Nikki Sherman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comicosity, Rhymes With Geek Reviews: 122
8.8Avg. Review Rating

10
Aliens: Dead Orbit #1

Apr 30, 2017

Overall, I couldn't be happier with this offering ofAliens lore from a comic great like James Stokoe. This book is satisfies myAliens needs while also delivering a suspenseful and intriguing sci-fi-horror story. As a huge fan of theAliens franchise, and as someone who shouts Stokoe's name in the comic store when recommending new books for people to try, I couldn't be happier with the start of this mini-series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Angel & Faith Season 10 #4

Jul 3, 2014

If you were hoping Season 10 of Angel & Faith would pick itself up and dust itself off, this issue is for you. With an exciting fight taking up most of the space in this issue, and significant plot points revealed throughout, issue #4 feels well-rounded and back to basics. The art is gorgeous, both in the carefully designed environments and attention to detail in all aspects. The covers are amazing as usual (though the yin-yang Faith one obviously won me over because reasons) and there's no reason not to continue getting this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Angela: Asgard's Assassin #1

Dec 5, 2014

This book will not be for everyone. Parts of it are hard to follow, but I have a good feeling that the next few issues will make it all worth it. This is definitely an issue that will require multiple read-throughs, so if you are prepared for that, dive right in! While, unfortunately, I didn't feel able to connect with Angela yet, the book is solidly composed. I'll see you on another read-through, Angela #1!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Arkham Manor #1

Oct 22, 2014

This book delivers a powerful message about Batman, and it helps you get inside the character of Batman and history of Gotham in a unique way " right through the heart that is his home. I am excited to see what's coming up in this series, and hope that we get to see the villains and psychopaths that keep Gotham teeming with danger in the next issue. Based on those last few pages, I'd say we're about to get an awesome perspective on the new Arkham Manor.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Army of Darkness Vol. 4 #1

Dec 2, 2014

I feel like I've been waiting my whole life for Ash to go to space, and I'm really looking forward to where this story goes next. Though it was filled with action a-plenty, I originally thought it was lacking in substantial plot. But by the last page, I was corrected determined to speed up time a little to get that next issue in my hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Army of Darkness: Ash Gets Hitched #1

Jul 15, 2014

Pretty solid first issue of a new limited series that both new readers and old can enjoy. Its suggested that you have some background knowledge of Ash and his previous adventure and the Army of Darkness story-line to be able to fully comprehend whats going on. This issue is fun and ends on a decent cliffhanger, so prepare your boomstick and chainsaw for some groovy adventures. 8.5 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman / TMNT Adventures #1

Nov 9, 2016

Overall,Batman/TMNT Adventures #1 provides exactly what you think it would: a fun bit of silly action and an unlikely meeting of two worlds and two iconic sets of characters. I'm excited to see more of the villains on both sides and what this story has to offer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman: Eternal #8

May 30, 2014

Taken together, its safe to say this is one of Batman Eternals stronger issues so far. At this point, almost every character introduced is at an interesting stage, and I can hardly wait to follow them along in their progression. For those who have been on the fence about whether to continue following this book, take the plunge with this issue. Batman Eternal #8 is your exhilarating one-stop shop at experiencing Gotham on the brink of disaster, with a set of heroes that may just be in over their heads. 8.5 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bitch Planet #1

Dec 9, 2014

Do yourself a big fat favor and buy this book. Buy a copy for your friends, your teachers, your parents…buy a copy for your children. This is a book that demands to be read, it demands to be internalized and discussed. Join the non-compliant.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Black Canary (2015) #3

Aug 19, 2015

Black Canary #3 is a book not to be missed. If you havent been reading this series, now might be a great time to pick it up, right as the plot shifts into high gear. The concept in this book is so incredibly fitting, its hard to imagine a world in which Dinah wasnt the lead singer in a band, superheroing along her tour. Everything about this book works, and my biggest complaint is that it isnt long enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Hammer #1

Jul 20, 2016

Black Hammer#1 is imaginatively exhilarating. This is a world I cannot wait to dive into again and again, revisit, and share with friends. Lemire has done it again, collaborating with some incredibly talented artists in Ormston, Stewart, and Klein to create a powerfully exciting book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Bodies #1

Jul 31, 2014

Spencer and co. have something spectacular going on here. With eight issues in the mini-series, and six pages per story each issue, we'll essentially have two issues for four amazing stories telling one master narrative. Like something of an extended anthology, I can hardly wait to see where Spencer and his merry band of artists have in store for the audience. Though the story has barely unfolded, I'm intrigued enough to continue along, and hope you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Borderlands #1

Jul 14, 2014

I think that fans of the franchise will be pleased with this mini-series, and I have high hopes for the next issues. This first issue is fun, engaging, and mostly hilarious without trying too hard, which is an easy trap to fall into with the legacy of this series looming over it. New-to-franchise readers might be overwhelmed by the lack of background this issue gives it, but it can be enjoyed at face value, so you might want to still pick this one up. 7.8 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Borderlands #2

Aug 26, 2014

Like the skag that stole TK Baha's eyes, Borderlands: The Fall of Fyrestone #2 doesn't just leave you for dead, it sucker-punches you right in the heart. Borderland fans and comic fans should rejoice at the amazing story-telling offered in this second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Burning Fields #1

Jan 19, 2015

With Burning Fields #1, you get a thought-provoking tale of global politics with a heavy dose of extra evil, intricately wound together in a well-executed story, wrapped in a gorgeous artistic showing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Cannibal #1

Oct 5, 2016

Cannibal is a solid new addition to Image's horror/action line-up. I'm looking forward to digging deep into the characters as the cannibals tear their lives (and them) to pieces. The concept should be fun as it continues to play out, and the book looks gorgeous.Cannibal #1 is entertaining through and through.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Chrononauts #1

