Sam Wildman's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Nerdophiles Reviews: 164
7.4Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Backstagers #1

Aug 24, 2016

I'm really looking forward to what comes next with this series. Helmed by abiwriter and a trans artist, The Backstagers promises to be a fantastic LGBT-positive series, which is what we need more of in all-ages comics.While the focus was hardly on the characters' sexuality this issue, I'm looking forward to seeing a positive portrayal of the LGBT community that speaks directly to all the queer, questioning drama kids out there. This book is going to be so awesome for so many reasons – and potentially for so many people.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backstagers #2

Oct 5, 2016

I'm in love with this series. I love the story. I love the world they're exploring. I love the artwork and the vibrant colors on each page. It's awesome. It's such a fun, positive series. And it's empowering. It's empowering for the nerds, the theatre geeks, the often overlooked backstage kids and LGBT readers of all ages.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backstagers #3

Oct 29, 2016

It's the little things and the silly details like that in this story that I love so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backstagers #4

Nov 23, 2016

Equally as creepy is the end of the issue where we meet the faculty advisor for the backstagers. He seems like a pretty normal old dude who knows the dangers of the backstage tunnels and he's determined to keep the backstage crew going. But at the very end he enters the tunnels himself and turns into some weird, child-sized apparition. What does this mean? What does it have to do with the backstagers who went missing decades ago? You can bet we'll find out in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Backstagers #7

Mar 1, 2017

I'm really going to miss this book when it ends next month. This was such a great issue. Despite the everything that has happened and the consequences they've faced after disappearing for two months, the boys don't hesitate to get the gang back together. In the end they're ready to take on Polaroid no matter how badly it can go for them. Backstagers is such a positive, upbeat all-ages comic – even when facing certain doom. There better be a complete, hardcover release of this series once it's over because I need that in my life pronto.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bitch Planet #1

May 30, 2016

When it comes down to it, as much as I was disappointed by how flat the overall plot has fallen so far, I definitely would have to say pick up this book. If nothing else, pick it up because everyone's talking about it. Way too many people " myself included " have formed unfair opinions of the series before reading it. Obviously you'll need to be okay with how in-your-face it's going to be. And you'll need to be okay with nudity and violence. But as long as that doesn't turn you off it's really worth a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brave Chef Brianna #1

May 20, 2017

One of the best first issues I've read in a while, Brave Chef Brianna is a lighthearted read that anyone can enjoy. I loved the premise from the get go but after reading the first issue I have nothing but good things to say about the series. The story is fun, the characters quirky, and the artwork is cute and well-suited to the series. I give this issue five stars – and I can't wait to see what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Brave Chef Brianna #2

Apr 12, 2017

Sam Sykes and Selina Espiritu are doing some pretty amazing stuff with Brave Chef Brianna. Story-wise the character development and dialogue are spot-on and I love how honestly Brianna's overwhelming anxiety is being portrayed on the page. And the artwork really brings this amazing world and these characters to life. If you're not reading it yet, you should be!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Brave Chef Brianna #3

May 10, 2017

There's a lot to love about this issue. I'm really happy that they threw in some extra drama by bringing Hans into things. While, yes, we know that Brianna and her brothers are supposed to be seriously competing for the family legacy, Hans's competitiveness really drove that home. And the resulting cook-out wasn't just a one-off filler plot point. It's going to have lasting effects. Selina Espiritu did an amazing job with the character designs for the new cook-off judgers who were introduced" and my favorite background detail this issue involves some fairies trying to eat a floating burger.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Briggs Land #1

Aug 24, 2016

The whole book is basically awesome and it's a nice change from a lot of the other stuff I've been reading. I've been mostly sticking to all-ages books lately and that is decided the polar opposite of Briggs Land. Instead of bright colors and happy storylines we've got a much darker book here. Mack Chater's artwork andLee Loughridge's muted coloring really fit the mood and help bring the series to life. The use of lighting from panel to panel is excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Briggs Land #3

Oct 22, 2016

I'm interested to see what's going to come next. The Briggs boys are still doing plenty of things that are illegal but it sounds like Grace is at least trying to make her people more respectable. Whether or not a crime syndicate funning out of a separatist compound can really be respectable… well. I guess it's a matter of opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Capture Creatures #3

Apr 19, 2015

I'm still loving this series. It's like Pokemon mixed with the style and humor of Lumberjanes. It's adorable. Teddy and Axipoodle are kind of becoming my favorite thing in the whole series. Poor Teddy. He just wants a friend.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Capture Creatures #4

May 29, 2015

Capture Creatures is such a cute book. I love the art style. Seriously, it's the most adorable thing ever. That said, a lot went on this issue and it didn't alway seem that cohesive. The minor battle also wrapped up a bit quickly and wasn't as interesting as I would have hoped (Jory needs a Capture Creature of his very own!). All in all, though, I still love this book. I'm looking forward to discovering what's really going on and what those people were doing taking creatures from the island.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cluster #4

May 11, 2015

Over all, still a good series. It's a pretty solid sci-fi series and I'm glad that it only took four issues to resolve the whole ‘are we or are we not going to blow up?' thing. The rebels' secrets will hopefully start to come out next issue so we can really start to move this story along. I was expecting Halleran to be a more prominent antagonist so with him gone it's time to start figuring out what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Coady & The Creepies #1

Mar 22, 2017

I'm in love with this book. Amanda Kirk's artwork is phenomenal and it fits the book perfectly. It's cute and quirky – and the colorist really brings it all together with her blend of bright, vibrant colors.  The story is great and I love the all-female punk rock band at the center of all of it. Even more so, I love that they are all sisters. I can see some very heartbreaking, sisterly moments in the future – especially when Corey and Criss discover Coady's big secret. It's an awesome all-ages book that everyone who loves bright, fun, and possibly spooky books should check out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coady & The Creepies #2

May 27, 2017

Coady and the Creepies is a wonderfully fun book with a lot of heart. The artwork is different than a lot of other stuff you'll see out there but it's perfect for this series. This was a great issue that did a lot to show us the girls' individual personalities. The bad guys plot didn't seem very clear but hey! We've got another two issues in which to figure all that out. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Coady & The Creepies #3

May 29, 2017

Some of the ongoing storylines and conflicts – namely what the dude stalking the Creepies was up to and whether or not Devin figured out that Coady is a ghost – really worked towards their inevitable reveals this month. And the intriguing twist at the end of the issue leaves us wondering what is going to happen in the miniseries' finale. Plus the artwork grows on me with each issue. Ultimately, the story is wrapping up quite nicely and this issue did a great job of leading us toward the series' conclusion. 

