Steve J Ray's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 21
8.6Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #6

Mar 24, 2017

Dan Jurgens and Bernard Chang are onto a winner. Batman Beyond brings action, humour, character developement and surprises, wrapped up in gorgeous artwork. The whole package is a yummy bat-tastic delight. Now, Terry! Get off your heinie, leave Dana be and go and fight some ninjas!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #7

Apr 26, 2017

It's a joy when a tried and tested comics veteran like Dan Jurgens works with a fresh and promising new talent like Bernard Chang. The writing and the art combine to bring characters and situations – that could become stale under the guidance of lesser creators – and elevate them. This book is fun, it's reminiscent of the classics and yet totally in the now, all at the same time. Batman Beyond #7 gets a very healthy rating of:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #8

May 25, 2017

This month's instalment of Batman Beyond delivers in every way possible. Fantastic writing and art, action, thrills and surprises. We get a look into Bruce's past and a shocking glimpse of the future. When I say that Ra's Al Ghul isn't the man he used to be, I'm really not kidding! The cliff-hanger ending to this episode will grab Batman fans' attention and change the landscape of this series going forward. Excellent stuff.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman Beyond (2016) #9

Jun 30, 2017

With Bruce arriving on the scene to witness his sons attempting to kill each other as the climax to the issue, the desire to keep reading is intense. This book is all action, but without sacrificing the important character beats. Dan Jurgens' slow reveals of the new history between today's Batman and the Batman of the future, married to the superb visuals of Bernard Chang and Marcelo Maiolo make every issue a very satisfying read. "Rise Of The Demon," PartFour is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #952

Mar 10, 2017

James Tynion and his collaborators have delivered another hit with Detective Comics 952. The milestone 950th issue was truly just a taster of what is yet to come. My appetite is whetted and I really can't wait to sink my teeth into the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #953

Mar 22, 2017

Another rock solid romp. Action with depth, violence tempered with grace and spot on dialogue with character. I don't know if I'll have any nails left by the time issue #954 crash-lands into my inbox. This chapter gets a rip-roaring:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #954

Apr 12, 2017

This issue keeps the pressure building from the first page to the last, and there's a real sense of doom and foreboding raking at the readers' souls. This atmosphere and tension make this title a consistently entertaining read, therefore I have to give this issue another solid:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #955

Apr 26, 2017

Detective Comics is having an incredible run, right now. The book has consistent character development, thrilling writing and beautiful art. Add to all that the tension inducing and nail-biting cliffhangers – and the latest one is a killer – I am left with noother choice thanto give this issue the ever elusive (and richly deserved):

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #957

May 26, 2017

Whether it's multi-issue story arcs or single issue character pieces, Detective Comics doesn't put a single foot wrong. I can only describe this run as consistently superb. Roll on issue #958.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2016) #958

Jun 16, 2017

ConclusionDetective Comics keeps delivering great entertainment issue after issue. Consistently brilliant scripts, impressive new artists delivering equally impressive visuals and yet another “We should have seen that coming” denouement. Issue #958 receives another well deserved:

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #959

Jun 28, 2017

This issue is perfect. I read all the reviews my colleagues write and many of them rave, quite correctly, about the books they cover. Issue by issue Detective Comics just delivers and delivers. I can't fault a thing that this creative team does. Even the fill-in issues with guest artists are A++ quality, so the regular epics with a consistent team are comic-book clinics. Detective Comics is regularly the epitome of "How to make great comics".

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2016) #960

Jul 14, 2017

With magic brewing, spells being cast, plans coming to fruition, and danger on the horizon, I am one happy Bat-Fan. For two issues in a row now, I must give Detective Comics:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #13

Mar 8, 2017

As cliffhangers go, the one at the end of Suicide Squad#13 is a doozy! I need to see what happens next!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #14

Mar 22, 2017

I really shouldn't be surprised after reading comics for over 40 years, but DC is on a roll. I read the old Ostrander Suicide Squad comics back in the day, but only dipped in and out of the subsequent reboots. The work of Rob Williams and the gang is refreshing and really keeps me coming back for more. Suicide Squad #14 gets another solid:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #15

Apr 14, 2017

This title lulls the reader into a false sense of security like no other. One box has been closed, but another can has been opened, threatening to leak its wriggling, disgusting contents everywhere. Mister Williams and his collaborators have delivered another solid:

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #16

Apr 26, 2017

Right from the start, the quality of the writing on this title has been consistently high. There are always surprises and twists aplenty to engage the audience. Comics, though, are generally viewed as a marriage between writer and artist and supposed to give asum greater than its individual parts. In my humble opinion,the level of the artwork in this instance has not matched the standard of the writing, so I'm sad to only award this issue:

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #17

May 11, 2017

Rob Williams is taking this book to new heights and uncharted depths. His revelations and surprises still shock us and hold our interest. Harcourt's actions and their repercussions finally come to a head and the story's cliffhanger is, as usual, incentive for us to pick up the next instalment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #18

May 26, 2017

With a host of bat baddies, great action, romance and rambunctiousness Suicide Squad #18 ticks all the right boxes. As always the book closeswith a cliff-hanger, and an appearance by two of comics heavy-hitters. Bat-fans have always been treated by this title, but our unexpected visitors should bring in Man Of Steel fans too! Very entertaining stuff. I'm anxious to see what synapse sizzling scenes the next instalment will bring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #19

Jun 16, 2017

I count myself fortunate with the books I review. Suicide Squad hasn't always been the greatest comic in the world, but since the DC Rebirth Rob Williams has beenwriting one of the best team books on the shelves. In most instances his storieshave been complemented with some spectacular artwork.Suicide Squad19 continues this tradition.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #20

Jun 30, 2017

This team has earned Suicide Squad its first ever perfect score. DC's HR department have done a fine job managing people.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #21

Jul 14, 2017

I always enjoy seeing Amanda Waller being brought down a peg or two, and the comedy this issue helps diffuse a few shocking moments. I dread to think of how Enchantress will react when she wakes up… once you've read the issue you'll know what I mean! While not the strongest issue in the run, the latest Suicide Squadstill brings plenty to the table.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More