Ryan.L's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 130
7.5Avg. Review Rating

9.0
A.D.: After Death #1

Nov 23, 2016

If you are looking for a book that is different and unique I highly suggest you pick this one up. This was a crazy and weird ride but o worth it. I looked forward to the next two volumes and where this journey takes us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Action Comics (2016) #964

Sep 28, 2016

I really hope that we haven’t seen the best from Action Comics, and that the story is going to pick back up soon. Honestly the only reason to read this issue is so you aren’t lost if any of the next story arcs reference back to this one. But then again this arc is not important enough to really matter later on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #969

Dec 14, 2016

I highly recommend picking this one up. The issue does deal more with Zade and L'Call, but I feel that helps to raise the story to a new level. Action Comics in my opinion has been the stronger of the Superbooks out right now and is definitely a great read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #970

Dec 28, 2016

Again Action Comics continues to be a heavy hitter from DC. If you haven't been picking this one up you are definitely missing out. I'm so on the edge of my seat wanting to know what Lex's fate is going to be. Pick this one up its a solid series and issue that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #971

Jan 11, 2017

This is another incredible issue and continues to prove that Action Comics is one of the best book DC is releasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #975

Mar 8, 2017

Want to know who the other Clark Kent is? Well you don't want to miss this action packed issue because I guarantee it is going to take you by surprise!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2016) #976

Mar 22, 2017

If you haven’t read this crossover I highly suggest you go pick up the previous issues of Superman and Action Comics. This is one of the best crossover stories I have read in a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Defiance #10

Mar 29, 2017

This issue and series is amazing and I can't recommend it enough. Even if you have never seen or read anything from the Alien franchise there is a lot here to enjoy here. This is a series that definitely should not be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aliens: Defiance #11

Apr 26, 2017

I'm really intrigued now that they are on Earth where this series is going to go. This has been an exceptional series from the start and I hope now that they are on Earth they can keep the momentum going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aliens: Life and Death #1

Sep 21, 2016

If you haven’t picked up this series I highly suggest you give it a try. This is an epic story and one that should not be missed. Go to your local comic book store or app and pick this one up along with the previous installments in Predator: Life and Death, and Prometheus: Life and Death.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
All-New Wolverine Annual #1

Aug 31, 2016

If you haven’t been following All-New Wolverine that’s ok, this is a great jumping on point. The annual is so much fun and stands on it’s own really well without needing much back story. This is a must read issue and a must read series. We are going to be heading into Enemy of the State II and it’s sure to be a wild ride so hop on now and hold on for dear life!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Wolverine #12

Sep 21, 2016

All in all, this is an good addition to what is one of the best series out from Marvel currently. I highly recommend if you haven’t gotten into Wolverine yet, that you get caught up because Enemy of the State II is coming next month and it is sure to be a wild ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-New Wolverine #13

Oct 8, 2016

Overall I really did enjoy this issue, but I do have high expectations for the story arc. It is a little too soon, but we are off to a pretty good start. I do recommend picking this one up and this is also a great jumping on point for new readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
All-New Wolverine #14

Nov 16, 2016

This issue is nothing amazing but if you are a fan of Wolverine and are already following the series you might enjoy it. This wouldn't be my first pick for the week. But if you have some extra money and are curious about All-New Wolverine, pick it up and hopefully it will find it's groove again soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
All-New Wolverine #15

Dec 7, 2016

We are only a few issues into Enemy of the State II and unfortunately I have to say pass on it. The series is not what it used to be and this story arc has little to nothing to do with the original Enemy of the State which is a disappointment. Maybe it will pick itself back up and get better, but I'm not holding my breath.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 14, 2016

Overall this is a solid issue and series that I do recommend picking up. Some people may also be a fan of Romita’s style and think I’m just crazy. You can’t please everyone, but for me Snyder’s story “My Own Worst Enemy” is what really shines. If it was its own self contained series and didn’t have the secondary story this series would definitely rate even higher than what I have given it. But don’t let that stop you from picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

