Patrick Hellen's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: AiPT! Reviews: 77
8.0Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Assassin's Creed #1

Oct 13, 2015

This is a five issue mini-series, and while it seems to be to rely on some basic Assassin Creed knowledge, I think someone could pick it up cold and have a good run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Assassin's Creed #2

Nov 12, 2015

Yes. I'm going with a 9.5 on this, because I'm honestly excited to see where everything is going. Tom is a stone cold killer, the actual quest they're on is compelling, the artwork is adding to the quality, and I'm having a blast. Bring on issue 3!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Assassin's Creed #3

Dec 9, 2015

With the stakes rising and the Templars closing in, Charlotte is on the run, but still also in Salem. So next issue should be wall to wall action. I'm absolutely looking forward to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Assassin's Creed #5

Feb 10, 2016

I'll say it's good. This wraps up the first arc, with the next adventure not for a few months—and it was worth the overall read for Assassin's Creed fans out there. If you're not a fan, or casually interested, the first and final issue will probably land well, with the middle being a bit too filler-esque.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #8

Oct 5, 2016

The only negative is that while the multiple storylines are all converging nicely, there's a few seemingly crammed in bits of intensity. Spoiler's cave story feels tacked on, and used to make sure that every aspect of the family is in danger somehow.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

This arc promises to be very good, so I say jump aboard now, when the jumping is good. Also – keep an eye out for the final reveal, as you might have an inkling that a few characters will be in this book for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

I'll give this an 8.5 out of 10. I really did like it, but I was worried for my Bat-bro a bit too much.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

Overall, this issue was a disappointment. I assume the Ventriloquist, still waiting in a pipe somewhere, will swoop in and save the day next issue – or Catwoman will pull the rare quadruple cross, but a good premise in this issue has killed some of the momentum for that battle royale, by being just a little too simplistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Beowulf #1

Jan 11, 2017

If you've never read Beowulf, because the thought of an ancient poem in Old English wasn't calling your name, this might be the reason to try again. The source material is perfect, and this treats it with the reverence it deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Call of Duty: Black Ops III #1

Nov 4, 2015

If you're a COD freak, and counting down the days until you teabag me after shooting me in the face online, this will probably be a 8 out of 10 for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Call of Duty: Black Ops III #2

Dec 1, 2015

The first issue was a solid 6: fun and interesting, but this one falls a bit short.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Call of Duty: Black Ops III #3

Jan 20, 2016

I'm honestly excited for the next issue, just because this is the print version of what I imagine Stallone's dreams are like. BRING IT.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Carthago #1

Sep 5, 2016

If you like multi-layered mystery stories that are dripping with the fear of the unknown"think Hellboy, Lovecraft, King"this is your jam.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Codename Baboushka: The Conclave of Death #1

Oct 10, 2015

Overall, it was okay. If they keep her as a badass female anti-hero who don't need no man, I can see this opening up, but it felt very standard, spycraft, intrigue stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Creepy Comics #22

Oct 27, 2015

Not really. If you're looking for a horror fix, there are better books hitting the market this month, but if you've already read everything spooky, this could hit your fancy.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Souls #1

Apr 19, 2016

Overall, this is great fan-service for long time players, and does a great job of bringing someone new to the fold up to speed with the weird and deep dark feel of Souls. You want to learn more, and investigate the little bits and pieces they've dropped for you so far " all great signs of a series that should heat up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Souls #2

Jun 1, 2016

I am curious as to how others feel about the ending, and about what that might mean for the rest of the series. If you're reading along, drop me some comments below. Dark Souls nerds unite, and all that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Souls #3

Jul 27, 2016

This issue brings us forward to a key point"which you'll have to read yourself to see"and makes us wonder just what could be around the next corner for the warrior and the scryer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Dark Souls #4

Aug 25, 2016

Overall this was still solid–just a bit uneven, but a good wrap up of the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #5

Oct 26, 2016

I found myself enjoying this issue quite a bit " but at the expense of all the major players. Slade is barely in it, Rose is an assassin with a heart of gold (snore), and Batman seems pretty awesome and all knowing, but the true star of this issue is Damien.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #942

Oct 12, 2016

Finally, Clayface. I don't know what it is about this gooey bastard that makes me love him, but love him I do. He was an awesome tortured villain, and seems to make an even better good guy – a true powerhouse that Batman can use in most situations. If he keeps on the way he's going, Batman will just have to let the guy move into the Cave and start inviting him to all the Bat-Family picnics.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #943