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cyborg 009 #0

Sep 24, 2013

While I could imagine this re-imagining upsetting the manga purists out there, I think pretty much everyone else would be quite happy with this book. It's a very solid story and seems to stay true to it's roots while adapting itself for a more modern audience. I'm glad that they made this, actually. Otherwise I may never have had the opportunity to be introduced to Cyborg 009 at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death Be Damned #1

Feb 15, 2017

Ultimately the premise is interesting and the characters have potential. Plus, the book looks great. If the writers can figure out the pacing and start fleshing out the characters more in the next issue, Death Be Damned could turn out to be a pretty good Western story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Feathers #5

May 11, 2015

This issue was light on answers but heavy on emotion. Poe leaves the city and goes home to his father to tell him he was right about how people would treat him. But their reconciliation is short lived as the old man continues to keep secrets. After running off and taking to the streets in full view of everyone, he finds out that the mice have all been taken. Bianca, meanwhile, finds her way back to the Maze with help from an unexpected source – her father. With Bianca on her way to save Poe and Poe about to surrender himself in exchange for the lives of the mice, we're gearing up for a pretty epic finale. And I can't wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Feathers #6

Jun 4, 2015

Honestly, I'm a little disappointed in this issue. I really enjoyed this series.But ultimately I think the story wrapped up too soon without really giving us any finality. The major antagonist was dispatched far too easily and a lot of the conflict got swept under the rug. I'm glad Bianca and Poe are still friends. I'm glad the mice are alive (even if they're still on the streets). I just had hoped for a lot more than a quick resolution and some halfhearted hint that the story could continue at some point.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Giant Days #2

Apr 19, 2015

Honestly, I'm not really sure what this series is trying to be or where it's intending on going. It's quirky, sure. But beyond that there isn't really a whole lot that makes me want to keep coming back. The only real on-going storyline is Susan's unexplained beef with her ex-boyfriend (who looks like he's thirty) and it's really not that interesting.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Giant Days #3

May 19, 2015

This was probably my favorite issue so far. It dealt not just with contemporary issues but also with the pains of being away at school. The heart-wrenching moment of the issue was Daisy's ill-fated relationship with wood pigeon Gordon who – after becoming tamed by her constant feeding – was killed by a loose cat. It was just really sad, okay? And, on a final note, the one thing that still bugs me about this series: McGraw's character design. The dude looks like he's in his thirties. That in itself is fine, but if he's supposed to have datedacollege freshman before she went off college?I don't know. The character design just seems off from the timeline and ages we're working with.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Giant Days #4

Jun 23, 2015

I'm glad there was more continuity between this issue and the last. The first couple issues were kind of ‘so-so' because it didn't really seem like there was a truly overarching narrative. but now that the book has been extended to 12 issues it seems like some things are going to be able to be better developed moving forward. Ultimately, it's a great comic and really nostalgic for those who are looking back on their freshman days. I'm still digging it's quirkiness.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Giant Days #7

Oct 27, 2015

All in all a good, fun issue. Nothing spectacular.That's generally how the series has gone, though. It's a great read. I'd definitely recommend it. But don't expect more from it than what it has to offer. On a side note, this is the first issue with new artist Max Sarin. It doesn't look too different but there's an obvious change. I like it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #8

Nov 24, 2015

This issue had me at “Clear eyes, full hearts, can't lose!”

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Giant Days #10

Jan 10, 2016

It's a nice little reflection on how people change. That is what I've finally begun really reading this book for and that's what I liked most out of this issue. There was a time I felt bored by the book's focus solely on the characters. But now we're reaching the end of the series (there are only two more issues left!) and I've realized that's what I want most from it. I don't like that itseems as ifthey're forcing some other ploton us hastily at the end. Though if the series gets renewed for a second year… maybe it'll be okay. I just hope we get closure with the girls, Ed, and McGraw rather than Susan's little side story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #11

Feb 8, 2016

Granted, we don't know the election results. But are they really worth McGraw? Who knows. But hopefully we'll see some resolution to things next issue considering issue twelve will signal the end of the girls' first year in college!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Giant Days #12

Mar 8, 2016

I don't know why I thought this series was ending this month, guys. I guess I'm an idiot. We're still good for at least two more issues and probably a few more beyond that. And I'm glad because I need Susan and McGraw to at least reach some kind of real closure!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Giant Days #13

Apr 12, 2016

After being forced to face the realities of going home and the people that she's hurt by leaving them behind – her former boyfriend and best friend – she finally decides it's time to go back to school. Unfortunately, Esther's parents are fed up with her antics so they tell her they are going to cut her off.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #14

May 14, 2016

Solid, standalone issue. I'm really glad the book is getting back into the day-to-day life sort of swing of things versus the weirdly political espionage deal they had for a while. I was in student government in college. It's really not that exciting.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #15

Jun 7, 2016

But it all works out! Esther thinks it's great and her director boy wins an award of his own. And everything is good. No on-going angst or mystery (other than whether or not Susan is on Tinder). I loved it and I can't wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #16

Jul 13, 2016

Seriously, these girls have a way more interesting undergraduate life than I ever did.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #17

Aug 10, 2016

Daisy, though, kinda loses it at one point. One of the professors on her trip is an insufferable jerk and keeps telling her that everything she is doing is wrong. Every time she starts having fun he comes around to ruin it. Finally she goes off on him. But it turns out that he's a has-been who really only gets his kicks from making other people miserable so.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #18

Sep 14, 2016

This issue provides a really nice wrap up to the story lines and leaves some of them open enough to be continued on into the next school year. Plus we get a little hint that the next time we see the girls they may not be at school but at a summer music festival before the fall term starts out. That could be exciting! Here's to a great first year, Giant Days. (Well, year and a half as far as publishing goes.) Here's to many more to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days #19

Oct 12, 2016

I do want to say, though, that I loved what they did with Daisy in this issue. She's not the kind of person who is going to really enjoy an outdoor music festival – and neither am I. But that's okay. Ultimately she did find something to enjoy – though it wasn't necessarily the music. I think that it sends an important message especially to college-age kids that you should try new things and be with your friends even when you're doing something you may not enjoy. Because you might tend up liking it anyway.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Giant Days 2016 Holiday Special #1

Nov 2, 2016

Fans of Giant Days definitely will want to check this issue out but if you do decide to skip it, you don't need to worry about missing anything. It's not tied into the main story in any way except at the very end when we realize it's all a dream. And if you skip it you won't accidentally read the weird fish-man short at the end. But you will miss out on an entertaining hypothetical where everyone's lives are just kinda sucky so I vote you check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #1

Apr 16, 2016

Really the only thing that is wrong with this series is the fact that it's currently slated to be so short.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #1

Apr 16, 2016

Really the only thing that is wrong with this series is the fact that it's currently slated to be so short. I highlyrecommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #2