This is an A+ series and this issue especially just raises the bar to a whole new level. Dan Abnett is following in Geoff Johns footsteps showing us that Aquaman is a contender and a top tier series! If you're not reading this book then you are really missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

Dan Abnett has crafted an incredible new direction for Aquaman, and this arc I hope is the first of many to help this series to shine. I highly suggest you pick this one up and all the previous issue in the Deluge story arc. It is becoming a definitive story in Aquaman's history.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Aquaman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

The Deluge is probably one of my all time favorite Aquaman stories. I highly recommend you go and pick them all up and check it out. you wont be disappointed at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

I can't recommend this book and series enough. It is probably my favorite book from DC right now. It has proven to be consistent with it's quality over the sixteen issues. This is a must read series that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Aquaman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

Even with great art this story is still one of the worst we have gotten in what has been a top tier series from DC. I can't really see anything from this arc being important to future issues so I honestly would skip it and come back at the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Aquaman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

This again is another solid issue and Aquaman continues to be one of the best series from DC Comics. I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed #13

Nov 23, 2016

If you are a fan of the games you should definitely pick up this series. It is so much fun and is going to have an impact on the Assassin's Creed universe you're not going to want to miss. If you are new to the series you'll still enjoy this series and maybe it will encourage you to pick up the games to find out more about the Assassin's versus Templar wars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Assassin's Creed: Awakening #1

Nov 11, 2016

I loved this book and really the only thing negative I could say about it would be that it was a very quick read. I loved the action sequences and how immersive they are, but they do take up a good portion of this issue. But like I said that’s a very minor part to and otherwise absolutely amazing book. I highly suggest anyone who loves a good adventure story pick this one up, you won’t be disappointed

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Assassin's Creed: Reflections #1

Mar 8, 2017

If you are a fan of the Assassin's Creed franchise you might enjoy this book. but don't have too high of expectations as it doesn't live up to the celebratory series like no other, it was advertised to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Assassin's Creed: Uprising #1

Jan 31, 2017

If you are a fan of Assassin's Creed then you really should pick this book up. Many of the story lines from the games are going to be major plot points in this series so you are not going to want to miss it. This is an incredible first issue to what I know will be and outstanding series.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Avengers (2016) #1

Nov 2, 2016

Both the story and the art on their own are absolutely top notch and amazing. But together it is just not working for me and so it made it hard for me to really get into the story. It may take me time to grow into it, but I do have high hopes for the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 18, 2017

This is one of the best Batman stories I have read in a very long time. It's so different from anything we have been given in the past. I highly recommend you pick up the six issues in I Am Suicide arc and then Rooftops part one and this issue Rooftops part two. This story is the perfect example why Batman is one of the top selling books on the market.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Widow (2016) #6

Aug 17, 2016

It’s great to see Natasha finally get some of Marvel’s top creative teams on her books. This is definitely a series you should not miss. Black Widow has become an A-list hero and this issue especially shows why she deserves the spot at the top.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Widow (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

I would argue that this issue is the best comic I have read all year and one of the best series as well. If you haven't been following this series you definitely need to start picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Black Widow (2016) #8

Nov 30, 2016

This issue and series is absolutely amazing. There is something for everyone here and definitely one that should not be missed.I highly recommend if you haven't been following this series, go pick up all the back issues and get caught up. With so many books out on the market they have to really stand out to draw us in and keep up. Black Widow is arguably the best series on the market period.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Widow (2016) #12

Mar 29, 2017

It's sad to say goodbye but wow what a ride this has been. Another solid issue to finish off what has been one of the best series from Marvel in years. If you haven't been following it go pick up the previous eleven issue and check out this incredible book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Blue Beetle: Rebirth #1

Aug 24, 2016

Blue Beetle is fun and shows a lot of promise. New readers I suggest doing some research into the character so you have a little background before jumping into the series. This book does reward those that have some previous knowledge of the character and history more than those that don’t. But that being said this is a fun book and the store has just begun so I recommend giving it a try and seeing where is takes us.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Bullseye (2017) #1

