stephengervais's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 68
7.7Avg. Review Rating

9.0
100th Anniversary Special: The Avengers #1

Jul 24, 2014

Not only was this issue an eyeball dazzler but it also delivered a super fun story. Stokoe’s art was the main draw for me but it was the storyline that made me crave a second issue. He took a common superhero concept but managed to put a unique spin on it with quite the unexpected ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abe Sapien #12

May 14, 2014

This issue is a standalone story but I do believe that we will learn more about the unknown woman later on. This really is a terrific issue and I’m excited about the direction the series is taking. This is one of the most suspenseful stories I’ve read in while with just enough flashes of violence to probably give me nightmares tonight! I can’t wait for the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Abe Sapien #14

Jul 10, 2014

The writers have put together a story filled with such a tense ambience you don’t fully realise it until you exhale after reading it. At that moment you come to recognize just how enthralled you were in the tale of these characters as they make their way through this forlorn adventure. New readers can definitely pick up this issue and grasp the tone and direction of the story but I highly recommend starting at issue 12 to fully appreciate the setting and feel being created here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #674

Dec 3, 2011

Writer Dan Slott continues to build his reputation as one of the best to pen our friendly neighbourhood arachnid. This is the first issue after the Spider Island story arc and a great jumping on point for new readers. This issue has New York City, beautifully drawn by Giuseppe Camuncoli, cleaning up after the mess brought on by the Spider Island incident which had regular New Yorkers develop spider powers and placed under the control of a monster known as The Queen. While the NYPD try to get the city back to normal Spidey is investigating a string of high rise burglaries which may or may not be linked to a rash of teenage suicide jumpers. Even though for long-time fans the closing panel may have been predictable it still brings about a silent cheer of Hell Yea and leaves you anticipating the next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #675

Dec 8, 2011

All in all this was an entertaining 2 issue story arc. There was by no means a definitive conclusion so I'm pretty sure the Vulture will be playing an upcoming role in Spider-Man's near future.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Amazing Spider-Man #676

Jan 15, 2012

The concept for this issue showed great promise but the execution fell short. The story itself was entertaining particularly the banter amongst the group but the artwork was so dreadful it killed the story. Despite this I am hoping that this is a revitalization of the Sinister Six and that we do see more of them in 2012.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Amazing Spider-Man #677

Jan 15, 2012

This is an overall a great issue that leaves me anticipating part 2. If you enjoy it I highly recommend you check out the Daredevil series as well. Both are fantastic and this is a great jumping on point.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #1

Dec 19, 2011

This is my pick as the best #1 stemming from the DC relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #2

Dec 19, 2011

I find the pacing of the issue really makes for a tense read and this is only magnified with the disturbing artwork. I can’t wait for issue #3

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #3

Dec 19, 2011

This issue also hints to a future cross over with Swamp Thing where The Red and The Green meet. These two horror titles colliding should make for some sleepless nights for the readers or at least some strange dreams.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #4

Dec 19, 2011

This issue delivers another excellent installment to this fantastic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man Annual #1

Jun 3, 2012

All in all this is a great issue for anyone following the current Animal Man series but as a stand alone story I could see new readers not fully grasping the storyline. I do have to admit that being Canadian I did love all the Canadian content and references in this issue. For that reason alone, even with the $4.99 price tag, this was a great purchase and an example of how annuals should be handled.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #1

Dec 19, 2011

This is my pick as the best #1 stemming from the DC relaunch.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #2

Dec 19, 2011

I find the pacing of the issue really makes for a tense read and this is only magnified with the disturbing artwork. I can’t wait for issue #3

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #3

Dec 19, 2011

This issue also hints to a future cross over with Swamp Thing where The Red and The Green meet. These two horror titles colliding should make for some sleepless nights for the readers or at least some strange dreams.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Man #4

Dec 19, 2011

This issue delivers another excellent installment to this fantastic series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Animal Noir #1

Mar 1, 2017

This was a fun read put together by two very talented creators. They managed to transport us into an old time detective story with a unique twist to it. This opening issue introduced some great characters and their world in an entertaining manner. Hopefully this is just the beginning of what could be a delightful series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 14, 2017