May 27, 2016

But at least the issue doesn't leave us hanging on that particular downer. Instead we get a glimpse at Goldie's past relationship with Sugar Marple, who is presumably the hotel owner's daughter. They were best friends growing up until Goldie beat her in a kart race. Goldie's mother tells her there may still be hope for them to reconcile but Goldie doesn't think so. And when we see a grown up Sugar back in town it looks like she's in it for some vengeance!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #3

Jun 18, 2016

Hopefully Goldie and Diane can crack the case and find Mr. Ludwig. Because if 1980s movies are anything to go by solving the mystery " especially one that involves communism " always gets you forgiven in the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #5

Sep 14, 2016

What is Cheryl doing? Who is this mysterious blonde woman who can't be a NASA astronaut… can she? This book has me hooked again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #6

Oct 12, 2016

Girls following their dreams. Lessons for young girls reading the book about how to handle challenges in your friendships. Girls going on adventures and solving mysteries. This book is just amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #7

Nov 9, 2016

Knowing this book, there are bound to still be plenty of twists and turns in this particular story arc. This was a fantastic issue in particular because it sets us up for all kinds of new revelations next month. The story is always fun and enjoyable and it manages to never be too predictable. I really love that about this series. It's very smartly written and the story moves at a great pace without overlooking the little things – like developing Goldie's relationship with her mother, Sylvie, which was a big part of this issue. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #9

Feb 8, 2017

I love the idea of this new arc focusing on Sugar and Goldie's relationship. They may have had a falling out when they were younger but this may be the chance they need to work things out. With Sugar's life essentially on the line and a mystery revolving around one of Goldie's favorite things in the world (cars!), she is going to be totally in her element. We're in for fast cars, daring mystery, and maybe a chance for the two to become friends again. Plus I'm never going to say no to badass girls being awesome and defying gender stereotypes. Race on, Sugar!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Goldie Vance #10

May 20, 2017

Overall this was a very solid issue. I liked Lazlo's little side plot and I love every time we see Goldie and Sugar begrudgingly almost being friends again. It was also good to see Goldie and Diane get a little bit of quality time together – even if it was mostly spent tailing someone. I'm not a huge fan of cliffhanger endings and this issue has a pretty big one. Still, I'll be back next month waiting to see whether or not everyone makes it out all right!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Goldie Vance #11

Apr 12, 2017

Probably the best part of this story arc has been Sugar's independence. In this issue and the issue prior she's been forced to face male figures in her life who care about her but who don't really believe in her. And she hates it. She's strong and independent – and win or lose she wants to do it on her terms. That's an admirable reaction and it's great for young readers (and really readers of all ages) to see that in a character. 

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Goldie Vance #12

May 10, 2017

All together, these last four issues have been amazing. I truly think that this has been the best arc in the series so far and I hope we see more stories like it as the series continues. Once they're collected in their own trade paperback, I feel like it's going to be the perfect completed arc for fans to use to introduce new readers to Goldie and her adventures. Noah Hayes did a fantastic job and no matter how much I loved Brittney Williams' work in the first eight issues, I'm really glad we had him on board for this arc. Now all we can do is hope that the next arc is as good as this one!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grass Kings #1

Mar 15, 2017

As far as first issues go, this one was pretty good. It was pretty exposition heavy but I liked the way they did it. I probably would have liked for the plot to move ahead a little bit more but Robert discovering the girl in the water coupled with the issues ending panel keep you interested enough to come back for a second issue. Really, the best part of this book was the artwork by Tyler Jenkins. I love his work; he's got a great style. And it works well with the diluted, water-color inspired coloring throughout. All in all, Grass Kings has a lot of potential. I'm looking forward to seeing how things progress in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grass Kings #2

May 27, 2017

At times seemingly a more laid back version of Briggs Land, Grass Kings has a lot of potential and has an incredibly unique look. But it's a slow burn with a plot that's only just starting to really unfold into conflict at the very end of it's second issue. Still, it brings me back every month because it's really well written and the amount of exposition and backstory we've gotten makes me want to know just what their building us up for in later issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grass Kings #4

Jun 21, 2017

Easily the best issue of the series so far, Grass Kings #4 makes all the slower moments worth it. Nothing too major may have happened yet but the gauntlet has been thrown and shit is about to go down. And while we're looking at a possibly climactic showdown in the next issue between the Grass Kingdom and Sheriff Humbert's people, the mysteries laid out in this issue lay out an even larger conflict that undoubtedly will keep the story moving forward no matter what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Grass Kings #5

Aug 12, 2017

If you're hoping to see Robert and Humbert have their final showdown don't expect anything like that until the next issue. But the events in this one certain lead straight up to it and if they drag it out another issue I'd be surprised.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Grass Kings #6

Aug 18, 2017

This issue perfectly wraps up the current arc and provides a temporary resolution to the conflict between the Grass Kingdom and Cargill. Not only that but it also gives us a great jumping off point for the next part of the story. An excellent issue – we can't wait to see what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Flood #3

Oct 12, 2015

Presumably John isn't going to die. We still have three issues to go. But still. It doesn't look good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Flood #4

Nov 10, 2015

We pick up with John explaining himself to Detective Andy in the interrogation room that we first saw in the first issue. So we're starting to come full circle. John explains his whole crazy plan to Andy while the rest of the city implodes into chaotic violence around them. Turns out – that's a diversion. John goes to the police department because it's supposedly ‘safe' to buy time to draw our killer to him. Aaaaaaand that's where we end everything. Damn cliffhangers.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
John Flood #5

Dec 7, 2015

So, John is about to get some answers. Maybe. But he hasn't yet. And that's basically all we got. Still liking the series but hopefully the last issue will be more illuminating.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
John Flood #6

Jan 18, 2016

We get some more backstory for Berry surprisingly in all of this. We flash back to when he kills a man with his bare fists after finding that man had killed his infant child. But he doesn't kill Tate. He's not that man. Instead, someone else does it for him. In the end, Tate is stopped and Berry winds up in the clear in both assaults. But he's not going back to being a cop. Instead, in the end, he goes back to Flood. I can imagine the two of them venturing onward like some cracked out Holmes with his big, muscley Watson. Hopefully, we'll see them again at some point. There are still more adventures to be had, I think.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #1

Feb 15, 2016

From writer Sam Humphries and relative newcomer illustrator Caitlin Rose Boyle comesJonesy, an enjoyable (andadorable) new series that's perfect for the misfits among us. Currently pegged as a four-issue miniseries, Jonesy follows the adventures of the titular Jonesy – a high school misfit who probably reminds a lot of us of ourselves at her age.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #2

Mar 21, 2016

Okay, so, like I said. Great issue. Loved it. But I did have one big problem. Jonesy never tried to make good with the rocker bros. Why didn't she just exchange some of the zines for the hat? They seemed to genuinely like Stuff. This was an opportunity for her to not only make one friend in this issue but three. Instead she solves the problem by making them love gopher pops which they really find repulsive. That'smean, Jonesy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #3

