Matthew Mahar's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Batman Universe Reviews: 23
7.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

So, thats that for Batman Annual #1. Theyve really given us something for everyone in this book. Theres laughter, theres tears (Im an animal lover and Good Boy hit me right in the feels). Theres the promise of great things to come for Batman in 2017. I have to say, its a great time to be a Bat-fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

All in all, Batman #1 is a great setup that shows the core Batman title is in more than capable hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

David Finch and the ink team put in decent work. The poses werent terribly dynamic, but the pacing was solid and the camerawork kept things from getting too stale. Bellaire, as always, beautifully colors the pages. The contrast between the Gothams costumes and the city from which they take their names is a story unto itself. If it came down to Who did it better? Id support Mikel Janin over David Finch. His pencils are livelier and fit more in line with the rejuvenated Batman. Finchs approach seems much more in line with the frowny, battle worn character from previous years. Just my two cents, take it as you will.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

The art is more of the same. Finch is probably the best hes been in a long time, and Jordies colors are on point. The roughness of the issue is fully on display, bringing a touch of Capullos much lauded style to the pages. The Gotham presented here at the end is easily distinguished from the Gotham from the beginning of the story back in June. His visual arc has been as interesting as his character arc, and in comics, isnt that what were looking for?

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

Epilogues. On one hand, theyre nice. They wrap up a story after the action, let you know how the characters are coping with everything. The other hand, though? Momentum-killers. You never know what youre going to get. This is a nice story. Its quaint. There are a few decent beats, but for the most part it came across as filler. The I Am Gotham arc was good, but I dont feel like it was deserving of its own epilogue. It didnt earn it. So, sadly, this is an instance where the epilogue is a momentum killer. If Gotham Girl is going to stick around as part of Batmans supporting cast, Id much rather have the fallout from her brothers death tie into her arc in the upcoming Night of the Monsters or I am Suicide arcs. It would bring an additional sense of cohesion to the ongoing narrative in Kings overall plan. Maybe it will be there. There are still a lot of questions to be answered as to how King will be running things. Im still excited for whats to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

If I had one complaint, it would be one that has been consistent across Kings run. The scale of the action is too large for Gotham. Batman has trashed at least three vehicles in a violent and spectacular manner that doesnt jive well with the character in my head. That seems like a story beat that when used sparingly can be powerful, but seems overdone and has lost any powerful effect. Anyway, the story looks like its going to be schlocky movie fun and I cant wait for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

That does it for the monster men, at least for the main Batman title. Everything will get wrapped up over in Detective Comics next week, and well be back here in two weeks for the thing weve been waiting for since the Rebirth one-shot: Mikel Janins Batman.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

Speaking of the team, I cannot say enough about return artist Mikel Janin. We got a taste of his work in the Rebirth special, but this arc will be his true Batman debut. For an issue that was mostly talking heads, Janin was able to keep things captivating with great panel design and camerawork. His work is reminiscent of a cleaner Greg Capullo, who I thought drew the best Bruce Wayne around. Janin is giving him a run, though. June Chung has taken the reigns on coloring from the astounding Jordie Bellaire and the work hasnt dropped a beat. Things are fresh when they need to be and even the darkness isnt overpowering. Theres a great balance. Also, Id be remiss if I didnt compliment Tim Sale on his variant cover for this book. They havent been the greatest, but this one caught my eye. Im a sucker for Bane, though. See you all in 2 weeks!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

This is a chief example of my biggest problem with this storyline so far: Batman is easily the least interesting thing about it. Banes presentation as a damaged man escaping his personal demons while living right above them is terribly interesting, giving depth to what was once an extremely one note character. Rumor is were going to be seeing a lot of Catwoman going forward, so Im anxious to see how King handles the relationship there, especially in light of her murder spree. I cant see Batman overlooking that. This issue was far from bad, but it was a creative misstep that threw off the momentum from a great introductory issue. The art was equal parts beautiful and muddled, with the storytelling somewhat out of sync with the narrative. King and Janin are still finding their footing together, so I can understand their action scenes not lining up as well as their establishing scenes. Now that this is behind us, Im hoping for the best going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

The highlight of this book continues to be the glimpses into the psyche of the characters we get through Kings dialogue. The discussion between Ventriloquist and Catwoman while navigating the sewage system of Santa Prisca. These glimpses are what give me my hope regarding the outcome of this story. Catwoman opines on how her dark side has firmly taken ahold of her, unlike Ventriloquist who is free without his catalyst, Scarface. Every bit of her dialogue points to her eventual betrayal, showing her to feel backed into a corner by her past actions. Its a powerful story I want to see more of.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

