Repairman Jack's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Weird Science Reviews: 35
7.3Avg. Review Rating

9.2
Aliens: Dead Orbit #2

May 27, 2017

While not as tightly wound narratively as the previousissue, the amazing art along with the overall sense of dread and claustrophobiahas me still digging this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Babyteeth #1

Jun 10, 2017

Interesting premise and story threads, but due to being what feels like a slimmed down TV pilot it's presented in a way that doesn't really do much beyond the cover or synopsis. This could go somewhere interesting, but we get no real idea of that in this first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

A little bit of Fables mixed with a Noir tale seems like anodd combination for what comes out to feel like a fun and refreshing take tothese Looney Tunes DC crossovers. By far the best of the one-shots to thispoint.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Black Bolt #1

May 8, 2017

The story that's set forth is interesting enough, but I endup more interested in the set up to this book than I am in the plot goingforward. Between that and the stylized art that wasn't really my speed I foundthis issue sort of lacking something to draw me further. The cover is absolutely amazing though.6.8/10

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Black Bolt #2

Jun 12, 2017

While I enjoy the story premises and plot as it moves along,the lack of interesting characters and being mixed on the art style leaves me pretty mixed on the issue overall.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Hammer #8

Apr 22, 2017

With the story progressing it seems Black Hammer moves right back into the grooves of emotion I expect it to inhabit. Black Hammer is probably not for everyone, but if you enjoy the sadness and heartache that I've come to expect from the series this issue definitely kicks off the new arc with a kick to emotions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Black Hammer #9

May 27, 2017

While light on the plot and story development we get a beautifulcontrast with Colonel Weird, between a flashback and life on the farm, with agreat backstory to Walky-Talky in tow.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.1
Doctor Strange (2015) #21

Jun 4, 2017

With some fan service for Hopeless' previous book, a couple laughs and an interesting cliffhanger, there's a few bits to like in this, but overall it's hard to  walk away satisfied with the total delivery of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Extremity #2

Apr 8, 2017

Great world building and characterization takes the place of blood and action in what comes in a very quick read. Although I'm a little down on it from the first issue due to not much actually happening, I still really enjoy the read as it feels full of meaning and purpose.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Extremity #3

May 6, 2017

This issue continues to be a great surprise. It continues to build on world building and emotional story telling while delivering some ruthless action. Only downside is it lacks a little in development for any characters other than Thea and her Father.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Extremity #4

Jun 10, 2017

This book continues to be one of my favorite reads everymonth. More world building and great character moments move this series to a headin almost too fast of a paced. I think some things could be given a little moreroom to breathe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Generation Zero #8

Apr 1, 2017

This largely felt like a filler issue, not much really progressed and not much was really gained. There were a couple comedic moments that held up the issue a bit and there are still the lingering creepy factors in play, but largely they were missing from this issue. That, plus some confusion in a few scenes makes this issue hard to really recommend.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Generation Zero #9

Apr 22, 2017

Although rushed and largely condensed I'm mostly happy with how Van Lente is able to wrap up most of the dangling plot threads laid out to this point. If you can ignore the jumps in logic and randomness it does a fine enough job closing up the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Injustice 2 #9

Jun 20, 2017

Taylor continues to be amazing at character moments and unforgettable gags that easily makes up for what minor gripes I have with the pace of the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Injustice 2 #10

Jun 20, 2017

While having a rocky and ‘too cute' of a start the issue quickly won me back with great character introductions and impactful moments.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Injustice 2 #11

Jun 20, 2017

Continued great character moments and introductions are bogged down by what feels like forced changes due to game requirements and sometimes mixed art.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Injustice 2 #12

Jun 27, 2017

What equates to a small dark intro to a character and mostly catch-up on the Injustice series as a whole I would largely say this issue is skippable.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.9
Martian Manhunter/Marvin the Martian Special #1

Jun 14, 2017

Between the inconsistencies in the writing, the failed capturing of Marvin's character and the minor use of Martian Manhunter it was hard to enjoy what is a smart and thoughtful message sparked by an interesting premise that falls flat. If I'd recommend this book for anything, it'd be the backup.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Old Guard #2