Mar 17, 2015

You won't be able to travel back in time and rectify the mistake of not reading this book.Millarworld and Image Comics have yet another hit on their hands. If this book isn't in your possession come Wednesday, you'll probably be kicking yourself down the line. Not only is this book well-written and exciting, it's one of the most beautiful things sitting on the shelves in a world full of gorgeous comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Chum #1

May 19, 2016

Overall, this is the kind of book I look forward to with bated breath. At the end of the day, the ideas of villains and heroes are complicated, and that's the kind of thing I love to work out in a series. Naysayer of this comic? Feed 'em to the sharks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Citizen Jack #1

Nov 4, 2015

Citizen Jack pulls no punches in its critique of the American political system. This issue is a snarling beast of story — it looks fantastic, it reads magnificently — it's entertainment at it's finest.Citizen Jack has my vote.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Clandestino #1

Oct 15, 2015

Grab this book while you can. If you don't get your hands on a copy soon, chances are you may not get another go of it, barring a second printing.Clandestino is masterfully illustrated with a compelling story. Grab hold and don't let go for Nahuelpan's wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Copperhead #1

Sep 9, 2014

Image consistently puts out extremely high quality books, and this first issue of Copperhead doesn't change that statement at all. In this thought-provoking sci-fi western, Faerber and Godlewski take great care in bringing the action to the reader in an otherwise desolate setting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Critical Hit #2

Oct 27, 2014

If you haven't been picking up Black Mask Studios publications, you are missing out. In the last few months, Black Mask has put out a whole host of fantastic books, and the quality on this one is no different. Fun, action-filled, puppy-loving, and beautifully rendered, Critical Hit #2 is a must buy. I've been feeling a breeze on my feet, because this book knocked me out of socks.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Critical Hit #4

Feb 11, 2015

Between Miner's skillful and passionate depiction of freedom fighters and Sawyer and Garbark's (I couldn't tell you enough how gorgeous those colors are. Seriously. Perfection.) portrayal of truly bad ass characters and fast-paced action,Critical Hit lives up to its name in every way possible. Just because this is a final issue, doesn't mean you can't go back and read this series (andLiberator!) from start to finish again and again. Yeah, go do that.Critical Hit will free you. Or your money back guaranteed.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Cry Havoc #1

Jan 27, 2016

I'm just going to sit here and wait now for issue two.Cry Havoc is a powerful story with breathtaking visuals. I could not be more pleased with how this series is shaping up after only one issue. I love the premise, I adore the characters, and I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. If anyone needs pointers about what a fantastic comic book should look like, look no further thanCry Havoc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curb Stomp #1

Dec 31, 1969

If you're looking for a new series to read that's filled with life and heart, look no further.Curb Stomp#1 is original and exciting, the characters (despite their"scary actions) are easy to like and have plenty of room to grow. Where Curb Stomp could easily fall into an exploitative trap, this series is treading fresh territory in a respectful way.This new series from BOOM! provides something worthy for readers to enjoy, and I'm more than invested in seeing this series through to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Curse Words #1

Dec 1, 2016

Curse Words is a book I've been waiting for for quite some time now. It certainly doesn't disappoint. While the pacing could have been a bit better, I sincerely enjoyed the ideas presented in this first issue and the promises of more entertainment yet to come.Curse Words just might be the most unabashed fun I've had this year.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Cutter #1

Oct 1, 2014

The premise of this book was exciting " the creators have a chance to say something important about bullying and its repercussions. Though not everyone will become a serial killer rising from her grave, I hope that the creators make the point clear that the cruel actions of the few can hurt the many. In the meantime, those that enjoy simple horror may want to pick up this book. But unless something different and exciting happens in the next issues, I might be saving my scares for something with a bit more substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
D4VE2 #3

Nov 11, 2015

D4VE2#3 moves the series along smoothly. If you aren't reading this book and you don't hate living, you probably should be reading this book. If you can laugh at robots calling each other names, you probably should be reading this book. If you like rad robot action with big guns and lots of swearing, you should probably be reading this book. You get the idea. Read it. Or you're the king/queen butthorn of all butthorns. And nobody wants to be that. Nobody.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dead Inside #1

Dec 21, 2016

DeadInside #1, while somewhat reliant on jail/prison tropes, seems to provide a crime/mystery/thriller that's bound to push you to the edge of your seat with future installments. This issue set-up the world and challenges Caruso will no doubt continue to face, but also promises a winding trail to resolution. I thoroughly enjoyed the tenacity of the leading lady, and I'm looking forward to seeing her kick some investigatory tush in later issues. If you're on the prowl for a murder mystery that grabs onto you and doesn't let go, make sure to pick upDead Inside #1.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dept. H #1

Apr 21, 2016

Dept. H has sunk its watery teeth into me. This is a first issue that I immediately treasured for its breathtaking aesthetic and compelling narrative. If Matt Kindt hadn't already made a fan of me withMind MGMT, I'd be proclaiming my allegiance after this one issue. If you love mesmerizing stories, you'd best be picking up this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Devolution #1

Jan 22, 2016

This is a decent first issue. I enjoy the concepts in the book immensely; the premise is smart and cleanly executed with fantastically kinetic art. I'll certainly continue to read this series, and am excited to see what this powerhouse creative team has in store for the rest of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Edge of Spider-Verse #5

Oct 15, 2014

This is one crossover/event series that I've been enjoying so far. This issue sets the next part of this event up in an exciting way, and I really can't wait to see these spiders collide. If you've been enjoying the Edge of Spider-Verse books so far, this one will not disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Emily and the Strangers: Breaking the Record #1

