RobF's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 48
6.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
All-New Guardians of the Galaxy #1

May 11, 2017

In essence there is nothing new about this team as the story focuses on the core 5 but Gerry Duggan has a strong grasp of the characters and their interactions.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #1

Aug 18, 2016

To its credit All-Star Batman has nothing in common with its predecessor other than the name. Snyder and Romita Jr are off to a fast start with a great combination of story and art. I can strongly recommend this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 22, 2016

I would have picked up this series for the artwork alone, but Scott Snyder is killing it here. The action, the villains: this one has it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 16, 2016

Of all the Rebirth issues to date Aquaman falls to the bottom of the list. (Green Lantern has been the worst in my opinion) It is by no means bad but for seasoned readers like me there is nothing I haven't read before. In comparison to the other stories this one doesn't hold a candle to them.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Champions #1

Oct 13, 2016

Whereas I can appreciate the message this comic represents the lack of a strong villain and the artwork make this issue difficult to recommend. I think over time this comic has potential but Waid has to do a better job challenging our heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II #2

Jun 23, 2016

This Civil War lacks the impact that its predecessor had but in the end it may be a better story. It's been a slow moving tale but it looks like it's picking up steam.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II #6

Nov 3, 2016

With CW expanded to 8 issues it's surprising that Bendis didn't take advantage of the space to enhance the story. Instead he chose to stretch out an already thin plot. One can only hope the climax is worth the wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Civil War II: Kingpin #1

Jul 14, 2016

Like the legendary phoenix the Kingpin again rises from the ashes of obscurity to once again plague the Marvel U. Of all the Civil War tie-ins this one has the most promise. Let's hope Rosenberg can keep the momentum going.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Feb 2, 2017

Nick Spencer does what he can to add depth to The Oath but it can't overcome the feeling that this issue was simply Marvel's way of launching the Secret Empire event. Timing is everything and this one missed out.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool & The Mercs For Money (2016) #1

Jul 28, 2016

Like Wolverine and the Punisher before him, overexposure is never a good thing. With all these appearance maybe it's time to let the Merc with a Mouth have a long overdue vacation.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Deadpool v Gambit #1

Jun 30, 2016

Following the successes of Deadpool vs Thanos and Deadpool vs Hawkeye the expectation is high but unfortunately Deadpool v Gambit falls flat. It fails to properly set the stage by relying on the past rather than the present. The authors need to pull it together and focus on the title character and move the story forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadpool vs. The Punisher #1

Apr 20, 2017

In the end this comic does not break any new ground but it has the potential to be a fun series if the chains are off. Van Lente is the right man for the job, let's hope he can get the job done.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Elektra (2017) #1

Mar 2, 2017

As much as I enjoyed her previous series I feel this one is a misstep. It feels too formulaic, like all the boxes were checked in order to create the story. I think Elektra deserves better.

View Issue       View Full Review
1.0
Ghost Rider (2016) #1

Dec 8, 2016

Stories like this make me long for the Johnny Blaze/Danny Ketch days. Marvel badly wants to launch the Ghost Rider but I'm not sure Felipe Smith is the man for the job. I see cancellation in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Godzilla: Rage Across Time #1

Sep 1, 2016

I think this series is made for the die-hard Godzilla fans only. The art is impressive but the story is not very strong. Perhaps next issues visit to Ancient Greece will improve the narrative.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lantern / Space Ghost Special #1

Apr 6, 2017

In the end Space Ghost/Green Lantern is a fun crossover with future possibilities. If it wasn't for the Ruff and Ready backup and the hefty price tag it could be considered a near perfect comic. Let's hope we get more down the line.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Guardians of the Galaxy (2015) #11

Sep 8, 2016

Overall this issue doesn't do much to advance the CW storyline. It seems like they could have either provided more insight on the Guardians or showed their direct involvement in the conflict. Bendis usually delivers but this issue is a misstep.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Hulk (2016) #1

Jan 5, 2017

For a Hulk issue there is no appearance of a Hulk. No Hulk smash. Anything. A bit disappointing. For many years we were subjected to the rampaging/savage She-Hulk. How we get to focus on Jen and her struggle overcome devastating losses and regain her sense of self and I think we have the right team for that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 27, 2016

It's always a challenge to make a villain the lead character in a comic: most writers are not up to the challenge. Bendis is one of the few that actually stand a chance but it is an uphill climb. I have my hiking gear on but I am cautiously climbing along.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #7

May 4, 2017

Infamous Iron Man is a strong comic because it avoids the standard "bad guy turns good" clichs. Bendis is doing some of his finest work here. From the devastation of the villains to the jaw-dropping climax, IIM is an easy comic to endorse.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Invincible Iron Man (2015) #12

Aug 11, 2016

Bendis and Co. used this issue to wrap up some lingering issues while incorporating Civil War to the narrative. In that aspect it was successful. But in the end the execution is where it ultimately failed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 30, 2017

What this comic lacks in originality it makes up for with stunning artwork. While the plot isn't groundbreaking the combination of Ed Brisson and Mike Perkins make Iron Fist a decent read with potential to be more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #1

Dec 22, 2016

After a lackluster Civil War II, the Inhumans vs X-Men starts off strong. Both sides have made a case for their existence and neither will back down. Let's hope the momentum continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 19, 2017

I'm sure my lack of familiarity with the Power Rangers partially led to my rejection of this issue. But I would like to think Taylor could have created a stronger plot to bring the 2 teams together. Perhaps it will improve but I will not be here to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Justice League of America: Rebirth #1

