R.C. Samo's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: FanboyNation Reviews: 69
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2011) #51

Apr 20, 2016

Action 51 is a stepping stone to the conclusion of what will happen to the Man of Steel. Live or die, Superman is the cornerstone of the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Action Comics (2011) #52

May 11, 2016

Tomasi and crew's hands are tied until Rebirth. All we are getting are snippets of whats to come in the future. The Final Days of Superman story arc is like the teaser to the teaser trailer of the pending trailer.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman (2011) #50

Mar 30, 2016

A witty, intelligent and entertaining comment that will turn you into an Aquaman fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Aquaman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

Aquaman. Yes, he's cool. Yes, he's a military king and yes, you need to read this series if you love DC Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bane: Conquest #2

Jun 7, 2017

Bane Conquest #2 is another cog in the wheel with the potential to be another great, long read series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 19, 2017

Is it next week yet? The Flash is going to add to this Batman story that we can't wait to see what happens in the next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #4

Mar 9, 2016

One of the best crossovers of the decade. I can't wait until Batman ends up in New York City in the next go-around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #5

Apr 13, 2016

Batman Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles only has one more issue left in the series and I am sad to see it end. This is a must have collection for any comics fan. If you haven't bought the individual issues, make sure to pick up the graphic novel.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #6

May 11, 2016

The end of Batman Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles is like moving back home after college to be with your old friends then having to move away again. You know you will see them again, you just aren't sure when that will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batman/The Shadow #2

May 24, 2017

Batman/Shadow is a great concept, but if only it was a little more of a throwback to the pulp comics would drawn more to the story than the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

King has really been able to reel in Snyder on the wild stories and the overly techie Batman of the New 52. He's still the billionaire we all know and love, but far less Inspector Gadget and more superhero badass detective again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Dark Days: The Forge #1

Jun 14, 2017

Dark Days: The Forge is a great first issue that sucks you in.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #3

Feb 24, 2016

Issue four isn't coming out fast enough but for now Dark Knight III The Master Race's third issue will have to hold you over for another month as it comes out today online and at your local comic book retailers.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #5

Jun 29, 2016

Dark Knight III: The Master Race Book Five is a filler issue leading to book six that will be the culmination of all that struggle in the hopes for Superman and Batman's big reunion brawl against the Kandorians.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 23, 2016

Geoff Johns is officially the 21st Century Julie Schwartz! If the creative teams at DC Comics can continue the momentum of this one issue into the rest of the DCU then we are entering the Diamond Age of Comics.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Detective Comics (2011) #50

Mar 9, 2016

We are glad this arc is coming to an end and welcome home Bruce Wayne.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Flash (2011) #50

Apr 20, 2016

The the big reveal at the end of The Flash #50 makes you hope that May arrives quickly to find out what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2011) #51

May 4, 2016

Even after nearly 60 years, the Silver Age Flash continues to excite audiences. Van Jensen's incorporation of The Riddler adds an element that will shake up Central City forcing the Rogues to reevaluate their moral codes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Flash (2016) #6

Sep 14, 2016

The Flash remains the foundation of the DC Universe and that's just how we like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2016) #22

May 17, 2017

Flash No. 22 ends with a gasp as we now have to wait until November for the Doomsday Clock to finish counting down. DC Comics, has taken its rightful post on top as the king of comic publishers.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future Quest #1

May 18, 2016

Future Quest is everything we wanted from the New 52's Justice League and we got it with these Hanna-Barbera classics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Future Quest #3

Jul 27, 2016

Future Quest is the everything we hoped for from the Hanna-Barbera characters. It's like Jeff Parker reached into the collective psyche of those who grew up on the USA Cartoon Express and combined the separate worlds we always wanted to unite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grayson #18

Mar 23, 2016

I was a little lost, but once I figured out what was going on the story was getting good.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Green Lantern (2011) #51