The next issue, Running Up That Hill, it's named (I see what you did there with Kate Bush and Kate Kane by the way) makes me wonder what makes Kate want to swap places with God as the song goes. I'm eager to see.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Before Watchmen: Comedian #1

Jul 2, 2012

Overall this was a very disappointing. I really cant even see much potential in it. It really just comes off as your everyday run-of-the-mill political thriller. Im not saying its terrible its just not original enough to merit the Comedian.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Before Watchmen: Minutemen #1

Jun 10, 2012

For those of you that are against the whole Before Watchmen idea this issue wont change your mind. Its not the groundbreaking work of the original but really is a fun read. Id call it a companion piece to the original. Cooke manages to give us a great take on some lesser known characters and proves the Watchmen universe can definitely be developed without tarnishing Moores masterpiece.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Before Watchmen: Nite Owl #1

Jul 2, 2012

Maybe this story will improve but Im not overly optimistic.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre #1

Jun 24, 2012

Overall Id say this is an average story with potential. The artwork is beautiful and worth the admission alone. If the author can improve the dialogue and stay away from the usual teenage angst type of story this could turn into a worth while series. Stay tuned.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Black Hammer #7

Mar 21, 2017

This series delivers another solid chapter giving us one heck of an emotional read. We get some superb storytelling in Black Hammer's origin and our current timeline moves along nicely as well. I can't wait to see if something in Lucy's story will offer our Rockwood gang a clue on how they can escape their predicament.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Carnage USA #1

Dec 18, 2011

This issue ends with a good cliffhanger that guarantees a purchase of issue number two.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Curse Words #1

Jan 17, 2017

What really grabbed me was the art, especially the cover. I just adore this saturated, almost-neon candy-coated color palette. I'm also enjoying Browne's line work and art style. One thing that sometimes annoys me about new books is art that keeps me from telling characters apart. That's clearly not a problem here. I also enjoyed the visual touches that made the setting obvious, like the "Hamilton" poster in the subway car and the accurately-rendered script on the Nathan's hot dog wrapper. I might also be going to Hell for laughing as hard as I did at the poor little fish being added to the wizard's brew. Although the "be careful what you wish for" bit at the start of the book was clichd (and so was the use of flashback for the bulk of the narrative), the story itself is fast and engaging. I particularly enjoyed Wizord's "going native" montage. I'm certainly looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Daredevil (2011) #6

Dec 3, 2011

Even though it doesn't fall under "the relaunch" Daredevil did get renumbered around the same time and has been a personal favorite of mine since. Issue number six delivers another wildly entertaining story by providing great characterization, action, and dialogue. This issue has Daredevil battling an up and coming thug, Bruiser. What a fantastic action sequence between the two! The highlight for me without spoiling anything is Daredevil showcasing his courtroom abilities to get out of a jam. The creative team of writer Mark Waid, artist Marcos Martin, and colorist Muntsa Vincent deliver a solid issue which can best be described as simply, fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Daredevil (2011) #10

Apr 2, 2012

Daredevil continues to be my favorite offering from Marvel these days. Mark Waids first 10 issues of the series have been a perfect 10 out of 10.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deep Gravity #1

Jul 30, 2014

While this issue didn’t grab me right off the bat I found as I read on I became more immersed into the world being created. By the world I do mean the planet being mined and the wonderful creatures that live there. With more character development and the mood already set we should be in for a very entertaining series filled with intrigue and hopefully more frightening aliens!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Empress #1

Apr 6, 2016

This was a very fun debut issue with a story that can take so many different directions. As soon as I got to the end I cursed monthly schedules and wish I had the entire story to consume a la binge. Immonen’s art is out of this world (pun intended). He seems to have really hit mark in the sci-fi gendre as of late. Great first issue! Pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Godzilla: Half-Century War #1

Aug 13, 2012

I know the story is an old one done countless times but Stokoe writes it from the unique perspective of the obsessed Lieutenant to give it a fresh feel. The artwork alone makes this worth the purchase. I cant emphasize enough how spectacular it truly is. Just flip through it and you wont be able to resist.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Grass Kings #1