Oct 26, 2016

So, as I've said over and over the last few issues " this book is great. It's X-Men"the Batman version, and it's fun as hell to read. Having never really been a Batwoman fan before, mostly due to lack of appearances, her front and center role in this is refreshing. And makes me want her to start appearing in other Bat-books. Her attitude, and humanity " something that Batman has or is lacking depending on the book, is a welcome addition.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Detective Comics (2016) #944

Nov 10, 2016

In short, I'm still enjoying the hell out of this book, including my boy Clays, and I applaud them for a decent turnaround with the Victim Syndicate. But thumbs down on the Iron-Bat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #946

Dec 16, 2016

I liked this issue, but I really want Tim Drake back - sooner than later. The best thing the Snyder run did was humanizing Bats; Snyder gave him the ability to smile, and to be more than just a man in a cape. Tim's death has shoved him back in that hole " and I want a human Batman back.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2016) #947

Jan 11, 2017

Batfamily does not lend itself well to fun, but something in this book needs to show us why these people are choosing to fight together, instead of all breaking free like Spoiler to make their way alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deus Ex: Children's Crusade #1

Feb 11, 2016

Like Jensen, We might not have asked for this, but I'll certainly take it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deus Ex: Children's Crusade #2

Mar 25, 2016

I'm very curious to see where the investigation leads, what kind of Chekov's Gun this reporter turns out to be, and how Jensen will continue to walk the tightrope between his two worlds.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency #5

Nov 18, 2015

The artwork..is good, but nothing crazy and the plot feels almost the exact same. There's just a certain playfulness that seems to be missing, the Egyptian named Craig notwithstanding.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dishonored #1

Aug 5, 2016

If you liked the game, this will feel like a great prequel to the sequel that's about to release. If you're curious, I say pick it up, and see how the dark side lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dishonored #2

Sep 8, 2016

I'm booting up my Dishonored game tonight now that I've reviewed this, as it's given me the bug to get back into this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dishonored #4

Oct 26, 2016

I enjoyed this series, even if I felt like I should shower after every issue. If you're waiting for the Empress and Corvo to slice some people up in the new game, this ought to whet your appetite pretty nicely, as well as fill in a lot of the info of how people exist in this horrible place.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #3

Nov 10, 2016

Again, as I said above, I just don't think I have the brain necessary for a deep read into Doom Patrol, but there's something going on here that would make Morrison proud, and that I'll wager when collected into a six issue graphic novel will be on many a table of the guy who sells you weed.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Drones #1

Nov 11, 2015

If anyone else out there has read and enjoyed this, and can explain it to me, I'm all ears. I really think I must have missed a key point, and I've read it four times.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Elias the Cursed #1

Mar 23, 2016

Grab this. It will widen your fantasy and comic horizons.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Groo: Friends and Foes #10

Oct 20, 2015

I give this a solid 8. I recommend it, but it's not blowing the doors off with anything new. It's like a nice pair of slippers—warm and comforting.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hadrian's Wall #1

Sep 1, 2016

This is how you write a film noir in space. The slow drip of information, past dalliances between characters, substance abuse, a femme fatale who may or may not be involved in a death, and over all of it, a seemingly faceless and unstoppable force of colonization feels like an old Chandler novel set in L.A.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hadrian's Wall #2

Oct 19, 2016

This is a classic LA mystery a la Chandler, set in space, and the stakes are getting higher. Characters' hidden motivations are becoming front and center, the autopsy results are throwing more fuel on the fire, and someone has destroyed Simon's pain pills, so withdrawal is impending. As everything is building, the pressure on Simon is getting heavier, and the forces allied against him are getting desperate.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 #1

Oct 27, 2015

The double feature is great. There's action up front, some spooky reflection in the rear, and if you've never read a page of Hellboy " this is not a bad place to start. The wider lore and backstory isn't needed but if you enjoy it, this might be your ticket to the big backlog.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 #2

Nov 25, 2015

I'm a Hellboy freak, so I'm biased, but I found this to be a great and fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 - Beyond The Fences #1

Feb 25, 2016

All the pieces are there, it's solid, and I enjoyed it, but as a first chapter it suffers a little bit from set-up-itis, so subsequent issues should clear that up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1953 - Beyond The Fences #2

