Stefania Rudd's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Doom Rocket Reviews: 35
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.5
Archie (2015) #3

Oct 12, 2015

Overall the story is smart, funny, and lays a sturdy foundation for the shenanigans to come. It's easy to enjoy seeing these familiar characters in a new way with stronger personalities than in past versions, and that makes this book entertaining. The artwork by Staples is gorgeous and modern, and continues to complement the dialogue Waid has written. She is good at having the characters show emotion even when there is little to no dialogue in a panel and it seems to give the characters even more life. It's rather easy to admit; reading Archie is cool again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #10

Aug 1, 2016

Mark Waid and Veronica Fish give us a highly entertaining and emotionally charged issue that will set the stage for continued friction, but as we fans of Archie know, these kids will find a way to resolve it. How they do that will test their character, and what they are willing to lose (and gain) in the process. That's the quality of good drama. I hope you're reading Archie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Batgirl (2016) #2

Aug 26, 2016

The creative team behind this new Batgirl are taking Babs on a journey of self-discovery and reflection, important for any hero to do from time to time, simultaneously allowing us as the audience to reconnect with why we love a character like Barbara. I'm looking forward to seeing how she will recover from her fight, and move forward (and upward) like we are so used to seeing her do.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #2

Jul 11, 2016

Overall, Batman #2 good second issue that dutifully continues the new direction this series has taken. Even though there is less wham-bam action than the debut issue, its new reveals pack just as much of a punch.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Betty & Veronica (2016) #1

Jul 21, 2016

My hope is that there will be some changes made to Adam Hughes' approach. In the meantime,Betty & Veronica is not the strongest debut for the new Archie line, which is unfortunate considering that with these characters, there remains the potential for something truly great.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Fwendly Fwuit: Winter Wonders #1

Aug 8, 2016

Fwendly Fwuit: Winter Wonders is a good book for those 10 years and younger, but I don't think it's something an adult would casually pick up and read without finding it too child-like. But, to be fair, it isn't really meant for you, Pops. It's a unique book coming from an independent publisher, one thatprovides a certain sweetness and heart that should be featured in comic book for children. And I can certainly appreciate that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 16, 2016

A great start to a new arc, Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1 sets up another year's worth of mystery wonderfully. Trying to fit the puzzle pieces of together with the Detective Club would be a fun and engaging enough story on its own, but when you throw in bad apple Amy" things are about to get very interesting, indeed. School is back in session in Gotham City, which feels precious somehow; it's something we knew we wanted but we didn't know how much until it appeared. I suppose that's what Gotham Academy is " it's something that's become very precious to us. A gift.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #1

Apr 18, 2016

Harley Quinn and Her Gang of Harleys #1 is a colorful addition to the popular character's current roster of titles. Time will tell how this will all play out, especially with the introduction of a very twisted character that leaves us hanging at the end of the book with more questions. My hope is that as this miniseries continues, we get some clarity towards the plot and head towards a direction where a team blessed by Harley can develop and come into their own.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Howard The Duck (2015) #1

Nov 9, 2015

So Howard is stuck with us for a little while longer (for better, for worse). Which means things will never get boring"well, not while he's resting his tail feathers on our planet, anyway. As Marvel tries to fool us with the #1 on the cover, it's easy enough to overlook it. We know we are in good hands with Zdarsky and Quinones at the helm, reminding us that when it comes to our favorite duck, the more things change, the more they stay the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
I Hate Fairyland #2

Nov 23, 2015

I Hate Fairyland is proving to be a really fun ride. It's the kind of adventure adults who grew up on fairy tales can appreciate, especially after they've realized that the world can't be fixed by a prince or a song. I look forward to see where Young will take our 37-year-old-trapped-in-a-10-year-old's-body next, and know that no Fairyland creature is safe, especially those who mean to do her harm.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Jem and the Holograms #11

Feb 1, 2016

Campbell's artwork, combined with Robado's coloring, simply pops from the page, bringing it all to life. I could spend hours just going through each panel taking in all the details, from patterns on clothing to the provocative tattoos. The overall look of each character also speaks volumes as to who they are and how they represent themselves. It's those details that make this series so much fun. Also, I genuinely appreciate the variety of shapes and sizes in which both women and men are depicted. It's great to have a subtle body-positive message done so naturally in a book. I'll be interested in seeing how this arc unfolds in the near future. My gut tells me as the bigger picture is revealed the more we readers will be excited by its direction.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jem and the Holograms #14

Apr 25, 2016

Overall, the synergy between Kelly Thompson, Sophie Campbell, and M. Victoria Robado give us a strong issue that really kicks the action of the story arc into gear. We know that in the end the women will come through this ordeal stronger and more united, but first we have to go through the darkness. Fortunately, The Holograms are in good hands.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jem and the Holograms: Infinite #1

