Rachel Freeman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Pop Break Reviews: 31
9.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

I've always loved any team-up with Batgirl and Supergirl. If you love either character, or you're like me and love both, I recommend picking this one up. The stories are interesting, the dialogue between the dynamic-girl-duo is great, and you get to meet some new enemies.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jul 1, 2017

This issue had me cracking up and kept me invested in the story. Batman seemed a little out of character with his one-liners, I could have done without that, but I understand why they did it. It just wasn't my cup of tea. This is a must-read for comic and/or Looney Tunes fans, so make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Crosswind #2

Jul 27, 2017

Ultimately, this comic, yet again, delivers a quality and intriguing story with great characters and a fabulous and unique way of telling it's story. So make sure you pick up a copy of Crosswind #2 from your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 15, 2017

While I wish there was more Hawkman and Hawkgirl, the issue sucked me in right away and made me excited for this summer event.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Elsewhere #1

Aug 2, 2017

So, to start off, the art for this comic is great. I love the details, especially on the beast humanoids. Sumeyye Kesgin adds just the right amount of detail so you can tell these creatures are covered in fur but still have that human resemblance. And Jay Faerber does an amazing job capturing Amelia Earhart.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Fantomah #1

Jul 27, 2017

Ok, I had to dock a little bit because there is one thing in the comic that bothers me"What's with the little boy's photo on the bridge? I mean, it's clearly a place where this child died, but we see it several times so it's obviously relevant. But why? There's no overheard radio or tv news story about it, no one mentions it. It's just this picture of this little boy. On a bridge. With flowers and candles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Godshaper #3

Jun 17, 2017

My complaint was minuscule, especially compared to how amazing this book has been. I hope the skipping from A to B doesn't continue, but I also know sometimes you have a page requirement to meet and you have to cut down where you can. Regardless, I HIGHLY recommend this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

Without spoiling, I will say that I really liked the ending. I like that everything is ultimately rounded up, but now we have a new question. It already allows us to start imagining what the JLA could be up against next. So make sure you pick up a copy at your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ladycastle #4

May 31, 2017

I think adult women will like and appreciate the story, but I think young women will get something more. I think that's the audience where this book will shine.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Mech Cadet Yu #1

Aug 2, 2017

This was a fantastic first issue. The history of this future world was explained succinctly and in a way that was completely logical " during a celebratory assembly to announce the newest chosen cadets. And it didn't take up a huge chunk of the comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moonstruck #1

Jul 23, 2017

Moonstruck has a very Adventure Time/Steven Universe-esque art style. It's cute and sometimes goes in to that sketchy-derp style we all know and love, but it still remains different enough that it doesn't just feel like a copy of the same ol' " same ol' stuff. It's vibrant and colorful but can also be very bleak to match the situation at hand.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 22, 2017

I really liked this issue. I've liked all of the issue, though, so maybe I have a bit of bias. I just think Jody Houser is doing a phenomenal job with this character. The only complaint I really have is that I don't like the art FOR THIS SERIES. I think Shawn Crystal is incredibly talented and his art is beautiful. But Tommy Lee Edwards had this grit to it, his style felt perfect. It's also the style the series started with and had for its first 3 issues, so maybe I just need to get used to Shawn Crystal's. For now though, it just doesn't feel quite right for this character. We'll have to wait and see. I suppose.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mother Panic #6

Apr 26, 2017

So in this issue, we don't see a whole lot of action from Mother Panic. It's mostly just Pretty being insane. Really, a lot of insanity in this issue. And you can see it in the art. The colors, the way the shapes and faces blend and distort.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #7

May 30, 2017

I think this is an excellent kick off to our new story arc and I can't wait to see where Jody Houser takes us. Also, beautiful artwork from John Paul Leon, I hope we get to see him for more than a couple issues. Be sure to pick up a copy of Mother Panic #7 from your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #3

Mar 22, 2017

I want to read the next issue, I want to know what happens next. Im still intrigued, but this issue really put a damper on the series thus far for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Raven #6

Feb 15, 2017

I wish we had a little more information, but you can only do so much in 6 issues. Ultimately, I was very happy with this series and it makes me want to start reading the new Teen Titans. Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Rose #5