May 2, 2016

The issue ends with her talking all kinds of devious about shipping Stuff with someone and making him fall for her for real this time so" the next issue " which I believe may also, sadly, be the last " should be pretty freakin' awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #4

May 31, 2016

It turns out Susan got up the nerve to ask Nisha to dance while Jonesy was busy trying to ruin prom for people. So at the last minute she changes her magical orders to make sure everyone has a great prom. All for Susan. Her principal tries to call her out on her powers but Jonesy tells her she can't prove shit and goes off to dance with Farid and have fun. But at the very end of the issue… STUFF ARRIVES AT PROM. Yes, that Stuff. Jonesy's not so secret crush Stuff. Whaaaat?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #5

Aug 10, 2016

Probably not in this book. Realistically, yes. In reality, you probably take whatever chances you get to live the star life as brief as they might be. Jonesy has a chance to play a stupid, bumbling character in Stuff's rock opera. You've got to imagine that ANYONE would take that opportunity. Though in this book she'll more than likely take it, regret it, and then have some sort of teachable moment in the next issue. But we'll see! Not everything can come up Jonesy! Hopefully she'll learn a lesson from all of this. (Which she inevitably will.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #7

Oct 22, 2016

In the end, they make up and it's just so happy. But the issue itself offers a really important look at the effects of divorce on kids. Especially when you don't talk to them about things. Jonesy had every right to be upset. She spent years thinking her mom chose the city and law school over her when in fact that couldn't be further from the truth. Lots of emotions here, folks. I'm glad it had a happy ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #2

May 31, 2016

In short, this book remains awesome and I can't wait for the next issue. They are just a bunch of mismatched kids exploring a super weird galaxy and I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #3

Jun 21, 2016

At least the planet gets to take off and live it's life jetting around the galaxy. Catrin and Uma inspired it! Before, you know, ruining any potential they had of being friends because of their tragic backstories. This book is so great. I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #4

Jul 26, 2016

Of course, Catrin is still the princess. And Jorn is still sorta duty bound to find them. So I doubt they're out of danger just yet…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Joyride #5

Sep 29, 2016

Also: giant space turtles getting it on. Who doesn't love that?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Joyride #6

Oct 29, 2016

So, basically, this was a really good issue for the series. It does a lot to advance the science fiction elements and kicks the mysteries of the ship. (Seriously, I'm incredibly intrigued by the inner workings of this ship.) But I'm already over the drama between Dewydd and Uma and at this point it just seems like it's going to get any better any time soon. It looks like things are going to get antagonistic now and that's hardly an improvement. It's just frustrating because I really want to enjoy this book more than I am right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jupiter's Legacy #1

May 16, 2015

I cannot wait to pick up the second volume of Jupiter's Legacy becausethe ending really sets up a great point from which this story can building upon.If you can get your hands on this book – do it.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
King #1

Aug 29, 2015

All in all, I'm interested in seeing how the rest of the book plays out. If nothing else it'll be interesting to see what's going on with King and his sister Queen.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #1

May 17, 2015

Overall, great book " especially for Steampunk fans. I'm not the biggest fan of the genre but the overarching themes in this one make it a lot easier to relate to and so far it's been more of a dystopian fiction sort of story anyway. The series feels like it could be a great gateway series into more hardcore steampunk. We'll just have to wait and see!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lantern City #1

May 19, 2015

I did a full review of the first issue and you can read it here. And then go track down a copy of Lantern City #1 because it's awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #2

Jun 15, 2015

Still digging this series. I feel for Sander. I really do. He never wanted any of this and yet suddenly here he is elbow to elbow with the bad guys. I'm just interested to see where things go from here. Still waiting on a bit more world building but it seems sure to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #4

Aug 18, 2015

So, some big surprises in this issue. You've got to feel for Sander after almost losing two families in one go. The twist at the end of the issue was pretty good. Now I really need to know what's up with Killian Grey. That's one thing that Lantern City is really good about: drawing you in at the end so that you have to know what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lantern City #5

Sep 13, 2015

A lot changed in this issue and it changed for the better. I was really starting to wonder where this series was going to go and I like what we've got happening here. I like that this isn't turning into yet another mindless, stereotypical tyrannical government but that there might be a lot more going on in this story than we've seen so far. Sander working from the inside with Killian at his side is going to be a far more interesting story moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #6

Oct 19, 2015

I was about as bored as Sander was in some of these scenes. It's nice to see how the upper echelon works, I guess, but hopefully we dial back on the meetings and such in the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #7

Nov 16, 2015

Glad to see that Sander is taking this all as well as he is. But I guess when your world has gotten this insane this quickly you don't really have much of a choice but to roll with the punches.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Lantern City #9

Jan 18, 2016

There are some neat interactions between Sander and the Fortache characters but,for the most part, it all seems like filler.By the end of the issue, we're back to Lantern City and it's falling apart as Pont's men take over. So what was the point? When are the Fortache coming into play? How is any of this a part of Killian's plan? I get it. The guy is crazy. But does everything else have to seem as crazy as Killian?

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #10

Feb 15, 2016

It's about time that Sander takes some real initiative. I know he didn't count on Killian being as crazy as he turned out to be but still. He's a good man who knows the city needs to be saved. It's nice to see him actually doing that instead of playing the lackey. The series feels like it's coming to an epic finale. Ithas been great so far and we've got two more issues left. There's a lot of story to be resolved still but I think that the writers can pull it off.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #11

Mar 13, 2016

Both storylines end there on cliffhangers, which is a pretty rough way to end things if you ask me. I need Terna to have her big badass moment! And I need Sander to save Rennie so he and Jom be best friends forever. I'm just not sure if Lantern City will give us that happy of a resolution.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lantern City #12

Apr 16, 2016

That's probably one of the most interesting aspects of this book's ending. Sander's life isn't exactly great and he knows it. Karla won't forgive him and he's become closer to Jom than Rennie. He's apparently living between the homes of his two ‘wives' now. As much as Sander has done for Lantern City, everything he had been hoping for himself has fallen apart. He just wanted to go home to his wife and son once things were done and it seems pretty clear that things will never go back to the way they were. And maybe I'm just a mean person but I like that in this book the hero wins but at a cost.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #15

Jun 23, 2015

No issue of Lumberjanes will ever disappoint me. It's impossible. I'm really glad we go some background on Rosie and Abigail this go aroundand I'm really looking forward to seeing what comes next. Will Rosie finally prep the girls for all the supernatural shenanigans going on and tell them all the truth? Hopefully. That would be nice.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #17

