SHAY REVOLVER's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Graphic Policy Reviews: 45
8.8Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Alters #1

Oct 5, 2016

Often in media we see sexuality and gender identity used heavyhandedly to sensationalize or add a shock factor to a story, in Alters it seems organic. You can feel every emotion that the hiding of who she is causes her. You cringe at the deceptions she has to engage at to keep herself safe & the people she loves in the dark. Despite how strong she is, you find yourself wanting to reach through the pages, hug her and, tell her it's going to be alright. Chalice seems like a real person, which is a testament to the great story and brilliant writing in this series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alters #3

Dec 22, 2016

I enjoyed reading this issue and the series itself has been solid, even though we're only three issues in I feel for the characters and enjoy the world that has been created and the characters that live in it. There are no wasted panels or word and everything seems real and unforced. This issue was no exception to the momentum and expectations the previous two issues set up, in fact, the series seems to be getting stronger and better with each new issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batgirl (2016) #4

Nov 6, 2016

Overall, the fourth issue was a good read from beginning to end and brought something special to the current story arc. The main player's motivation were brought out and well defined. I enjoyed reading it and am looking forward to seeing how this all plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Big Trouble In Little China / Escape From New York #1

Oct 5, 2016

Daniel Baylissserves up classic 80s comic book art making every panel magic. It's a real page-turner and anyone who digs Carpenter's work , Snake or Jack will love the homage, artistry and style. It is the best kind of throwback and the mashup to end all mashups. I can't wait to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black #1

Oct 4, 2016

Overall Black was a good read that can only expand on a smart, interesting premise and story. I look forward to seeing Black‘s world expand and finding out what Kareem does with his powers, what his new “family” wants him to fo with his powers and, what the government wants to do with the people who have the super powered multiquarks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther (2016) #7

Oct 22, 2016

Overall, Black Panther #7 was a great read that left me wanting more. Every aspect of the comic was thought out, deliberate, every word was integral to the story and the characters and, every panel was packed with detail that brought the story to life.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Black Widow (2016) #7

Oct 23, 2016

There was unfortunately not enough meat or Natasha to make it a real page-turner but, I still hold out hope for the next issue because the arc must go on.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Brik #2

Aug 16, 2016

As a stand alone issue, BRIK #2 is a complete mini story and, a really good read. Full disclosure, I started with this issue and without having read issue #1, finished it feeling connected and invested. I then purchased issue #1 and read it and after the sinking feeling in my stomach for Drew and his family wore off, found myself a fan.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Brik #3

Sep 21, 2016

Drew doesn't find out what happened to his mom in this issue but, we all know and we know how this story ends. Drew is going. To discover that his mom was attacked while he was off dealing with a bully. He will seek vengeance and his path will either be that of the Spiderman or that of the Punisher. Either way works for me and I can't wait to see how Drew's story unfolds .

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Brik #4

Dec 27, 2016

Overall Brik #4 serves up more of the consistency, superbly drawn panels, and well thought out story line that we fell in love with. I can't wait to see how the next two issues pan out and what the creators do with this story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Brik #5

Dec 28, 2016

Issue five ends with an edge of your seat cliffhanger that doesn't feel gimmicky or forced. The organic progression of the series means that this issue is everything that you need it to be with a nice push to make it even more than you expected.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Brik #6

Dec 29, 2016

Overall issue #6 ended this arc with a bang and I can't wait for them to reload the gun and give us another shot!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Carnage (2015) #13

Oct 21, 2016

Overall Carnage #13 left me wanting more, in the best possible way. As a stand alone issue it draws the reader in and makes you feel invested in the story. As part of the story arc, it serves it purpose as a stabilizer that readies us for the battle to come. I'm ready for whatever comes next and super excited to see how all of this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #6

Oct 22, 2016

Overall issue #6 was a perfect read, it propelled the fight and current story arc forward. As a stand alone issue it's still solid and stands up but, as part of the whole it is a perfect piece as this storyline winds down. With a few more issues to go before the end of this series, this issue gives us something to look forward to and, a team to root for when everything comes to an end.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deadpool: Too Soon? #1

