Martin Ferretti's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Crusaders, All-Comic, Valiant Central Reviews: 65
7.8Avg. Review Rating

6.0
'68: Homefront #1

Nov 7, 2014

Overall, '68 Homefront #3 is not my favorite issue of this long running series, but does serve as a pretty good zombie story. I'm curious to see how the threads which were introduced here will be resolved in the next issue and whether they'll be reintroduced in future installments of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-New Hawkeye #1

Mar 5, 2015

All-New Hawkeye #1 is a great start to Clint and Kate's adventures and with a creative team as talented as this, there's no doubt in my mind that the book will continue in the tradition of its predecessor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Archer & Armstrong: The One Percent #1

Nov 12, 2014

Archer and Armstrong: The One Percent #1 should excite current fans of the series and really sets up some very interesting story possibilities for the future of these characters, and I can't wait to see how this affects the rest of the Valiant universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Big Trouble In Little China #6

Nov 12, 2014

Overall, Big Trouble In Little China #6 won't be winning any awards, but it's a fun book filled with humor and worth reading if you're looking for something different and unique.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blackcross #1

Mar 4, 2015

Overall, I wasn't very impressed with Project Superpowers: Blackcross #1, but I can definitely see the potential of story exploding after a couple of more issues as Ellis continues to build upon the mythology of the series. If you're a fan of Elli's work and prefer the darker stories which have become so popular as of late though, and don't mind the slow buildup, this may be a book well worth checking out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #5

Aug 5, 2015

Bloodshot Reborn #5 is another terrific installment to a captivating series. Over five issues, weve seen Bloodshot trying to regain his lost identify, but with this issue finally see that what really matters is the level of progression that Bloodshot has made over the past five issues and how much he has learned about himself, even if he still refuses to read his own file to learn his true identity. To be honest, whether we ever learn who he really was is probably not important as it is who the character has become that really is making Bloodshot Reborn consistently one of Valiants best books and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Book Of Death: The Fall Of Bloodshot #1

Jul 22, 2015

Overall, Book of Death: The Fall of Bloodshot #1 is a perfect companion book not just to this summers event, but also to the mythos of Bloodshot itself. With emotional storytelling and beautifully illustrated pages, this will certainly stand out as one of the finest Bloodshot stories to date. How does Bloodshot fall? Pick this up now and find out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Burning Fields #3

Mar 19, 2015

With an interesting premise, great characters, and amazing art, Burning Fields

View Issue       View Full Review
5.4
Cinderella: Age of Darkness #3

Jan 16, 2015

While not my favorite book coming out of Zenescope, and even though this story has very little to do with the events of Realms War, Cinderella: Age of Darkness #3 is sheer fun and worth a look.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Conan / Red Sonja #1

Jan 16, 2015

Overall, Conan/Red Sonja #1 is a solid start to the miniseries. Simone and Zub have really nailed these characters and made them interesting to both old and new readers alike. I look forward to seeing how this story develops " a definite read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Conundrum #1

Mar 4, 2015

Overall, this oversized first issue of Conundrum is quite an accomplishment and I look forward to seeing how the future of Thomas, Zener, and the Ubermensch become intertwined. If you love this type of steampunk-inspired story that serves as a throwback to early comics, then Conundrum #1 is certainly a book you should give a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Creature Cops: Special Varmint Unit #1

Nov 12, 2014

Overall, Creature Cops: Special Varmint Unit #1 is a very enjoyable book with tons of story potential. The cast is interesting, the story is unique, and the creative team is right on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Curb Stomp #1

Feb 25, 2015

If you're looking for a book without superheroes and with deeply interesting, and layered characters, look no further than Curb Stomp #1. I expect this book to be one of the sleeper hits of 2015.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dead Drop #1

May 6, 2015

Overall, Dead Drop #1 is a tremendously fun issue which raises some really interesting questions as to what is going on. Just what is the virus that's introduced here and how is it connected not just to the Vine but to some of the other alien connections in the Valiant universe. While not a perfect issue, Dead Drop #1 is off to a great start and has really sold me on the rest of the miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ei8ht #2

Mar 19, 2015

Huge compliments go out to Albuquerque for the art in this book which is just stunning. Particularly important to remember as you're reading is that while color work can often make or break the visuals of a book, they actually mean something here, and help differentiate different moments in time which is something not often done in comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Feathers #1

Jan 8, 2015

While there are some darker elements to the story " the mysterious man on the carriage who kidnaps children, for example " this is a very fun story that anyone can get into. In many respects, Feathers offers us a new perspective on the typical superhero story by throwing in elements of ancient fairy tales which I found refreshing. I eagerly await the release of the next issue in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Five Ghosts #14

