Mexi Gremillion's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity Reviews: 50
9.4Avg. Review Rating

9.5
Adventure Time: Islands #1

Dec 1, 2016

Adventure Time: Islands is a great read, especially if you are a fan of the TV series or any of the other Adventure Time comics. It seems to tie into the lore as well as provides a great life lesson to any kids reading it. Id highly recommend it, whether for yourself, for that niece of yours who dressed up as Fiona for Halloween, or just for any fan of Adventure Time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Animosity #2

Sep 14, 2016

Like I said before, what are you doing with your life if youre not reading Animosity? It is a fantastically written and drawn what if scenario that has the realism of Walking Dead but with talking animals. Read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 24, 2016

The combined efforts of these four allow an intricate web to be woven as the mystery of this arc continues. There is some room for improvement when it comes to the relationship within the comic as well as the mystery itself, but it is the second issue of the run and Im sure all of that will be better as the series progresses. Beyond Burnside Part 2 is a good read and you should check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond: Rebirth #1

Sep 28, 2016

Batman Beyond Rebirth #1 is a good read. I had never actually read any Batman Beyond before this, Id only watched the show as a child, but this makes me want to go back to the earlier comics and read more while waiting for the next issue. Its as cool as the television show is, and if you are a fan of the old Batman Beyond show, youll definitely love this. I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batwoman: Rebirth #1

Feb 15, 2017

While not much exactly happens in this first issue, I do feel like its a worthwhile read, whether it be a refresher of what has already happened in Batwoman or if you havent actually come around to read Batwoman yet and need to know all the important points in her past so that everything makes sense for the next issue. Overall, it was a good read, though, Id say the next issue will probably be even better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther: World of Wakanda #3

Jan 19, 2017

I recommend checking Black Panther: World of Wakanda out. Its a great series so far and its only getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Catwoman: Election Night #1

Nov 2, 2016

Overall, this comic is great. I should have come into this knowing thered be a lot of parallels and political satire, but even without the mental prep, it is an interesting first issue that makes me wonder what exactly is going to happen next issue. If you want to avoid politics, dont get this, but if youre interested in looking at our own world through the lens of DC comics, I highly recommend Catwoman Election Night.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #2

Nov 16, 2016

Im a fan of the Young Animal Imprint, so it probably doesnt come as a surprise when I say I recommend this comic. Though the story hasnt exactly caught up with the characters, I think the writers have time to make something fantastic since its only the second issue. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye is a fascinating series and is worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Civil War II: The Accused #1

Aug 10, 2016

The Accused #1 may feel a bit rushed, but it is one that will make you think and one that will captivate you with its visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cyborg (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

Overall, Imitation of Life Part One: Awakening! is a good read. Some things are a bit on the nose at times, but the writing is well done. There are a lot of questions that come with Victors existence and its interesting to see Cyborg spiral into an existential crisis. Id say the lettering is honestly worth it, since its the most imagination Ive seen in lettering in a while. Its definitely a series thats started off on the right foot, and Im excited to see where it goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Comics: Bombshells Annual #1

Sep 1, 2016

I highly recommend reading this. Even if you havent been reading Bombshells (which, shame on you, what are you doing with your life?), I would still recommend this. Its not hard to follow whats going on. The overall arc of the doubly long issue is fantastic and the end reveal is pretty great.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 8, 2017

If you love a good western tale with some supernatural elements, I recommend Death Be Damned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Demonic (2016) #1

Aug 18, 2016

Demonic is not going to be for everyone. It is not my cup of tea. However, if you like the tone of Kirkmans creator owned titlesand youve been itching for a retro seventies-esque comic with supernatural elements, Demonic maybe for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

I think Ive said this before, but if youre not reading everything in the Young Animal imprint, what are you doing with your life? Stop what youre doing. Go to a comic book store or onto comixology or however you get your comics. Buy everything by the Young Animal imprint and read it. How have you not already? As the Shia LeBeauf gif would say, DO IT!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Faith #2

Aug 24, 2016

Overall, Her Greatest Enemy is a fantastic issue and lives up to its name, even if it doesnt seem so at first. Chris Chriswell and Faith play off each other well and Im excited to see whats in store for the next issue (hopefully, Archer will make a brief appearance). I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Faith #6

Dec 7, 2016

Faith is always worth a read. It would be sort of weird to start reading Faith at issue #6 in the middle of an adventure, but I do highly recommend reading from issue #1 and just binging the six issues that are out, if you have the time. Faiths a great role model, an awesome hero, and leads a strange yet intriguing life. Theres no reason not to read Faith.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Giant Days #23

