Steven Brown's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 131
7.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Action Comics (2011) #45

Oct 8, 2015

Overall I thought Action Comics #45 was a solid read. The pacing was great, artwork was ideal and we actually get to see how the world both views Clark Kent and Superman. Kuder and Pak throughout the book seems to show that Superman is having another side emerge. I remember the Superman I know as a trusting character, who gave everyone the benefit of the doubt until proven otherwise. Kuder and Pak toss this idea out the window–and I love it. This issue shows a Superman that's constantly on his guard, one who has to almost move through the shadows to find out the truth of what's going on and to ultimately stop Wrath. Action Comics #45 encourages to really ask this question–who really is Superman without Clark Kent? I believe we will see those answers pretty soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Action Comics (2011) #46

Nov 26, 2015

Overall I thought Action Comics #46 was a good read. Plenty of action and emotion, andwe get to see a very angry Superman–and to me that's always fun. Wrath seems to be a decent villain, however not really a memorable one but maybe this was never the writer's intention. It took me awhile to get on board with a “depowered” Superman but the more I've read the more I've liked so far. I have to admit that I want a return to the traditional cape but with the way Kuder and Pak have written it so far–I'm not rushing Superman's return to power anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2011) #47

Dec 9, 2015

Action Comics #47 gives you that exactly what's in the title"action. Each page keeps your eyes moving and Kuder and Jeanty's attention to detail is amazing. I'm one of those people that notice the small stuff on a page and Kuder and Jeanty take note of that. Everything from the strain of Clark's muscles while fighting, to seeing him sweat from his brow while wrestling Frankenstein is done flawlessly. We also get a particular treat in the end when we find out that Wrath isn't the mastermind Clark thought she was. An enemy of Superman's and the Justice League has been pulling the strings the entire time"and by the time you see who it is you'll never even suspect it. I know I didn't at all and I love it. Nothing wrong with a good surprise especially on the holidays"and Action Comics #47 gives you just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2011) #49

Feb 24, 2016

“Immortal Combat” is a great read. We finally see Superman with some semblance of his power back and Kuder and Syaf do a great job in showing us that. With everything we've been shown in this series I think what really stands out is Superman's character. This man has had his identity exposed, powers stripped, and he's almost died numerous times since–and he's still Superman. I think that's a testament to not only great writing by Kuder and Pak but to the core of Superman as a character himself. The “Savage Dawn” series is definitely worth the time and the buy– pick it up!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Action Comics (2011) #50

Apr 29, 2016

Action Comics #50 is a great read! It's a great build up to the conclusion of the war between Superman and Savage and it makes you eager to read the next issue! We have great fights, great cameos from other characters–and finally the return of the shield and cape! I'm really looking forward to seeing how all of this plays out.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Action Comics (2016) #959

Jul 13, 2016

"Path of Doom" is easily one of the best read stories I've reviewed so far. It's action packed, full of emotional moments between Lois and Superman's son Jon Kent, and I like the idea of Lex Luthor being a hero. Anytime Doomsday shows up be prepared for a lot of destruction and Jurgens and Kirkham give it to us here in spades. I'm anxious to see exactly how a Superman/ Lex Luthor team up would work"or if it's even possible? And the revelation of Jon Kent is exciting as well. Kirkham did a remarkable job showing the concern on the boy's face as he sees his father battle Doomsday on live television. I know it's a little early to call it but I'd love to see a Jon Kent meeting Damian Wayne at some point in the future! The sons of the two world's greatest heroes in one book? Make it happen DC!!! I loved reading Action Comics #959 and if you're a fan of slugfests and constant action then this is the issue for you!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batgirl (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

"Beyond Burnside Pt. 1" is a great introduction into the world of Batgirl if you've never been introduced to her before. I enjoy seeing her growth from Oracle in a wheelchair to being CEO of her own company. She even references her wheelchair days to Fruitbat which I love that Larson paid homage to that moment in her past. I love seeing supporting characters from the Batfamily having their own trials and tribulations without Batman having to get them out of it! Batman is obviously a great character, but he's so great that he overshadows characters like Robin, Batgirl, Red Hood etc. so it's good to see how these characters hold their own against their own villains. Definitely check out Batgirl #1!!! It's a great introduction to a great upcoming story!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2011) #52