Dec 4, 2014

There has definitely been a large resurgence in this type of book recently but Five Ghosts continues to be among the best and this issue is no different. If you're looking for a past-faced, exciting and gritty story that will have you begging for the next issue, this book is definitely for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
God Hates Astronauts #3

Nov 5, 2014

While God Hates Astronauts may not be a book for everyone, it's a terrific story that never takes itself seriously. If you want try something different and innovative though, this may be the book for you. I look forward to seeing where Browne takes the book in the future, and whether he can maintain the level of humor throughout the series run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
God Hates Astronauts #5

Jan 9, 2015

God Hates Astronauts may be a tough series to follow due to its various intricate and nonsensical stories, but it is so much fun that it is well worth the read. God Hates Astronauts #5 is a definite must buy.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grimm Fairy Tales Presents: Wonderland #30

Jan 1, 2015

This type of story may not be for everyone but if you love fantasy, you will definitely find a lot to like here. There maybe be a couple issues with the pacing and art, but overall Wonderland #30 is another great chapter in the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror #6

Jan 8, 2015

Overall, another good issue to a great series which every horror fan should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grimm Tales Of Terror #9

Mar 13, 2015

Grimm Tales of Terror #9 is another great addition to the growing Zenescope line, and a fine example of horror comics done right. If you're not reading this book yet, you are really missing out on one of the most genuinely exciting and scary books being published today.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Holy F*ck #3

Mar 13, 2015

With a title like Holy F*ck, there's really not much you can expect but pure insanity, and issue 3 definitely delivers. If you want a book that doesn't take itself seriously, but is pure comedic gold from start to finish, then this may be a book for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ivar, Timewalker #2

Feb 18, 2015

Overall, Ivar, Timewalker #2 is a great book with terrific dialogue and beautiful art. Van Lente has definitely done his research basing many of the concepts in this book on real science and it shows. Definitely pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
IXth Generation #1

Jan 8, 2015

If you're looking for a well conceived book with elements of science fiction and fantasy, IXth Generation is a series you will want to put at the top of your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Jack Hammer: Usurper #2

Dec 4, 2014

Not knowing much about Jack Hammer, I wasn't sure what to expect with this book, but it was definitely a fun ride. If you're tired of the same old superhero book and are looking for a good detective story, Jack Hammer: Usurper #2 should be part of your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Low #5

Dec 4, 2014

Remender and Tocchini continue to impress me with every issue of this series and the levels of depth they are adding to the characters and the world with each succeeding chapter. Considering the ending of this issue, I am very excited to see where issue 6 will take us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nailbiter #7

Nov 6, 2014

Nailbiter #7 is packed full of emotion and exposition which will delight existing readers of the series, and should peak the interest of anyone picking the book up for the first time. The book definitely has a macabre feel to it, but if you're looking for an engrossing detective story, this is a series you do not want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ninjak #11

Jan 12, 2016

All in all, Ninjak #11 is a terrific issue that manages to elevate not just this series to a whole new level, but an often overlooked side of the universe. Fans have been clamoring for more of the magical side of Valiant ever since the first Death Defying Doctor Mirage miniseries, and this is an issue that truly delivers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1

Nov 7, 2014

Penny Dora and the Wishing Box #1 is one of the most touching and heartfelt books I've read in years. The book works on many levels and has a little bit for people of all ages to enjoy. If you're looking for a book that will take you back to your childhood, and you can read along with your kids, then this is definitely a solid choice, and I look forward to the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Pisces #1

May 1, 2015

Overall, Pisces #1 is a terrific inaugural issue with an intriguing story and fantastic art. If you go into this book with the solicitation in mind you may be surprised with what you find inside, but this book has strong potential to be one of the best new series of 2015 so pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Quantum and Woody Must Die #3

Mar 25, 2015

Overall, Quantum and Woody Must Die! #3 is a really solid book with tons of humor and plenty of action. If you've dropped off the Quantum and Woody bandwagon, or are looking for something a little different, Quantum and Woody Must Die! is a book you should be adding to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Quantum and Woody Must Die #4

Apr 29, 2015

Overall, Quantum and Woody Must Die! #4 is a terrific conclusion to what has been a really fun series with terrific character exploration for two characters which are somewhat overlooked by many fans. While no word has been given on when Quantum and Woody will return, I look forward to seeing more of this kind of story for the characters as they become more than cartoon-character versions of superheroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rai #12

Dec 22, 2015

While Rai #12 may not give readers a definite resolution to the latest arc, it is a prime example of why this book is so unique. With a rich, evolving storyline and visually striking art, Rai continues to be one of the best sci-fi series on the shelves today. Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rebels (2015) #1

