Rachel Freeman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: The Pop Break Reviews: 10
8.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Batgirl (2016) Annual #1

Mar 29, 2017

I've always loved any team-up with Batgirl and Supergirl. If you love either character, or you're like me and love both, I recommend picking this one up. The stories are interesting, the dialogue between the dynamic-girl-duo is great, and you get to meet some new enemies.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

Without spoiling, I will say that I really liked the ending. I like that everything is ultimately rounded up, but now we have a new question. It already allows us to start imagining what the JLA could be up against next. So make sure you pick up a copy at your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #5

Mar 22, 2017

I really liked this issue. I've liked all of the issue, though, so maybe I have a bit of bias. I just think Jody Houser is doing a phenomenal job with this character. The only complaint I really have is that I don't like the art FOR THIS SERIES. I think Shawn Crystal is incredibly talented and his art is beautiful. But Tommy Lee Edwards had this grit to it, his style felt perfect. It's also the style the series started with and had for its first 3 issues, so maybe I just need to get used to Shawn Crystal's. For now though, it just doesn't feel quite right for this character. We'll have to wait and see. I suppose.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Mother Panic #6

Apr 26, 2017

So in this issue, we don't see a whole lot of action from Mother Panic. It's mostly just Pretty being insane. Really, a lot of insanity in this issue. And you can see it in the art. The colors, the way the shapes and faces blend and distort.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Odyssey of the Amazons #3

Mar 22, 2017

I want to read the next issue, I want to know what happens next. Im still intrigued, but this issue really put a damper on the series thus far for me.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Raven #6

Feb 15, 2017

I wish we had a little more information, but you can only do so much in 6 issues. Ultimately, I was very happy with this series and it makes me want to start reading the new Teen Titans. Make sure you pick up a copy from your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #1

Mar 1, 2017

I really enjoyed this first issue. Im 100% on board. Its set to be an 8-issue mini but I already feel like I want it to continue because I can tell Im going to be incredibly attached to Abel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Things #2

Apr 5, 2017

We're only on issue #2 and I'm already getting sucked in to this series. Make sure you pick up a copy at your local comic store!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Circle (2016) #4

Mar 22, 2017

As always, Alyzia Zherno's art was eerily gorgeous. I really think she was perfect for drawing this series. I do wish we got to see more of the action that happened and more of what Christian can do. We have one issue left and I still don't fully understand his power. Then again, neither does Christian, so maybe that's how it's supposed to be. That feeling was amplified in this issue though because there was a lot of action, but we didn't really get to see it at the same time. I'm incredibly excited and truly sad that next month I'll be reading the last issue. But it has been, and I'm sure will continue to be, a great story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Fourth Planet #1

Feb 23, 2017

While I have my nitpicks, I still loved this issue. The fighting, the technology, the characters, everything seems to be growing and developing more and more in this new world and I just want to keep reading! That's how you know its a good story. So make sure you pick up a copy of The Fourth Planet #4 at your local comic store.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

More