Sep 1, 2015

I'm glad Jo's spat with Barney didn't last long. And I hope we get to see more of him. He's adorable. And he's always got kittens. This is basically all I need in a reoccurring Lumberjanes sidekick.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #18

Sep 22, 2015

Instead of leaving things well enough alone and letting the other Lumberjanes have a little bit of normal camp fun she leads them all on a quest to find Harlow and help her get the band back together. Of course, that generally involves poking around the lake, getting attacked by lake monsters, and convincing Harlow to go along with it. I feel bad for the other girls, really. They just want to have some fun. And Jen is getting seriously bummed out by all the unusualness about. Still, mermaids! (Merwomyn.) This should be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #19

Oct 27, 2015

The saddest thing in this whole issue is the other girls trying to explain to Ripley that they might not be able to make her glittery dress or get back to camp in time for her big night. She doesn't mean to be inconsiderate – she just gets ideas in her head sometimes and goes for it. Getting mixed up in someone else's business is just part of that. She's not thinking of her friends. I think this is great because for kids who read this book – and quite a few adults out there, too – it's a good reminder that as excited and sure about something as you might be that doesn't necessarily mean you get to ignore your friends and their feelings. This is very much an arc with a message but I don't necessarily mind it at all. (We'll just have to see how preachy it really gets.)

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lumberjanes #20

Nov 24, 2015

Personally, I think everyone was hard on April. There's no reason they couldn't have left Jen to watch after April and gone back to get ready for that night themselves. I think it's perfectly reasonable for her to jump at the chance to hang with merpeople. But maybe that's just because I know our co-editor Therese so well and I've long since come to terms with the fact that she would abandon me for mermaids in a heartbeat. I hope we see more of Harlow and Taylor in the future. (And I hope we get some sort of answer on how electric guitars and vans work underwater.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #21

Dec 22, 2015

April takes the girls' failure personally and thinks that Karen's implying that they aren't much of a team. They obviously disagree and are determined to prove it. But when they go to have a heart to heart with Karen they find her in a stand-off against a group of selkies. They think she stole one of their pelts so they stole her boat. The girls track down the Bear Woman to try and get some help but before they can accomplish anything Karen gets angry and loses it… and turns into a werewolf. Even the girls aren't surprised by their counselors suddenly turning out to be supernatural.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Lumberjanes #22

Jan 26, 2016

It's nice to see the girls splitting up a bit and having separate adventures. But it does make the book feel a little disjointed. Ideally, the next issue will see Seafarin' Karen, the girls, and the selkies meeting up with Molly, Ripley, and Bear Woman in the other dimension. But I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #23

Feb 22, 2016

On the plus side, despite the lack of anything major happening, we did get a sneak peek at one of BOOM!'s upcoming series, Goldie Vance. It looks adorable and it reads kinda like Veronica Mars meets the Suite Life of Zach and Cody but in the like 1960s. I'm really looking forward to it hitting stands in April!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #24

Mar 21, 2016

Everything seems to be back to normal. And the girls get their knot tying badges! (Talk about a hard badge to get.) They start heading back to camp when someone unseen looks at them through a lens that shows a magical, colorful glow around all the girls with Molly's seemingly growing to far surpass her friends after her time with the Bear Woman. It's a great way to end an arc that stretched out maybe an issue longer than I would have liked. The next issue should be especially good, though. It's the supersized second anniversary issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lumberjanes #25

May 2, 2016

But that's not all this issue has to offer. No, instead we get a supersized issue that not only starts out our new arc but features a short standalone Lumberjanes story featuring a siren and a sneak peek at the upcoming Lumberjanes/ Gotham Academy crossover. (In which Rosie also gets kidnapped by something large that maybe flies. Who knows?)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #26

May 27, 2016

Seriously. Best arc ever. It's action packed, there's real character conflict, and Marigold becomes a giant cat that they can ride! What more can you want?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #27

Jun 21, 2016

But Barney and the girls manage to come up with a plan – we just don't get to see it in action until the next issue. Laaaame. (Just kidding, I can't wait to see how it turns out – and how the magical kittens contribute to it.)

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #28

Jul 26, 2016

Instead of bunking with the Roanokes, though, he goes to hang out with Hester and the Zodiac cabin since, you know, with Diane gone they have an open bunk. Or do they? Diane is suddenly back and more than likely ready to raise all kinds of trouble for the Lumberjanes. (And poor Barney.) Hopefully it's not too much for the girls to handle!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #29

Aug 24, 2016

I have a feeling that the gorgon will end up being less of a monster than we're used to seeing them be because this is Lumberjanes! Everyone's misunderstood. Everyone has a story. Everyone is more than meets the eye – even the monsters. I'm looking forward to the girls coming together with Diane and everyone helping Molly through whatever it is she has going on at home. This was a promising start to a new arc!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #30

Oct 5, 2016

This is a great twist and I can't wait to see the two groups come together to work this all out. Hopefully Mal, Ripley, and Ligo manage to rescue everyone in the next issue. Though, Molly doesn't seem to need much rescuing. She fights back against the monsters – with a little help from her raccoon buddy. She's such a bad ass. She and Diane actually bond a bit this issue. Diane's parents are hard on her but so are Molly's. We finally learn what's been bothering her. It turns out her parents aren't very thrilled with having a bad ass, tomboy daughter who maybe likes other girls. They sent her to camp to get turned into a proper lady (but somehow she maybe wound up at the wrong camp).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #31

Nov 2, 2016

All in all, this manages to be fun, thoughtful, and action packed issue. It balances things well and it's sometimes nice to have slower-paced moments. Besides, we get to see all the girls fighting the giant birds with their eyes closed to avoid turning to stone. Who could pull that off besides the Lumberjanes?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #36

Mar 29, 2017

All in all, this was a pretty great arc. It was a lot more laid back than some of the other ones we've dealt with and it stands on it's own really well. For long time fans it's fun to watch the girls delve into a new favorite pastime and take a break from the more serious adventures they sometimes have. For new fans, it's a quick and easy way to jump right into the series. The writing was great, the story fun, and Carolyn Nowak's artwork awesome as always. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #37

May 27, 2017

The first issue of this arc is only the beginning as far as the girls' desperate attempts to conceal all the strangeness from their parents go. I can't wait to see what Watters and Leyh do next. I'm also really glad to see Ayme Sotuyo back as the artist. I really enjoyed her work a while back and she's doing fantastic jobs with the Lumberjanes' families and their character designs so far! I'm telling you all – this arc is going to be so great.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #38

May 31, 2017

Anyway, with this issue we not only have lovable new characters in the Lumberjanes' families but also apparently an intriguing new evil fox spirit bad guy. I'm seriously loving how this new parents' weekend arc is progressing. I can't wait to see what's next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #39