Mar 13, 2015

If you're apprehensive about giving this book a try because of its setting, don't be. Rebels #1 offers both a beautiful, emotional script with terrific visuals that anyone who appreciates what the comic book medium can do needs to add to their pull list. The first issue is out April 8, 2015.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Regular Show #19

Jan 14, 2015

If you're a fan of Regular Show, or are just looking for a fun book to read with your kids, I highly recommend you pick up this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Robocop (2014) #6

Dec 4, 2014

Overall, this was a fairly enjoyable issue with plenty of exposition to move the overall plot of the book along. I wish we had seen more of Murphy but Killian's story is very interesting and definitely looks like it will pay off soon. With a talented creative team, Robocop is shaping up to be a great successor to the Robocop film franchise, but it is not without problems.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rot & Ruin #3

Nov 20, 2014

Overall, Rot & Ruin #3 is another great issue in this series. If you want more zombie horror, then this book is one you'll definitely want to add to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Sheltered #15

Mar 13, 2015

As good as Brisson's writing and narrative has been in this book, it is Johnnie Christmas' pencils that ultimately attracted me to the story and kept me along for the ride. His style is a bit sketchy and muddied which may put some readers off, but it conveys so much emotion that it serves as a terrific compliment to Brisson's gritty tale.Overall, Sheltered #15 is a solid epilogue to one of the most intriguing books of recent times. While not as gripping and powerful as the last issue, this book left me wanting the series to continue as we finally see the volcano explode which is supposed to bring on the apocalype. If you haven't read this book yet, pick up the first trade and give it a shot, you will not be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Shinobi: Ninja Princess #4

Dec 4, 2014

If you're looking for a deep, character-drive story, Shinobi: Ninja Princess #4 will not be the book for you, but if you want a fun ninja story, or a book that a younger reader will enjoy, then this will definitely be a book you'll want to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinergy #1

Nov 20, 2014

If you're looking to a fun, action packed comedy book this week, then Sinergy #1 is a great choice. With a great creative team, and excellent pacing, Image may have another hit on their hands as this issue lays a solid foundation for what's ahead.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinergy #3

Jan 8, 2015

Overall, another great issue to a serious that I am really enjoying, and I cannot wait to see how the developments which surfaced in this serious propel the serious forward into uncharted territory.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supreme: Blue Rose #6

Jan 16, 2015

Supreme Blue Rose #6 is a beautiful book in its narrative, art, and concept and one I look forward to reading every month. The exposition heavy story may turn many readers off, but if you're looking for a smart and stimulation read, you'll find the payoff here is too large to ignore.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Symmetry #1

Dec 9, 2015

Overall, Symmetry #1 is a great start for this new series. While it may not be perfect, and parts of the book may give some readers a sense of discomfort in how this world works, it is no doubt intriguing, and Hawkins and Ienco have managed to create a living, breathing world in just one issue and thats no easy task. It would be difficult to say whether this will be the next runaway hit for Image and Top Cow, but if the creative team continues in this direction, there is no doubt this book will develop a large following, and deservedly so. Symmetry #1 is a book you will certainly want to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Terrible Lizard #3

Jan 14, 2015

A book featuring a young girl and a giant dinosaur as its protagonists could have easily become just another cliched Godzilla ripoff, but the creative team is presenting us with an intriguing story which shows continued potential to be a great hit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Autumnlands #2

Dec 4, 2014

If you skipped out on the first issue, you may want to rethink your decision. Tooth & Claw #2 further expands on the first issue with some very interesting story and character development with the same beautiful art and character design. If this book continues to develop this way, Tooth & Claw may very well become a classic fantasy tale that everyone will want to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Bigger Bang #1

Nov 12, 2014

While not perfect, The Bigger Bang #1 shows a great deal of potential. I'm not entirely sure the direction this miniseries will take through its four-issue run, but I look forward to coming along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Black Hood #1

Feb 25, 2015

While The Black Hood may have debuted during the golden age of comics, don't think that this is just a tired rehash of old characters and concepts. Swierczynski and Gaydon have done an amazing job at updating the book to modern times, and creating one of the most polished and emotional books of 2015. If this title is any indication of what's to come, I expect a lot of people will be adding Archie and Dark Circle books to their pull list. The Black Hood #1 is a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fade Out #4

Jan 8, 2015

The Fade Out has a fascinating and very intricate story with beautiful art which will keep you coming back for more. While this type of murder mystery tale may not be of interest to many comic book readers, it is delightful to see such a gritty noir story being published among such a vast number of typical hero books.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fox #1