May 31, 2016

“The List” is a good read on its own if you want to know some history to the story of Batman/Bruce Wayne. It gives us a story that shows the steps Bruce took to become the hero he is, and how unlike some who got powers or responsibility in their prime years, Bruce took the tough road of becoming a hero while literally still a child! Here we see a great story unfold around Batman and a pretty pointless villain–however the story surrounding Bruce is so entertaining you really don't care about the motivations of Crypsis. Check out Batman #52–if you're a fan of Bruce's origins its a read for you!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 15, 2016

I really thought "I Am Gotham" was a good and interesting read. Although it doesn't give us a clear villain or threat it still shows that the Batman we grew up with is still here. I'm glad to have Bruce back and King gives a great story that not only shows off Batman's intelligence but those infamous resources of his as well. If you want a good story that will introduce you to the world of Batman and Gotham" then this is it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #2

Jul 6, 2016

"I Am Gotham: Part Two" was a great read. I'm looking forward to seeing where this alliance between Batman, Gotham and Gotham Girl will go. I still believe that Batman is still studying his new allies for weaknesses but maybe Tom King will give us something different. In my gut I don't trust Gotham and Gotham Girl at all and I believe their real intentions will be exposed soon enough. I love the direction that Batman is going right now and this issue really gives the "detective" feel back to the Batman series! Read Batman #2! You won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #3

Jul 20, 2016

"I Am Gotham, Part 3" is a good solid follow up book. It gives us a unique look at Batman from the side of the detective" and I'm always a fan of that. Although the action is few in this book, King is obviously setting us up for something better in the next issue and this issue does a great job of setting it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #4

Aug 3, 2016

"I Am Gotham Part 4" is a great read! King makes up his lack of action in the previous issue and gives it to us here in spades! Finch makes every page look fantastic as we finally see Batman confront Gotham who has superhuman powers himself. I'm looking forward to see how Batman actually handles this situation from all fronts, with Strange and Psycho Pirate, then also having to deal with a crazed and emotionally broken Gotham. Then to make matters worse, what does Batman do when he figures out the government is involved? It seems that the plot really got thick in issue 4 and it definitely makes me excited for number 5!!! Check out Batman #4!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #5

Aug 18, 2016

"I Am Gotham Part 5" is an amazing read! Here we get great action and also a great story! King does a great job with the pacing of the book which gives you action and emotion on virtually every page. Finch multiplies the awesomeness further by giving us great artwork with it! Each panel from explosions, to confrontations, to the smallest emotional moment is done with painstaking effort. I've enjoyed Finch's work on this book so far and can't wait to see more of it. My only hope is that next issue we finally see Batman catch up to either Psycho Pirate and Strange"and don't forget that the government and Amanda Waller are still involved too! Definitely check out Batman #5, it's worth the read!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman (2016) #6

Sep 7, 2016

"I Am Gotham Epilogue" was a good read, although you'll really need to read the previous issues to see exactly what's going on. Ivan Reis' artistic style is wonderful and very well detailed although the beginning of the book has its slow moments. I liked how we are taken out for a day in the life of Gotham Girl"however remember she's currently unhinged so we're seeing her broken and unsure of her abilities at the same time. The best part about the book is the ending itself and the revelation that Batman makes and how it all links to that damn Amanda Waller! She is easily one of my favorite supporting characters period and I definitely want more of her in Batman's world! Check out Batman #6 and see what problems the Dark Knight has with Gotham Girl, Strange, and even the government! Great read!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #7

Sep 21, 2016

“Night of the Monster Men, Part 1” was a good read. Orlando and King do a great job of showing us not only Batman but his team as a whole operating under extreme circumstances and still making it work. Even when Nightwing has his doubts about the mission, Batman reassures him that they will save everyone—they have to. It's these small statements reinforced by bigger actions that makes Batman such an inspiration and a joy to read period. I'm eager to see exactly what Strange has planned since obviously that first monster was clearly in the testing stage. I've always been a fan of Strange as being a mental challenge to Batman and so far King and Orlando have stayed true to this formula. Strange has been pulling the strings the entire time, and just now we're seeing the consequences of it! I'm defining looking forward to reviewing the next issue — just like you should be reading this issue now!!! Check it out!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #9