Mar 17, 2016

Hell, if people can keep renewing and watching Big Bang Theory, I can take this formula, right?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hellboy and the B.P.R.D.: 1954 #1

Sep 8, 2016

The investigation takes place in this lonely, desolate setting. It makes everything feel that much bleaker and hopeless, and when we get to the payoff, the bleakness continues with a slight more ominous twist " but I still want to be interested in the storyline, and this just feels plodding.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 19, 2016

In short, this issue is fantastic. I'm not a huge Maleev fan, because I think that his art is just too dark and hazy for my tastes. He does a great job redesigning Doom/Iron-Doom to fit this narrative though, so props there.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Infamous Iron Man #2

Nov 19, 2016

Well, this might be the one evil-turned-good I can stomach. Take Venom back, and keep Doom awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Itty Bitty Hellboy: Search For the Were-Jaguar #1

Nov 26, 2015

It's fun, but it's not high art. Buy it and have a kid fold it up and put it in his back pocket like comic books should be.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jack the Ripper #1

Dec 16, 2015

I think it was a bold effort to tackle a subject as beloved (and exhaustively researched) as this, and it shows, but overall the plot just fails to live up to the mystery, and it slowly falls apart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Jim Butcher's The Dresden Files: Wild Card #1

Apr 20, 2016

Also, as I'm desperately trying to collect a full run of the hardcovers – if anyone has any extra, you know where to find me!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Lara Croft And The Frozen Omen #2

Nov 4, 2015

It might be that the arc picks up, and by the end I'll be eating my words, but this slow start feels like a drag.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #6

Oct 5, 2016

The previous issue of Nightwing did quite a bit more with the subject matter at hand, and felt far less like a deep breath before the final parts of Monster Men.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Nightwing (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

Overall – I'll give this a 6.5 out of 10 – it's got some high points and is trying to come back to solid ground, but it's just not there yet.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

10/10. Just a fantastic issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paper Girls #1

Oct 7, 2015

Overall, this is one of the better set-the-stage first issues I've read in a long time. I've got a review issue right here, and I called my comic guy to make sure he puts this in my subscription box immediately. Highly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #2

Nov 6, 2015

Run, do not walk, to your local comic shop and grab this book. This would make a fantastic Halloween movie, I'm calling it now.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Paper Girls #3

Dec 1, 2015

It keeps getting better each issue. The plot is dripping out just enough to keep us on the edge of our seats, but we're also getting more and more reveals that seem to turn the preconceived world on its head"every damn issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Paper Girls #5

Feb 4, 2016

The writing is still funny, like the slang in the future above, but I feel like I've seen this before and I'm hoping that each issue can shed a little more light on what's going on. Instead it gives us a tiny taste of more info, and then adds even more mystery on top.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Retroworld #1

Mar 11, 2016

The issue I have is that this book feels like a sprint. I'm not sure if it's a translation issue, or a "we adapted this from a much longer novel" issue, but the pacing feels dramatically off. This might just be an issue with translating this specific story to panels, or it might be a weakness in the source material I'm unfamiliar with, but either way it was jarring for me. Characters mourn a death, and a page later they're pretty well over it. Everyone is paper thin and replaceable, but if you don't mind a quick read without much empathy, this will suffice. Everything else lined up so nicely though, and your own experience with it might be far different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rumble #8

Nov 3, 2015

If you remember Nextwave, Ellis and Immonen's take on Marvel, the humor/art here strikes the same chord for me. I highly recommend this entire run so far. I also highly recommend you don't jump in mid-stream like I did, as you WILL be confused without the first 7 issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rumble #9

Dec 1, 2015

Also, a quick shout-out to Del. A character I swore was included only for comedic timing, but who is starting to be my favorite part of the book overall. He's brave, loyal, and dumb as rocks, but man, can he heft a mace.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rumble #10

Jan 1, 2016

Overall, this is the book that I've been most looking forward to each month, as the weird H.P. Lovecraft-like mythology, mixed with Conan the Barbarian action, and sitcom like humor all blend together into a fantastic mix. Grab this issue, grab the collections, GET IT ALL. If we're lucky someone will toss some cash at Guillermo and tell him to make this a film as insane as the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Rumble #13