Jul 5, 2017

Ayme Sotuyo is absolutely killing it with her artwork on this arc and the story has been fantastic so far. I genuinely think this is probably going to end up being my favorite Lumberjanes arc once all is said and done. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes #40

Aug 14, 2017

That's how much she never wants to go home, folks. It's just so sad. I'm glad that the series is touching on such a difficult situation because I think it's important for younger readers to see what Molly is going through. And for them to see the difference having such close friends can make. I just hope things get better for her!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lumberjanes: Beyond Bay Leaf #1

Oct 19, 2015

The others, who go in search of Ridley, get lost and are found by Sola, a creepy woman who is out hunting something. It turns out, she's a collector of sorts. She's trying to collect all of the spectral horses " and all of the Lumberjanes! But with a little ingenuity and Lumberjane heroics they manage to defeat Sola and rescue the horses. The story is solid and it feels like a longer story than just one issue. I loved it. I love Faith Erin Hicks, though. So I really hope she comes back. Buy this issue so people know how much we love her and she comes back!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Lumberjanes / Gotham Academy #1

Jun 18, 2016

Now, I'm going to be honest. I'm super behind on Gotham Academy. I read the first volume but I haven't had a chance to read the second yet. But I'm excited about this book. I'm excited because I feel like the two casts of characters will do well together. I also can't wait for the Gotham Academy kids to start making comments about the strange, unnatural world in which the Lumberjanes spend their time. After all, the Gotham Academy kids are in school. They're bound to ask why the Lumberjanes think they are at summer camp in the middle of school year sometime!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Making Scents #1

Jun 27, 2017

Give it a read if you're looking for a book with a strong message about grief and learning to accept change " but pass if you're hoping for a fun story about a boy and his dogs. You won't get that here.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mega Princess #1

Nov 9, 2016

I enjoyed Mega Princess #1 a lot and I'm kind of disappointed that its just a five-issue limited series. There is so much great story potential here and if it got picked up as an on-going series I could see it reaching Lumberjanes levels of popularity. But for now we'll just have to enjoy sassy Justine and adventurous Max for what little time we have them. Pick up Mega Princess! You won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mega Princess #2

Dec 21, 2016

I'm a really big fan of this book. I think it's a really great kid's book that actually reads primarily as a kid's book. So many young adult authors and kids authors focus on crossover appeal with older readers. This book – while entertaining – is very much the kind of book that is geared towards the younger readers. Amber the terrible fairy godmother is definitely a character with witty, more adult-focused jokes in her repertoire but for the most part the book keeps things simple while still respecting kids' intelligence. I'm still disappointed this is still just a five issue miniseries. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mega Princess #3

Jan 18, 2017

The underwater character designs are really great this issue even the ocean scenes themselves are a little plain. I love Todd and he's super adorable for a puffer fish that, you know, could prove to be fatal. And I love Max's mermaid tail. It appears to be a lot more fish-looking than you might see in other magical princess tails. It looks like a big ol' goldfish tail! Basically, this is a great issue in a great series that I wish would last more than just five issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mega Princess #4

Mar 1, 2017

This was an excellent penultimate issue for the series. Max get to show off her smarts, she shows some really great decision making, and she finds the last clue she needs to go find Bobs. This issue got to show off Max's princess powers in a really creative new way. It also got to poke a little fun at her conversations with Justine (and how no one else can understand her because she's a horse). It was cute, clever, and fun. And I can't wait to see how the next issue plays out. Unfortunately, Mega Princess ends next month with the fifth and final issue, sadly. Hopefully we'll see the series return at some point with Max solving another mystery!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mega Princess #5

May 27, 2017

While the detective theme sometimes got lost along the way, Max nonetheless proved herself to be an excellent role model for young readers. Adventurous, brave, and clever, she's the kind of princess kids deserve to see leading their own books. From start to finish the story was great and the lessons she learned along the way subtle and rewarding. Mega Princess was an awesome comic for kids of all ages and I hope to see it back on shelves someday!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #1

May 20, 2017

From the moment Misfit City first hit our radar we knew it was going to be something special and, after reading the first issue, we can confirm that it's every bit as good as it seems. Great dialogue coupled with a diverse group of female characters, the book has a lot of potential moving forward. Misfit City gets a nostalgia-fueled recommendation from us " and it's especially perfect for fans of BOOM! Box's other series like Lumberjanes, Goldie Vance, and more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #2

Jun 21, 2017

Issue #2 gets us closer and closer to the true, Goonies-esque adventure the book's general premise has promised from the beginning. It's full of spooky houses, daring escapes from dastardly-seeming villains, unlocking clues to their mysterious pirate map and more. Basically, the story is still great and the characters are still endearing – especially Pippin the dog. And we're still feeling that anxious need to know what's going to happen in the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Misfit City #3

Aug 12, 2017

Basically, Misfit City is awesome. This issue is awesome. And I'm looking forward to seeing where this new supernatural aspect of things goes. I hope it doesn't overshadow what is really the main focus of the book – the girls and their relationships. And I doubt it will!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ms. Marvel (2014) #1

Mar 7, 2014

You can, Kamala. You totally can be everything you want to be and more. [Comics Alliance]

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Negative Space #1

Jul 8, 2015

I might have my new favorite Dark Horse series here, people. It's that good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Negative Space #2

Sep 29, 2015

Beta and Guy escape to a secret lair full of happy people who fight back against the Evorah subtly by reaching out to their fellow man in small acts of kindness. But they are done with little acts here and there. They have a new plan: blow up the museum of misery with a happiness bomb. And Guy just so happens to be the one to power it. Of course the plan rests on him powering it with happiness and since he was ten seconds away from suicide last issue… we'll see how that goes. Unfortunately, we apparently won't see how that goes until January.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Neverboy #3

May 11, 2015

I'm really excited to see where things go from here. Will Neverboy just unimagine his wife to get his kid back and avoid a divorce? Will Julian destroy reality (or at least imagination) as we know it by breaking into the diner as a real, living human being? I don't know! But I want to know. So, good job, Neverboy. Looks like I'm still in for whatever comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Neverboy #4

Jun 4, 2015

Certainly unique, Neverboy continues to throw curve balls. It's such a weird dynamic sometimes splitting between Neverboy's family drama and the larger issues facing the imaginary community. But it works. At some point Neverboy is going to have to make that decision to give up his imaginary family or not. Meanwhile someone's going to have to take care of Julian, too. I'm waiting for this build up to come to fruition and for Neverboy to truly come into his own. It's been a great ride so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Pigs Might Fly #1

Jul 11, 2017

Pigs Might Fly is a great graphic novel for readers of all ages. While I could see it primarily interesting young adult readers " especially with it's misunderstood, teen heroine " there's a lot of crossover appeal for older readers, too. Lily is a wonderful heroine whose determination and engineering prowess will inspire readers. And the story will keep readers hooked and wanting more. I highly recommend Pigs Might Fly to anyone who loves a good mix of fantasy, science, strong female characters, and incredible world building!

