Philip Schweier's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comic Book Bin Reviews: 33
6.9Avg. Review Rating

4.0
Action Comics (2016) #983

Jul 12, 2017

I wontspoil the ending, though I may not need to. Anyone who follows comic books forany length of time knows you can rely on a villain to do one thing: servehimself. I just hope the next chapter isnt so predictable.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman '66 Meets The Legion Of Super-Heroes #1

Jul 19, 2017

I just wishDC had used this era Legion with the original Star Trek crossover that waspublished a few years back.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 28, 2017

That's what I like about the future of the DC Universe. It's not so beholden to the NOW of the DCU, and has the freedom to become its own entity, free from the constraints of current continuity. Batman Beyond is one of the few bright spots in DC's current roster of titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Batman/The Shadow #3

Jun 28, 2017

I'm disappointed. This series has sunk into the realm of gimmick, perhaps goosingthe sales of Dynamites Shadow comics for a time, and providing DC with amiddling excuse to reprint Batmans previous encounters with The Shadow (Batman #253 and 259). Whether DC willfollow through on that overdue promise remains to be seen.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Batman/The Shadow #4

Jul 26, 2017

Idexpected the series to run four issues, and would have been happy with that.But it appears to be running six. More is better, but not if its more of thesuper-hero team-up clichs weve seen for several generations.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #9

Jun 21, 2017

So far, it hasn't been worth it. Cave Carson has a Cybernetic Eye has been a miserable experience for me, one I hope never to repeat. If were not my job, I would not read it.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #10

Jul 19, 2017

The artworkis still somewhat muddled. I blame it on the garish colors and the bendaypatterns throughout. They are distracting, and I am uncertain how much of theaction (if any) takes place above ground. Ive liked Michael Avon Oemings artwork in the past, but here, not so much. In fairness, some of it may beattributed to Nick Filardis coloring. Which just goes to show how much of animpact one has on the other.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Cyborg (2016) #14

Jul 5, 2017

Will Conrad is back at the drawing board, and that's a good thing. However, there is one character introduced that seems so obviously based on Alfre Woodard. In general, I like his art, and I like the digital effects he uses " sparingly " to convey Cyborg's optical input. I feel it's effective, but that's not a license to go crazy with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Everafter #8

Jul 25, 2017

Ihavent been following Fables, but #8 makes the perfect jumping on point fornew readers. It offers a primer of some of the peripheral characters (at least,I think theyre peripheral). But they clearly play a key role, if not now, thenin the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Everafter #9

Jul 25, 2017

Havingthe opportunity to read several chapters at one sitting has given me newappreciation for the series. Allow that to be a wake-up call for the comicsindustry in general, that more compressed storytelling has greater appeal thanextended narratives to eventually be re-packaged into a trade paperback. Heresa thought: release the trade first,then divvy it into chapters for those whod rather pay a few dollars a monththan $20-30 all at once.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Everafter #10

Jul 25, 2017

Itsa good story, but has deviated heavily from the one I expected two issues ago:that of a secret task force that handles magical crises, sort of a sorcerersSWAT team. I could easily see such an idea optioned for television, were it notfor too many elements of other magic/supernatural based shows. But thats okay;Ive found a new title to add to to my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #11

Jul 12, 2017

The art iswonderful, and shows what can happen when DC Editorial is willing to let go ofthe wheel and allow the creative team free reign to be creative. So it doesntsurprise me when the books that DC exerts the greatest control over " highprofile properties like Superman and Batman " are suffering, while lesser knowntitles such as Gotham Academy areflying under the radar and demonstrating how great comic books can be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #26

Jul 5, 2017

My only disappointmentis that the two Green Lantern titles are not so tightly bound to one another.The impact of one is not felt in the other, and I would like to see a muchgreater cohesiveness between the two series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #27

Jul 19, 2017

After 25issues of Sam Humphries writing, it pleases me to see how he has continuallykept Green Lanterns fresh, always headingin new directions and never " to my recollection " repeating himself. Icome from an era when comic book writers stayed on a book indefinitely, andHumphries seems inclined to stay as long as DCs readership will have him.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #24

Jul 12, 2017

Perhaps itstime to, as the rings say, scan for a replacement.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #22

Jun 21, 2017

Its thestart of a new plotline from Palmiotti & Conner. While Ive been criticalof their SNL-skit-that-goes-on-too-long qualities, I must give them credit forkeeping their story arcs relatively short and tolerable. Writing for the trade?Fuggediboutit!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #23

Jul 5, 2017

And in ourback-up feature, its a return to the old days, when Harley was partnered withMr. J. Though in this storyline shes keeping a few secrets from him, mostlyconcerning their new digs and all the major renovations shes putting into it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #24