Jul 3, 2017

Kelly Thompson knows these characters through and through from her previous work on Jem and Misfits. Stacey Lee and Jen Hickman both take on art chores, different styles that become compatible through Sarah Stern's gorgeous hues. Knowing that there is an alternate Earth out there, one these characters have chosen to enter, will allow a freedom through which this creative team will certainly thrive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jonesy #1

Feb 15, 2016

In the first issue of Jonesy, Humphries and Boyle do an excellent job solidly setting up what is to come in the subsequent books. With Jonesy wielding this Cupid-esque power, what exact revenge will she take on the world? Will Susan be a part of her plan? How will she incorporate that adorable ferret, Rocky? Anytime a book leaves me with questions as curious as these, I know I'm hooked. But then, maybe I've just fallen under Jonesy's love spell?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Josie and the Pussycats #1

Sep 23, 2016

Josie and the Pussycats #1 does not disappoint. I look forward to seeing how this series unfolds, but I'm also interested as to how they'll play into the whole Riverdale scene. After all, these teenagers need a soundtrack for the soap opera that is their lives.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Jughead (2015) #1

Oct 7, 2015

Overall the story is smart, funny, and lays a sturdy foundation for the shenanigans to come. It's easy to enjoy seeing these familiar characters in a new way with stronger personalities than in past versions, and that makes this book entertaining. The artwork by Staples is gorgeous and modern, and continues to complement the dialogue Waid has written. She is good at having the characters show emotion even when there is little to no dialogue in a panel and it seems to give the characters even more life. It's rather easy to admit; reading Archie is cool again.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Jughead (2015) #6

May 23, 2016

As always, Zdarsky infuses his trademark wit and humor into the dialogue. (I especially love the "editor's notes," like how Dilton being an amazing dancer is now canon times infinity, and that this month's fracas was the craziest thing to ever happen to Riverdale" until next time, at least.) Through Zdarsky, Jughead can be so very deadpan in his sarcasm, magnified by Erica Henderson' angular features and expressive faces. Whatever the writer throws Henderson's way " be it Dilton's dancing, to the fight between Jughead and Moose, to the 6 panels that gave us Principal Stanger's slow clap " she handles it all beautifully. Another solid book from the Jughead crew. I look forward to the next arc, which hints at summer vacation. Perfect. Just in time for us to include it in all our beach reads.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Kim Reaper #1

Apr 10, 2017

Overall, Kim Reaper #1 is a good first start to what I imagine will be a fun and imaginative series. There is a lot of potential here, considering the subject matter. Where this story could go has me interested in returning to this series. A great book for those who like amusing and offbeat stories with a lot of heart and well-meaning intentions.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Kingsway West #1

Aug 17, 2016

GregPak's known for his raucous and energeticwriting style (see Totally Awesome Hulk andAction Comics), but you get asense thatKingsway Westis going to be something different. Something special.Thefamiliar (here, an Old West cowboy) isgiven new life by its sheer conceit " aworldrecoveringfrom war as an ancient magic looms ahead. (Literally: there bedragonsin them hills!) Mirko Colak and Wil Quintana's visually appealing artwork is nicely done and it really does give this story life.Overall, Kingsway West #1 is ahearty first issue toa series that has plenty of tantalizing secrets stuffed withinits saddle bags.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Luna the Vampire #3

Mar 14, 2016

Luna may look like sugar, but she's chock-full of spice and an endless supply of snark. She's set in her ways, and no matter what adventure Sheikh may place her creation, Luna's true nature will always out. The book is intended for a pre-teen audience and the storylines reflect that, but they also are fun and can speak to an older audience. The artwork is vibrant and colorful with a feel that comes from the Nineties (think a less gross Ren and Stimpy). I also love the details of the lettering with uses of colors, outlining, and easy-to-read cursive. Overall, this is a solid issue that allows us humble readers a further insight to Luna, her life, and the pests that surround her.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mighty Morphin' Power Rangers: Pink #1

Jun 3, 2016

After getting a taste of the adventure that Kimberly is about to embark upon, I'm really looking forward to adding this mini-series to my list of regular books. With the strong creative team of Fletcher, Thompson, Di Nicuolo, and Stern to guide her along, it is most certainly Morphin' Time indeed.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Moonlighters #1

Mar 13, 2017

Schenkel and Moray's Moonlighters has a lot of heart. It also has the potential to grow into a fun episodic adventure story. The overarching themes of friendship, belonging, and transformation (both emotionally and physically) make this a must-read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Ms. Marvel (2015) #12

Oct 31, 2016

Overall, I found this issue to be very strong, with a story that very much needed to happen after the last story arc. I don't know about you, but I teared up more than a few times this month. Maybe I'm going through my own personal transformation? Do you think Kamala's grandmother will embrace me with a warm chai?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Paper Girls #4