Apr 1, 2017

With an art style that I like and a little more exposition and world building I like this issue a little more than the first. Beyond that I feel there is little going for this book that's actually pulling me back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Old Guard #3

Apr 29, 2017

I still have some complaints about this book overall but this issue really does a lot to address a lot of my previous complaints. With learning more about other characters than the lead and some nice alluding to action this book seems to pick up more and more with each issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Guard #4

May 27, 2017

It took 4 issues but this book seems to finally be living upto its potential. With character development in abundance, plot threads comingtogether, and something to keep me interest I would easily say this is the bestissue of series so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Old Guard #5

Jun 24, 2017

As a conclusion to an arc it lacks due to insufficient build up and thin characterization, but as an individual issue it's a fun and bombastic romp that I wish just held more impact.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Plastic #1

Apr 22, 2017

A perfect initial issue for a dark and twisted love story. The mystery and absurd aspects are laid out nicely as we jump into a story of a man needing to use his skills and assets in an attempt to get the love of his life, a blow up doll, back from a billionaire. Other than a couple times being a little confused by the art I had zero complaints about this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Plastic #2

May 27, 2017

The dark sense of humor and absolute insanity persists as weget another great issue that ticks up the crazy while under delivering on thecreepy. Although we don't get enough clarification for my liking we do get alittle while making it clear why answers may be a little hard to come by.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Plastic #3

Jun 24, 2017

The dark humor and twisted subject matter continues to be agreat mix, but three issues in I'm starting to desire more of the big picture.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Regression #1

May 13, 2017

A bit lacking in plot and substance, but it more than makesup with a fast and interesting read filled with creepy disgusting imagery.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.7
Rose #1

Apr 15, 2017

If you're not tired of the fantasy setting that seems to be Image's main genre as of late this still doesn't seem to do much to the genre in way of anything new and not completely clich. It's one highlight comes from the Queen Drucilla who in and of itself isn't too far off from typical genre clich's.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.7
Royal City #2

Apr 22, 2017

Royal City does what Lemire does best, emotion and the sense of loneliness, but as a standalone issue there is not much here beyond those aspects. The story doesn't progress much beyond focusing in on more personal issues as opposed to the more family wide approach of the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Royal City #3

May 20, 2017

This issue still doesn't progress the story overall but itdoes what I've come to expect from Lemire and that's instill a strong sense ofemotion and depression within its characters. We get more glimpses of theindividual character's issues but still not much to mention on what ishappening in an overall sense.7.5/10 var linkwithin_site_id = 2203111;

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spencer & Locke #1

Apr 15, 2017

Bits and Pieces:The mystery takes a backseat to a fun and mildly dark rompas we learn more about a kid growing up to be a cop with his imaginarypanther.  A little lacking in the area ofset-up and some minor confusion on the distinction between characters when itpertains to what others see, but the weird and funny interactions isinteresting throughout. Oh, and did I mention Calvin and Hobbes?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Spencer & Locke #2

Jun 3, 2017

While this issue delivers on the promised dark humor and gives us some possible insight to the limits of Spencer, it fails to follow up on the cliffhanger set before it and ends up feeling a little disappointing.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Spencer & Locke #3

Jun 24, 2017

We eventually get some delivery on something dropped inissue one, but this issue is hard to see as much more than filler chalk full ofconfusion and deliberate deception.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Underwinter #2

Apr 29, 2017

Minimal, sometimes leaning toward childish, art makes this attempt at a visceral or emotional story near impossible to get a foothold on the story. I find almost nothing to like here.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.5
Underwinter #3

May 27, 2017

There is absolutely nothing gained from this thirdinstallment. I fail to understand what this story gains from being applied tosequential art, especially when the art is insufferable and lacking of detail.I give this issue a slightly better score than the previous issues as itactually had a scene that didn't fail entirely.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.3
Wonder Woman/Tasmanian Devil Special #1

Jun 21, 2017

The premise of the Tasmanian Devil being in the Wonder Womanworld is sold well enough but the issue lacks overall due to a convoluted andmessy story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

5th

June

May

More