Jul 19, 2017

I enjoyedthis story arc more than most. I found it relatable, and Harley (for once)seemed to have a reasonable goal. I dont object to a lack of reason; she isthe notorious Harley Quinn. But there was less insanity, chaos for the sake ofchaos.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jonah Hex/Yosemite Sam Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Say what you will with about these DC-Looney Tunes pairings, but I prefer to thinkof them as good food. The right mix, the right people, and even the mostunlikely combination can work on many levels.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #4

Jul 13, 2017

Theartwork is fun, if a bit dark. I appreciate how Stephen Byrne renders hischaracters in classic poses, reinforcing the iconic nature of these legendaryheroes. Thankfully, it does not descend into caricature, an easy pitfall forthe best of artists.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobo/Road Runner Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Its a fun read, and kudos to Bill Morrison for pulling it off. Figuring out a wayto feature characters from such widely differing universes cant be easy, butMorrison did very well. The main story features the artwork of Kelly Jones,which seems an odd choice, but given the storys EC overtones, maybe not.Jones work has always evoked that style, without copying it too closely.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Mother Panic #8

Jun 28, 2017

Meanwhile,in our back-up feature yet another bat-themed vigilante arrives on the scene,but for how long? Gotham Radio may be close to unmasking the Dark Knight. Imreally enjoying the return of a back-up feature to comic books. More writersshould be challenged to write in this compressed format, and compelled todeliver in a handful of pages what they may be accustomed to delivering in anentire comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 21, 2017

Its not a good time to be a DC fan. If this is how they treat one of their longest lasting characters, it makes me wish he had died in one of the many Crises.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Nightwing (2016) #24

Jul 5, 2017

The endingis somewhat clichd. Its a common cliffhanger weve seen many time before, andwill no doubt see again. But Im comfortable with that so long as the entirestory does not hinge upon it. Future issues will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #25

Jul 19, 2017

But Nightwing is a good title when thesetting stays in Bludhaven. This issue allowed a controversial ongoing plotpoint to be laid to rest, thereby opening the paths to which the story mayfollow. It has potential to be a great book. Hopefully this new beginning willallow it to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Scooby Apocalypse #15

Jul 12, 2017

Perhapsso, but only if you regard it as a continuation of the original Scooby Doo cartoon. Think of it as moreof a updated reboot. Kinda likeBattlestar Galactica. The original was great in its time, but today itseems goofy and clichd. Now we have this darker, grittier version. If you canget your head around it that way, youre likely to enjoy the series. But if youprefer to regard every kernel of your childhood as some sacred in some way,its not for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Scooby Doo Where Are You? #83

Jul 12, 2017

Maybewith an all-ages book like Scooby Doo, Im setting the bar a little high. Butit is on such titles that artists and writers make their bones. Kudos to theartist who recognizes the opportunity to learn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #27

Jun 28, 2017

This a fun read, and with the likes of Woozy Winks in the mix, can Doiby Dickles be far behind. Scooby-Doo Team Up may be that repository for dormant DC heroes to get a little screen time. Kind of like Love Boat and Murder, She Wrote, employing the semi-retired.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 21, 2017

Unless I am mistaken, the conclusion comes next issue, so theres still time to hopaboard if crime fiction is your thing. But I hope its not the last we see ofSpencer & Locke. Im enjoying this ride, and regret that it may end too soon.But thank you, Pepose and Santiago, for not writing to the trade. Your work isrefreshing and I look forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Spencer & Locke #4

Jul 19, 2017

Butin a way, Im disappointed in Spencer& Locke. Disappointed that its ended, and disappointed Ill have towait indefinitely for the next installment. Perhaps four issues was too short,but Id much rather see four very well done issues, than see it padded out tomake the obligatory six most trade paperbacks are comprised of. Lower pagecount = lower price point = more sales. Thats my story and Im sticking to it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Black Beetle #2

Feb 12, 2013

In my opinion, the Black Beetle is the most faithful homage to the pulps since the debut of the Rocketeer. However, perhaps in another costume, he could easily be mistaken for pre-Robin Batman. I easily find the storytelling to be reminiscent of the Batman animated series. Thats a challenging level to achieve, yet Francavilla makes it look pretty easy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine: Switchback #1

Jan 7, 2009

However, both stories are very far apart, visually. Pastoras work is very painterly, reminscent of Richard Corben; Does seems more in an animated style, akin to a mix between anime and Brad Bird. Both are stylish and engaging.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman/Tasmanian Devil Special #1

Jul 13, 2017

Icant say when Ive seen wonder Woman look lovelier. As rendered by Kitson andFloyd, she has a Jennifer Connolly/Linda Rondstadt appearance I find delightful.The back-up feature, which stars a more traditional Tasmanian Devil, is achallenging rhyme of the Trojan War as seen through a Looney Tunes lens. Itfeatures cameos from other cartoon characters, with homages toward some classic(and not-so-classic) moments.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

2nd

July

June

More