Apr 5, 2015

Overall, The Fox #1 is a good first issue though I wasn't blown away as I expected. Haspiel and Waid do a fine job setting up all the main players in the series here and definitely bring up some interesting plot points that I hope are explored soon. While it may not have been my favorite book as of late, there's a lot to like here, particularly if you appreciate the golden age of comics which this book clearly references throughout.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Ghost Fleet #3

Jan 8, 2015

With strong dialogue, smart, full-throttle pacing and strong, The Ghost Fleet #3 is one of the best books you're probably not reading. The only regret you'll have picking this series up, is not having the next issue in your hands. Pick this up!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Last Broadcast #7

Nov 20, 2014

While I can't recommend this book as a standalone issue, it is a decent conclusion to an intriguing storyline. If you want to give this book a try though, I'd recommend waiting for the tradewhich should be available sometime next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Last Fall #3

Nov 20, 2014

Overall, The Last Fall #3 is another great installment to the series with a lot of great exposition. As long as IDW can keep publishing these books on schedule, they may have a sleeper hit with this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Little Mermaid #1

Feb 25, 2015

Overall, The Little Mermaid #1 is a solid start to a series which has definitely peaked my interest. While the comparison to Aspen's Fathom may seem a little obvious at times, that's not a bad comparison to make as this book does just as well at updating and old concept and making it interesting for a new audience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Valiant #3

Feb 18, 2015

Overall, The Valiant #3 was a terrific issue with plenty to love by both new and old fans alike. If you're not reading this book, you're missing out on one of the finest stories in comics today and a testament to Valiant's devotion to quality storytelling.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The X-Files: Season 10 #18

Nov 12, 2014

Overall, this book serves as a great introduction to new readers of the book and helps propel the series forward for existing fans. I definitely look forward to seeing how the rest of this arc plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unity #15

Feb 18, 2015

Overall, Unity #15 is a terrific issue with a great change of pace. The focus on individual characters over the next few issues should offer this team a new avenue to shine on their own and serve as a perfect jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unity #16

Mar 11, 2015

I'll be up-front and honest; I have very much enjoyed PERE PREZ's artwork since first seeing his work in the pages of ARCHER & ARMSTRONG, and PREZ's work in UNITY #16 does not disappoint. His clean art style, and ability to draw faces which display emotion and character is on point. Valiant colorist BRIAN REBER (a man who basically IS Valiant's coloring process; I mean, did you enjoy the colors on the last VEI comic you read? Whatever it was, BRIAN likely colored it) brings PREZ's art to life with the quality, dimension, and blending that the master that is REBER is both known and respected for.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Valiant 25th Anniversary Special (FCBD 2015) #1

May 6, 2015

In addition, there are some great pieces of information including first appearances, deaths, best team-ups which will be great for new fans along with teasers for new Eternal Warrior, Archer and Armstrong, and Harbinger series which has really excited a lot of the current fan base the past few days. Overall, a great FCBD book which I hope will bring at least a few new readers on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #2

Dec 15, 2015

Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #2 continues the character-driven reimagining of Gilad and delivers a solid story with just enough reveals to satisfy the readers, while holding back enough to keep you wanting to come back for more. We have seen a shift over the last year to more character-driven books at Valiant and Wrath of the Eternal Warrior seems to continue this shift with a simple yet deeply layered exploration of a character we still know so little about. With solid narration, intriguing world building, and beautiful art, this is one book you should be adding to your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wytches #2

Nov 12, 2014

If you enjoyed the first issue, there's no reason not to pick up Wytches #2. Snyder is a strong writer, but always seems to be at his best when working on his own projects, and Wytches is shaping up to be a masterful story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #34

Mar 4, 2015

Overall, X-O Manowar #34 is another great issue to a series which has been firing on all cylinders since issue #1. If you're not reading X-O Manowar, you're missing out on one of the most skillfully written and illustrated titles in the industry today.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #36

May 13, 2015

Overall, X-O Manowar #36 is a great step forward in what has been a terrific and exciting arc. For those of you jumping on board with Dead Hand, you may find yourselves a little lost amidst the new revelations, but for returning readers, this issue is a definite treat which has me eagerly anticipation the conclusion of the arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-O Manowar #44

Feb 3, 2016

Overall, X-O Manowar #44 is an excellent addition to Arics story and the The Kill List is shaping up to be another solid arc that is sure to set up whats next in X-Os corner of the Valiant universe. If X-O Manowar is not on your pull list, you are definitely missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Feb 24, 2017

X-O Manowar already has the first year of stories scripted and illustrated and is bound to take Aric into some exciting new directions that we havent seen before. X-O Manowar has always seemed like it was just one step away from becoming a cosmic title that could tackle new worlds and concepts, and so far, it seems like that is exactly the direction which the creative team is on track to take it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More