Oct 19, 2016

Batman #9 is a good read and it's clear that King is setting up for some serious conflict in the next issue. As I stated in my negatives argument though I'm really not too clear on Batman's choices for the operation. I don't want to spoil it but let's just say they are way more powerful people for Batman to choose to work with so I'm eager to see exactly just how King makes this team work. I don't know at this point who Batman has to worry about, the infiltration at Santa Prisca or the Suicide Squad attempting to kill him before the mission even starts! Check out Batman #9! It's worth the read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #10

Nov 2, 2016

Batman #10 is a good read! It's always good to see Batman and Bane, perhaps one of the most dangerous rivalries in comics, go at it! There's also a new surprise about Bane and his addiction to Venom that I hope King explores more in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #11

Nov 16, 2016

Batman #11 is a great read and can stand on its own as a single book with a good story. I actually found myself however reading the previous issue again because I enjoyed Batman's infiltration into the prison which by itself is full of action, and of course that's before the encounter with Bane. I think we will find out Wesker's true purpose of being on Batman'sSuicide Squad in the next issue and with that I think we will finally have the rematch of Batman vs. Bane! That's something I'm definitely looking forward to!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #12

Dec 7, 2016

Batman #12 is a great follow up to the #11, which involved more stealth than combat! Batman's betrayal by a particular person has led to this drastic change of the plan, and now Batman is fighting to survive! I'm looking forward to seeing Batman's encounter with Bane in the tunnels beneath Santa Prisca!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #13

Dec 22, 2016

Batman #13 is an entertaining read but I definitely suggest reading the previous issues to get the entire story. Anytime there's an encounter between Batman and Bane I expect awesomeness! This issue gave me just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 4, 2017

Batman #8 is essentially a night out for Batman and Catwoman, with each showing the other how their lifestyles are so different with their masks. Catwoman gains a new respect for Batman towards the end of the book, as she's amazed at how dedicated he is every time that signal shines on each page. He never hesitates or wavers in his duty"and she admires that about him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #15

Jan 19, 2017

King brings Batman and Catwoman's dealings full circle in this issue and it's brilliant. Although Batman is a genius, combat expert, tactician, etc, he still has emotions and a heart and Selena tugs at them in this issue. He even admits towards the end of the book that she as a hold on him to a degree, and its more than just the masks that they share in common.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #16

Feb 1, 2017

Batman #16 is a good read. King does a great job of showing life without the masks for Batman and his boys as well too. Batman may be a loner, but its Bruce that has the need for family and it's shown here brilliantly. We also have some great action in the book as well, with an ending that I completely didn't see at all! Bane isn't present in this issue yet but he's already making his presence known!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman (2016) #17

Feb 15, 2017

Batman #17 is a good read. I enjoyed the entire issue from beginning to the end, and King satisfactorily answered the questions I had about Gotham Girl as well. I'm definitely looking forward to the confrontation between Bane and Batman, especially withthe situation Batman has now found himself in. David Finch's workgave usperfect shadows of the characters and their surroundings. Each page gave you a look as if you looking into the streets of Gotham yourself, and I hope he brings that same look to the next issue too! King leaves us on a cliffhanger where you already know that the next issue will be a fight between Batman and Bane! Can't wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #18

Mar 1, 2017

Batman #18 is a great read! I enjoyed the encounter between Batman and Bane and it's great knowing that in the next book the fight continues even further! I've always enjoyed the tactician Bane over the mindless Venom monster that we sometimes get, and King gives us the tactician I've always wanted from Bane in this book! I can't wait to see how the story ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #19

Mar 15, 2017

You would definitely need to read #18 first before immediately reading this issue, as this is nothing but pure action throughout. Here we have Bane unleashing all of his anger and hate towards the inmates and it was something to definitely see. King even leaves us on a cliffhanger where Bane does finally find Batman" fully suited up and ready fora fight! Great cliffhanger and I can't wait to see how this ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 5, 2017