Oct 22, 2016

Overall this issue was everything I wanted and more than I expected. It was a nice call back to the comic books of my youth and reminded me of what I loved about comic books as a kid. It was cohesive, smart, well written., expertly drawn and a perfect start to a story arc. I look forward to seeing how this story plays out and if it keeps ending on such hard and enticing twists. I am totally in for the long haul and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Death of X #2

Oct 25, 2016

Overall this was a page turner and well worth a read. it is more than just a place holder or an expository link in the overall story line chain, it is a full fledged stand alone part of the universe and it has earned its place in the timeline as a great and gripping story with a lot of action, complex characters and motives and beautiful art.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Die Kitty Die! #1

Oct 19, 2016

Ruiz and Parent picked a perfect point to stop this issue. It left the readers invested in Kitty and her story but, it also put us on the edge of our seats. Would Kitty escape the clutches of her traitor friend? Will she survive the series? Will she turn the tables on her publishers? So many questions and so long to wait until the next issue but, I can wait. I think Die Kitty Die is worth it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Extraordinary X-Men #15

Oct 29, 2016

Overall I found this issue a real page turner. It was strong, cohesive and effective in pushing the story along. With the X-Men being such an old series it's kind of refreshing to read new stories. It's a nice addition to the universe without being contrived or appearing like a trick to keep readers interested. It's a solid issue in an interesting arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Gamora #1

Dec 21, 2016

Overall this issue was a great read that left me wanting more, even though it ended at a nice closing point. It was pretty to look at and fun to read, and it acts as a nice gateway into the world of the Guardians and I can't wait to read about how her trip to the planet that no one returns from goes, especially with Thanos going after her to save her and a bounty hunter after the same prize that she wants. It's a set up for an action-packed second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Ghoul Scouts: Night of the Unliving Undead #4

Sep 16, 2016

I decided to review it expecting a kiddy bop version of the walking dead for my tweenage daughter to read because Walking Dead is kind of heavy at times. I got that and so much more, it's a solid read with good characters, a compelling and eerie story and some well-placed jump scares. The unmasking of the villain at the end turns out not to be an unmasking but, a way to add an extra layer to the story & propel it forward. There is no pandering, no coddling, lots of blood and gore and a great story. It's a good read no matter what your age is but, if you know a kid or tween that's all about the zombie apocalypse, you should direct them here. Ghoul Scouts serves up some Lost Boys, with a little Monster Squad and a dose of Walking Dead, sans all the rape and sex scenes. It's not a bubble gum fun romp through zombie land, it's a full-on brawl. I was entertained and found myself invested in our heroes journey.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Harley Quinn (2016) #6

Oct 25, 2016

Overall this issue will give you life and suck you back into the world of Harley Quinn. It serves to take the bitter taste out of readers mouth for the uncertain direction that it felt like Harley's character was taking, especially in the new 52s. This new path stays in line with the Harley as her own woman and an entity in love with but, separate from the Joker. The issue expands on the Rebirth of the Harley brand and although fleeting we get a glimpse at her and Red Tool and how their relationship is evolving. We also get to see a story line progress and make sense. Issue #6 continues to do right by Harley and it deserves attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn (2016) #11

Jan 5, 2017

Overall, Issue #11 was just OK and since the first 10 Rebirth issues were so on point and I was loving the direction that Harley was taking, this was kind of a let down. It felt like the writers kind of ran out of steam and went for a place holder style set up issue as opposed to the intro to the arc style they had been using. I'm hoping this arc turns itself around and gives us more of the Harley that we love and a meatier story because, this issue compared to the previous 10, was just meh.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Harley's Little Black Book #5

Dec 29, 2016

Overall this issue is a nice return to form for Harley Quinn and it's keeping the character on the right path. She's still kind of underdressed, but I can over look it because she was on the beach when the story started and she might be rocking a bikini top but she's got combat pants on for the rest of the story. I'm really excited to see more of these stories where Harley is not just the “Property of the Joker,” but her own fully realized person with goals, ideas, and thoughts no matter how deranged or convoluted they are. The story is exactly what it was meant to be, a fun romp through Harley land with a nice change of tone for the character. It's a fun, quick, chuckle-inducing read with nice tattoo worthy art and I liked it from the first panel to the very end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Hate Fairyland #8

