well enough for new readers, but it also explores Abe in a way that's relevant to the ongoing story. I enjoyed seeing familiar faces again, and seeing new sides to them. Plus there was also a healthy dose of action and nightmare-inducing horror. All this from an issue that takes place almost completely in a single room.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Abe Sapien #16

Sep 10, 2014

So, this one was a bit off for me. Plot wise, it's moving forward and working, but I felt let down in the character department, and the exposition could have used a lighter touch. There's some intriguing mysteries here though, and the atmosphere is very well handled. What's there is good, but it's a bit cluttered.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Abe Sapien #17

Oct 8, 2014

So, this was not the kind of issue I was expecting, but it was a good issue nonetheless. Gene's addition to the cast was totally unexpected, and yet it totally made sense. I find there are times the series tends to talk about choices and actions rather than showing them, which is why I enjoyed Gene's change so much. His change manifested itself as a choice that became very real action, giving Sebastian the chance to draw an action sequence that was as much about being overwhelmed by mutants as it was about being overwhelmed by anger. When the series finds visual ways to explore its characters like this, it's really at its best.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Abe Sapien #18

Dec 10, 2014

But, it's only three and a bit pages in a larger story, and I have to be objective about the rest of the issue. The story surged near the end though, so I've a strong feeling the next one is going to be better.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Abe Sapien #19

Jan 14, 2015

Near the end there's an action sequence that ended with a moment that would have made for an excellent cliffhanger, but the next scene took it further and added another quieter moment that works even better. Things had gotten so interesting by the end" And now I have to impatiently await the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Abe Sapien #20

Feb 11, 2015

So this is where I find myself. I liked the issue. I really liked Megan. I wish we'd seen more of her sooner. But the pacing threw me a bit, and there are some things that could have been played tighter and punchier.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Abe Sapien #21

Mar 11, 2015

Overall, this is a slight issue in terms of story and character, but in terms of zombie action, it delivers in spades.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Abe Sapien #22

Apr 8, 2015

Overall, this last issue didn't quite pull all its elements together. The demon sequence was especially talky and anti-climactic. However, there were some great moments, really shocking stuff with Arbogast, Dayana, and Abe's act of murder. It ended in the right place too. Give me more stuff like that and I'd be very happy indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #28

Nov 11, 2015

Overall, this issue is set-up. It's a quieter issue, and the strength of this arc hinges on the next part. However, everything is working smoothly, and I liked experiencing the more contemplative side of Abe. This arc and The Shadow Over Suwanee both handled this aspect of the series well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Abe Sapien #31

Feb 10, 2016

Abe is back in New York, in the building where Bruttenholm died, and is set to make further discoveries about himself. On top of that, his former teammates were/are/will be in the same city. This comic is starting to feel big. Not just in terms of current events, but in relation to its place in the larger world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Abe Sapien #32

Apr 13, 2016

Mark: It's a 9 from me. What can I say? I'm a sucker for seeing old Bruttenholm again. The whole homecoming story really worked for me. I've wanted to see Abe feel sadness for a while. Letting him have that emotion brought so much more weight to what he was learning.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Abe Sapien #33

May 11, 2016

This series keeps cramming in more and more with each issue, yet somehow it hasn't become overwhelming. This series is sprinting to the finish line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Abe Sapien #34

Jun 8, 2016

Huge revelations abound in an issue that will stay with you long after you finish reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Abe Sapien #35

Jul 13, 2016

A stunningly beautiful issue that teases big things for the "Abe Sapien" finale.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Abe Sapien #36

Aug 31, 2016

Unfortunately, the series came undone at the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #138

Dec 16, 2015

This arc, End of Days, is the first half of the final Hell on Earth story, which means don't expect anything to be to be tied up next month. Expect it to be ripped open. We're in for a cliffhanger folks, make no mistake. Honestly, this is agony. I want the next issue, but I don't. January is going to be brutal.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #140