Apr 6, 2016

Rebirth is coming and this is the transition we needed to get there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Green Lantern (2011) #52

May 4, 2016

Green Lantern 52 is a transitional story rather than a stand alone, but the hubris that is Green Lantern will definitely lead to exciting times.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Green Lantern Corps: Edge of Oblivion #2

Feb 10, 2016

Tom Taylor is DC Comics new IT man and Green Lantern Corps is progressing the way it should.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Green Lanterns #3

Jul 20, 2016

Green Lanterns is ethnically diverse, it forces teamwork with people you don't get along with and it creates solutions to situations that most would easily give up on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Green Lanterns #5

Aug 17, 2016

Green Lanterns taps into a humanity through the telling of super powered beings who have to get over themselves in order to save the world.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Green Lanterns #6

Sep 14, 2016

Anxiety, pride and the Red Lantern Corps can't keep the Green Lanterns down!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Rebuilding the Green Lantern Corps will be tough, especially if the newest recruits don't kill each other in the process.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #13

Jan 25, 2017

As DC Comics has returned to the idea of standalone stories and no longer worries about the over arching multi-issue graphic novel fodder, Hal Jordan Green Lantern Corps #13 sets the standard in telling a touching story without losing the essence of their characters.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley's Little Black Book #2

Feb 10, 2016

This is a definitely a Harley Quinn story fans can get behind.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Injustice 2 #2

May 17, 2017

Injustice 2 #2 is Badassery beyond compare!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Justice League (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

Justice League #7 helps us understand all the character's fears with only progresses the story at a snail's pace.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

No longer a B-List character, Killer Frost will freeze Hell over in appeasing the her fans.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 21, 2016

Justice League vs. Suicide Squad rehashes an old story idea that has the potential to be great, if you can look beyond the standard set up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Justice League: Darkseid War Special #1

Apr 6, 2016

This was a powerful origin story that will revitalize the world belonging to Wonder Woman and all that the Justice League will have to contend with in years to come. Geoff Johns is one of the top brass at DC Comics for a reason and when given a single character to work with, it's almost magical.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Legends of Tomorrow #1

Mar 16, 2016

You get four stories for the price of three and worth every penny.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Legion of Super Heroes/Bugs Bunny Special #1

Jun 14, 2017

Legion of Super-Heroes/Bugs Bunny might not have been the comic book crossover we asked for, but it is the we deserved! Thanks for the reward DC!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Martian Manhunter/Marvin the Martian Special #1

Jun 14, 2017

Come on DC! What are you waiting for!?! These need to be the next superhero adaptations!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Nightwing (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

Nightwing can't catch a break. The moment you think he's stepped out of the shadow of Batman and he gets pulled back in to being compared to the Dark Knight. this one is going to go interesting places, that's for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #11

Dec 21, 2016

Nightwing has surpassed Batman as my favorite member of the Bat-Family. Seeley and To tell a story that makes me want to read issue 12, right now!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #12

Jan 4, 2017

Seeley and To are a creative dynamo that make two weeks too long of a wait for the next issue of Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 7, 2017

A little too visually dark for a Nightwing comic but a story that's interesting enough you want to continue to read on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

This story is one of the few one-shots that I have enjoyed in setting up the Rebirth world as I feel preludes slow down the story, especially with a character that has been around since 1940. However, this one works and because of that, Nightwing: Rebirth was a good read once I got past the art.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scooby-Doo Team-up #18

Sep 28, 2016

Every dog has his day and Scooby-Doo having the ultimate DC Universe team-up to save a planet of canines captures everything we loved about the original cartoon series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suiciders: Kings of HelL.A. #1

Mar 30, 2016

Suiciders: Kings of HELL.A. is the 21st Century version of The Warriors.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Supergirl: Being Super #4

Jun 28, 2017

Supergirl Being Super has to be one of the best adaptations of a DC character that isn't in cannon. You want this series to be pulled into the multi-verse as part of oh, say Earth-17 any anyone between Earth-7 and Earth-52.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Supergirl: Rebirth #1

