Olivier Roth's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 20
7.8Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All-New Classic Archie: Your Pal Archie #1

Jul 26, 2017

Oh, I would be remiss to forget that we are treated to a bonus classic Betty and Veronica story at the end that includes all the best parts found in Archie comics: a competition between the two girls, some magic, and a completely oblivious Archie.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #22

Jul 21, 2017

In the end, this story arc may not go down as the greatest of all time, however, Waid and Woods have crafted a story that will have an immediate impact on the residents of Riverdale. And more importantly, it lives up to its "Everything changes" proclamation in the never-changing world of Archie Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #11

Aug 16, 2017

On art, Von Oeming continues to delight with expressive characters and incredible monster design - the Whisperer, and lackeys, are just the perfect amount of grotesque. As this is predominantly a “talking” issue with some action sprinkled in, the characters tend to be a little more static than I would prefer, but in all, Von Oeming continues to help elevate this comic with his visuals.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #7

Jul 26, 2017

As an interlude, this issue of Doom Patrol was a great read and continues what I believe has been quite a successful launch to the DC’s Young Animal line of comics. As well as the Chief’s story in this issue, we were also given a few glimpses into the future, and I for one, can’t wait to see where Way takes the Doom Patrol next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest Presents: Space Ghost #1

Aug 16, 2017

Even though this is a first issue, Parker had already laid the groundwork for this series with last year’s Future Quest. With Presents, he continues his strong work introducing a whole new generation to these beloved Hanna-Barbera characters of old and having Space Ghost be the first to get the spotlight was a great move.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Ghost Station Zero #1

Aug 2, 2017

In the end, this was a fun first issue to Baboushka’s second adventure. Though I had my reservations with some of the art and a by-the-book plot, I’m still interested to see where this goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #12

Aug 9, 2017

In the end, Gotham Academy will be missed. It was a fun three year ride and I truly hope some of these characters will pop up in other books down the line - if not a Gotham Academy: Third Semester book. It would be criminal never to see Maps again.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham City Garage #1

Aug 16, 2017

In all, this is a good opening for DC's new digital-first comic series and should be a fun ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Larks Killer #1

Aug 2, 2017

In the end, Willingham hoodwinked me with this comic. His opening title for the first half of the comic should have been a clear indication that his D&D inspired characters would not be the protagonists of the story, and yet I fell for this little ruse. Only when we are introduced to Lark did I truly feel the story really took off but the story was hurt somewhat by the lackluster art (in the second-half of the book).

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mech Cadet Yu #1

Aug 2, 2017

In all, Mech Cadet Yu is a strong first outing for the team of Pak and Miyazawa. They do a great job of introducing us to Stanford’s world. As mecha comics go, this was a pretty fun first outing and I can’t wait to see where they take it from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mister Miracle #1

Aug 9, 2017

Mister Miracle #1 is a hard comic to review insofar that it just works. And it works on so many levels. You can always tell when a writer/artist team knows one another pretty well because the writing compliments the art which compliments the writing. King and Gerads opening to this 12-issue mini-series is near perfect in that it gives you just enough information that leaves you wanting more. And with this 12 issue format, we know going in that King and Gerads have this already planned out, and that we won’t be left hanging in the end. I for one, cannot wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Gods Special #1

Aug 2, 2017

Finally, this special adds two short reprinted Kirby stories written for the early New Gods issues dealing with Lonar and his mighty steed Thunderer. These are two great examples of what made Kirby the King.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Newsboy Legion & The Boy Commandos Special #1

Aug 9, 2017

Like previous Kirby 100 specials, we are treated to a Kirby “Grabber” starring the Newsboy Legion by Joe Simon and Jack Kirby. This was a fun Golden Age tale and a great addition to this somewhat ho-hum special.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Robotech #1

Aug 2, 2017

In all, Robotech #1 was an entertaining first issue to this reimagined property. I have come to enjoy a lot of Wood’s work over the years and I am glad that he has taken up the reins of Robotech.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Saga #45

Jul 28, 2017

Saga has been one of those comics that has garnered high praise during its publication run and deservedly so. What Staples and Vaughan have crafted is a very personal story told on a grand scale, and chapter forty-five continues this high level of writing and art that we have come to love these last five years. Staples and Vaughan have found the perfect balance when it comes to telling their stories of Marko, Alana and Hazel and it always a pleasure to get to read and experience them.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spy Seal #1

Aug 16, 2017

For a first issue, Spy Seal #1 was definitely a fun read that brought me back to my childhood. As with good debut issues, it gave us a good primer for Malcolm’s world and gave us enough to want to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Swordquest #2

Aug 2, 2017

All in all, Swordquest continues to be an enjoyable read from month to month. Dynamite has been known to snag up fledgling, or even dead properties, and bring new life to them and this is definitely the case with this new Atari line of comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina #8

Aug 16, 2017

In all, Aguirre-Sacasa’s writing of a classic Archie character like Sabrina is a lot of fun. She’s strong-willed, rebellious and will do what she feels is necessary, damn the consequences. After reading this issue, I want to learn more about this new world he is creating for Sabrina and that is never a bad thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Shadow (2017) #1

Aug 9, 2017

In all, this issue does a good job of hooking the reader and I definitely want to read more. I’ve always been a sucker for a good old-fashioned pulp story, and this was a good opening for just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Vampirella (2017) #5

Aug 16, 2017

His counterpart on art, Broxton has been equally great. All of his characters are a little rough around the edges, but that works for the book. I really enjoy his take on Vampirella as well since he brings a certain coquettishness to our heroine. You know, just by looking at her that she not only has a plan in mind at all times, but knows that she will prevail in the end. It also helps that he is inker and colourist of his own work since it keeps the art consistent throughout, a major plus these days in the comic book world.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More