Apr 20, 2016

An excellent start to a new arc, and the welcome return of Ashley Strode.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #142

Jun 15, 2016

Excellent art and a problematic script lead to a very uneven issue, especially in terms of characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #143

Jul 20, 2016

An excellent beginning to a game-changing arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #144

Aug 17, 2016

A surprisingly quiet issue for one so close to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #146

Oct 19, 2016

A bleak, heart-breaking, and magnificent issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
B.P.R.D.: Hell On Earth #147

Nov 16, 2016

No, this is not the end of "B.P.R.D.," but it's still the end of an era. John Arcudi's run was incredible to behold, and you'd be crazy not to pick this issue up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Baltimore: Chapel Of Bones #1

Jan 1, 2014

Overall, this issue has certain limitations in that is adapting scenes that were originally written with a novel in mind, but it is still an excellent comic. And I can assure you, in the next issue big stuff happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: Chapel Of Bones #2

Feb 5, 2014

This issue progresses from fiery oranges to cold blue-greys and rich reds, finally ending with the sequence downstairs in dingy greys and faded browns. Dave Stewart's colours felt like the mood of the book, which is no small piece of praise. He got me right back to the feelings I had when I first read the novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Baltimore: Empty Graves #1

Dec 31, 1969

I am very impatient for more, and not just the next issue, but the next four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: Empty Graves #2

May 4, 2016

This issue is a quiet character study. I could go on about what I see in each of the characters, but ultimately I think that defeats the purpose. This is really about what you, the reader, see in the characters, and how much you enjoy exploring them will ultimately determine how interesting you'll find this issue. If you're more action orientated, this one may leave you cold. For me, this is the sort of thing I enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: Empty Graves #3

Jun 1, 2016

The issue's reach exceeded its grasp, but it's nonetheless an enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: Empty Graves #4

Jul 6, 2016

This is a good issue that appears to be setting up some very interesting things for the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: Empty Graves #5

Aug 3, 2016

A transformative issue that rips at the threads of the "Baltimore" world and rewrites the established structure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Cult Of The Red King #1

May 6, 2015

"The Cult of the Red King" is off to a great start for readers both new and old. There's confidence in Bergting's art now. He seems much more comfortable wearing the mantle of the "Baltimore" artist. The expanded cast has opened up the series. Now heading into its sixth volume, the book feels bigger than ever. Whatever comes next, count me along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Cult Of The Red King #2

Jun 3, 2015

Another solid entry in what could be the best "Baltimore" miniseries yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Cult Of The Red King #3

Jul 1, 2015

The only character that seems a bit left out at the moment is Dr. Rose, but with a cast this big, there's no harm in that. By necessity some characters have to take a step back. If he doesn't get his moment in this story, I'm sure he'll get one in a future tale. Mignola and company are juggling nine characters, and they're doing so in a way that makes it seem effortless (which is usually a sign that a lot of hard work went into it).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Cult Of The Red King #4

Aug 5, 2015

The way Golden and Bergting are working together on this arc, I swear they seem like they've been working together much longer than they have. This is only their second story, and yet the tone of the writing and art are in such perfect synchronisation. These guys make it look effortless. This is, without doubt, the best Baltimore story arc to date.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Infernal Train #1

Sep 4, 2013

Much of this issue is spent establishing time and place, and putting all the pieces on the board for what's to follow. The focus is clearly on building tension. Sure there's some vampire fights in there, but they play out differently from usual. What Baltimore discovers about the Infernal Train in the final pages should make for an exciting second issue. I can't wait to see where Mignola and company are going with this.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Infernal Train #2

Oct 16, 2013

It is a minor criticism, and very far from a damning one. Honestly, I feel like a bit of a jerk for mentioning it, because this is an issue that delivered in a big way and I really enjoyed it. Everyone involved, from writing to illustrating to colouring, lettering, and editing, has given it their all. It's a big moment for the series, and I'm happy to report it lives up to expectations. You'll have fun with this one for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Infernal Train #3