Feb 1, 2017

You should definitely read Giant Days. You can, in theory, start reading from this issue, but its probably best to start from the beginning. The characters are fun, the world is sometimes magical, and reading slice of life stories is always a treat. Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Goldie Vance #5

Sep 7, 2016

Goldie Vance starts her latest case off to a great start. The mystery isnt something you can guess the answer easily, the usage of a variety of great women throughout the comic series is inspiring, and I feel like its a comic that people of all ages would enjoy. This is definitely something I recommend reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye (2016) #1

Dec 14, 2016

Hawkeye starts its first issue off to a great start. I love the characters. I cant wait to read more about Ramone. Kates character is constantly fun to watch, especially with her quick-thinking skills. While the twist in the end wasnt exactly too big of a surprise, Im excited to see where the first arc will go from there. What are you guys even doing reading my review? Go read Hawkeye now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hulk (2016) #2

Jan 26, 2017

Read Hulk. Just read it. It is the tale about a woman coming to terms with trauma and odds are its going to get even more raw in the next issue. I, for one, am excited for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #3

Jan 18, 2017

The emoting in the scene really sells it. It feels like a child melting down, finally talking about her turmoil and trauma. Its a fantastic scene.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jem: The Misfits #1

Dec 21, 2016

Jem: the Misfits is a super fun read. Im a giant fan of stories from the villain's" perspective, and this one really works. Its an entertaining new series and I definitely recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jessica Jones #4

Jan 12, 2017

If you like Jessica Jones, whether it be in her television show or in her other appearances in comics, youd probably love this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jughead (2015) #10

Oct 27, 2016

I dont even know what youre doing with your life if you havent already started reading Jughead. Its one of my favorite comics out there right now. Jughead, as always, is one of the best things in this comic. Sabrina and Salems dynamic and rapport are hilarious. The ongoing storyline could have been stopped if a few choice characters just had a heart to heart and talked for a few moments about a certain persons truths, and for that, Im a bit annoyed, but for the most part, this issue is awesome and I highly recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ladycastle #1

Jan 25, 2017

Theres a sense of understanding. The man grows with his students, his students become teachers themselves to him. Respect is forged. Ideas of the pastdiminished to a realm of ignorance. Only the truth stands now, and that truth is that that woman is the greatest and bravest of knights.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lumberjanes #29

Aug 18, 2016

Lumberjanes is a spectacular comic. This issue is no different. From Molly having her own Greek mythology fanfic down to the fun design of the monster, this issue, like most if not all the issues Ive read of this series, is unique and a pleasure to read. I highly recommend this comic to people of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mother Panic #1

Nov 9, 2016

Im not going to say Mother Panic is for everyone. Its definitely not for children. But I will say that I highly recommend it and if you like the Young Animal imprint so far, you will love this.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Motor Girl #2

Dec 14, 2016

Motor Girl is a treat. Its this breath of fresh air in a sea of fast paced and serious comics. It takes its time to work through feelings, it allows the quiet scenes, and for that, it prospers and stands out. I highly recommend this comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
New Superman #3

Sep 14, 2016

Made in China Part Three is the best issue of New Super-Man thus far. I highly recommend it, though, you should probably read Part One and Two first.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

Ill be honest and say Im not thrilled that the story arc at the moment is basically a slightly different scenario to that of Grayson, but they have done enough with Raptor as an established foil to make me think they may break Dicks cycle of super spy double agentry at some point. Im not in love with Raptor, but the issue does shed light on how Dick became the person he is now while he was Robin and has pretty great quips between Raptor and Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Nova (2016) #3

Feb 1, 2017

You should definitely read Nova. Its not too far into the series yet, the main characters are relatable, and something terrible is bound to happen soon enough. And who doesnt like that kind of tragic drama?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Paper Girls #9

Sep 9, 2016

Paper Girls is a comic dripping with 80s homage, yet is done tastefully with the complex and imaginative ideas of a modern creator of science fiction. Its a piece that makes you think and a piece that makes you come back for more. One shouldnt start on issue #9 if the want to start reading Paper Girls (Why would anyone start on issue #9 of anything? Go buy and read it all!), but if youve been loving Paper Girls so far, this issue will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 22, 2017

Read Quantum Teens are Go. Its fantastic. I dont even get all the fancy shmancy theoretical science thats going on, but its a super fun read with well-written characters that has an intriguing twist at the end. Reading this makes me want to read Kim & Kim to see Visaggios breakout Black Mask hit. But seriously, do read Quantum Teens Are Go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Raven #2