Aug 17, 2016

In short, if you are looking for a non-superhero, tightly plotted, hilarious story, this is it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Rumble #14

Sep 22, 2016

Always good, always fun, and with this issue, a perfect jumping in point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Rumble #15

Oct 19, 2016

If you've not started this, grab the collected editions and catch up now, because I can honestly say that the next 10 issues should be even more insane. GRAB IT.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Snowfall #1

Jan 12, 2016

I'm always a fan of picking up #1's to see what cool thoughts are making it to page, and so this does get a recommendation from me to grab and read. Hopefully issue 2, with the setting and world already established, can dig into what's going on with the mysterious White Wizard we see on the cover.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Amazing Screw-On-Head #1

Sep 2, 2016

If you're not a fan of Mignola, I don't know that this is the entry point for you. The man writes like most of us breathe, so there's plenty out there to choose from. This is more for the collector, the ruminator, the Hellboy fan who wants to branch out and see what else the mind that made the B.P.R.D. can do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Last Contract #1

Jan 4, 2016

I'm curious to see how this unwinds. Like John Wick with Geritol, this could be a remorseless ride into revenge and death with an old man who knows his time is short anyway. It's a good base to build on, and I'm down with finding out how Grandpa Knife-fight goes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Contract #2

Feb 10, 2016

Overall, I recommend this book to everyone. It's brutal and pulls no punches, and might make you look at the old guys in the park feeding the pigeons with a bit more respect. After all, one of them just might be a retired badass looking for an excuse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Last Contract #3

Mar 11, 2016

With one issue left, this has been a fun ride of a series. I'm invested enough to care about the characters, I want to see the conclusion, and seeing how dark and gritty everything up to now has been I can only assume it's going to be gruesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Saints #1

Oct 9, 2015

I'm going to say maybe. If this was a pilot episode of a series on Netflix, and I had 20 seconds to decided if I wanted to watch the next one, I'd watch. It's got enough of a seed of interest there for me to be curious, and Benjamin Mackey's art is stylized and odd enough for me to appreciate the page alone. I'll give it a shot, and if by issue 6 I'm not feeling it, then we'll jump ship.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tomb Raider (2016) #1

Feb 2, 2016

Plot wise, the strange and mystical world that Lara is always discovering in some backwater spot in the world is still here front and center as well, and the mystery starts to sneak in at the edges before the final page reveals. Tomb Raider #1 is overall a fun read and an interesting look at this new version of a classic character.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Tomb Raider (2016) #2

Mar 24, 2016

Skip this. I'll give it a 6, because I hope that the next issue brings the series back to spelunking and awesome, but this issue was just flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Witchfinder: City of the Dead #1

Aug 31, 2016

I'll give this a 7 out of 10 – serviceable, a decent beginning, but nothing wows me yet. Worth a read, and if the following installments are solid, the collected edition will make this flow much easier.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Wolf #5

Jan 20, 2016

The one downside I do have is that the mystery plot underpinning the whole series feels almost inscrutable at times. Like some of the worst parts of The X-Files when you just could not see how far this crazy went, this book is very short on details. That might be a good thing, with a grand ending like the first arc, but I find myself wishing there was a little more meat on its bones.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #1

Nov 17, 2015

I'm in. The premise is great. Amazing warrior slowly gains more and more tactical and battle skill, dies, comes back, repeats process. This is a set-up issue so there's not much more than scene setting going on, but I can feel the backstory pushing at the margins and I'm interested in seeing this badass of epic proportions get out there and smash some skulls.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #2

Dec 16, 2015

If anything, the slow pacing here makes me even more interested in where this is all going, how much ass will eventually be kicked, and when Gilad is going to run out of bubblegum.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #3

Jan 21, 2016

As he's still hobbiting his face off, I'm going lower. I have faith that next issue, he'll be through the damn first chapter, and on to the real story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wrath of the Eternal Warrior #5

Mar 17, 2016

I'll stay on board for a bit, as this flashback is great storytelling, and I care where it's going but why even bother going back to the main story now? Does anyone actually remember what it is?

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Zombie Tramp Halloween Special #2015

Oct 16, 2015

The art is pretty fantastic to be fair, but the plot is forgettable and trite " and Chekov's gun never goes off. You give me a sexy Zombie, and then make her boring? COME ON. Not even a double entendre!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More