Repairman Jack's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 15
7.3Avg. Review Rating

6.8
Black Bolt #1

May 8, 2017

The story that's set forth is interesting enough, but I endup more interested in the set up to this book than I am in the plot goingforward. Between that and the stylized art that wasn't really my speed I foundthis issue sort of lacking something to draw me further. The cover is absolutely amazing though.6.8/10

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #8

Apr 22, 2017

With the story progressing it seems Black Hammer moves right back into the grooves of emotion I expect it to inhabit. Black Hammer is probably not for everyone, but if you enjoy the sadness and heartache that I've come to expect from the series this issue definitely kicks off the new arc with a kick to emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extremity #2

Apr 8, 2017

Great world building and characterization takes the place of blood and action in what comes in a very quick read. Although I'm a little down on it from the first issue due to not much actually happening, I still really enjoy the read as it feels full of meaning and purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #3

May 6, 2017

This issue continues to be a great surprise. It continues to build on world building and emotional story telling while delivering some ruthless action. Only downside is it lacks a little in development for any characters other than Thea and her Father.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Generation Zero #8

Apr 1, 2017

This largely felt like a filler issue, not much really progressed and not much was really gained. There were a couple comedic moments that held up the issue a bit and there are still the lingering creepy factors in play, but largely they were missing from this issue. That, plus some confusion in a few scenes makes this issue hard to really recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Generation Zero #9

Apr 22, 2017

Although rushed and largely condensed I'm mostly happy with how Van Lente is able to wrap up most of the dangling plot threads laid out to this point. If you can ignore the jumps in logic and randomness it does a fine enough job closing up the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Old Guard #2

Apr 1, 2017

With an art style that I like and a little more exposition and world building I like this issue a little more than the first. Beyond that I feel there is little going for this book that's actually pulling me back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #3

Apr 29, 2017

I still have some complaints about this book overall but this issue really does a lot to address a lot of my previous complaints. With learning more about other characters than the lead and some nice alluding to action this book seems to pick up more and more with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic #1

Apr 22, 2017

A perfect initial issue for a dark and twisted love story. The mystery and absurd aspects are laid out nicely as we jump into a story of a man needing to use his skills and assets in an attempt to get the love of his life, a blow up doll, back from a billionaire. Other than a couple times being a little confused by the art I had zero complaints about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Regression #1

May 13, 2017

A bit lacking in plot and substance, but it more than makesup with a fast and interesting read filled with creepy disgusting imagery.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Rose #1

Apr 15, 2017

If you're not tired of the fantasy setting that seems to be Image's main genre as of late this still doesn't seem to do much to the genre in way of anything new and not completely clich. It's one highlight comes from the Queen Drucilla who in and of itself isn't too far off from typical genre clich's.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Royal City #2

Apr 22, 2017

Royal City does what Lemire does best, emotion and the sense of loneliness, but as a standalone issue there is not much here beyond those aspects. The story doesn't progress much beyond focusing in on more personal issues as opposed to the more family wide approach of the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Royal City #3

May 20, 2017

This issue still doesn't progress the story overall but itdoes what I've come to expect from Lemire and that's instill a strong sense ofemotion and depression within its characters. We get more glimpses of theindividual character's issues but still not much to mention on what ishappening in an overall sense.7.5/10 var linkwithin_site_id = 2203111;

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 15, 2017

Bits and Pieces:The mystery takes a backseat to a fun and mildly dark rompas we learn more about a kid growing up to be a cop with his imaginarypanther.  A little lacking in the area ofset-up and some minor confusion on the distinction between characters when itpertains to what others see, but the weird and funny interactions isinteresting throughout. Oh, and did I mention Calvin and Hobbes?

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Underwinter #2

Apr 29, 2017

Minimal, sometimes leaning toward childish, art makes this attempt at a visceral or emotional story near impossible to get a foothold on the story. I find almost nothing to like here.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More