Nov 6, 2013

Ultimately this story is bigger than its three issues, and I suspect that later stories will make rereading this one a richer experience than it already is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Inquisitor #1

Jun 19, 2013

I find myself wanting to reread Baltimore from the beginning again. This story is the breath before the plunge, touching on elements from previous stories while setting pieces in place for something big. If you are a Baltimore fan, this is a story you can't afford to miss. Even if you're new to the series, The Inquisitor is easily accessible and well worth getting a hold of.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Baltimore: The Red Kingdom #1

Feb 1, 2017

"The Red Kingdom" is a compelling opening to the final chapter of "Baltimore." There's a lot squeezed into a mere twenty-four pages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Red Kingdom #2

Mar 1, 2017

An issue covering this much backstory and set-up could've easily fallen short, but Golden and Bergting always find the necessary drama and the right mysteries to tease to keep the energy up. Plus it was the sort of issue that was fun to think about afterward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: The Red Kingdom #3

Apr 5, 2017

A much more mood-focused issue, a necessary pause before the end is unleashed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Baltimore: The Widow and The Tank #1

Feb 20, 2013

All in all, these aren't stories that advance the plot, but they're good little vignettes. I feel like they'll read better in the eventual hardcover collection alongside A Passing Stranger and The Play.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Witch of Harju #1

Jul 30, 2014

If you're new to the series, check this out. In many ways this seems like a re-introduction to the Baltimore's universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Baltimore: The Witch of Harju #2

Aug 27, 2014

Still, if this weren't following Chapel of Bones, I would have assumed this was a side story in the vein of Dr. Leskovar's Remedy, which was a fun story, but it had no real impact on the ongoing plot. With the expanded cast, I was hoping for some character development, something to sink my teeth into, but that hasn't happened yet. So far it's been quite light. Honestly, this one's hard to judge without having read the final part. It's a solid issue, though it seems a little inconsequential considering what has preceded it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Baltimore: The Witch of Harju #3

Sep 24, 2014

I'm sold on Peter Bergting. Sure he's new to the series, but this issue makes it absolutely clear he's got a real feel for this world. This wasn't just a good issue, it was the right ending, strengthening the previous issues, and I finished it wanting to read more. Next month is "The Wolf and the Apostle," Ben Stenbeck's last Baltimore miniseries. I'll be sorry to see him go, but I know Baltimore is in good hands now, and I can't help being eager to see what Christopher Golden and Peter Bergting cook up for us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Wolf and the Apostle #1

Oct 29, 2014

There's more I want to say about this issue, but I told myself I'd keep the review for the first issue spoiler free. So, my final verdict? Pick it up, even if you're new to the series. It's only two issues long, but it makes the most of it. The story stands alone extremely well, even though it's picking up on story elements that were already in motion. If you're already a Baltimore reader, this story is simply unmissable. Judge Duvic as a werewolf. You can't say no to that. Like I said at the beginning, this is my favorite Baltimore story yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Baltimore: The Wolf and the Apostle #2

Nov 26, 2014

Right now the Baltimore series is in a state of transition from a solo book to a team book. Usually transitions are rocky, but not so here. It's on sure footing, perhaps on surer footing than it's ever been. I'm going to miss Ben on this title, but I can't feel too bad about it when I know he's going on to Frankenstein Underground and Peter Bergting is showing so much promise. This story simultaneously makes me lament the end of an era, while eagerly anticipating the next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Frankenstein Underground #2

Apr 22, 2015

This issue flew by. It's mostly action, so it seems a little short, but it's beautifully handled. Ben Stenbeck is doing his best work on this series. I can't wait to see where it goes"