My issue with the story continues to be the disjointed feel between each installment. The narrative doesnt seem to flow as well as I would hope it would. Were nearing the end, so my final opinion will probably come down to how well they stick the landing. In two weeks, Im hoping they bring their A-game for the beginning of the end. These characters deserve it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

Another arc, another uneven presentation. All of the elements were there in "I Am Suicide," but the execution faltered. Mikel Janin really saved this arc for me. His art has been phenomenal and I cannot wait for his next run on the book. "I Am Bane" features the return of the competent David Finch, but Janin's art and presentation bring a wholly different much more dynamic feel to the pages. His panel layouts alone bring this score of this book up. I can't say enough about the guy. That's it for "I Am Suicide." You were fun in parts, but I'm glad you served your purpose and are in the past.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

Im looking forward to the next issue more than I have for any other in Kings time on the book so far. Ive also found this story is gearing me up for I Am Bane more than I expected. It looks like its going to be a dramatic story. Well find out after we finish this sorbet in two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

These words cant do this story justice. If youre just reading this for a recap and some witty commentary without picking up the actual story, get out there now and track it down. This story is the best Batman has been in Rebirth, and for a good chunk of New 52. I consider this the first perfect issue from King and company. Its emotional and beautiful and more than worth your time. Im excited for I am Bane. King has shown that he has the emotional grasp on the storytelling that was seemingly absent from the previous issues. Im hoping he can blend that with the action storytelling and drop another classic onto our laps next month. The pieces are in place for something great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

This is a great start to the story. Plenty of setup and great cliffhanger have gotten me invested. Im happy to say it seems like Kings found his groove. Im still laughing to myself about the Jokerized fries.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

Im committed to this story, of course. I have the highest of hopes. I just need to see some progress. I feel like the art and the story are disjointed. The level of clarity isnt what it needs to be. Maybe theres a communication issue between the parties. Maybe theres not. The end result is still a wonderfully cinematic, if flawed, story that Im not going to give up on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

Dan Jurgens gave us a fun story that continues to remain in the classic future setting of the story with plenty of callbacks to the modern era to develop the relationship between the two settings. As an admittedly uninformed reader, this was welcome. He is joined by Ryan Sook on pencils and inks while Tony Avina and Travis Lanham share coloring duties. There is a pitfall when it comes to drawing sci-fi/futuristic stories. The art can overpower the story. The team here keeps everything in check and doesn't go out of their way to show how "wild" the future has become. It's believable, which is appreciated. Jurgens continues this series hot off the heels of his writings duties on the previous pre-Rebirth Batman Beyond title, so I'm wondering if that might be worth checking out. Should I check out those books? Leave a comment below. The strong story here makes me wonder if I'm missing out on something.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Regardless, the main event is forthcoming with Batman #1 in two weeks. Im still excited. The team proved they could tell a solid Batman story. The introductory scene is over, its time to cue the opening credits, and see what Tom King and crew have in store for us.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #5

Jun 29, 2016

The back up story is an interlude that really isnt worth mentioning as it does not add much to the story. Baal and Lara share a little Kryptonian/Amazonian flirting, namely alternating kissing and punching, and were left wondering how invested Lara is in her Kryptonian comrades plot. In truth, I dont find much appealing about Lara as a character. Shes not even fun to hate. This is easily the most disappointing of the various one shot stories released.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #6

Oct 19, 2016

There's plenty of story left to tell. I'm hoping this book brings it back together and finishes strong. The team behind it is great, so I have faith in them. There's always some missteps along the way, so let's put this ordeal in the past and focus on what's to come next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #7

Dec 28, 2016

Just like this past year, we've gone through a lot of crap in DK3 so far. I, for one, am not letting all that baggage drag me down into the new year. I'm looking forward to the close of this series again, no longer just to have it be over, but because I'm excited to see what it brings. Just like 2017, I'm hoping for the best with DK3. Happy New Year, everyone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Knight Returns: The Last Crusade #1

Jun 15, 2016

I'm a sucker for a Batman and Robin story. The entire concept of legacy is what draws me into the DC Universe. Most of the time the protg is the heir apparent of the main hero, but in rare occasions they aren't a good fit. This book studies that relationship, that of the mentor who knows their protg is headed down a dark path.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #4

Jan 13, 2017

Fernando Pasarin and Matt Ryan (not that Matt Ryan) handle the art duties for this installment, and do a solid job. This is a very large, very detailed issue but they keep everything clean and presentable, if not a little bland. They could have easily found themselves bogged down by the scope of everything, but their approach saves the issue from being a quagmire. Solid work on both the writing and artistic side of things keeps everything in order and makes for an enjoyable experience. Thats really the best that can be said for an event of this caliber. Im looking forward to the next issue and whats next to come in Rebirth. Im not even bummed that Ill have to start picking up Supergirl to get my Legion of Super-Heroes fix.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

1st

February

January

More