Ray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery, Comics Bulletin Reviews: 11
8.4Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Bloodshot: Reborn #0

Mar 20, 2017

Valiant proves once again that it can do no wrong with Bloodshot Reborn #0. Zero issues are supposed to tie up loose ends and make its fans long for whats ahead and this one doesn't disappoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Dream Police #11

Sep 7, 2016

Sharing a title with one of my favorite rock songs this title can easily be overlooked as cliche, but for the love of everything that is nerd pick this one up. With a very interesting twist on an already done plot-line, the Dream Police will make you literally think twice before you lay down to sleep at night.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Evil Ernie: Godeater #5

Jan 2, 2017

The art isn't bad here but I'd much rather have Ernie with his trademark toothy grin as opposed to the an emaciated Johnny Depp. God Eater suffers from two major things; One: Ernie is a cult classic character, true enough, but the market is so saturated with so many characters that are not only similar to him but actually a bit more modern, so it's hard for him to stand out in today's market. Two: the plot of the story has been done way too much over the decades to make readers care one way or another. I don't hate this title but unless you are a die-hard Evil Ernie fan I wouldn't suggest it either.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Island #15

Mar 17, 2017

We barely got to know you Island! You truly were one of a kind in an industry devoid of anything that's one of a kind. When heading towards the future one must look to the past for inspiration. As a thumbed through Islands stories I couldn't help but think of the "Annuals" of years past and the new ideas and characters they brought about. Image proves once again that its specialty is outside the norm.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 27, 2017

I may seem very critical of quantum teams are go but I'll give this title a pass for now because it's only issue #1 and there is so much of the story that hasn't been told yet and I am hoping that as the story progresses the quality of this book progresses as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Savage Dragon #215

Aug 1, 2016

The quality of Storytelling in this title has remained at the same high level its achieved since its beginnings. Erik Larson is a living legend. His style like all of the greats has improved vastly over the years which has garnered him a massive following.The over the top stories and villians have always been a staple in Savage Dragon lore and after over a decade since Ive read this title it does my heart good to say that it really felt like reuniting with an old friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sex Criminals #16

Mar 8, 2017

At the end of the day if you are like me you are looking for a break from the brightly colored underpants on the outside crowd the you won't need to look far. Sex Criminals is a hip, and very cleverly written gem that you'd be thrilled you took a flyer on.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Shadows On The Grave #3

Mar 8, 2017

This miniseries serves as a great reminder of what the past was and a beacon for what could be a future filled with very expressive art and very dynamic storytelling. Shadows on the Grave #3 is a great example of what Horror graphic novels are all about. Put this one on your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Snotgirl #4

Dec 1, 2016

With Snotgirl's edgy writing by Bryan Lee O'Malley and Vibrant art by Leslie Hung it successfully makes the world of a fashion blogger very racy and interesting. And with more plot twists and turns than a Formula 1 race track Snotgirl gives the romance comic genre a much needed shot in the arm. I highly recommend this title.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Strain: Mister Quinlan - Vampire Hunter #1

Aug 24, 2016

The art in this tale is masterfully done and shows really great polish which is awesome set in the very bright and majestic Roman era. The fighting and scenes of violence were deliciously filled with blood and guts. The writing is masterful in its own right blending fantasy and history together effortlessly. I can easily see this title become the next great fantasy movie franchise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thunderbolts #155

Mar 18, 2011

Overall, Walker takes an interesting tack when depicting Satana. Despite the retention of her skin-bearing costume, she doesn't exude sex appeal. Rather, Walker creates the atmosphere of somebody playing at being sexy. It's almost like she's a kid dressing up in her mother's clothing. She just seems out of place in the whole femme fatale routine, and that's fitting given that through the entire tale, she never wanted to kill or even marginally hurt Stephen and Luke. She just wanted to be left alone and deter them from finding her. Furthermore, this flourish suits her longer history. Satana always seemed uncomfortable with her status and just wanted to be good.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More