Jun 24, 2014

If you have kids or are a fan of the franchise, this book tells a solid story that ends on a decent (if not predictable) cliffhanger that may have you interested in what happens next. If you arent a fan of Emily the Strange, and appreciate a story with more substance to it, it might be wise to avoid this one. While the book isnt bad by any means, it probably wont hold everyones interest. But, if you think you might be able to enjoy a sarcastic, smart, and strong-willed girl-lead in a Scooby-Doo-like mystery, give this a shot. 7.3 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ether #1

Nov 16, 2016

Dark Horse has been cranking out the kinds of stories I love. Strong characterization, intriguing and well-executed sci-fi/fantasy plots dominate their line-up, especially where stories likeDept. H,Black Hammer, and now,Ether are concerned. This book is promising through and through. I'm not going to tell you how to live your life, but it would be a damn shame to let this series slip through the cracks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #1

Mar 2, 2017

Extremity #1 was a superbly crafted first issue into a world I want to learn more about. The characters stick with you after reading the issue, and I look forward to seeing them grow. While I'm not entirely sure where this story is headed, as the plot seemed to centralize more around the characters rather than big events, I will be picking up the next issue with a smile on my face.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Eye Of Newt #1

Jun 17, 2014

Theres no way to deny the aesthetic appeal of this book. Id say, on that aspect alone its worth your time. If you can push through the writing and approach it lightheartedly, Eye of Newt #1 promises to take you on a joyous, interesting, and magical ride. When you take into consideration that Hague juggles almost all of the creative portions of this book, the first issue of this mini-series demands to be given a chance. Allow yourself to recover from the Game ofThrones finale by jumping into this brand new fantasy world. 8 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Fight Like A Girl #1

Dec 2, 2014

Pinckney and Lee have started to craft an interesting world here. He presents the reader with a task made for Hercules, and presents you with a character who doesn't have the typical bulging muscles and super powers to complete it. Amarosa is not your usual hero, and that's the best thing about this book. It's not every day you get to read a book with a strong heroine (and a non-white heroine at that), without her gender or race being thrown in your face. While the title of this book might blatantly point out one of (what I think) the purposes of this book, the actual text and development so far makes this feel absolutely normal. Amarosa is the epitome of a relatable character – she has a strong sense of duty, her family comes first, and she's trying to make the best out of a crappy situation. Even facing giant reptiles hellbent on her failure, Amarosa can throw out some one-liners on par with Buffy's early days. And me? I'm okay with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Frostbite #1

Sep 28, 2016

Frostbite #1 is not to be missed. Every page is a finely-crafted piece of art, with the entire issue presenting as a well-oiled, emotional machine designed to provide entertainment at its finest.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
George Perez's Sirens #1

Sep 17, 2014

While I am not positive I'll be in the majority with my impressions in this book, I felt the hype surrounding it was unfulfilled. I was looking forward to this series, and while I haven't lost all hope in it, my expectations for the rest of this limited run are certainly lowered.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Ghosted #11

Jul 9, 2014

In my opinion, Ghosted lost a little steam in the last storyline. There were times when I felt it really would have been better served as the mini-series it was intended to be. But after reading Ghosted #11, I feel like the equally character and ghoul driven book is setting itself back on the path the first arc had set it on. Count me in as one more reader who is thrilled to read this book for a good dose of the heebie-jeebies. 8.3 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
10
God Country #1

Jan 12, 2017

God Country #1 is one of the finest books I've read. Everything about this book is captivating. It's human and tender, but pulls in elements of the fantastic in a tight and compelling story. I cannot say enough good things about this book. This is a story that demands your attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
God Hates Astronauts #1

Sep 2, 2014

There was a comic creator who had a series, and God Hates Astronauts was its name-o. And it's anything but lame-o. Instant buy, people.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Godzilla: Oblivion #1

Mar 30, 2016

Godzilla Oblivionis all about the monster battles, bashing in giant skulls left and right. The book definitely has a sense of exhilaration that is a marker of this genre. While I wish we were able to get to know the characters a bit more, the plot is exciting and adventurous.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Gotham Academy #9

Aug 12, 2015

Gotham Academy is the book that keeps on giving. This was a book I had previously written off for trade waiting, but I dont think I can ever get enough at this point. Gotham Academy takes pieces of Gotham City and brings them into new light and new mysteries, and the characters in this story are nothing short of magical. Dont wait any longer to start reading this fantastic book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Grayson #1

Jul 10, 2014

This is an excellent first issue, and possibly one of the best things DC has done in a long time. It seems that they are finally infusing their line-up with a little imagination, and I am on board with this fulfilling new direction. As one final note, make sure to check out just how awesome the Grayson logo is. Like the interior gold of this issue, this first issue looks streamlined and sleek, all while maintaining its roots in the Nightwing/Bat-world universe.Grayson #1 wears many hats in terms of what its jobs are, and Id say its performing everyone of them with near perfection. 9.5 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Green Valley #1

Oct 5, 2016

This book was an immediate addition to my pull-list. While I wasn't thrilled at first with the man-pain unfolding in the last few pages, I'm hoping that Landis will stay true to his words in his letter at the end that we have no idea what's coming. I can't wait to see these four friends battle through the toughest enemies as the story continues. What a truly exciting book this is.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grindhouse: Drive In, Bleed Out #1

Nov 11, 2014

I'm ready for more. Whatever creepy, twisted psycho clowns you have left, throw them my way. If there's one thing Alex de Campi and her brilliant artist collaborators have going for them, it's that they sure know how to entertain you in the moment, and then leave you thinking about the story for a few hours afterwards. It's November and Christmas is already filling our department store aisles. Might as well make the holidays a little bloody fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hack/Slash: Son of Samhain #2

