Paul Mason's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 27
7.4Avg. Review Rating

5.0
Bane: Conquest #1

May 6, 2017

After a second read the plot and characterization became clearer, but I dont enjoy a comic hurting my head upon first read trying to figure out whats going on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 30, 2017

Annuals are usually a little something extra, more pages, and special one off storylines. This annual fits the formula as it is two stories in one comic. And the first story in the annual guest stars Supergirl, and fittingly is titled World's Finest. A nice homage and call out to the classic Batman/Superman team up series by that name.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #11

May 25, 2017

The conclusion of the Penguin's son story begins with the son hosting a surprise and unwelcome retirement party for the Penguin. His suit has the tech to control groups of people and he uses it to try to make the retirement permanent. The remainder of the issue is basically a chase through Burnside and confrontation with Batgirl.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #8

Mar 8, 2017

Overall I would give this a solid 3.75 rating out of 5.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #9

Apr 14, 2017

The other birds do not even show up until the end but the fact there is two other DC heroes takes a little off that sting, and as I stated Black Canary is charming and capable of carrying a comic. However overall this comic felt a little like a pop left out that lost its fizz, I. E. It lacked a little sizzle.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batgirl and the Birds of Prey #10

May 12, 2017

This is a fun comic. It has action, and quips but most importantly it has heart. The thematical themes of the Birds of Prey are highlighted in this issue sure it hits some tropes including the obligatory hero vs. Hero throwdown, yet the writing does not seem clichd or stale.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 18, 2017

The artwork of this comic is different but beautiful and suitable for the title. The storytelling is sparse but not in a bad way. Whereas in some comics there is a lot of dialogue and internal dialogue to tell the story but here there is a minimalist approach. This method of story telling accomplishes two things. One it really highlights the visual medium of storytelling as the panels are uncluttered with unnecessary text and two it lends an air of mystery to the title and the characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Batwoman (2017) #2

Apr 22, 2017

In all honesty the plot is a little convoluted yet it is more straight forward than the first issue. It appears like a true mystery the answers will be doled out as the story progresses. One thing though the pacing is good as each issue seems shorter than they are in reality.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Deathstroke (2016) #18

May 6, 2017

This storytelling method really appeals to me. I havent followed the whole arc, full disclosure, but didnt feel completely lost as the main players were clear, and while there were gaps in plot those were my gaps and not the fault of the creators. This issue seemed to tie up story lines that began in issue one and set up for the following story arc in an exciting and intriguing way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Detective Comics (2016) #956

May 12, 2017

A lo of the bat family have roles here but Tynion really does the readers a favour focusing on Cassandra, flushing out her character. She is a bit of an enigma like many characters gracing the bat family but she has true charm and charisma. Her dialogue with Shiva as they fight is some strong writing in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #18

Mar 8, 2017

There is a lot of excitement and family drama crammed into the 21 pages of this comic, and as one has come to expect from a Flash title the artwork is kinetic without being too busy or messy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Flash (2016) #19

Mar 22, 2017

The plot wasnt advanced too far in this issue , but a key revelation comes to light imbuing it with the emotional impact one has come to expect from a Flash comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Flash (2016) #20

Apr 14, 2017

The primary weakness in the tale was it felt rushed. This was almost comic with shaky cut scenes but forgive me for muddying the review waters with a clumsy metaphor. Bottom line an enjoyable comic with intriguing hook at the end but overall not the strongest effort. The artist was serviceable but there were a couple panels that looked sloppy and rushed as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Arrow (2016) #19

Mar 18, 2017

DC has again found a great creative team the art in this issue is bold and fluid really complementing a story that is thus far being told with a tight plot and spot on characterization.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Arrow (2016) #21

Apr 22, 2017

The whole building up of transforming Seattle to Star City is a bonus as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #1

May 6, 2017

Theres a simplicity to the opening pages of this comic. Clark captured and in a red sun cell, begins a dialogue with Bruce summing up what led to the meltdown of Superman that led to Injustice, he lists a few of the casualties, and sarcastically wishes Batman luck now that he won the battle. Yet within that dialogue lies the philosophical viewpoints of how at least this universes and many of the multiverses of Batman and Superman. Jump to a healthy dose of Harley Quinn providing her usual mix of psychological insight and much needed comic relief. Of course it seems no matter the reality Harley is destined to be a member of the Suicide Squad. And speaking of Fate there are appearances by Dr. FATE and Black Canary and Green Arrow in this comic as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice 2 #2

May 17, 2017

I lolled several times in this issue almost as much as I gasped in the twists and turns again this series combines humour with action in a fine balance.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Looney Tunes #237

May 25, 2017

Finally we round out this issue with another Foghorn story guest starring the dog and weasel. Thankfully this was a short p.s. as it was almost painful adapting these characters to comic book form.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Lucifer (2015) #18

May 17, 2017

Kadry is another novelist turned comic writer, so although I was lost in this story I trust there is a clear narrative and this issue interested me enough to go and read the back story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 22, 2017

This is a fast paced action packed issue, the fight is well written and drawn, in fact once again the art is great pencils a mixture of sharp and messy.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #3

Mar 18, 2017

The art was again strong in this issue. However I fear the story is already becoming a little muddled, maybe the editors were afraid of it becoming formulaic so they instructed Grevioux to write as many twists and turns as possible. I do not know, however I found parts hard to follow and some of the writing repetitive three issues into the comic. I trust the big picture will have a payoff that makes it all worthwhile though so I grade this one 7/10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Super Sons #3

Apr 22, 2017

It doesnt distract from the story though where Robin and Superboy are duking it out with robot versions of Batman and superman. During the fight they meet Sara whose family was infected by and survived the Amazo virus.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2016) #6

Mar 22, 2017

Did I mention this issue ended on a cliff hanger making this reader salivate for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Teen Titans (2016) #8

May 17, 2017

As the second part of the Titans and Teen Titans crossover we are reminded by Robin that Death stroke has both Wally Wests. Naturally the Teen Titans head to the Titans, and tensions run high. After all Robin is not exactly a diplomat, yet Percy avoids the hero versus hero fight with aplomb.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Mar 30, 2017

This annual ends not exactly on a lefthander but without all the storylines being resolved making me wonder if it will be picked up in future issues of Titans and Justice League. Overall a well written and well drawn story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #11

May 12, 2017

The story was written by Dan Abnett but plotted with Benjamin Percy which makes sense as it will crossover with Teen Titans. Point is I could really see Percy's influence in the details of the plot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

In some of my recent reviews I have critiqued the art, so first and foremost I find this comic gorgeous. I was hooked from the cover, a stark plain image of Wonder Woman finely drawn and detailed. Both on the cover and inside the issue she looks like an Amazon princess. So kudos to the fine work here. As expected from a Greg Rucker penned issue the writing is strong as well. I was saddened to hear he was leaving the title, but I suspect hell leave a fine legacy.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

More