Jan 11, 2016

Paper Girls #4 allows us to embark on this crazy journey as if we were the fifth member of the group. The stakes continue to get higher (as a God-like figure is introduced in the first few pages of the book and we know he is in control of one sect of the aliens, while the other monstrous looking teen dudes have taken Erin in their space vessel and have vanished out of sight). I imagine things will progress quite nicely as the story unfolds. This is, after all, a book by Brian K. Vaughan and Cliff Chiang. Expectations need not apply.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Quantum Teens Are Go #1

Feb 22, 2017

Quantum Teens Are Go is off to a great start. The premise is solid, the art is scuzzy perfection, and the possibilities are endless. And true to its characters, the book is anchored by the strength of two kids doing something completely new. Something completely daring. Nat and Sumesh. Visaggio and Donovan. All of them are the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Rick and Morty #26

Jun 5, 2017

Overall, issue #26 is a low-key one-off that performs beautifully as sumptuous filler, one that should keep our Rick and Morty fixes at bay.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Archies (One Shot) #1

May 25, 2017

Emotions are expresses so wonderfully here: from Betty's heartbreak to Reggie's smugness to Archie's remorse, each character enhances the overall feel of the story. Matt Herm's coloring is vibrant, energetic, and nuanced through shading and shadows. Overall, this is a solid one-shot that could easily become a series. Maybe if The Archies book more gigs we can get more issues?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Damned #1

May 8, 2017

It's been a while since I've read a first issue that has grabbed my interest like The Damned. Hold onto your souls, kiddos; I have a feeling we are in for a devilish ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Forevers #2

Nov 15, 2016

That's handy, because we have to understand a few things about thesepeople in order for this story to work, primarily the tenuoustrust they place oneach other (because of their shared blood pact). But even before Daisy was knocked off it seemed like they all slept with one eye open. “You've ‘made it,'" the book seems to be telling us, “but one false move and you'll find yourself flat on your back.” And there's the hook of The Forevers: They can't fail…so long as they stay alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
They're Not Like Us #9

Nov 2, 2015

In issue #9 we continue the second story arc by introducing a new threat that gives us a cliffhanger. Stephenson's solid dialogue continues to be substantial without getting too wordy: it's intentional, well thought out, and I appreciate the humor he interjects throughout the issue. (That bit with the Stephen Hawking line? Perfect.) Simon Gane's artwork and Jordie Bellaire's coloring are just as integral to telling this story as the dialogue. (Did I mention that club sequence? Completely worthy of your gaze.) Everything about They're Not Like Us #9, from the level of detail, the expressive facial tics, and perfectly conveyed body language help move the story along while also providing clues as to what's around the corner. This series continues to be one to look forward to each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
We Are Robin #5

Nov 2, 2015

The writing from Lee Bermejo is great and he really knows how to put the Robins through the emotional ringer. Corona is back on the artwork with colorists who make the story move right off the page. You can also get a sense of the characters through the artwork like when you feel the pain in Izzy's face and sense the frustration in Dre's. All of it flows nicely together. The future of Gotham will always be up in the air, but with this plucky armada of red, yellow, and green, it will continue to be that much safer.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Welcome to Showside #2

Dec 10, 2015

Welcome to Showside #2 advances the series' overall quality with McGinty'sunique take on friendship, fitting in, and working together. This series is meant for all ages, and though that phrase can be a turn-off for some adults, it really shouldn't be. Fans of shows like Steven Universe will find the story's sweetfamiliarity endearing, and what's more, it can add some much-needed levity to all of ourreading lists. (A quality, lighthearted read like this can do much to cleanse the palette after absorbing countless issues of superhero violence.)As we go further into the Nexus, I know there will be even morediscoverin this world of demon monsters and adorable protagonists.I look forward to seeing where McGinty will take us next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Welcome to Showside #3

Jan 20, 2016

Welcome to Showsidesees IanMcGinty slowly unveilhisworldwith a warm heart, a sharp eye, and disarming humor. What we have here isa continuouslyfun read for every single member of your family.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Zodiac Starforce #3

Nov 16, 2015

Zodiac Starforce #3 gives us a great set up"the surprise twist of Diana's past, Emma's unknown illness getting worse, and the team learning how to function as their leader is taken"as we head toward the conclusion in the next issue. The talented creative team of Panetta and Ganucheau never disappoint; they're so good at escalating the story (and our emotions) that you know they have just as much love and enthusiasm for their work as we do delighting over every single page of it.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Zodiac Starforce: Cries of the Fire Prince #1

Jul 6, 2017

Fans of the first series will definitely be pleased with this debut and will be happy to have the dynamic ladies of Zodiac Starforce back in action. For candy-colored thrills and aching charisma, go no further.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More