Aug 7, 2014

I can never get quite enough Hack/Slash, so the arrival of this series has brought an extra bounce to my comic-book-store-going step. The entire creative team delivers a knock em dead issue, and theres no doubt this will be one of my first reads of the week each time it comes out. While I wish that Hack could have a little slice of happiness in her life, Im intrigued at the direction of this series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Head Lopper #1

Sep 14, 2015

Though the price tag is a little higher on this book ($5.99), keep in mind that this is close to three issues worth of material. As a quarterly, this book will be one to keep an eye out for. I, for one, know that the next installment can't come soon enough. Head Lopper is a glorious visual buffet, filled to the brim with crazy action and intriguing characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Helena Crash #1

Mar 22, 2017

Helena Crash is something special. I can't think of anything quite like it on the shelves, and I read the entire issue with a huge smile on my face. I loved the over the top action, playful dialogue and narration, humorous and engaging character designs, and one-of-a-kind art.Helena Crash is deliciously fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hot Damn #1

Apr 13, 2016

Hot Damn#1 is full-speed roller coaster ride into fiery hot madness that provides more fun than I ever thought possible. Ferrier and Ramon are story-telling champs, andHot Damn is their heavyweight championship title. At face value, it may seem that somebody could attack this book with a been-there-done-that comment, but this book feels wholly original, and I'd have to yell at anyone who says otherwise. Pick this book up; it would be a sin not to.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
I Hate Fairyland #1

Oct 14, 2015

I Hate Fairyland isthe book meant to fill the void for something you didn't even know you needed. This is equal parts fun, dramatic, and action-filled, offering a one-of-a-kind story. While it might seem like a book suitable for kids, this is the best adult-oriented fairytale out there. Much like my favorite not-children's storyGo the F*** to Sleep(by Adam Mansbach and Ricardo Cortes),I Hate Fairyland hits all the right childhood memories with the perfect amount of dark humor, weird cursing, and no-holds-barred fun. This book is unlike anything on the stands. Do yourself a solid and make this your new favorite bedtime story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Interceptor #1

Dec 18, 2015

Interceptor #1 is a story you don't want to miss.Heavy Metal has a slate of great comics coming our way, and this first issue is certainly one of them. Donny Cates has concocted yet another compelling story and his talent is matched by Dylan Burnett's drool-worthy art. Heavy Metal has a hit on their hands withInterceptor, and you will be kicking yourself all the way to the stars if you pass this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jade Street Protection Services #1

Jun 29, 2016

Jade Street Protection Servicesis dripping with passion, and it's great to see a book like this sitting proudly on the shelves. Fans ofGotham Academy andLumberjaneswill likely enjoy this title, but it's truly fun for all-audiences. I could easily see this as a show I'd rush home to watch after school, even late into my college days. Buy yourself a copy; this is a book you don't want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Joyride #1

Apr 20, 2016

At the end of the day, this issue is a fun debut of a rockin' new space series that takes you up, up, and away from the mundane and into the stars. At this point, the plot could go anywhere as much of the story's conflict is left open by the end of the issue. By the last page, we get a group of witty teens and a robot shooting through space in a suped up vehicle, and that premise is entertaining enough to loop me in for the rest of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kennel Block Blues #1

Jan 19, 2016

Kennel Block Blues #1 is a delight to read and provides a really fresh take on the "prison" subject matter. This issue sheds light on some of the sadder parts of domestic animal life, but keeps the story moving as well. The characters have a lot of charm, and I'm looking forward to seeing where it goes next.Kennel Block Blues hits the right notes with a compelling story and beautiful art. Way to go, team!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Kill Or Be Killed #1

Aug 3, 2016

Kill Or Be Killed #1 is a fantastic opening issue. This series has it all: action, an intriguing mindfulness, and passionate illustration. I was engrossed in every panel on every page, and this issue stuck with me as I continued throughout my day. There are a lot of elements here that work well together, and I can't wait to see the magic happen again next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lady Killer #1

Jan 6, 2015

With a limited series, it's hard not to worry about the pacing of the rest of the issues. Though the first issue adequately sets the story up, it's hard to say how deep this series will dig in terms of character development and plot. At the very least, I think this will be an entertaining ride with an awesome lead character and some amazing art that hits as hard, if not harder than some of my favorite things to date. Check this book out " you most likely won't regret what you get.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Last Gang in Town #1

Dec 24, 2015

I'm disappointed that I couldn't get into this first issue as much as I wanted to. The art is fantastic, but the writing and plot just doesn't grab me. I don't think this issue is unreadable, but the plot is not particularly compellingnor well set-up. I might try to catch this book in trade to see if it all comes together. But, at this moment, the first issue might be the last one for me forLast Gang in Town.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Low #1

Jul 29, 2014

Im onboard for the next installment of the series, to say the least. The premise if promising and it will be interesting (and probably upsetting) to watch the journey unfold following the events of this issue. If I could break the book into two parts to rate, the second half is definitely superior to the first half. With slightly better pacing and a teensy bit more concrete art, this book will likely be on the pull lists of many. Its really up to the second issue to decide whether this relatively hard-sci-fi concept can survive the murky depths and surface gracefully.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Low #2

Aug 27, 2014

When things for the characters in LOW can't get worse, they get slightly better and then worse again. But for Remender and Tocchini, LOW just keeps getting better.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Lumberjanes #3

Jun 12, 2014

This issue often feels like watching a really short episode of a cartoon, which speaks to the overall flow of this new installment to Lumberjanes. (And lets be honest, if this were a cartoon, Id watch it in my pjs all day). Filled with heart-warming friendship, witty references, and action-packed with more action, Lumberjanes is probably the book for you. Unless you have no heart. Or need for smiling. Do yourself a favor, and jump on this fast-moving train before it leaves you in the dust. 9.8 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mae #1