Mar 8, 2017

It's not a total detraction of course, to visit this fully realized world in its apparent entirety, but it is an overwhelming first issue. Both in a good way and bad.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hellboy in Hell #6

May 13, 2014

Mignola has continued to write quite a few stories and draw many covers but has not done all that much interior artwork in many years which makes this series all that more brilliant. It’s always a huge bonus when he picks up that drawing pen and gives us a Hellboy story really like no other can. He is the master of this universe and this issue exhibits that beautifully.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Justice League / Power Rangers #1

Jan 10, 2017

This is the kind of stuff I hate. Random company crossovers that just jam stuff together. It's not a good Justice League story and it's a bad Power Ranger story. The positive side is the colours are really nice, but it doesn't help the art that features characters in odd body positions like they are supposed to be Spider-Man or something. Plot holes abound, how are Power Rangers calling on their Zords when they are in a different universe? If the Black Ranger is randomly transported to the DCU, how do the rest of the Rangers follow?? The quality control just isn't there. Ick. Batman has fought Darkseid among others, and yet he needs help fighting the Power Rangers? Also I don't remember the Power Rangers being super powered so Batman has trouble with regular teenagers. Comics are supposed to be a fun diversion, but this was forehead slappingly bad. Bad art and bad writing with bad characterization equals a poor comic experience.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Lazarus #22

Jun 15, 2016

This series is a particularly hard one to review because discussing any of the specific plot points would ruin the intrigue and suspense the reader needs to experience to fully appreciate this journey. This issue was a perfect return for one of my favorite ongoing runs. I’m extremely glad it’s back and if I can issue a plea to Mr. Rucka and Mr. Lark, please don’t leave us for 6 months ever again!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Legendary Star-Lord #1

Jul 2, 2014

This issue is a perfect introduction to Peter Quill, Star-Lord. It’s a thoroughly entertaining romp from beginning to end. It’s filled with gun battles, getaways and casual flirtation. It’s truly just an all-around fun read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Monsters Unleashed #1

Jan 18, 2017

This was a very entertaining book. For someone with event fatigue I can say this series looks to bucks the usual event trend and give us a good traditional hero versus bad guys to save the world type story. McNiven’s work was fantastic and Bunn delivers a very entertaining read. I’m onboard for this event and very much looking forward to the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
My Little Pony: Friends Forever #29

Jun 9, 2016

This one-and-done story does a formidable job in intruding us to the characters and their environment very quickly. You get a feel for each Pony's personality almost immediately within their initial dialogue which, for this adventure, is of the utmost importance. The lesson learned in this issue is we all express our feelings and emotions in different ways. In order to get this across it was important for the writer to establish the different Pony personalities almost upon their introduction in the issue. With the definite characterization of the Ponies the important message on not to judge one another is unmistakable.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
No Place Like Home #1

Feb 23, 2012

My favorite part of the issue is the ending. That is one cliffhanger I was not expecting and I cant wait for issue 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Old Guard #1

Feb 22, 2017

The pages could use a little more rigidness, as some scenes are muddled, leaving actors and actions demanding a re-read of the page but otherwise this is great stuff, something I'll be on the lookout for in the future."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Outcast By Kirkman & Azaceta #1

Jun 25, 2014

This really is a near perfect debut issue introducing us to great cast of characters and a new Kirkman world filled with horror and intrigue. It’s a dark world not for the faint of heart that’s for sure. Oh and did I mention the first issue is 64 pages for only $2.99??

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Peter Panzerfaust #1

Feb 20, 2012

Overall I enjoyed this issue. I found the artwork captured the essence of Pan Mythology and the story itself entertaining. Even though I was not a fan of the ending I have to pick up the next issue to see what happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Planet of the Apes / Green Lantern #1

Jan 31, 2017

The art isn't great either. It isn't bad, but it doesn't do its job. Barnaby Bagenda misses visual cues to strengthen continuity. In film, they would be called "pickup shots." So far, this is a confusing and unimpressive effort.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Punisher (2011) #6