Aug 19, 2016

As a whole, I Hate Fairyland #8 is a good read. It's quick, fun and easy. There isn't a lot of depth but, there is a lot of cleverly written potty humor. It's not a comic for engaging in deep thought, it's a comic for people looking for an escape, some bad jokes and a little bit of fun. It serves its purpose and niche well. I don't know how long the running gags with our surly, baby-faced anti-hero can go on before they get a bit tedious but, for now, the jokes still funny and the comic is still a nice diversion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
IvX #2

Jan 15, 2017

Overall this issue pulled no punches, was an incredible read and seemed to end at just the right point. It was well crafted, well written, beautiful to look at as part of the series and as a standalone issue. It gave just enough of a taste to get us ready and leave us wanting more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Dec 28, 2016

Overall this issue was an interesting and fun read. It propelled the story forward, never felt stagnant or forced and provided the reader with enough information to get them to get the next issue. The panels and story flowed together seamlessly making it a page turner. It was fun to watch the heroes face off against the anti-heroes and not be sure of who to root for. The team behind this issue and arc did an amazing job and I look forward to seeing what happens in the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 8, 2017

Overall this issue was well written, beautifully drawn. Not only was it well crafted but, it works well as a stand-alone issue. I felt it had just the right amount of suspense to warrant checking out the next issue while being a solid read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Kim & Kim #2

Aug 25, 2016

Overall Issue #2 was a great find and a wonderful read and, I will be back again to see how the story plays out and how two of my new fave female comic book bad asses get through their mission, to save Tom Quilt and get him and the other drug mule slaves El Scorcho is holding hostage free.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Kim & Kim #3

Oct 2, 2016

Overall Kim & Kim's third issue is an exciting and interesting page turner that gives the readers what they want. I loved every page and panel of the story and found myself engaged even when the Kim's were doing nothing more than hanging out. There was a lot of back story packed into this issue and it seems the creative team is giving us all the tools needed to follow along without pandering or dumbing down the story line and plot points.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lucifer (2015) #11

Oct 22, 2016

Overall, this was an amazing issue. It kept up with the momentum of the previous issues and builds up some hype for the issues to come. Between the story and the art you feel invested in how things turn out and you find yourself not only wanting more but, needing more. I found this issue to be a great, enjoyable read and it's definitely worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Mama Tits Saves the World #1

Sep 14, 2016

If the story isn't enough to get you on board, Mama Tits even has some fun activity pages in it for the reader that wants to be a little more involved. From cover to cover, Zan lays his brightly colored history (and current events) lesson out in the open. The reader is made aware of the issues that the LGBT community faces. There is a message of perseverance and tolerance that is necessary in today's political climate. I think that media especially comic books can go a long way in educating the public about important issues and the discrimination that racial and sexual minorities face. Mama Tits manages to not only tell a good story filled with fabulous fight sequences, dastardly villains (based on real life villains) and, beautiful costume changes but, it provides the reader with info that they might not have and calls them to action.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Miss Fury Vol. 2 #5

Aug 26, 2016

This issue wasn't enough to make me give up on Miss Fury and her adventures but, it was enough to have me already giving the side eye to the next issue because I'm not sure it's going to be able to bounce back and bring our hero with it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) Annual #1

Dec 27, 2016

Sweet Christmas is a good read for what it is. It's a diversion, nothing too heavy but, it's not frivolous. It just a good solid read and worth your time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Raven #2

Oct 23, 2016

Overall Raven #2 is worthy of applause, praise and maybe a few rereads. Issue #2 is great as a stand-alone issue and as part of the larger arc. I loved reading it now and I can't wait until this arc is over so that I can have it in TP form and absorb the awesomeness by reading the story as a whole.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Spell On Wheels #1