Oct 19, 2016

Raven should be read, not just because Marv Wolfman is a treasure, but because the entire team does an amazing job. Ive always been a fan of Raven and this comic does her justice. I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reggie and Me #2

Jan 12, 2017

I recommend reading Reggie and Me. I recommend most things I read by Archie Comics, but I really do recommend Reggie and Me. Its a fantastic comic that everyone should be reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Seven to Eternity #1

Aug 29, 2016

Overall, Seven to Eternity has started off well. The first issue is a bit rushed, but I feel that the upcoming issues will most likely have better pacing and will also fix a few of the problems that this one has. Im excited to see whats in store. I recommend this to anyone who loves a good fantasy-science fiction combo.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #1

Oct 5, 2016

Shade, the Changing Girl is a comic you should be reading. Its interesting in a really weird, out there way, the mystery makes me wonder who the Changing Girl can trust, and the Madness is definitely going to have consequences somewhere down the line. What are you even doing reading my article? Go read Shade, the Changing Girl already!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shade, the Changing Girl #3

Dec 7, 2016

I always highly recommend anything from the Young Animal Imprint and this is no exception. Shade is a wonderful acid trip into Madness and a strange creature coping with a new reality. I dont even know what youre doing reading this, go read Shade the Changing Girl #3 NOW!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Solo #1

Oct 14, 2016

This is the first issue, so I say try it out for yourself. I am going to read the next issue, so its not like Ive been dissuaded from the series, dont take this as me thinking this is not a comic you should take some time to read. Im always an optimist, so I believe Solo can definitely become a fun comic with a lesser-known character that doesnt make me feel like I dont belong to the group that should be reading it. Because I do want to read a comic like this. I really do.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 19, 2016

The usage of shadows is masterful. I love that, even with the assaulting sense of the break in, the trio allow this piece of levity to flourish. It shows that this comic will have some darkness in it, but it wont be all gritty. It will be a well-balanced hodge-podge of joking, epic witches, ridiculous villains, and a dash of dark.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra #2

Dec 21, 2016

Star Wars: Doctor Aphra is a fantastic comic. If you liked her in the Darth Vader series, youll love her here. Her droids are a delight, her casually uncaring attitude towards others is great, and learning about her depths just makes her a more compelling character.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Steven Universe (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

Steven Universe is a comic mostly for fans of the show or children. It doesnt seem to be going in the direction of the darker themes seen in the series, but this is just the first issue, so who knows? If your looking for a comic for your kids or a kid you know, this is probably a good one to get.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #1

Aug 10, 2016

While packaged as one issue, El Diablos Home Again and Boomerangs What Goes Around Comes Around Part 1 seemingly have nothing to do with each other….yet. Both parts of this issue are set up for a six part story that will eventually collide with one another. Though I wish there was a bit more than set up, I am still interested in seeing how this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl: Being Super #1

Dec 28, 2016

Read Supergirl Being Super. Read it. What are you even doing reading my review? Read it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 26, 2016

Read it. Read this comic. Damian is a treasure, and though he will probably not lead the Titans at this very moment, I can already tell that this marks a new chapter in his life, a chapter of great growth. Bringing Damian as the glue to the Titans this time around brings a new swath of enemies to choose from and I cant wait to read more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Feb 22, 2017

I love a good Teen Titans story. Some of my favorite comic arcs are from the 80s version of the New Teen Titans. This harkens back to what I love about the Titans while injecting freshness into the concept. I cant wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #11

Aug 24, 2016

If you havent started reading The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, you probably shouldnt start at 001011, its a bit weird to start at issue #11 on anything, though, you can if you want to. If you have been reading The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, this issue will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 4, 2017

What I recommend reading The Unstoppable Wasp. Nadias adorable, her quips with Ms. Marvel, Mockingbird, and Monica Rappaccini are extremely entertaining. What this issue starts, as the first arc, is something Im very excited to see. Why are you even reading this? Go read The Unstoppable Wasp now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Transformers: Lost Light #2

Feb 1, 2017

Transformers Lost Light is not for someone new to this series, I definitely learned that the hard way. However, Transformers in a whole is definitely worth reading. If you like other things youve read in the franchise, Im sure youll love this. I love it, and I didnt get what was going on for the most part.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Violent Love #1

Nov 9, 2016

Violent Love wont be for everyone. Its a mature historical comic about deadly people making terrible choices. But if you like Fargo, if you love Bonnie and Clyde, I suggest you check this out. Daisys character is intriguing from the get go and I feel like the series will only get better as it progresses. I would recommend it.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

1st

February

January

More