Feb 1, 2017

Wow this was a great book and the only thing I could fault it for is that it is only a miniseries and not a ongoing series. But can you really fault a book for that? This is such an exciting book and shows Bullseye at his best. I have missed him from the Daredevil books and it's nice to be able to see him again. This may be only a five issue miniseries but I highly suggest you pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Bullseye (2017) #2

Mar 1, 2017

This series is definitely a must read. It is exactly how a villain fronted book should be and will set the bar for any future books that are centered around a villain. I can't express how much you shouldn't miss out on this book and definitely go pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Cage (2016) #1

Oct 5, 2016

This book isn’t pulling any punches, and really is just trying to make you laugh. That being said one would question why we even needed this mini-series. With the Netflix show being so popular, it could have led to the possibility of Luke getting a successful solo series again. But instead we are being given this over the top farce that makes the character look like a big dumb oaf. With so many books being pumped out and Marvel Now! in full swing, this book might just get lost in the mix as most readers will be looking for something with a little more substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #5

Sep 21, 2016

We have four more issue in this event and now I’m beginning to wonder why I even invested in reading this. I would say skip this issue but the last four pages will be important for what is to come. So if you are following this event then you will want to pick up this one, even if it is a blatant cash grab.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Civil War II #6

Oct 26, 2016

We have three issue left and this one showed that there is some hope that things could get better. But it also showed how if the series had been condensed to 4 or 6 issues instead of the drawn out 9 the story would have been a lot more solid. I can't recommended picking this up, but I will say that it is one of the better issues from this event.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Civil War II #7

Nov 23, 2016

This series and issue is a waste of time. I highly recommend you not waste your money on this and instead pick up something from one of the independent releases coming out this week or one of Marvel's other releases. What can you lose? You have a better chance at getting your moneys worth there than picking up an event that clearly over seven issues has proven to be nothing but a cash grab.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II #8

Dec 28, 2016

I'm really glad this event is finally over and we can move on with our lives. I hope you have just been following the reviews and not wasting your money on it, because it's been nine issues of nothing but a waste of time and money.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Civil War II: The Oath #1

Jan 26, 2017

As well as this issue was written and the art being as incredible as it is, I can't give it a very good rating. It's just not delivering anything new to us and causes me to continue to be dissapointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Daredevil (2015) #10

Aug 10, 2016

This new arc has promise for a series that is stumbling to win an audience. If you are a Daredevil fan definitely pick this one up. If you are new and looking to jump into Daredevil this is a good place to start. You might be a little lost at first of who everyone is, but it won’t take long to get you up to speed. This dark and gritty Daredevil is about to experience some seriously Dark Art!

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Daredevil (2015) #11

Sep 8, 2016

This series is not bringing anything exciting and this issue especially is a lot of nothing happening. I think it’s time for a creative team shuffle up. This series may be some peoples taste but it is definitely not mine, which is a shame because Daredevil is my all time favourite.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2015) #15

Jan 11, 2017

This is the perfect jumping on point for new readers. This book showed me that Charles Soule does know the character and it gives me high hopes that we have many great Daredevil stories to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #16

Jan 26, 2017

If you haven't been reading Daredevil then issue 15 & 16 are the perfect jumping on point. This is the Daredevil I have loved for many years at his best.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Daredevil (2015) #18

Mar 15, 2017

This has been such a great story I highly suggest if you haven't been following Daredevil pick up the last issue and this one. We are finally starting to get Daredevil issues to the level of quality we want and deserve. "Purple" is a story arc that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2015) #19

Apr 19, 2017

It's nice to finally see Charles Soule find his groove with Daredevil. It may have taken a year and a half but he's finally delivering some solid stories. This is definitely a series you should pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of X #1

Oct 5, 2016

This book isn’t great, and a pretty rocky start for the mini-series. If you’re like me and a huge x-fan then you’re dying to know what’s up for our beloved mutants. Hopefully this series gets better and answers some of the big burning questions we have and not turn out to be just a setup for the Inhumans vs X-Men event that’s just around the corner.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Death of X #2