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Plunder #4

Jun 4, 2015

It's a decent enough ending for a book that was otherwise pretty plain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rebels (2015) #1

Apr 15, 2015

I'm looking forward to seeing how this story moves forward. Issue #1 is the first in a six part story arc entitled "A Well-Regulated Militia." So we'll check in again once the arc has concluded!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Rebels (2015) #2

May 19, 2015

But at this point I kind of just want to stick with AMC's Turn and call it a day…

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Rebels (2015) #3

Jun 15, 2015

Despite some good moments, I feel like this book would have worked better as an actual book. Don't get me wrong – I love the trend towards historical comics in general. But Rebels has been slow and rather disjointed as a narrative. Things that would have been interesting – like Seth evading the Scottish Rangers – were left out in favor of a random flashback and an impromptu meeting with Ethan Allen. Interesting tidbits? Yes. But I'd be way more interested if I was being told this in the written word and not as a graphic novel. I do like Rebels and Seth's moving down south to join the bigger fight may bode well for future issues. We'll have to wait and see.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Slam! #1

Nov 23, 2016

Pamela Ribbon does a really great job of giving us a lot of realistic little moments throughout this first issue. And Veronica Fish does a fantastic job with the artwork in this book. It's a great team of awesome ladies writing about some other awesome ladies. It may not be as exciting as books about superheroes or superpowers or zombies but it's real and it's got a lot of really exciting potential. I'm really looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Star Scouts #1

Mar 21, 2017

I'm game for anything cute, fun, and science fiction related. And if you or the young readers in your life feel the same way then I definitely recommend checking out Star Scouts. Middle grade graphic novel fans are going to love this one, especially those who enjoyedZita the Spacegirl,Cleopatra in Space, andAstronaut Academy!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #1

Apr 11, 2016

I'm telling you, the fact that I get Charles Soule, Phil Noto, and Chris Eliopoulos in one issue working on a Star Wars book is basically like a fangirl's dream come true. I'm really not kidding when I say Poe Dameron #1 was literally everything I could have ever wanted in a Star Wars comic. It's amazing and I can't wait to see where the series goes from here!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #1

Apr 12, 2016

I'm telling you, the fact that I get Charles Soule, Phil Noto, and Chris Eliopoulos in one issue working on a Star Wars book is basically like a fangirl's dream come true. I'm really not kidding when I say Poe Dameron #1 was literally everything I could have ever wanted in a Star Wars comic.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #2

May 14, 2016

Hell, Terex used to be a stormtrooper. And here he is all grown up and back to his old tricks basically. Another cool thing to see was how reluctant the Resistance and First Order were to engage with one another. It seems that though they are basically mortal enemies both have standing orders only to shoot if they are shot at first. I like that we're getting a glimpse at the way things were before they really went to hell in The Force Awakens.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars: Poe Dameron #3

Jun 18, 2016

I'm interested in seeing what comes in the next arc. Issue #3 wrapped up the first one and it looks like Issue #4 will pick up chronologically. I had wondered how the series would progress. It could have gone linear like the majority of the Star Wars series or bounced around like Kanan did. But the next issue continues with Poe and BB-8 hot on Lor San Tekka's trail – and apparently also going to jail.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Surface Tension #1

May 28, 2015

This is going to be a pretty fun series, I suspect. It's a good blend of horror and mystery – plus it takes a pretty unique angle on post-apocalyptic fiction. If you're a fan of The Walking Dead, Spread, or similar comics I'd recommend this one easily.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Baker Street Peculiars #1

Apr 6, 2016

I'm not going to lie, this book is kind of my most anticipated month-to-month release now. It's just that much fun. I know this review is a bit late but there's still plenty of time to track down the first issue and get ready for the second when it comes out April 14th!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Baker Street Peculiars #2

Apr 16, 2016

Another fun issue that once again makes me sad that we'll only be getting four issues out of this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Baker Street Peculiars #3

May 16, 2016

Meanwhile the actual Sherlock Holmes(?) and the reporter we briefly met earlier are doing… something. I dunno. Probably positioning themselves to take the credit for saving the day from the kids who at the end of the next issue – the last one – will probably remain the anonymous heroes. Also: it really sucks that the next issue will be the last. I really enjoy this book. I wish it were an on-going! There are so many great four-part stories they could tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Baker Street Peculiars #4

Jun 18, 2016

Unfortunately, we may not ever see how Molly and her friends handle things on their own. The book ends with the kids going their own way with the promise to return to help “Sherlock” if she needs it. But ultimately it was a good end to a fun series that – unfortunately – didn't get picked up as a full series like the bulk of BOOM! Studios' other miniseries that launched at the same time.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
The Big Bad Fox #1

Jul 13, 2017

The Big Bad Foxis definitely an entertaining read and though it may seem like a kid's book, older readers will enjoy it, too. The artwork is cute and fits the story well - and the story itself is a lot of fun. It has even been adapted into a film already in it's native France.Le grand mchant renard et autres contes came out June 21, 2017 in France. And with any luck it'll someday make it's way stateside! For now, though, enjoy reading Benjamin Renner's The Big Bad Fox translation from First Second Books.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Nameless City #1

Oct 9, 2016

I highly recommend this book.I'll even go so far as to say this may be one of my favorite " if not my favorite " graphic novel from this year. Seriously, folks. I just love everything about.There are few books that you can recommend to pretty much anyone and this is one of them. If you're thinking about reading The Nameless City just stop thinking about it. Pick it up at the first chance you get and just do it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Nameless City #2

Apr 29, 2017

So, if you have read The Nameless City then you need to read The Stone Heart. And if you haven't read either of them, you need to read them! This is one of my favorite graphic novel series and I'm sure it will remain one of my favorites for many years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Secret Loves of Geek Girls #1

Nov 21, 2016

To all the geek girls out there: trust me, girl. You should give this book a read.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Spire #1

Jul 5, 2015

The Spireis just the latest in BOOM! Studios' hits this summer. They are seriously just releasing awesome series after awesome series. You've got to love a publisher who gives you this much awesome diversity in story, characters, and artwork on the regular. You go, BOOM!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Spire #2

Aug 10, 2015

Not much really happens that's all that exciting. It wasn't as good as the first issue but I'm hoping it picks up again in subsequent ones.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Spire #3

Sep 29, 2015

Still quite the stunning book, I'm hoping that the narrative becomes more engaging.Otherwise I might have to drop this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
The Tomorrows #2

