Matt Santori's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 22
9.3Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Batgirl (2016) #7

Jan 25, 2017

Overall, however, Batgirl #7 is a great jumping-on point for fans, especially YOUNG fans, who want to enjoy the world of a young college student who just happens to swing around at night in a bat-costume. Glad to see Larson has maintained her groove and Wildgoose seems so immediately at home with the title. Its going to be a great ride from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

A brilliant wrap-up to Kings first masterful story on Batman, as well as a beautiful ballet all its own, Batman #15 is this years first cant miss comic book. Give in to love and read it a few times. Youll never look at the Bat and the Cat the same again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Detective Comics (2016) #948

Jan 11, 2017

With this prelude, Bennett, Tynion, and Oliver have issued just a little tease, but its a great reminder of what weve been missing all these many months. Because in essence, there are things that Batwoman can do that Batman cant. Chief among them is set and carry the kind of quiet, thoughtful tone we see here. Ive missed it more than I realized.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doctor Crowe #1

Jan 12, 2017

Overall, Doctor Crowe seems his most intriguing when we get to watch what he does and the critical result rather than hear his narration for what needs to be done. Its part and parcel to creating the suspense that these types of stories excel at. But given the relative success of the third chapter here, and the really curious design and set-up for Doctor Crowe himself, theres definitely reason for readers to return for more dark adventures.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jem: The Misfits #2

Feb 1, 2017

Accepting yourself doesnt really change the physical or mental burden of what its like to have a body like Stormers or mine but it does help to build up courage. And Id like to think that some of that courage gets to rub off on those who choose to pick up Jem: The Misfits #2. Because what Thompson has built her with her collaborators is much more than just a licensed throwback to our youths. Its a revelation for every queer, overweight outcast that had to grow up and either be fine with who they were, continue to suffer, or fall somewhere in between. Thanks for delivering a vision of that experience to me this week. Its more important than most people think to see it outside of your own life.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 8, 2017

A true rebirth not just of the League itself, but of that giddy excitement and intellectual curiosity I had as pre-teen holding that other great #1 Justice League of America: Rebirth #1 is an excellent start to a brand new era. Its not 100% clear where this team is headed, but all signs point to greatness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League of America: The Ray Rebirth #1

Jan 18, 2017

The Ray, in that regard, truly is an opportunity for rebirth, and exactly the kind of story among many many others of queer people telling their own stories that all creators and fans need to pay attention to. No story is going to fit everyones truth. The goal, of course, is to hit on a specific truth that can at least resonate genuineness, and not wallow in the point of view of the majority over that of the other. Orlando and Byrne have accomplished that, and developed a story that centers hope and brightness to the queer experience something those of us living and loving in that community needed to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Midnighter And Apollo #3

Dec 7, 2016

An introspective mid-chapter that blows out these worlds M, Apollo, and Extrao are inhabiting, Midnighter and Apollo #3 once again proves that anything is possible in comics if you want it badly enough. My favorite queer leads, a showdown like none other, and the recuperation of one of the most badly thought-out characters in history. What else could I deign to ask for?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Midnighter And Apollo #4

Jan 4, 2017

Midnighter and Apollos love is more. Our love is more. Because it has to be in order to survive. And Neron has no idea what hes about to face. None at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midnighter And Apollo #5

Feb 1, 2017

A beautifully bloody and endearing battle through hell for DCs best power couple, Midnighter and Apollo #5 does far more than simply excel in its penultimate chapter. It shines under Orlando, Blanco, and Fajardos handiwork. Time for fans to find the drive inside us all to fight as well fight for more of these lovers, their battle, and our enjoyment.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Midnighter And Apollo #6

Mar 1, 2017

An absolutely stunning final issue that brings both men to the forefront on equal terms, Midnighter and Apollo #6 is only disappointing in its act of conclusion. In an era where visibility is needed more than ever, where gay people deserve to have happy endings they've been denied for so long, it's going to be a damn shame not to see Midnighter and Apollo on the shelves next month. Because now is when we need a book that focuses on love in equal measure with violence, and making sure it's intensely queer all the way around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nailbiter #27