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Frankenstein Underground #4

Jun 24, 2015

Frankenstein Underground really is an odd book, and I mean that in a good way. At first it seems like it's at the periphery of the Hellboy Universe, but it's actually tangled up in the foundation of its mythology. With only one issue to go I'm very curious to see where it goes next. With all this set-up, it feels like it must be something quite grand in scope.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Frankenstein Underground #5

Jul 22, 2015

All in all, I'm geeking out about all the connections with this story. I want to see Frankenstein's Creature again and this reborn subterranean world. I want to explore all the mysteries this story hints at. I'm not ready to say goodbye to this corner of the Hellboy Universe yet, not by long shot. I have a feeling that years from now, when this story's place in the big picture becomes clearer, this will make one hell of a reread.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harrow County #1

May 13, 2015

In case I haven't impressed it upon you yet, I loved the hell out of this book. Under normal circumstances I'd probably be lamenting Tyler Crook being too busy to do further “Witchfinder” stories, but having him on “Harrow County” is even better. Together, Cullen Bunn and Tyler Crook are unmissable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harrow County #2

Jun 1, 2015

Right now, there is no comic I enjoy reading more than "Harrow County," and it's barely begun. I look forward to spending many more issues immersed in this world Bunn and Crook have created.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harrow County #10

Mar 9, 2016

Harrow County continues to show the best horror comics has to offer. Cullen Bunn and Tyler Crook complement each other perfectly"they clearly love working on this series, and that passion for the work shows in every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Harrow County #11

Apr 14, 2016

After every issue of "Harrow County" I'm always eager for the next, but this one more than usual.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 #1

Oct 28, 2015

This pair of smaller stories probably aren't going to shake your world. They aren't going to keep you awake at night wondering what will happen next. But they're solid fun, and they shine some light on an extremely important relationship for this series, one that I'm excited to see grow throughout the '50s and on into the '60s and beyond. It makes me want to travel into the future so I can read a decade's worth of Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. omnibuses.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 #2

Nov 25, 2015

Plus Stenbeck and Mignola are a great team. I think I said that already. But it bears repeating. I hope to see another story with them working together very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 - Beyond The Fences #1

Feb 24, 2016

This issue is excellent. Chris Roberson and Paolo and Joe Rivera seem to have a natural affinity for this series and I can't wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 - Beyond The Fences #2

Mar 23, 2016

After those shorts stories from Mike Mignola and Ben Stenbeck and now this arc with Chris Roberson and Paolo and Joe Rivera, I think Hellboy and the B.P.R.D. has established itself firmly and it's definitely vying for the position of my favorite Mignola series. It's got such a range of tone, I can't help being wooed by it. Let's face it, I am smitten.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 - Beyond The Fences #3

Apr 27, 2016

This was an excellent the Hellboy Universe debut from both Chris Roberson and Paolo Rivera.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #1

Sep 21, 2016

This is a strong foundation for the next part, but overall it's a quiet issue focused on building characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #2

Oct 19, 2016

Overall this was an enjoyable issue, with a strong start and finish, even if it sags a bit in the middle.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #3

Nov 23, 2016

While I'm waiting impatiently waiting for the next arc of "Joe Golem," I'm very glad Reynolds was able to take the time to do this. His work truly elevated the issue for me. Hopefully we'll see Reynolds and Roberson work together again before too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 - Ghost Moon #1

Mar 8, 2017

The script is overwrought, but this is a strong Hellboy Universe debut from Brian Churilla.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 - Ghost Moon #2

Apr 12, 2017

This was a terrible disappointment. Aside from a few nice character beats, the only good thing about this issue is the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hellboy in Hell #7

Jul 30, 2015

This issue is up there with the very best Hellboy tales, but even still, I struggle to think of a single one with the range of tone found in this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hellboy in Hell #10

Jun 1, 2016

I never thought I'd give any story a 10, but I couldn't in good conscience give this anything less. This is a masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hellboy: Into The Silent Sea #1

Apr 19, 2017

"Into the Silent Sea" is among the very best stories in Mignola's Hellboy Universe. Gary Gianni's work here is masterful.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hellboy: Winter Special #2016