May 18, 2016

Mae#1 tickles your sense of adventure for a fast-paced ride into the unknown. Gene Ha has written and illustrated a story that I can't wait to get more of.Mae satisfies my need for exploration while also digging into the unconditional love siblings bare for each other. Don't pass this one upif you're a fan of donning your expedition cap and trekking headfirst into strange exploits.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers #0

Jan 13, 2016

Alright. So I clearly have a lot of nostalgia for the Power Rangers. But was it good? I think so. This isn't a groundbreaking comic, but it certainly is fun on every page. It will hit all the right notes for fans of the series and might make you want to fire up the episodes for a rewatch. Sometimes, revisiting the past can make you grimace as you try to remember why you liked the thing you did, butMighty Morphin Power Rangers #0 does none of that. This is a solid book. Gorgeous art, killer fight scenes…it all comes rushing back in the best way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Mirror #1

Feb 3, 2016

Mirror #1 is the kind of book the breathes imagination into to the world. It's beautiful and heart-wrenching, emotional and visually stunning. Rios and Lim are clearly working very well together to paint a magical world with an intriguing cast of characters, one that I'm anxiously awaiting to learn more about. Mirror #1 is a comic not to be missed by fans of thoughtful, fantasy story-telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Mystery Girl #1

Dec 2, 2015

Mystery Girl #1 asks a lot of questions and leaves most of them open by issue's end. This is a solid first issue, showcasing an interesting twist on a sleuth story. I'll be coming back for the second issue. While this issue falls short in some regards when it comes to giving you enough to hold onto character-wise, I think it can be enjoyed for what it is so far.Mystery Girl is exciting, filled with energy, and has a lot to offer in its story hook.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nailbiter #2

Jun 5, 2014

This book is one of the best new Image series out there, which is saying a lot considering the powerhouse that the publisher has become. For horror fans, crime fans, and fans of damn-good story-telling alike, Nailbiter will have you on the edge of your seat for its all too short duration. Nailbiter doesnt just throw dangle you over the edge, it throws you off a cliff at the mercy of bloodthirsty serial killers below. Pick this one up immediately. 10 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nameless #1

Feb 3, 2015

So, you may not know what's happening, but that's what multiple read-throughs are for, right? If you're on the fence about this issue, just remember that Morrison works in mysterious ways. Allmight be revealed in issues to come, making these first issues all the more enlightening to read, and read again. And with that art? You truly can't go wrong. Just remember the words of Nameless: nothing is real. But, you what? This book is real good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Neverboy #1

Mar 4, 2015

Grab your imaginary friend, and curl up in bed with Neverboy #1.This introduction issue is worth the read, especially if this is a light week for you. You might enjoy the simple, yet thought-provoking point of the story, and the art, at the very least, is great to look at. Dark Horse has been putting out a line of genre-pushing books, and this one is no different.Neverboy#1 reminds you of snuggling up with your childhood blanket, and then gives you a taste of what it's like to be smothered by it. While this issue may have some pacing problems, I say give it a go.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
October Faction #1

Oct 8, 2014

If you want another near-perfect October title on your pull-list, this one is certainly worth the add. I really enjoyed what Niles and Worm are doing with this creative first issue, and cannot wait to see what is in store for this magical family. I know that some of these images will stick with me for some time, and I can only hope that the series continues for just as long.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Orphan Black #1

Feb 24, 2015

Overall, this is an okay start for a highly anticipated series. I'll keep with it, because frankly I find the other clones more interesting than Sarah (Cosima and Helena"I'm looking at you). I'm looking forward to seeing interactions between my favorite characters as they progress, and am willing to give this first issue a pass, because dammit, Cat Staggs really nailed it in the covers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #1

Jun 26, 2014

$2.99 gets you a double-sized, ad-free first issue of an amazing new series by a solid creative team. Theres really no reason that I can think of that could act as an excuse not to buy this. Even if you dont like horror, I dare you to force yourself to try something new, because youd be missing out on an A+ first issue here well worth your money and time. After reading this issue, I can hardly wait for the end of July and the next installment of what is sure to be another hit series from Image. 9.8 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paknadel & Trakhanov's Turncoat #1

Mar 17, 2016

There are few teams that could tackle a this mixing of the noir and sci-fi genres so well, but Paknadel and Trakhanov do so in a truly entertaining manner. This first issue sets the world up beautifully, the pacing spot-on for the rest of this mini-series to follow. This first issue is just about as good as it gets, from its original and promising conceit to its wild and exciting execution.Paknadel & Trakhanov's Turncoat #1is one book you need to pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Paper Girls #1

Oct 7, 2015

Paper Girls #1 puts you on the back seat of the characters' bikes for a wild ride into the strange. While it may not be the most hard-hitting first issues on the stands, it's definitely one of the best-looking. If the plot doesn't quite appeal to you, consider checking this out for some of the best art in comics today.Paper Girls is imaginative, alluring, and heart-stoppingly gorgeous. Don't wait for this book to land on your doorstep; grab it from the stands as soon as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Penny Dora & The Wishing Box #1

Nov 5, 2014

I'm not always the biggest fan of cute, sweet, and happy stories. I mean, I like them off and on, but I normally like sci-fi, horror, and action stories among others. You can imagine my surprise then, to find thatPenny Dora put one of the biggest grins on my face in recent times. A simple story that has a lot of potential, I cannot encourage you enough to pick this book up and share it with a loved one or two. We always have time for an extra smile.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
POP #1