Dec 9, 2016

Comic publishers on notice: dont make us wait too long for more of this type of work from Franklin. Because if this story is any indication, theres a lot more to be said, and a whole lot of terrifying reasons not to leave us in the lurch for too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Talent Showcase #1

Nov 30, 2016

More Schultz and Liew Hawkgirl please! is my clarion call for New Talent Showcase #1, but in reality, theres no boners in the bunch. The writers are all fresh, eager, polished, and give their all, backed up with some of DCs finest young artists. If this book is the future of DCs publishing slate, then we havent seen anything yet. The future is bright indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #2

Feb 22, 2017

The truth is, Id read Supergirl: Being Super if Kara Danvers never became Supergirl, because the genuine voice and appearance Tamaki, Jones, and Fitzpatrick are establishing here are so much more interesting than the evolution of powers and the revelation of Karas Kryptonian heritage. Thats all a McGuffin to me. The real story here is the Girl, not the Super.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Flintstones #7

Jan 5, 2017

One year later, that future tale isn't even as outrageous as real life. It missed its moment of truth between fictional future and "gee, if only it was that simple" by a mere few months, leaving us now with a book that reaches far into the past (in both a literal and meta sense for fans of the original Flintstones television series, something that occupied a much more innocent time for most of us) and shows us a bit of how glaringly heinous our culture truly is today.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #1

Feb 15, 2017

As I said, Ill need to leave it to someone else far less informed about the players involved to judge whether this issue stands on its own merits and not simply on the history of the universe as a whole, but the satisfaction I feel in finally seeing a universe of characters find their home after wandering for far too long that satisfaction is worth the recommendation I give to check the book out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #12

Dec 14, 2016

With the arrival of Wonder Womans ultimate challenger, Im left at the edge of my seat for Year Ones conclusion in issue #14. But truly, theres been no stone unturned along the way, as Rucka, Scott, and Fajardo craft this vision so succinctly and yet richly that I could simply immerse myself in any given issue for weeks on end. Thank goodness for the depth of Wonder Woman, the sheer commitment of its creative team, and the ability to have it all, maybe when we need it the most.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #13

Dec 28, 2016

Every book has a transition moment and Wonder Woman #13 is theirs, with Rucka getting the cast and his readers where we need to be for the next big move and arc. Guedes and Fajardo ultimately serviced Steve Trevor admirably, just maybe not Wonder Woman. As part of the greater scheme of things, however, this issue does a great job of shaking up the status quo and making me even more excited to see whats at stake in just 30 days as The Truth begins.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #14

Jan 11, 2017

And while it will only be 14 days before I get another dose of Greg Ruckas wisdom and craft, this is where we regrettably say goodbye and thank you to Nicola Scott. It has been an honor to read, absorb, and adore every page along the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #15

Jan 25, 2017

The visual complexity of Wonder Woman #15 is a sight to behold, and like the Rebirth special that launched the previous two storylines, this issue asks far many more questions than it answers. What Rucka, Sharp, and Martin do accomplish so brilliantly, however, is letting the reader know that everything matters everything ties together. The braiding and inevitable unbraiding of all of these factors is what makes this series such an intellectual and visual delight month after month, week after week.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #16

Feb 8, 2017

An interesting read, but a rough visual transition from previous issues Bilquis Evelys own, included Wonder Woman #16 has some necessary building blocks for the story as a whole. In particular, in witnessing the creation of a new villain, we get to see Wonder Woman start to rebuild her own rogues gallery from the ground up. With the promise of more to come (Circle, Dr. Poison, the Cheetah), theres no question youre going to want to return in four weeks to keep seeing where Dianas first year takes her. Hopefully we just get to do so with Evely on her own inks, settled into the series with as much fanfare and bravado as she deserves. (But damn it, isn't that cover just something else? Wowza.)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Wonder Woman (2016) #17

Feb 22, 2017

The visual and scripted narratives here intertwining the literal and metaphoric leaves me consistently astonished by Wonder Woman as a series, and particularly issue #17, for its craft and the synchronicity of its creative team. Rucka and Sharp are shaping something mythological of their own here, and like most myths, I suspect well get a nugget of truth at its core. But no more than a nugget. The rest, alas, must be left up to our fascinations and pondering. I wouldnt have it any other way.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

1st

February

More