Dec 8, 2011

I read this issue in what seemed like less than 2 minutes. It was a very unsatisfying use of my $2.99. Ill flip through the next issue and if it looks like more of the same Ill have to pass. What started out as a very promising series has taken a very bad turn.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Punk Rock Jesus #1

Aug 12, 2012

All in all Sean Murphy provides us with a great story and artwork. He introduces us to so many interesting characters and lays the groundwork for what looks to be an amazing ride. The cliffhanger for this issue is one thatll actually make you gasp. This is such an overall solid issue I cant recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Sonja (2017) #1

Jan 11, 2017

Overall this was a nice balance of action and character building which is always needed in a first issue. Having never delved into the world of Red Sonja I wasn’t sure if I’d be lost but the creative team did a great job introducing me to the characters. They made me feel right at home so to speak which is exactly what all new readers ask for when trying out something new.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rocket Raccoon #1

Jul 3, 2014

All in all this was a great debut issue filled with plenty of Rocket Raccoon attitude and pandemonium. It has the makings of a great space adventure comic filled with intrigue and just the right amount of humour which was a blast to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Royal City #1

Mar 1, 2017

This was an excellent story. I didn't know what to expect, but I should have known when I saw that this was a Jeff Lemire book. Lemire is a master storyteller and is may just be the best person in comics for putting together an engaging page turning story. Lemire's art style can be a little jarring at first, but it works for his stories. It's unique and instantly recognizable as Lemire. This is a great book with a beautifully constructed story. Don't you dare miss it! 10/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Savage Things #1

Mar 2, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this opening chapter of Savage Things. I think we’re in for a real treat with this new series. It has an interesting espionage, secret society type story going with exceptional artwork. This series is an easy one to recommend and heck it’s a first issue so it’s the perfect jumping on point!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Avengers (2014) #6

Jul 30, 2014

This issue is filled with excitement, intrigue and the usual great cast of characters. As always a fun and original issue that I recommend you give a shot.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Shade, the Changing Girl #6

Mar 2, 2017

That was a highly entertaining conclusion to the first arc. I think with the development of the supporting cast and the role Meta seems to be building towards this will be a pleasure to read for the foreseeable future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Space Riders #1

May 13, 2015

This super-fun, over-the-top space opera is like nothing else on the shelves. It takes you on a weird and wacky adventure at 100 mph so just hold on and enjoy the ride. Just make sure you take some time to enjoy the view.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Space Riders #2

May 13, 2015

This issue plays out like your wildest dream that you wish you hadn’t woken up from so soon. It’s so much fun to read and get lost in art. I hope everyone picks it up and supports a really one of kind adventure this creative team has put together.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #26

Dec 28, 2016

All in all this was a really entertaining issue that I didn’t want to end. I loved Aaron’s portrayal of all the characters, new and old, and Larroca’s art was near perfect. If you haven’t been reading this series but want to give it a try this issue is a pretty good jumping on point to join in the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sweet Tooth #36

Aug 11, 2012

Despite my one complaint this is a solid first issue for the concluding story arc. Signs of a great comic are ones that make you think afterwards and anticipate the next issue. Not only this issue but the entire run has accomplished this. One last note if youre reading this Mr. Lemire please spare Bobbys life!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Dregs #1

Jan 24, 2017

Sometimes I wish writers avoided all attempts to be clever. They need not tie their stories to the works of literary titans (with the quotes from Jonathan Swift and references to Raymond Chandler). Telling a simple story well will do just fine. Despite its tendency to bloviate on occasion by commenting on social shortcomings of civilized society, it's a decent conspiracy mystery thus far.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Private Eye #1

Mar 20, 2013

This being my first foray into the world of digital comics I’d rate it as a positive one. Will it replace physical copies for me? I’d say no but that’s not to take anything away from this reading experience. I definitely hope this issue generates enough income so that the team will continue with this 10 part series. I for one am hooked on this imaginative new adventure and hope that one day it is released in a hardcover format. One final note I do find it ironic and humorous that it’s a story about the dangers of putting everything out on the internet yet it’s available exclusively through the internet. Hilarious guys!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Secret History of D.B.Cooper #4