Aug 21, 2014

POP #1 is the kind of book Dark Horse needs to be consistently putting out. It's got a little bit of everything in it, with the promise of a bright (or bleakly-themed) future ahead. Action, potential romance (or at least a strong friendship), thought-provoking story"POP #1 is the book you need to pick up when it hits shelves. At the very least, I promise there's a little Bieber-bashing within, that should sate any entertainment need.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Quake: S.H.I.E.L.D. 50th Anniversary #1

Sep 9, 2015

Marvel's S.H.I.E.L.D. Anniversary event has been much better than I anticipated, with the thrillingMockingbird #1 issue last week and the treat that isQuake #1 this week. My guess as to why these books have been so much fun? They have stellar creative teams who really took the time to get to know these characters, offering an introspective and beautiful look into their stories. Excellent effort, outstanding execution.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rat Queens Special: Braga #1

Jan 14, 2015

Overall, this issue is a treat, and a worthwhile read for fans of the series and fans of social issues alike. At the very least, this issue will sate the Rat Queens need until the next issue comes out. Get to know Braga at one of the deepest levels possible, and do it all with the cavalier attitude that makesRat Queens consistentlyone of the best books on the shelf.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Reborn #1

Oct 12, 2016

Reborn is a must-buy. The first issue was masterfully executed and the opening issuehints at a rollercoaster of story yet to come. Millar and Capullo have created an exciting and thoughtful book that I can't wait to keep reading.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Redneck #1

Apr 20, 2017

Do yourself a favor, and snag a copy of the first issue before you can't. This is not a book to miss. Filled with an exciting and building plot, appealing and complicated characters, and animated, but soothing art,Redneck#1 is the southern showdown you need to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Rise of the Magi #1

Jun 3, 2014

If youre looking for a light-hearted adventure that feels more like watching a cartoon than reading a comic, pick this series up. Rise of the Magi #1 could serve as a simple escape into a fantasy realm given time, but if you prefer your comics with depth, you might want to skip this one. The art in this book is worth checking out, but unless Silvestri can infuse his writing with a little magic, this series might be doomed for an early cancellation. 7.3 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robin Rises: Omega #1

Jul 17, 2014

With a $4.99 price tag, Id say skip this issue if youve been following along. The story will continue in Batman and Robin #33, and nothing entirely crucial happened in this issue. If you like a good fight scene and seeing a few of your favorite heroes come together, youll probably enjoy this issue. But for those looking for a little more in your comics, you might be taking a gamble. 7 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Roche Limit #4

Jan 5, 2015

Go out and get Roche Limit #4. Pick up the whole series if you haven't done so yet. This is a book that grows nearer and dearer to my heart with each issue, and it's never too late to jump aboard the awesome train.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savior #1

Apr 9, 2015

The art is pretty great. Did I mention that this is a gorgeous book?There are two things that really sell this story, despite its aforementioned faults (which aren't damning by any means). The first is clearly the art, which should be easily discernible the second you open the book. The second part is that this is a story McFarlane and Holguin appear to be craftingcarefully, which is something I can appreciate. The tentative first steps almost make the issue all the more bold. Bynot quite giving you enough to grab onto, your faced with the same situation as Cassandra in the story, entering this unknown world with this unknown character and experiencing things as she does. So with that, I urge you to give this title a try, and enter the unknown, too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Sex Criminals #6

Jun 18, 2014

This issue dives back into the series after a brief hiatus head first into a pool of readers tears. In an honest and beautifully candid portrayal of the cycles of relationships and mental health disorders, Fraction and Zdarsky strike gold in their latest installment of Sex Criminals. If you arent reading this series, you should be, and if you are following along already, keep on brimping. 9.8 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
She Wolf #1

Jun 22, 2016

If you're looking to give a book a chance, especially on a relatively short shipping week like this one,She-Wolf#1 is far from a waste of time. For the visuals alone, this book is worth checking out. But, be forewarned, you might be left scratching your head with a somewhat unfulfilled feeling in your gut by issue's end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Snow Blind #1

Dec 10, 2015

Snow Blind #1 is haunting. It's beautiful in every sense of the word. If you enjoy a good mystery/crime story, this is a book you don't want to pass up. The art is stunning, the story is compelling; this book has it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Snowfall #1

Feb 18, 2016

The creative team behindSnowfall has taken a thought-provoking subject and presented it in a deeply meaningful and beautiful manner. This is the kind of story that is chilling in its implication and beautiful in its implementation.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Southern Cross #1

Mar 10, 2015

Absolutely. It's a perfect blend of herosim, heart, science fiction, and mystery. The art is really good-looking, and this book can only get better as the creators settle into the story. This is one series you won't want to miss the train on.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Splinter Cell: Echoes #1

Jul 1, 2014

Maybe Splinter Cell: Echoes just isnt for me. In my opinion, given Edmondsons track record and the beauty of the art in the opening pages, this issue had a lot of potential it didnt quite fulfill by books end. Perhaps the series will get better given a couple issues, but at this point, I feel no real need to see what happens to the characters. If it doesnt take a lot for you to invest in character in plot, picking this up may not be a bad idea, especially for fans of the franchise. But for those who are less familiar with the character and Splinter Cell universe, it may be best to stay unfamiliar. 6.5 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Storm #1

Jul 25, 2014

With a book this many years in the making, its easy to be disappointed by the final product. With Storm #1 however, this is clearly not the case. Pak and Ibanez deliver a solid start to what could shape up to be one of Marvels hardest hitting solo titles. At the very least, Im excited to see where it goes next, and I know Ill follow Storm wherever the wind may take her.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Stumptown (2014) #1