Oct 19, 2016

I would avoid this book and series altogether. Even if the X-Men vs Inhumans event is amazing, you wouldn't be lost if you skipped this series and just waited for that. We probably will get something of importance in the final pages of the last issue of this series but you can just google it to be caught up. Don't waste your hard earned money on something that is apparently just slapped together with no substance.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Death of X #4

Nov 23, 2016

This series has me worried about the next event starting next week. This was all obviously just setup for that, but with the lack of substance here it doesn't give me high hopes that Inhumans vs X-Men will have any.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #1

Aug 24, 2016

This turned out to be a better story than I was expecting. I really like how we got teased with so many elements and it left us wanting more. Not many villains can pull off a solo series and keep it engaging, but Deathstoke definitely succeeds where others have failed. I recommend picking this one up, because it looks like it’s just the start of an intense ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Doctor Strange (2015) Annual #1

Sep 30, 2016

Overall this is an alright annual. The second story is where all the substance is and the better part of this two story annual. That being said this is not a must read and I doubt it will have much impact on the story if one was to skip it altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #10

Aug 3, 2016

This is one of the best series from Marvel and a fantastic conclusion to such an amazing story arc. I’m excited to see more Doctor Strange and how these events have changed him for the better or worse.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #11

Sep 7, 2016

I would say pass on this issue and save your money, but for the little bit of setup for the next story arc you are probably going to want to read this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Elektra (2017) #1

Feb 22, 2017

Overall this is a great first issue and those that have loved Elektra in the Netflix Daredevil series will definitely enjoy this book. Those that are long time Elektra fans can find a lot of what they have come to love from Elektra here as well. Definitely pick this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Flash (2016) #7

Sep 28, 2016

Pick this book up, there is nothing like it on the market and it really shouldn’t be missed. Thank you Joshua Williamson for now making me a Flash fan and even more a Godspeed fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Flash (2016) #8

Oct 12, 2016

This first arc has been outstanding and it makes me really excited for the next arc. If you haven’t been reading the Flash then I can’t express enough that you should pick up the back issues and get caught up. This is one of my picks for the best series being released by DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Gamora #1

Dec 21, 2016

Overall I didn't dislike this book, it was fun and enjoyable. The dialogue could be improved but this is just the first issue. Those that are a fan of Guardian of the Galaxy and Gamora especially should pick this one up. It definitely has some potential to be a great series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #1

Aug 3, 2016

All in all, this is a rocky start to the new Harley Quinn series. If you are a hardcore Harley fan, no doubt you will be picking this up. Everyone else if you have some extra money and want to give it a shot by all mean do it, just don't expect it to blow you away like some of the other DC Comics Rebirth series have.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #2

Aug 17, 2016

If you can’t seem to get enough of Harley Quinn in the Suicide movie, then you definitely need to pick up this issue. Its pure crazy Harley goodness and you wont be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hulk (2016) #1

Dec 28, 2016

Another amazing book from Marvel Now! Civil War II may not have been what we wanted but we are getting some incredible new series and thats whats most important. I highly recommend you pick this one up. It's a great series for longtime fans of She-Hulk and also new readers to the character.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hulk (2016) #2

Jan 26, 2017

I can't recommend picking up this book enough. It is one of the best books to come out in awhile and is one that really shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #1

Oct 19, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised with what Bendis has delivered here. This series is shaping up to be really fun and a solid series.I definitely recommend picking this one up, but be aware that is does have some Civil War II spoilers in it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Infamous Iron Man #2

Nov 16, 2016

Some people see Bendis name on a book and write it off immediately because his past is littered with some great books but also many terrible ones. This series is one of the great ones. I was hesitant at first but I'm really enjoying it and highly recommend picking it up. Doom is such a great character and so far Bendis is delivering a solid story. Go pick this one up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #1

Nov 9, 2016

So Riri Williams is here and I do think this series has the potential to be a great one. It may not have the perfect start but it was still pretty exciting and fun. I recommend picking it up and checking out her first flight.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Iron Fist (2017) #1

Mar 22, 2017

With so many new series coming out there has to be something that makes a book standout among all the rest. This books unique take on the fallen hero is outstanding and is an absolute must read. I highly recommend you pick this one up as its already proving to be an incredible series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
IvX #0

