Sankalp G.'s Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: 411Mania Reviews: 22
8.0Avg. Review Rating

6.5
Amazing Spider-Man (2015) #14

Jun 23, 2016

Solid but nothing special here other than dynamics between Spidey and Iron-Man. The next issue is the payoff issue, which I believe is too early and there are many ways they could've gone with Regent. It also teases the "MJ is Iron-Spider Suit Mary".

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Amazing Spider-Man: Renew Your Vows (2016) #1

Nov 17, 2016

Pick this up! Another great story which shows the power and malleability of superhero comics. I loved this issue. The short stories at the end are worth a full rating just for their sheer adorably nature.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Civil War II #4

Jul 28, 2016

The story has taken fantastic twist here and it is clear that it was not just a gimmick or anything as Marvel has clearly planned it all out. The scene is heating up and it is feeling like an event but after this issue, the battle could have been avoided; a single problem in the series. One thing to note here is that the heroes on both teams are fairly new and different which actually gives the Marvel Now movement some traction.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.5
Civil War II #5

Sep 22, 2016

I really feel bad to say this as last week I praised Bendis. Civil War II had also had somewhat made its comeback in the last issue but now the momentum has stalled. This issue delivered what was promised: a big battle, though at the end, it left bad taste in my mouth. Believe me, I am generous with the ratings here.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #2

Aug 4, 2016

Somehow, I am not finding this book as a “must buy” even though the story may be leading to something big, no doubt. This tells much about the book. Another slightly better than average outing for sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Justice League: Rebirth #1

Jul 7, 2016

The other DC #1's have been great reads. Batman has been great, Green Lantern was interesting, and Superman was complex. But if this issue is to be compared to the others, brace yourself and keep expectations in check. You will be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Optimus Prime #1

Jan 12, 2017

This is a great issue to jump on, even though the writing is clearly targeted towards the established fanbase. It's easy enough for new readers to not feel overwhelming. The political side of this series is going to be in spotlight, no doubt. Art is good enough but requires improved coloring.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Spider-Man (2016) #8

Sep 15, 2016

Good issue and a good tie-in. Art was great. Bendis was as is usual and issue had some stakes unlike the previous issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
U.S.Avengers #1

Jan 5, 2017

This issue did a fine job of setting up the series. The main problem are heroes with same names or powers takes away a chunk of the rating. Art is good enough to carry reader through non-action panels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ultimates (2015) #7

Jul 21, 2016

The Ultimates, as a reader mentioned in the fan letters, are filling the void left by the FF and they are the only series where changes are acceptable and have some logic and and not forced. Having said that, after this Civil War arc, Ewing should get back to cosmic stories because this is where this comic really shines.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ultimates (2015) #8

Jun 30, 2016

Fun aside, this has been one of the best series Marvel has put out. Thing to note was some material they showed here could have been included in the Civil War II #2 issue and it could have changed the impact it had. Basically, it was good, unlike the rest of the tie-ins we have had. Great read, even better colors, one of the best from Marvel.,

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ultimates (2015) #10

Sep 8, 2016

Al Ewing again has beautifully tied up the issue with Civil War and it is must read for completionist people. With the seemingly big baddie out of his jail, like Vision, this series has been a slow burner and is going to have a big climax.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ultimates (2015) #11

Oct 6, 2016

The Ultimates #11 is again like the Vision; a set-up issue for the end game but instead what we got is an exciting fight between Thanos and the Ultimates. Al Ewing also shows a glimpse of what is happening in the cosmic universe and we should expect some big cosmic battles in the New Marvel Now Ultimates 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Ultimates 2 (2016) #1

Dec 22, 2016

The art is the best thing which has happened with this soft reboot. I stated last time that series like this requires a different style than Rocafort, who is better suited for fights and action scenes rather than visuals which were offered by the Ultimates. The new art team has done a fantastic job and have nailed the look. This book will be on my pull list even if it underperforms, just because of the gorgeous art alone.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Ultimates 2 (2016) #2

Dec 29, 2016

Story somewhat slowed down in this issue though the final pages were pretty cool and made up for it. Not good as previous one but this issue is good enough to warrant the attention of readers.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Ultimates 2 (2016) #3

Jan 26, 2017

Frankly, the end was particularly unexpected and Ewing has presented changes like this from the start of the series (see Galactus). The art shined in this issue and especially in the last few panels as the birth of Logos was as grand as it should be. The characterization of In-Betweener was a very clever design and so was Logos. The lack of detail in facial expression could be forgiven. The issue was an explosive one with many things happening but the introduction of the Troublemakers could have been reduced.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Uncanny Avengers (2015) #15

Oct 13, 2016

This book felt more like Deadpool and some heroes and less like Avengers or a team-up book. The jokes delivered and Deadpool was actually funny. Art was suited for this comic and had a vibrant feel. Less emphasis on story and more on jokes but a good cliffhanger to end the chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #8

Jun 16, 2016

Vision has been a revelation for me. I thought it was just one of those C-level books or a title which is created for the sake of a reboot at first. But now I am waiting for next issue of Vision more than the Civil War II itself. It was a kind of slow build but it is really showing how proper build-up and storytelling can do for characters. The stakes are higher here than any of the other current series Marvel has put out and really making readers care for our suburban android family.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Vision #9

Jul 14, 2016

This issue follows the trend and delivers like the rest. It brings us closer to the conclusion and literally, as preview shows, we are really closer to the prophecy of Agatha Harkness.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #10

Aug 11, 2016

"Another issue up, now just 2 to go, huh?" That was my feeling after reading this issue. As the cover shows, this issue has tied all the loose ends together and we are coming to the finale; where literally anything can happen. Tom King has weaved this story so well it should also have a great conclusion. As always, a great issue which was a set up, last block until the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Vision #11

Sep 29, 2016

Tom King's writing a murder suicide, and it clearly deserves reading. It's a genuinely scary work. I read it during a bright day on an above ground public train, and I couldn't help feel goose bumps, but terror aside Vision is serious without being slow and philosophical without being preachy. I'm desperately trying to find the latest five issues of this series. (None of the stores I go to have 7-11). But if you want to read it is an action horror movie you'll have a blast, and if you want to meditate on ethics in a college English paper you'll probably get an A.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Vision #12

Nov 10, 2016

A great story ends here. I urge you people again to read this and hope you all will love it too.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

1st

February

January

More