Aug 13, 2014

If youve been patiently awaiting Stumptowns return, I highly doubt youll be disappointed with this first issue. Dex is probably one of the coolest characters out there, between her compassion and overall badass-ness. Now that Ruckas ongoing prowess has been released, I have high hopes for the direction of this series. 8 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Sun Bakery #2

Jun 15, 2016

Sun Bakery #2 provides a great follow-up to an explosive first issue of my one of my favorite new comic anthologies. Each story feels cared for and well-thought out, yet spontaneous and lively in a manner that keeps you guessing as to what crazy thing will happen next. Don't let this one pass you up, it's a package you can't ignore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Supreme: Blue Rose #1

Jul 23, 2014

Overall I have a feeling this new series by Ellis and Lotay will be polarizing. Some will likely grow frustrated with the oddly paced story, while others will spend time re-reading this issue to discover its vast narrative more fully. At the very least, give this a try and enjoy the masterful art. With a compelling and enigmatic world in front of you, the possibilities of Ellis and LotaysSupreme: BlueRoseare endless.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Dog #1

Sep 10, 2014

This book will provoke either feelings of love and warmth, or might leave you with an overall meh. Whatever the case may be, it's not a bad change of pace, and is especially worth it if you have kids. Teen Dog is kinda a cool cat, and it never hurts to be reminded that life doesn't have to suck.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.3
Terminal Hero #1

Aug 5, 2014

The cover to this book, drawn by the wonderful Jae Lee, will no doubt entice readers to come inside to read the strange little story that is Terminal Hero #1. The concept will probably mess with your mind as you read this roller coaster of a first issue. While the art and pacing could use a little more precision and stability, the book is overall decent. Dark, dreary, and like rain on your wedding day with black flies in your chardonnay, Terminal Hero will crush that little thing you call a soul.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Auteur #4

Jun 20, 2014

I like this book. I really do. Its fun, it brings you to new crazy heights, and it portrays a compelling story while being exploitative of Hollywood. Taken together, these are the perfect ingredients for those that love a good satire that pushes your adrenal gland into overdrive. Each issue leaves you wishing the next one was here, and issue #4 delivers what might be the most gripping cliff-hangar (quite literally) yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Beauty #1

Aug 12, 2015

The Beauty #1 is worth a read if you're looking for something original and haunting. Image continues to churn out quality content with ambitious creativity, and I'm always happy to go along for the ride. Though there are a whole host of #1's out this week, don't let this one slip you by. Between its intriguing concept and brilliant artwork,The Beautydoesn't disappoint. ReadThe Beauty#1, but don't forget your protection.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Monday Murders #1

Aug 11, 2016

The Black Monday Murders#1 is a book the promises to drag you to hell in the best way possible. The mystery is already tightly wound, the magic hums on every page, and I'm geared up and ready for the next issue. While I'm looking forward to digging into the characters more, the premise and set-up of this book is well-executed visually and plot-wise.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Dark and Bloody #2

Mar 9, 2016

Aldridge and Godlewski have created something unimaginably powerful in this story.The Dark & Bloody is without a doubt one of the best stories to come out of Vertigo's new line-up, and I know it's one I'll read to the end.The Dark & Bloody offers a visceral and emotionally powerful take on the horror genre. There's not a thing about this book that's anything less than enjoyable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fix #1

Apr 7, 2016

While, even after writing these thoughts down, I'm still conflicted about the general narrative of the story, I trust in these creators to bring it around to a meaningful point that doesn't miss the mark.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Goddamned #1

Nov 11, 2015

The Goddamned is the kind of book that uses biblical story-telling as entertainment infused with its reference material. This opening issue knows no boundaries, and that complete openness is truly a sight to behold.The Goddamned will punch you hard in the gut with its twist on the familiar tale, rendered beautifully on every page.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Revisionist #1

Jun 1, 2016

While I generally seek to highlight the positive in books I've read that I'm excited about, I can't say that I found many reasonsnot to read this book. This promises to be a solid sci-fi story with a great leading character and plot. This is a book that will make you excited about comics. Barbiere, Brown, Affe, and Sharpe delivered one of my favorite issues of the year, and I'm chomping at the bit for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
The Saints #1

Oct 7, 2015

Saints#1 will interest those who enjoy stories with religious themes, and especially those who like to watch characters grow. I'm inclined to think this book will be as much about a religious war as Blaise's climb to maturity. While he might be pretty unlikeable in this first issue, there's plenty of room for potential and growth alongside his fellow Saints. If the story slows down a little and finds its footing, there's a lot of fun to be had in this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Skeptics #1

Oct 28, 2016

I enjoyedThe Skeptics from cover to cover, as this book is interesting and easy on the eyes. I wish there was a little more to grab onto, a little bit of mystique left open on the short journey so far, but I still recommend this book to those that enjoy a good supernatural flavored spy thriller.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Violent #1

Dec 9, 2015

The Violent #1 is so good, it hurts to read it. I meanreally hurts to read it because it's just so sad. I'm excited and frightened to see where this story is going to go, because in just one issue, I'm already attached to the characters. If you've ever needed a lesson in how to create something heartbreaking and breathtaking at the same time, The Violent is your go-to source.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Wicked + The Divine #2

Jul 17, 2014

Overall Unless something unlikely and drastically bad happens, there is no foreseeable future where I will leave this book on the stands. Like the first issue, Ill be reading and re-reading every issue, clapping and laughing hysterically the entire way. No book should have all this power. No book. But, if any book could make the gods tremble, its surely The Wicked + The Divine. 10 out of 10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #2

Jun 5, 2014

The Woods: Tynion and DialynasThe Woods: Tynion and DialynasThe Woods: Tynion and DialynasThe Woods: Tynion and Dialynas 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 2, 2014