Jan 29, 2016

Obviously, this was great. Can we please make this an annual tradition? That'd be awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Joe Golem: Occult Detective #2

Dec 3, 2015

Overall, Joe Golem is good. I certainly can't fault it, but it hasn't really grabbed me yet either. The character types are familiar and they act exactly the way I expect them to act. I feel like there needs to be some unpredictability in the mix. At the moment, the Rat Catcher itself is where I'm engaging the most. After all, who'd have expected Joe would find the kids alive? I was expecting him to find gnawed and rotting corpses.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Joe Golem: Occult Detective #3

Jan 6, 2016

This issue gave me a strong sense of what this series can be and the sort of stories it can tell. Obviously that's very important in a debut arc. I hope the next arc puts more emphasis on the present. The flashbacks, while visually interesting, have limited pay-off and tend to be a bit one note. When Joe Golem is at its best is when the story dives into tragic, haunted stuff. That's where it really shines. The imagery used to to explore a certain character's interior life was perfect and I have to praise all involved for pulling it off so well. That sequence was masterful.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Joe Golem: Occult Detective #4

Feb 3, 2016

The first half of this issue is pulling in too many directions. The disconnected flashback followed by the weak Lori and Joe scene hurt the pacing rather badly, and the story seems to struggle to get started. However, the second half is firing on all cylinders. If it can maintain the energy set-up here, the next issue should be fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Joe Golem: Occult Detective #5

Mar 2, 2016

This issue was a great way to close out the first batch of Joe Golem stories. It struck a nice balance of catering to both readers that have only read the comic and those familiar with the prose novel. Patric Reynolds and Christopher Golden seem to do their best work with sad, haunted characters, and this issue has a great moment for that. I don't know when the next round of Joe Golem stories will come along, but hopefully it'll be before the year is done.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lobster Johnson: Metal Monsters of Midtown #1

May 25, 2016

This is an issue that celebrates the era it's set in, with genuine love for its influences woven into every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobster Johnson: Metal Monsters of Midtown #2

Jun 29, 2016

This issue hangs on to the Fleischer-inspired narrative we gushed about last week while firmly planting itself in the bedrock of the universe around it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Lobster Johnson: Metal Monsters of Midtown #3

Jul 27, 2016

This story is one of the best "Lobster Johnson" stories yet. Arcudi, Zonjic, and Stewart shine in an issue that's a pure joy to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobster Johnson: Pirates Ghost #1

Mar 29, 2017

This is "Lobster Johnson" at its best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobster Johnson: Pirates Ghost #2

Apr 26, 2017

Simply put, this issue was fun. I know that's not a very grandiose way to describe it, but it's a very accurate one. "The Pirate's Ghost" is an unabashedly fun issue told by a pair of creators whose craftsmanship shows in every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightlights #1

Mar 20, 2017

A visually stunning debut from Lorena Alvarez.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rise of the Black Flame #1

Sep 7, 2016

An excellent start to an intriguing new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rise of the Black Flame #2

Oct 5, 2016

This is a packed read, and yet also a slow burn. The art is fantastic from cover to cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Rise of the Black Flame #3

Nov 2, 2016

A highly enjoyable issue, despite a rough patch.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Rise of the Black Flame #4

Dec 7, 2016

I'm totally entranced by Christopher Mitten's artwork, and Chris Roberson has invested in this band of characters so much that I'm genuinely worried about them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rise of the Black Flame #5

Jan 4, 2017

The ending was a little rough, but this was a minor drawback to an otherwise fantastic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Sledgehammer '44: Lightning War #1

Nov 29, 2013

In case you haven't figured it out yet, this comic is most definitely a buy. Longterm fans of Mignola's world will love it, and yet it's completely accessible to new readers. So much of this comic was pure wish fulfillment for me. Now if only I had the next issue"