Sep 1, 2015

The Tomorrows remains an awesomely illustrated book. It looks psychedelic and out there. It's a good look for the book. Unfortunately the story remains preachy regarding technology, society, and culture. This issue was a lot less eye-rollingly stereotypical in it's blatantly non-conformist approach to storytelling. But I'm not sure how much longer I'll be able to make it through this series before it becomes too much.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #13

Jun 4, 2015

Honestly, I keep myself free of spoilers and previews so I was a bit surprised by the time jump. But I suppose the Bay Point kids building their little society would be kind of boring after awhile. I'm hoping we get to see a bit more about how they structured everything. And maybe how everyone has really been coping – other than Karen's crazy and Isaac's issues. Still, awesome issue. Glad that they didn't actually get off planet at any point. I'm in for the long haul and as much as it sucks for them to be trapped there I'm glad they are!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Woods #15

Aug 10, 2015

It seems like Adrian may not be dead. Or he may just be a figment of Isaac's insane imagination. More likely, though, this is just another level to which Adrian has ascended courtesy of the planet's alien forces at work. We got a good plot twist at the end and good look at the horde but ultimately this issue got three stars because this whole squabbling between our main characters is getting a little old. We need to move forward – and that's exactly what it looks like we'll be doing next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #16

Jul 13, 2016

His death also sets Casey up for an interesting redemption arc in later issues – if the New Londerers don't execute him, of course. It also sets Karen to really take charge among her peers. Calder's sacrifice isn't something she's going to be able to ignore. There's some sort of confrontationbetween her and the Taisho coming down the line andhopefully she can look back on Calder's determination and bravery and hopefully get through whatever comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #17

Nov 10, 2015

Seriously, this series just continues to up the ante and I love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Woods #18

Dec 7, 2015

So, yeah. The issue ends with a kid being eaten by a giant spider. Maria's group will surely survive – they are, after all, the main characters – but wow. Talk about a dark issue getting even darker. This is why I love this series so much.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Woods #19

Jan 10, 2016

With Maria gone and Karen stuck between a rock and a hard place all hope seems lost… except that Isaac's conscious and his eyes are glowing with crazy Adrian energy so… who knows what's going to happen next!With every new issue this series continues to surprise. Seriously, some of the stuff that's happened in the last few issues is just absolutely chilling. But I love it. It makes me sad sometimes. But I still love it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #20

Feb 8, 2016

It's good to see Karen forced to step up to the plate. And it's good to see Calder stick it to Casey before rappelling away to join his friends. Where everyone is going to go from here remains to be seen. Will the book split occasionally to show us what's going on with Casey and the people that were ‘worthy' to join the Taisho's crew? Will we have any idea what's going on with Isaac before he just magically poofs back into existence at some point? Who knows. That was a weird resolution to what was going on. Who knows what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #21

Apr 12, 2016

I'm really excited for the next issue and to see what Calder and Sander get up to. I'm also interested to see how Karen pulls herself together – if she can pull herself together – to really emerge as the leader of the Bay Point kids. Basically a great issue as always. I'm never disappointed in The Woods. It's easily one of the best written and best looking books I'm reading right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #22

May 14, 2016

It's a good thing, too, because Sander and Calder are idiots and the issue ends with the two of them being captured by a group of not-too-friendly looking folks…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #23

Jun 7, 2016

It's a good set up for the next issue. I just hope there aren't any more flashbacks…

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #25

Sep 14, 2016

But as everyone's lives start settling in, things get shaken up by the return of Isaac. After a year with creepy, dead, energy Adrian he's back. And he's got a plan to get them back home.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
The Woods #26

Oct 12, 2016

Damn it, The Woods. You've always got to drag me right back in to the story don't you?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Woods #27

Nov 9, 2016

The Bay Point kids have gotten pretty integrated into their new community at that point. Is it possible that some of them may choose to stay behind? And what about the people of New London? What are they going to do when given the opportunity to return to Earth? Generations of their families have existed solely on this new world. And honestly there's no way the Horde isn't going to pop up again at some point to ruin everything. Maybe they'll sacrifice their chances to go home in order to defeat the Horde and prevent them from returning to Earth. 

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
UFOlogy #1

Apr 6, 2015

Matthew Fox's gorgeous artwork rounds out this solid first issue. As alifelong X-Files fan, I can really get into this one. I'm already lamenting the fact that this is only going to be a six issue series rather than an on-going comic. I just can't wait to see what comes next!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
UFOlogy #3

Jun 28, 2015

Eyeball guy from the last issue and a few others are there when Malcolm comes down to meet with Becky so maybe we'll finally figure out what they're up to. And hopefully we'll find out more about this army creation that accidentally killed our good Samaritan. He doesn't seem like he's that much of a bad guy but, well, he is sort of a bad guy, right? Who knows.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
UFOlogy #4

Aug 10, 2015

Still one of the best books around, I highly recommend this one once it comes out in trade paperback.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
UFOlogy #5

Sep 22, 2015

I'm kind of disappointed that we only have one more issue left for this story. I guess everything can wrap up well enough in that time. Tynion is an amazing writer. But while I've enjoyed this so far it lost a lot of it's thunder in earlier issues. It's not bad for a short series but it's not The Woods by any stretch.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
UFOlogy #6

Nov 10, 2015

And it all feels rushed. The story got confusing and convoluted at times. It went down paths that were effectively useless to the story. I liked Malcolm and Becky a lot. Their development was what made this book interesting. If the story had focused more on them and less on the alien mystery it would have been great. As it is, we got a pretty lackluster end to a book that started out great just five issues back.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Venus #1

Dec 29, 2015

Don't get me wrong here. Like I said, the premise is great. And I liked this first issue well enough. Read my full review here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Vitriol the Hunter #1

Oct 12, 2013

Not a bad entry into the overwhelming number of vampires stories out there even if it doesn't really set itself apart much. But if you're looking for a really well drawn book with a nice, campy, cartoon-y style then you should give this a look. Seriously, I really liked the artwork in this book. I can't speak highly enough about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Winnebago Graveyard #1

Jun 17, 2017

Winnebago Graveyard is the perfect new series for horror movie fans. The atmosphere is creepy and the plot feels familiar and foreboding.The book reads like an old school, rural horror story and in that way it's fantastic. It looks great, the story so far is dark and suspenseful, and there's a lot of really great potential for future issues. At four issues long, I feel confident that Winnebago Graveyard is going to give us a really solid horror story that will leave readers completely satisfied from start to finish " and undoubtedly wanting more by the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Winnebago Graveyard #2

Aug 13, 2017

I love horror comics so trust me when I say that Winnebago Graveyard is a great one. The second issue proves that this series is living up to it's great promise. And it comes complete with two essays on Satanism in the real world at the end! How many comics out there are trying to thrill, scare, and educate?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More