Aug 9, 2017

Meredith Finch loves to leave us on cliffhangers and this issue is no exception. She always does it in a tactical way. But damnit. I just want to know what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #1

Mar 1, 2017

I really enjoyed this first issue. Im 100% on board. Its set to be an 8-issue mini but I already feel like I want it to continue because I can tell Im going to be incredibly attached to Abel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #2

Apr 5, 2017

We're only on issue #2 and I'm already getting sucked in to this series. Make sure you pick up a copy at your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #4

Jun 7, 2017

Ultimately, not a whole lot of action in this issue, just lots of things on fire"but it's absolutely worth the read! Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Snotgirl #6

Jul 5, 2017

After a 6 month hiatus, this comic didn't miss a beat. It did, however, totally debunk all of my fangirl theories so now I'm back to square one. My only real complaint is that, while interesting, I really don't care about Misty's history. I think that could have been condensed a little more to make more room for Caroline and Lottie development, but I also don't know what Leslie Hung and Bryan Lee O'Malley are planning. So it could end up being super relevant!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Circle (2016) #4

Mar 22, 2017

As always, Alyzia Zherno's art was eerily gorgeous. I really think she was perfect for drawing this series. I do wish we got to see more of the action that happened and more of what Christian can do. We have one issue left and I still don't fully understand his power. Then again, neither does Christian, so maybe that's how it's supposed to be. That feeling was amplified in this issue though because there was a lot of action, but we didn't really get to see it at the same time. I'm incredibly excited and truly sad that next month I'll be reading the last issue. But it has been, and I'm sure will continue to be, a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Circle (2016) #5

May 24, 2017

As our story comes to a close, I have to say that I highly recommend this series. I enjoyed every issue, even this last one that felt a bit hectic and rushed. Ultimately, this story was amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fourth Planet #1

Feb 23, 2017

While I have my nitpicks, I still loved this issue. The fighting, the technology, the characters, everything seems to be growing and developing more and more in this new world and I just want to keep reading! That's how you know its a good story. So make sure you pick up a copy of The Fourth Planet #4 at your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Power of the Dark Crystal #3

May 30, 2017

So far, the characters have stayed true. While they are creepy, the Skeksis are still also comedic with their bickering. And the new duo, Thurma and Kensho, are a very different dynamic than Jen and Kira. Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #4

Jun 29, 2017

Ultimately, the plot continues to thicken. I'm interested to see how Jen will react when he sees what has really happened to the world he and Kira risked their lives to save. I also love the growing mythology of this world. Thurma's story about the Fire Maiden and the Ice Being who fell in love was so beautiful. I want to hear more stories about her people. I want to learn more about the other races in this world. Oh, and Kensho and Thurma are just. So. Freaking. Cute.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Power of the Dark Crystal #5

Jul 27, 2017

I'm so happy we got more from Kensho, we got some sweet flame power action too. You should definitely pick up this issue and if you haven't been reading, jump on to Jim Henson's The Power of the Dark Crystal immediately.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unsound #1

Jun 7, 2017

I was very impressed with this first issue. Horror generally isn't a genre I connect with BOOM! Studios, but this series may change that. If you like horror and supernatural, then you'll definitely like this book. Make sure you stop by your local comic store and get a copy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unsound #2

Jul 6, 2017

I am enthralled by this story. I can't wait to see what happens next. I just wish it was a little more clear on what the fuck is going on in this place. However, that's the point. We are just as clueless as the poor characters stuck in this horrible place.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unsound #3

Aug 16, 2017

This issue pushes us through the veil and in to the insane world that Cullen Bunn and Jack T. Cole have created together and it's absolutely fantastic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Victor LaValle's Destroyer #3

Jul 23, 2017

While I absolutely loved the character insight, ultimately not a whole lot happened until the last couple pages of the issue. And the events that did happen just left me going, WHY IS THIS THE LAST PAGE?! which, I mean, is a good thing, but it just ends. Just, hey, here's this epic climax that's about to start"just kidding, you have to wait a month. This is a minuscule complaint compared to the awesome praise this comic deserves.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More