Oct 20, 2016

Overall Spell on Wheels #1 has me hooked and I'm all strapped in and ready to ride shotgun in Jolene, that beautiful convertible coup that will taking them on the journey. This issue ends with the witches knocking on the door of the first person who bought some of their stolen magical loot off of the dark web magic ebay. I can't wait to see how it all plays out, because Spell on Wheels looks like it is going to be a fun road trip romp with some strong female characters and a killer story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Gwen (2015) #13

Oct 22, 2016

With all the questions in my head from the previous episode, I was looking forward to having them answered and seeing how Gwen's new alliances and foes worked out. I felt a bit cheated. That's not to say this is a bad issue just to say that it would have been better as a one off or special edition so that the reader would know what they were getting into. It was more about Gwen's friends and less about Gwen herself or the struggle that Spider-Gwen is dealing with outside of this issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
The Forevers #1

Sep 17, 2016

There were moments when I forgot that I was reading and imagined myself in a really kick ass TV show. The only real flaw that I saw in The Forevers was that it ended so soon a few more pages would have been nice but, I can see why ending Issue #1 when it did was a smart choice. Issue #1 grabs your attention and grasping for a few extra pages, what a better way to keep the readers wanting more and shivering with antici—pa—-tion.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The Wicked + The Divine #22

Aug 19, 2016

This issue hit all the marks of a great comic book, right down to the ending of this arc setting up what I'm sure will be yet another great story arc in this already stellar series. There are so many directions that this story can take next and all of them are equally promising. Is Laura/Persephone on the run? What is the ominous Darkness that would make Ananke spend eternities sacrificing four of her god proteges? Has the Darkness been abated or are we about to have some Hellmouth or Cabin in the Woods type action? What's going to happen to Mini? Does Ananke count as a fourth sacrificial? Issue #23 can go anywhere and, thanks to the lure set in this issue, I can't wait.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
The X-Files: Origins #1

Sep 17, 2016

Overall I found the beginnings of their origin stories a nice read. And, I can't for issue #2 so I can find out what happened to Mulder and his friends on the beach with the men in black and how things turned out with Scully and the car headlights that either have something to do with her dad or something to do with the recently deceased Sunday school teacher.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.7
Throwaways #2

Aug 20, 2016

Issue #2 wasn't a flop by any means, I just came into it expecting more after the build up of the Issue #1. I'm still holding out hope that this issue was a placeholder and, it's purpose was to wrap up all of the character introductions and set up their motivations. I still have hope for this series and want to see it succeed. I know that all the elements of this being a great series is there and, the writer and artist are extremely talented and are capable of so much more. I just hope that all the promise I saw in the series opener comes back soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Throwaways #3

Oct 16, 2016

Overall, Throwaways #3 has everything I loved about the first issue and turned the dial up to 11. We've got bad ass , complex women, interesting characters, a smart story and the story seems to have hit its stride with this issue and I hope it keeps going in this direction. This issue is more cohesive and character orientated making it a quick, deep read and it puts the Throwaways train back on track.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Throwaways #4

Oct 19, 2016

Overall I feel like the Throwaways is starting to find its voice and I really enjoy listening to it. It's a deep read and as the story progresses it's becoming more and more interesting and involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Trinity (2016) #2

Oct 25, 2016

The symbiosis between the story and the art make issue #2 of Trinity an overall great comic. Everything about it is damn near perfect and I am looking forward to see what happens when the trio returns to the present to face the threat that has them on a time run. Will Poison Ivy's seedlings cause a change in Clark Kent/Superman? Will the timeline be forever changed for the worse? Will there be a Jon Kent and/or Lois Lane in his life in the future? So many questions and such a worthy story arc to wait and find out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wynonna Earp #7

Aug 26, 2016

The artwork is basic but , it pops and tells the story. The show stills are a nice bonus but, seem kind of unnecessary considering if you're already seven issues in, it's because you're already hooked. Issue #7 is just as consistent as every other issue. The writing is clever and is just as much a page-turner as the action is. It's like a mini episode in your pocket that you read. It was flawless to the last panel which left me filled with ideas and hope for whatever is coming next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Wynonna Earp #8

Oct 5, 2016

Overall, I really enjoyed this issue. There was no cliffhanger or catching up to do in the beginning. Everything was contained in this one issue making it a fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

January

December

More