Feb 16, 2017

I would have thought with a Justice League of America Rebirth issue spearheaded by Batman would be a surefire hit. But this book lacks a compelling plot or great characters. Perhaps it will improve but I will not be here to see it.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Man-Thing (2017) #1

Mar 16, 2017

Stine took some serious risks here and in doing so he created a polarizing story; you will either love it or you won't. If you are looking for a story with a retro feel this one is for you. Otherwise steer clear.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Mighty Man (One Shot) #1

Apr 13, 2017

This one shot is a good read and an easy access point for new readers. It was good to see Freak Force again; it was one of my favorite series. I hold out hope that this comic leads to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monsters Unleashed #4

Mar 9, 2017

This series has the ability to revert me back to my younger days where kaiju ruled. Add them battling Marvel's best and I am in comic heaven. I only hope when the series is over the monsters find a permanent place in the Marvel U.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Monsters Unleashed #5

Mar 23, 2017

Monsters Unleashed wasn't the greatest series but it certainly had its moments. The fun quotient was turned way up and the plethora of guest stars made it a worthwhile read. Now let's see if the regular series can keep the momentum going.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Superman #1

Jul 21, 2016

Yang has an exciting opportunity here: he has no history to bog him down so he can build his own legacy. Kenan has no idea what he has involved himself in and little time to adjust. It will be interesting to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #9

Aug 4, 2016

Old Man Logan is easily one of the best comics on the market today. The artwork, the writing: this one has it all. If you're not reading this book you are missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Feb 9, 2017

Although it does start slow I think Green Lantern/Planet of the Apes has the potential to be an interesting series. While it appears to be an odd pairing there is enough story to keep me engaged for another issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Revolution #1

Sep 29, 2016

Was this book worth picking up? Definitely. The 10 yr old boy in me was excited from the moment I heard about it. And there is enough of a story to make me want to read further. IDW has a hit on its hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man/Deadpool #6

Jul 7, 2016

SP and DP 6 is a pleasant interlude, successfully holding serve until Joe Kelly reclaims the title. It doesn't mess with the status quo nor does it have some long term effects. With all the heaviness attached to Civil War II it's nice to have some light fare for a change.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Squadron Supreme (2015) #11

Sep 15, 2016

As we have seen with several other Marvel comics, this is a Civil War crossover in name only. It really is more about the potential return of Namor and less about Ulysses and his soothsaying. Spider-Man appearance makes this a decent issue but I'm waiting to see if Namor actually returns.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Super Sons #1

Feb 23, 2017

Tomasi clearly shows he understands these characters well. This is one of the more interesting interpretations of the Batman/Superman relationship. The chemistry between Damien and Jonathan is strong and I can see them growing up together in the DC Universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tarzan on the Planet of the Apes #1

Oct 6, 2016

Seeley, Walker and CO. has crafted a story that stands out from most crossovers. It will be interesting to see how the rest plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thanos (2016) #2

Dec 29, 2016

Thanos has been dead before and has resurrected several times. Is this time any different? Only time will tell, but his family has a vested interest in his demise. I wouldn't be surprised if others from the Marvel U join the crusade.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Fall and Rise of Captain Atom #1

Jan 12, 2017

In the end this mini-series is not covering any new ground. CA's powers go out of control; heroes need to intervene to save him. Been there, done that. It will be interesting to see if Bates and Co. can bring anything new to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Fallen #1

Aug 25, 2016

Is Bruce Banner/the Hulk truly dead? Does anyone in comics stay dead? Probably not, but if it is the end it was a proper sendoff.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Great Lakes Avengers #1

Oct 20, 2016

Overall this is a good issue. Not all the jokes land but there were enough laughs to make it a worthwhile read. GLA purists (if there are any) will balk at lack of Squirrel Girl but it's a fun and lighthearted comic with some future potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #1

Jan 26, 2017

I can't say this issue has enticed me to read further. The plot, the art: none of it screams must read. After CW II Captain Marvel has all the momentum needed to drive a series I'm just not sure this is the one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unworthy Thor #1

Nov 10, 2016

Ever since this comic has been announced I have been anxiously awaiting its arrival. Jason Aaron and Oliver Copiel have proven they know the Thunder god inside and out. When it's all said and done I think we will be mentioning Aaron's run with the same reverence as Walt Simonson's.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unworthy Thor #2

Dec 15, 2016

The Unworthy Thor is one of the best books on the market right now. The Odinson is at his lowest point searching for redemption and I can't wait to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Venom (2016) #1

Dec 1, 2016

After a slow start the first issue of Venom picks up. Costa has an interesting take on an old character with the potential for more. He has never had a moral dilemma like this and it will interesting to see which direction he takes.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Weapon X (2017) #1

Apr 27, 2017

A title such as this should have started with a bang not a whimper. The story is uninspired and the artwork is messy and the combination makes for a tough read. Sorry Weapon X you will not make my pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
WWE: Then. Now. Forever #1

Nov 17, 2016

After years and years of dreadful attempts they finally got it right. BOOM! Studios has taken the beloved characters of the WWE and firmly established them in their own universe. Is it sustainable? I don't know, but they are off to a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Zombies Assemble #1

May 18, 2017

When I first heard about this I wondered if the world needed another Marvel Zombie comic. I was wrong. The author does a great job of mixing the Japanese and American styles. Great characterization, fine artwork, some wicked humor, this one has it all.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

April

More