Nov 30, 2016

For those that didn't read Death of X not to worry. This issue will give you all the information you will need to be up to date on the story. This is sure to be a crazy ride so huray up and get on board, and hold on for dear life!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
IvX #1

Dec 14, 2016

Pick this event up because it is one of the better events Marvel has delivered to us in years and I know you wont be dissapointed, unless you're more of an Inhumans fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
IvX #2

Jan 11, 2017

This event is definitely a must read. It is jam packed full of fun and excitement and it's only just the beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
IvX #3

Jan 26, 2017

No matter what side you are cheering for this issue really highlights each character to their fullest. There are so many moments to cheer on your favorite and see them outsmart each other. There isn't any major stand out moments in this issue but overall it was still a lot of fun. There are some great teasers at the end for whats to come that I really enjoyed, and have me excited for the next issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
IvX #4

Feb 8, 2017

This event seems to be at a stall right now with nothing majorly engaging happening. There are revelations at the end of this issue which bring to the forefront how this whole event could have been prevented. It's a little disappointing how much this event has gone down, and with only two issues left in the main story lets hope it can get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
IvX #6

Mar 8, 2017

The event is now over and we have new creative teams coming in with Ressurexion this spring. I am hopeful that things can get back to what we have come to love from the x-books. Unfortunately this event has left a sour taste in my mouth and my once hopefulness that this event was going to save the X-Men has now left me really feeling, is this the actual Death of X?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jessica Jones #1

Oct 5, 2016

The series “Alias” ended because Bendis said he felt he had told what he wanted with Jessica and was ready to move on. Well it’s great that from the popularity of the Netflix show he was willing to come back and give us some more stories to enjoy. I can’t wait to see where he takes this series; it’s going to be intense especially with a pissed off Luke Cage in the mix so you’re not going to want to miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jessica Jones #2

Nov 16, 2016

Even though there were moments I was questioning this series and Bendis, but by the end it managed to grab me again and get me excited for the next issue. I'm a huge fan of Jessica Jones and can't recommend this book enough. It's a nice dark and gritty book that is very different form everything else out on the market. If you enjoyed the Netflix show, then you will enjoy this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jessica Jones #3

Dec 15, 2016

You should definitely go pick up this book and series. It is absolutely amazing and fun. Jessica is not your regular hero and nobody writes her like Bendis.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Jessica Jones #4

Jan 11, 2017

This is still an incredible series even with some of the problems I had with this issue. If you haven't been following it I highly suggest you go pick up the first three issues and this one and get caught up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Jessica Jones #6

Mar 8, 2017

Jessica Jones continues to be one of the best books Marvel is releasing. If you haven't been following it I highly recommend picking up the first six issues as this book is definitely one that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Jessica Jones #7

Apr 5, 2017

It's sad that we are only on issue number seven and we are having this problem. Hopefully things will pick up but I'm afraid that the damage has already been done and this series could suffer because of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Carter: The End #1

Feb 8, 2017

This issue seemed like it was more of a teaser than anything. We didn't get much into the story but it still managed to grab me and get me excited to find out what happens. This is definitely the start of an awesome series and you should definitely check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kingpin (2017) #1

Feb 8, 2017

While not a perfect first issue this series does have potential to be really good. This one took me a little bit to get into, but by the end I was loving it and so excited for more. I highly recommend picking this one up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Moon Knight (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

If you haven’t picked this series up I highly recommend you go grab all the back issues and get caught up. This is one of the most interesting and well written stories I have read in a long time. Such a new and refreshing take on a superhero book it is definitely a must read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mosaic #1

Oct 12, 2016

Many new characters either make it or they don’t and Mosaic is shaping up to be a solid character and series. I highly recommend picking this one up. There is a lot of new characters and series coming out from Marvel and this is definitely one that shouldn’t be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nick Fury (2017) #1

Apr 19, 2017

I like the fresh new take on a spy espionage book, but to keep my attention there is going to need to be a lot more substance added in the next issue or the book will quickly become forgettable.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Nova (2016) #1