Jul 2, 2012

As I stated earlier the illustrations are what first captured me into Churillas world of monsters and espionage but along with the wonderful artwork comes a fun and imaginative romp. With so many plot twists Im always wondering what will happen next and the endings always seem to have me impatiently anticipated the next issue. If youre like me and always looking for something fun and original pick up this series it will deliver on both fronts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ultimate Comics Spider-Man Vol. 2 #7

Feb 23, 2012

This was a very entertaining issue and I absolutely loved the cliffhanger involving Miles uncle. It got me thinking how his uncle is like an opposite of Uncle Ben. I cant wait to see how everything plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ultimate Comics: Ultimates #4

Dec 3, 2011

All in all a great issue just bursting with action!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Uncanny X-Force #18

Dec 15, 2011

This issue flows perfectly from the start all the way to its surprise ending. Not to ruin any surprises I wont reveal my favorite moment but I will say it involves a head stabbing. This issue along with the entire Dark Angel Saga is truly a must a read of 2011.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Uncanny X-Force #23

Apr 2, 2012

Its a difficult issue to score because a comic is equal part art and writing. If it were separate rankings Id give the writing a 5 out of 5 and the art a 1.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wild Storm #1

Feb 15, 2017

So from what I gather this is basically Wildstorm rebirth. I am sure that the issue was full of cool moments for the Wildstorm fanboys out there, and perhaps if I were at all familiar with the universe and its main characters I would have gotten much more out of this one, but alas I can only go on the merits of the issue without the joy of nostalgia. It was a well written issue, but left me wanting more action, there were lots of pages of people sitting and talking. It was all right, and I really liked the art, but I'm not the target audience for this one. 7/10

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine (2010) #19

Dec 4, 2011

This is how Wolverine should always be written. I cant wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine (2010) #300

Jan 16, 2012

Jason Aaron is leaving after this arc and I for one was saddened to hear this news. His work on Wolverine has really revitalized the character. This issue definitely indicates that hell be going out in epic proportion. So far it has all the makings of a classic adventure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #1

Dec 18, 2011

Sharp dialogue, stylish artwork and a what else could go wrong cliffhanger are all rolled into this outstanding first issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wolverine and the X-Men #2

Dec 18, 2011

This series is such great fun. An original take on the characters by both the writer and the artist makes me anticipating issue three!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
X-Men: Schism #1

Dec 4, 2011

Overall this was a good introductory issue for the series. Aaron really does a good job showcasing the bond developed over the years between Cyclops and Wolverine. Where I find the issue doesnt shine is Carlos Pachecos artwork. I found it overly simple compared to his past works. Hopefully this improves with issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Schism #2

Dec 5, 2011

The ending has many of the core X-Men along with some of the young mutant students attending the opening of the San Fran Museum of Mutant history. Of course more of the Hellfire Clubs plan comes to light. Looks like issue three will be action packed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Schism #3

Dec 5, 2011

Great artwork this issue handled by Daniel Acuna. He was the perfect choice to handle this all out battle issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
X-Men: Schism #4

Dec 5, 2011

Not to ruin how Wolverine decides to deal with the situation I can say while his plan is playing out he and Cyclops eventually turn from arguing to all out brawling. This brawl is definitely the highlight of the issue. Its handled beautifully by the legendary artist Alan Davis. In fact Aaron steps aside and this epic battle between the two unfolds solely by the cinematic penmanship of the master Davis. No words were needed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
X-Men: Schism #5

Dec 5, 2011

Overall I thought this event was well done. I thought Aaron really set up the eventual brawl between Cyclops and Wolverine with great dialogue and a tension the reader could almost feel. I love his new villains running the Hellfire Club. I hope we see them soon. Great read!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
X-O Manowar (2017) #1

Mar 21, 2017

The writing's pretty straight forward and the artworks nice, I'm seeing some Kubert family influences on the characters, especially in the action panels and I love those "Gears of War" landscapes. I was pleasantly surprised to realize that this wasn't another reboot that DC and Marvel are famous for, but a continuation of one Valiant's most interesting characters. No spoilers, but issue #2 will be the one fans have been waiting for. Anyone else miss those creepy spider-aliens?

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

February

More