Aug 17, 2016

Supergirl has always been more lighthearted than Superman, but when Kal-El is taking on the Eradicator and Supergirl fights a werewolf, eyebrows are raised.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman (2011) #51

Apr 6, 2016

Lucky for us Tomasi was able to humanize a dying alien, but how many times does Superman have to die in the near 80 years of his run?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #5

Aug 17, 2016

I love Superman as a character. The team of Tomasi and Gleason are great writers, but this feels like a very long set up to get us to Super Sons and not just continuing the legacy of Superman.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

Multiplicity will be the Superman story of 2017!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Superman/Wonder Woman #29

May 18, 2016

Rebirth isn't coming fast enough, but I am still enjoying the art and Tomasi's writing, I just wish the story was going somewhere.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Superman: Rebirth #1

Jun 1, 2016

Tomasi and Gleason have really written a 22-page prologue for the upcoming series that still carries the hope of the world on Superman's shoulders. The story beautifully retells the Death of Superman at the hands of Doomsday in 1992 and what the intent of the New 52 Superman will be upon his hopeful return. Only this time, we don't have to worry about a world without Superman because we have the Post Crisis Superman to help out as much as he can. Now what will happen with Jonathan and Lois as they adapt to the being in the public eye in this world.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Superman: The Coming of the Supermen #2

Mar 16, 2016

Legends never die, but they do need inkers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: The Coming of the Supermen #3

Apr 6, 2016

I am liking that its reading like a 1970s comic and that there are finally some inkers added to it, but it still feels like being dropped in the middle of the story and I have reviewed every issue so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Superwoman #1

Aug 10, 2016

The hesitation of wanting to read another Lois Lane becoming Superwoman story fades when you realized that it is in good hands with Jimenez.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Teen Titans (2014) #18

Mar 23, 2016

The story is a little wonky, but the art is amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Teen Titans (2016) #1

Oct 26, 2016

Teen Titans will rival Titans as the best young super team in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Legend of Wonder Woman #7

Jun 29, 2016

The worst part of The Legend of Wonder Woman is that there are only two more issues before the series comes to a close. The husband and wife creative team of Dillion and De Liz

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
The Sheriff Of Babylon #5

Apr 6, 2016

Sheriff of Babylon is hauntingly real. A non-fiction comic that anyone interested in understanding what those on the ground experienced in the Iraq War.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #9

Aug 3, 2016

If I ever go back to teaching, The Sheriff of Babylon will become require reading for my students.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Sheriff Of Babylon #10

Sep 7, 2016

The Sheriff of Babylon continues to strike a nerve with each page turned.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

No matter how much things change, some things remain constant and the humor, brevity and enjoyment that comes from the Titans is that constant that comics need.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #2

Aug 24, 2016

Dan Abnett, Brett Booth, Norm Rapmund, Andrew Dalhouse and Carrie Strachan are the Justice League of creative teams and Titans shows that when you have the right synergy a story that would have been perfect in the 1960s works magically well in the 2010s.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #4

Oct 26, 2016

Titans is the one DC Comics' super teams that is kept alive by another amazing super team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
We Are Robin #10

Mar 23, 2016

One of the best Robin stories in a long time. It capture youth culture exceptionally well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wonder Woman (2011) #51

Apr 20, 2016

Wonder Woman 51 is the Wonder Woman we have longed for. Strong, compassionate and can overcome fear in order to meet the challenge of the gods.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wonder Woman (2016) #2

Jul 13, 2016

Greg Ruck has always been a great storyteller and this one is no exception, I just wish the story did not jump back-and-forth between between "The Lie" from issue one that will be continued in issue three and then "Year One" being continued into issue four. The concept makes better sense in a graphic novel format, but falls flat in a bi-weekly setting.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More