Dec 7, 2016

If you're a big fan of Nova you will probably really enjoy this issue. I am new to Nova and their part of the Marvel Universe, and in turn felt a little lost. There was just not enough to help out a new reader. That being said it was an alright start and maybe it will pick up in future issues. But will that be too late?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Man Logan (2016) #21

Apr 12, 2017

Even with the questionable choice at the start Jeff Lemire does show that he can write Logan and this is another really exciting and fun start to another story arc that is sure to get pretty crazy. The art is also really amazing and I loved the fresh new look Eric Nguyen has given these big moments in Logans history.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Raven #1

Sep 21, 2016

This miniseries is off to a great start and I highly recommend you picking it up. Raven is such a unique character and it’s nice to finally see her get some love, even if it’s just for a miniseries.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Scarlet Witch #9

Aug 10, 2016

I can’t express how much I recommend everyone pick up this issue. Even if you haven’t been following this series or Civil War II this is an issue not to be missed. So where do Pietro and Wanda go from here? We don’t know, but one thing we do know is that the Scarlet Witch is not a pushover anymore.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Scarlet Witch #10

Sep 14, 2016

If you haven’t been following this series, you are definitely missing out. This a huge gem from marvel and I highly suggest going to collect the back issues or trades and get caught up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #11

Aug 31, 2016

If you haven’t been following Spider-Gwen I highly encourage you to run and scoop up all the back issue and get caught up. This is a top series that you really shouldn’t miss. Spider-Gwen versus the Punisher, does it get any better than that!?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #12

Sep 28, 2016

Spider-Gwen is an absolutely amazing series and you should definitely get on board now. When you make a deal with the devil, your life will definitely change and Spider-Gwen has done just that and you know it’s going to be a great read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Star-Lord (2016) #1

Dec 21, 2016

Overall this first issue is a little bit shaky but was still pretty fun. I hope this finds it's groove soon because Peter is such a fun character and has proven in the past to be able to hold a solo series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2016) #1

Sep 7, 2016

So there we have it, our new Supergirl series is in full swing. My hope is that Steve Orlando can keep delivering engaging stories so that we can really get invested in this Supergirl. That he can pull her out of the perpetual washing machine of re-launching her back to an origin that really seems to be Kara’s curse. There are so many great stories out there other than her awesome origin to tell, and I have faith Orlando will deliver.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Supergirl (2016) #3

Nov 9, 2016

If you haven't picked up this series it's still early. Go pick up the past few issues and check this one out. It's finding it's voice, and what a voice it is.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Supergirl: Rebirth #1

Aug 17, 2016

Well this may not be the Rebirth I would have wanted for Kara, but overall it was alright start to which I hope is a long and exciting journey for the Girl of Steel!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Superman (2016) #13

Dec 21, 2016

The only positive thing I can say about this book is that Super-Monster is only two issues and we are now onto a new arc and new artist. Hardcore fans will probably pick this one up anyways, but honestly I saw pass it over. you aren't going to miss anything starting up at the next story arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

This isn't a terrible book by any means but it again is not the best. If you have some extra money and want to pick up more Superman then sure it's an alright start to a new arc that will hopefully get better.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Superman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

Hopefully the next arc will bring this series back to the level we know it can deliver. This is an alright finale to a pretty meh arc. I'd say pass on it and pick up the next one as you aren't going to miss anything major in the over arcing Superman story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

This issue proves why Superman is one of the best series being released from DC. This story will be a crossover with Action Comics so get ready, this is going to be a crazy ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superwoman #1

Aug 10, 2016

This series is off to a great start and I’m really looking forward to more. This was not what I was expecting at all from a Superwoman book. Especially having not one but two big twists in the story, leaving me going “Wha WHAAAAT!?” at the end. So even with the slightly confusing start this is a solid book and definitely one of the better ones coming from DC Comics Rebirth line. Really I have nothing negative to say about it and I highly recommend you to pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superwoman #2

Sep 14, 2016

Overall this is another solid issue and if you haven’t picked it up go get issue one and get caught up. This is a must read, and its one of the better books coming from DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
3.0
Superwoman #3

