Raissa Devereux's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: SciFiPulse Reviews: 13
9.6Avg. Review Rating

9.7
Doctor Who: The Fourth Doctor #5

Sep 30, 2016

Titan Comics have done the Fourth Doctor proud on every level. I look forward to the next limited series with "my doctor."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Penny Dreadful #4

Oct 1, 2016

All in all, the issue alternates between serviceable and sublime heading into the conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Penny Dreadful #5

Oct 24, 2016

The final issue was anticlimactic.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Penny Dreadful: The Awakening #1

Mar 27, 2017

Jesus Hervas‘ art was marvelous throughout. However, I loved the unapologetic Egyptian Gothic sequence within Belial's tomb and Belial's awakening rampage, because there's a mummy!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Torchwood #2

Oct 18, 2016

So far, I don't feel as connected to this iteration of Torchwood as I do to the Big Finish audios. I hope that changes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood #3

Nov 24, 2016

Torchwood: World Without End #3 vast improvement over the previous issue. The characters weren't just killing time with exposition. Readers got actual mysteries.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood #4

Dec 14, 2016

With Torchwood: World Without End #4, John Barrowman and Carole Barrowman do an excellent job of wrapping up the first arc. Looking back, these first four issues have all been a giant exposition dump. I'm okay with that given what the Barrowmans have actually set up. I'm glad readers finally get a glimpse of the bigger picture in regards to Sir James, Lady Karina, and the Navigators.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Torchwood (2017) #1

Jan 30, 2017

Artist Neil Edwards was a marvelous addition to the team. He rendered the characters and environments perfectly. My favorite sequences were the fight scene between Jack and John and the antagonists shenanigans in the Arctic Circle. Indeed, the Arctic Circle base and the entrance to it could have been an homage to Thunderbirds. The Hood would have been proud!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Torchwood (2017) #2

Mar 7, 2017

While not as thrilling as previous installments, Torchwood: Station Zero #2 did leave me wanting more and formulating theories until next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Torchwood (2017) #3

Apr 11, 2017

Torchwood: Station Zero #3 was the strongest issue to date. My only quibble is with Titan's official synopsis for this installment as seen above. In their efforts to obscure plot elements in this chapter, the PR team referenced characters who don't physically appear in the issue. Hopefully, Titan can figure out a more effective synopsis strategy going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #1

Nov 29, 2016

All in all, it was a great start. I hope Jaime gets to visit Paradise Island before the story concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #2

Jan 28, 2017

The first two installments of Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman were almost everything I've wanted as a fan of both shows. The only missing element is Max the Bionic Dog " the only other male Diana would fall in love with.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Wonder Woman '77 Meets the Bionic Woman #3

Mar 8, 2017

I mentioned in my previous review that Max, The Bionic Dog, was the only missing character. Writer Andy Mangels gave Max his entrance in Wonder Woman '77 Meets The Bionic Woman #3. It was love at first sight for him and Diana, and now, the duo will be a trio going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More