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Nameless City #1

Apr 7, 2016

And since it's the first part of the trilogy, I get the feeling that there will be more in this book after I read The Stone Heart (the second volume), and more again when the final volume comes out. So as I offer my final verdict, keep in mind that it's not really final at all. Ask me again what I think of this book after volume three is out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Nameless City #2

Apr 5, 2017

"The Stone Heart" is a sequel that upstages its predecessor"a truly rewarding reading experience, one I'm already eager to indulge in again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Sixth Gun #50

Jun 16, 2016

If you're ever a guest in my home, it'd only be a matter of time before you'd be dragged over to one of my bookcases so that I could introduce you to "The Sixth Gun". It's a damn fine comic, one that I will always love.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Visitor: How And Why He Stayed #1

Feb 22, 2017

While I enjoyed the first half of the issue, the second left me cold.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Where is Jake Ellis? #4

Aug 13, 2014

This was my favorite chapter so far. Edmondson and Zonjic raised the stakes further than they've ever been before in a series that's always been tense at the best of times. It's surprisingly easy to dive back into the world of “Jake Ellis” again. Bring on Chapter Ten.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #1

Aug 8, 2016

It's good to have Sir Edward back again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #2

Sep 28, 2016

A solid issue for sure, but I can't help but also wonder if things are starting to become, to use your word, overstuffed. This is a dense story so far, and my hope is that we can have just a little breathing room in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #3

Oct 26, 2016

A little relaxing of the pace gives this issue room to breathe and grow its characters, though we couldn't help but miss Dave Stewart on this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #4

Nov 30, 2016

Roberson and Stenbeck have crafted another excellent issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #5

Jan 2, 2017

A solid ending to this miniseries with great promise for future stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Witchfinder: The Mysteries of Unland #1

Jun 19, 2014

Definitely pick this book up. It's pushing Witchfinder's boundaries in story and art and it's better for it. The creative team on this one works fantastically well together. I hope this is the first of many Witchfinder books from them.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Witchfinder: The Mysteries of Unland #2

Jul 16, 2014

This was a quieter issue mainly concerned with set-up. The British-ness of Sir Edward's wit is particularly enjoyable, and Tyler Crook's work is excellent. For the most part though, the mysteries of Unland are still unfolding. We've been shown but a glimpse of what's really going on, and now that the ground work has been laid, I'm eager to discover more it the next part.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witchfinder: The Mysteries of Unland #3

Aug 20, 2014

And as I've said before in my reviews for the first two issues, Tyler Crook is excellent on Witchfinder. It fits him like a glove, and I'm really enjoying his work. Just like I think of Tonci Zonjic as THE Lobster Johnson artist, I'm beginning to think of Tyler Crook as THE Witchfinder artist. This series isn't over yet and I'm already hoping another Crook-drawn Witchfinder will be announced, even if it's an eight-page short story in Dark Horse Presents.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: The Mysteries of Unland #4

Sep 17, 2014

Overall, it was the atmosphere of this one that I enjoyed the most. I know that's a vague sort of compliment, but the general mood of this issue clicked. This is what I think Witchfinder should feel like.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Witchfinder: The Mysteries of Unland #5

Oct 15, 2014

I'm very sorry to see this minseries end. Witchfinder stories come along so rarely, and this one has been my favourite so far. This book is unique in the Mignolaverse. There really is nothing else like it. Kim Newman and Maura McHugh gave this series a very distinctive voice that felt both authentic and also very playful. They clearly had fun with the dialogue and I in turn had fun reading it. Sir Edward's world felt more British than it ever has before. I can't stop praising Tyler Crook. He made this book his own right from page one, and continued to impress and surprise all the way through. The flashbacks in the fog in issue 4 are still my favourite bits though. Just imagine what he and Dave Stewart could do with the foggy streets of London… Yes, I am very sorry this miniseries has ended indeed. I hope this team will return for more Witchfinder… and soon.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

More