Pick up this book. Do it now because it likely won't be on shelves much longer. Thor #1 is everything I could have hoped for and more. I'm thrilled at the step this is taking for gender equality, and in a book where the pages dance with life, I couldn't pick a more perfect series to kickstart October with. Yay for amazing writing, yay for beautiful art, and yay for Thor: Goddess of Thunder.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toe Tag Riot #2

Dec 23, 2014

Toe Tag Riot #2 should satisfy the hunger for justice. If by justice, you mean cymbal-decapitation and guitars through faces.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Toil and Trouble #1

Sep 4, 2015

Coming from someone who doesn't read a lot of fiction in this vein, I still found something delightful about this introductory issue. This is a world where a lot is possible, both in terms of subject matter and story-telling devices. Scott, Matthews, and Matthews are clearly a capable creative team, and I've no doubt that this story is something many will find enjoyable, right down to its final page.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Tokyo Ghost #1

Sep 16, 2015

This is a great book. Only time will tell what's in store for these dynamic characters (and I really hope it's something strong and independent for Debbie). So, before time is up, and next month's issue is out, make sure to grab this book. If you don't it'll probably be gone (or gone to second printing), so check this out early on. Tokyo Ghost is for fans of hard and fast action, harder and faster dialogue, and heart-stopping moments of insanity.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Tomb Raider (2016) #1

Feb 12, 2016

If you've enjoyed whatTomb Raiderhas offered in previous issues, you'll continue to enjoy this series. This first issue boasts the classic action that makes Lara Croft fun, and it's beautifully packaged with fantastic and energetic art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
UFOlogy #1

Apr 1, 2015

Sit back, brew a cup of tea, and enjoy this first issue of UFOlogy. Take the time to get to know the characters the team so lovingly created for your entertainment.For those looking for a ton of action in their science fiction, you might have a hard time getting into this book. But if you want something that has heart and a world of potential, you should add UFOlogy to your pull today. I have a feeling this will be a story that builds satisfactorily over time, much like Tynion IV's other great BOOM! book,The Woods. I also have a feeling there will be tears involved at some point with this series. If you're ready to feel a little something in that cavity in your chest, check outUFOlogy#1!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Can Never Go Home #1

Mar 24, 2015

This book is perfect for those seeking adventure in where you can't be.We could all use a little exploration in our lives. And while that exploration might not always come from a place of running from legal repercussions and government testing, it sure can lead you to unexpected places. Duncan and Maddie are headed for what will probably be the scariest and most exciting time of their lives, and it'd be best if you were there right along with them with this great new series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
We Can Never Go Home #4

Aug 27, 2015

So. Check out We Can Never Go Home. I can't recommend this series enough, and now that it's available digitally"no excuses people. Also, it just got announced for its second volume coming in 2016, so there's bound to be so much more this world has to offer.We Can Never Go Home is the series that people will talk about as the series that redefined independent and diverse story-telling. Don't miss out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
We Can Never Go Home #5

Dec 3, 2015

The entire creative team should be bowing on a stage with all the awards thrown at this. Without a doubt,We Can Never Go Home is the best new series on the stands this year. It has everything you could ever want in a comic. It punches you in the gut, it rips tears from your eyes, it makes you snort in laughter, and it works your brain. From Rosenberg and Kindlon's “did that just happen writing?”, to Hood's beautiful artwork; from Dylan Todd's stunning book design to David C. Hopkins' on point and sharp lettering; from Boss' eye-popping color to Michael Walsh's “I need that as a poster” cover,We Can Never Go Homeis sitting firmly on my shelf of most loved booksever inside my heart. Can't wait to see you next year.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Weavers #1

May 4, 2016

Weavers is a fast-paced, original, and clever story. The premise will cling onto you (much like the tiny little hairy feet of a spider), and spin you around on an exhilarating ride through the grimy criminal underground network. This is a beautiful book from a very talented team, and it would behoove you to give the first issue a try. Who knows? Maybe you'll find that you, too, have a supernatural spider hidden deep within.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Wildfire #1

Jun 10, 2014

While this first issue might feel slow at times overall, readers that are able to digest science-y plots will enjoy this book. The care that Hawkins took in developing this story is evident, and Sejics art portrays this passionate obsession in wonderful ways. The last three pages of this book certainly left me wanting for more, as the action finally picked up and the fruits of the storys efforts were ready to be picked. Unless something seriously disappointing happens in the next issue, you can count me in on seeing the first arc through. If youre hungry for a heavy dose of science, let Wildfire #1 burn its way through your brain.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wytches #1

Oct 7, 2014

All I can really say after finishing this book is "More please!". This first issue is truly outstanding, and the wait for November's issue is sure to be a long, impatient one. What Snyder, Jock, and Hollingsworth have created here is something people will be talking about for years to come. I know I'll be re-reading it over and over to try to catch all the details, and I'm bound to only enjoy it more as it goes on. Bring on the wytches. Bring on the fun. This book is a masterpiece in the making.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X'ed #1

Dec 2, 2015

X'ed#1 feels like jumping headfirst into never-ending ocean of pure, unadulterated fun. Those things tied around your feet? They're weights, pulling you further into the story, into the mind of the characters (in a variety of ways, at that!). Black Mask has yet another exciting book in their arsenal, and I'll be anxiously awaiting issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Young Terrorists #1

Aug 20, 2015

While this book can be confusing at times, as a whole, it's a fantastic debut issue. People willing to take a chance on an off-beat story will dive into this headfirst, climb out of its beautiful pool of characters and art, and dive back in again to experience it once or twice more.Young Terrorists is thrilling from start to finish. It's breathtaking, epic, and masterfully crafted by one of the most exciting creative teams out there. Find a way to read this book, and then spend the next month figuring out what to do while you wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More