Oct 12, 2016

I almost think that this series should have been separated into two separate series as they are trying to do too much in one book. Originally this book started out to be Lana and Lois with Lex tossed in a bit. Now the book is 50/50 Lana and Lex fighting for top billing. I was a big fan but this series has all but lost me now. I don’t know how many more issues I can give this one before I completely give up on it. Now that our main villain has appeared maybe things will pick up, but I don’t have high hopes on that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tank Girl: Gold #1

Sep 28, 2016

I loved this book and can’t express it enough. I highly recommend it if you enjoy silly and fun books. If you haven’t been following Tank Girl go pick up Two Girls One Tank so you are up to date with the current story and then check this one out. You wont be disappointed. Now excuse me while I go watch the movie because I need me some more Tank Girl!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tank Girl: Gold #2

Dec 2, 2016

If you are a fan of Deadpool, Squirrel Girl or Harley Quinn you should definitely check out Tank Girl. Most of those characters creators go their influnce for them from Tank Girl. She is the original odd ball and this new series is absolutely hilarious. I highly recommend going and picking it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Tank Girl: Gold #3

Dec 20, 2016

This is a must buy issue of Tank Girl. I've always been a big fan of Jet Girl so it's great to have an issue thats centered around her and her shenanigans. This is also a great book for new readers. It stands on it's own and isn't affected by the main story. I do encourage you to pick up the first two issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Tank Girl: World War Tank Girl #1

Apr 5, 2017

This is yet another amazing Tank Girl series that continues off of the last one. but with that being said there is still lots to enjoy here for new readers. I never thought I would enjoy a time traveling Tank Girl like I do after reading this issue, and I can't wait to see where they go after this.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Clone Conspiracy #1

Oct 12, 2016

This book was a lot of fun and those spider-fans out there will definitely enjoy it. If you are a new reader like me and want to check it out. You might want to do a little bit of research into Parkers current life so you are not completely lost when you pick this book up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Mighty Captain Marvel #0

Dec 21, 2016

This book is incredible and a must read for everyone. This is setting up Captain Marvel to be one of the better series to come out of Civil War II. You may of disliked her during the event, but this redemption story is very down to earth and well deserved.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Mighty Captain Marvel #1

Jan 18, 2017

This is still a good read and I recommend picking it up. Hopefully in the next few issue the magic will return and this will continue to be a solid series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 4, 2017

This book is definitely directed at a particular demographic that I am not apart of. Young girls will love this book and that is great, and we need more books that bring in young readers. I just wish that it wasn't so pigeon holed into appeasing just that one demographic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Unworthy Thor #1

Nov 2, 2016

Even if you haven’t read much Thor or if you are Thor’s number one fan I highly suggest picking up this issue. It was so much fun and beautiful to look at. Odinson is on a journey to reclaim who he once was, and wow we are off to an impressive start to that journey. This may only be a five issue mini-series but this series could end up being a definitive moment in Thor’s history that you’re not going to want to miss.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Unworthy Thor #2

Dec 7, 2016

If you know anything about Thor or not you should definitely pick up this series. It is an all around exciting read that shouldn't be missed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

This is a fun book and I do recommend picking it up. Since there is no dedicated Rebirth series with the main story, this series shouldn’t be missed as it will probably be the one to deliver a lot of the answer to questions many of us have been asking about with Rebith.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

I highly recommend picking up this book. It was so much fun seeing these heroes interact on a different level than just fighting bad guys and saving the day. This is shaping up to be a stellar series so don’t miss out on it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 19, 2016

This is a must read book and definitely one of the better books on the market. Yes it is more of a Superman book for now, but there are so many twists and surprises in store for us I don't think that will last for long and we will finally have our Trinity.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Trinity (2016) #3

Nov 16, 2016

Overall though this is a great series and the art is incredible. This issue may not have been as good, but I do have high hopes it will pick up again and continue to be one of the best books DC is releasing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Trinity (2016) #7

Mar 15, 2017

This was an interesting start to a new arc in this series. If you haven't been following Trinity, then this is definitely a great jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
U.S.Avengers #1

Jan 4, 2017

This new Avengers book is off to a pretty rocky start. Maybe it will get better but there was just so much I wasn't able to buy into. I would suggest passing on this as there are way more great new books coming out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #12

Aug 17, 2016

If you haven’t been following this series I highly suggest jumping on. There is a lot of action, drama, and fun to be had and this is one of the better books from the Avengers lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #15

Oct 12, 2016

If you haven’t been following this series, then this issue is the perfect jumping on point. This is one of the best team books Marvel is putting out right now and really is a must read. The Hand is wanting to resurrect the Hulk and use him as a weapon, this is going to get crazy and you don’t want to miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Weapon X (2017) #1

Apr 12, 2017

If you are a fan of the darker X-books then this one definitely is for you. The adrenaline is on high and there really is nowhere for mutants to hide. This is a nonstop action ride that is sure to get intense.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Weapon X (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

Overall this is a very forgettable series and I don't have high expectations it will improve. With little to no character development there is nothing to hold a readers attention. I am going to give this one a few more issues but it's losing me as a reader quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wonder Woman (2016) #6

Sep 17, 2016

This series is absolutely perfect to bring in new readers like myself but it also has lots to offer the long-time readers. DC is on fire with Rebirth and we can’t be more proud that they have lived up to all the promises. So what are you doing go to your local comic book store or your digital comic app and get this series, you won’t be disappointed. Wonder Woman is one of or an argument could be raised that it’s the best series being released from DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #7

Sep 28, 2016

This series is absolutely perfect to bring in new readers like myself but it also has lots to offer the long-time readers. DC is on fire with Rebirth and we can't be more proud that they have lived up to all the promises. So what are you doing go to your local comic book store or your digital comic app and get this series, you won't be disappointed. Wonder Woman is one of or an argument could be raised that it's the best series being released from DC.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wonder Woman (2016) #9

Oct 26, 2016

This issue wasn't full of amazing moments like many of the previous issues but it is still a good issue. Definitely pick this one up so you are ready for the next issue because it is sure to be intense.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wonder Woman: 75th Anniversary Special #1

Oct 27, 2016

If you are a fan of Wonder Woman I highly suggest picking this up. It is a lot of fun and a great way to celebrate such an amazing character that has made such an impact on all of us. Happy 75th anniversary Wonder Woman and I wish you many more years of great stories to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men Prime #1

Mar 29, 2017

If you have been hesitant to give the X-Men another chance well I highly suggest you read this issue. Everything Marvel promised they are delivering on. X-Men Prime has set up ResurreXion to be a success and I am so excited to head into this new world with my merry mutants.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #1

Apr 12, 2017

This was another huge success for the teams behind ResurreXion. The X-Men are definitely back and I am overwhelmingly ecstatic. If you enjoyed X-Men Gold then you should definitely pick this one up. Its more reminiscent of the early days of the X-Men of 1963, where Gold was very reminiscent of the 1990s. I love how they have taken the formula of the comics from those eras and delivered that with a modern twist and fresh new stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Blue (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

We are now two issues in on X-Men Blue and it really seems like Bunn has found his groove with the X-Men. Many are not fans that that O5 are still around, but Bunn has really delivered a solid series so far that has me excited for more shenanigans from Jean, Scott, Hank, Warren and Bobby.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #1

Apr 5, 2017

At the end of the day X-Men Gold is just that GOLD. It's everything we have been asking of Marvel and a great start to a new day for our mutants. Long time X-Men fans can breath a sigh of relief that things are getting better, and the road to ResurreXion is taking us back to a time where the X-Men were great, but in a fresh new way with all new stories. Don't miss out on this amazing book because the adventure is just beginning.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
X-Men: Gold (2017) #2

Apr 26, 2017

I do have high hopes that this series will be able to find its voice. This is a very promising series but controversy may have boosted sales, but in the long run it may have hurt the series more than we know. Only time will tell if this is true or not. There are some great moments here still and Marc Guggenheim has chosen the perfect team of X-Men to lead us further into ResurreXion.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

More