This book to me will go down as a classic in the matches between Bane and Batman. Priest did a wonderful job of increasing the stakes in each issue, as we saw Bane and Batman play mental games with other as well throughout the entire series! I've stated before I've always hated whenever Bane was written as a simple "monster." To me he's waymore than that and Priest shows it all here in this series andmakes itgreat read.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #21

Apr 26, 2017

Batman #21 is definitely a must read in my opinion, especially if you're interested in seeing how Rebirth truly will play out. This book gave us action and raw emotion on from both Batman and Reverse-Flash. There's a moment where Eobard takes something personal from Bruce and it makes himsnap. This Flashpoint reference was very pivotal and even I forgot about the letter Thomas Wayne wrote to Bruce. I was excited to see that Tom King brought that up. With the Flash finally appearing at the end, I guess we'll finally see Batman and the Flash working side by side!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2016) #22

May 3, 2017

Tom King and Joshua Williamson have written an instant classic in my eyes and it was amazing from beginning to end! I can't wait to see what happens in the next issue as it can only get better from here! Hopefully we see Thomas Wayne at some point integrated in the DC Universe. He's a remarkable character as Batman and shows how great and influential he was as a father in this issue. Now if Tom and Joshua can do me favor " take it easy on the awesomeness, guys, my heart can only take so much!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

Overall I thought Batman #23 was an entertaining read. As I stated before, it's always good seeing Batman work so well with other heroes, and as always"he calls the shots. Mitch Gerads does a wonderful job of giving a film noir type look to the book itself. Each page shows the grit and grime of Gotham and I enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to the next issue as we find Swamp Thing leaving an angered Batman questioning his next move.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

Batman #24 is a great read. The ending is one in particular that will have real weight in future issues. I don't want to ruin the ending for you but I'm happy that Batman is finally taking steps to pursue happiness. Let's just see how long that happiness lasts however.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Batman (2016) #25

Jun 21, 2017

Overall Batman #25 was a solid issue. It's not focused at all on Batman, but that's not a bad thing. Tom King has made me a Riddler fan in this issue, and after seeing how Joker nearly kills him at the end, I really hope Riddler gets his revenge! I can already tell that Tom King plans to make this series a mental tug of war between two dangerous villains. I can't wait to see how Batman ultimately stops this war!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #28

Apr 14, 2016

“Universe's Finest” gets a good score in my book. If you're a fan of Batman/ Superman team ups, then you'll enjoy this book. You readers know how I feel about my action sequences, and although this issue stops short of giving us alot, its completely justified in doing so. I believe that the next issue will either expose this unknown threat, or it will produce more answers that will eventually give our heroes a villain to fight. However this issue is still an entertaining read if you're a fan of two of the world's greatest heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Superman (2013) #31

May 13, 2016

Batman/Superman #31 is good read. “Dark Discovery” really shows us the friendship that Superman and Batman have and also Bruce's desire to keep all of his friends and family safe–even if it's impossible. We also see Batman's new suit showed off in this issue, which I completely love by the way. It stays traditional and tactical while adding some color that really helps it stand out. I really like it. I'm looking forward to reading the next issue of Batman/Superman–you should too!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Europa #2

Dec 30, 2015

I thought Batman Europa #2 was awesome. Everything from the penciling and the writing makes it worth the read. Anytime that you have two of the most iconic enemies joining forces it's definitely worth looking at. Pick up Batman Europa #2" you won't be disappointed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Europa #3

Jan 15, 2016

I thought Batman Europa #3 was a great read. It has plenty of action, great dialogue between Batman and the Joker and you really get to see how the mind of the Joker works. Although he's really crazy, there's some sanity in his methods too and it really shines when you see Batman having no choice but to rely on him. If you're a fan of the Joker or if you just like seeing the relationship between these two timeless icons unfold then this is the book for you! I can guarantee it!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyborg (2016) #1

Sep 21, 2016

“The Imitation of Life, Part 1” was an interesting read because it showed us a hero who's unsure of himself. Victor is probably the only hero on the Justice League that's not sure of himselfbecause of who he is — half man and half machine. These pages show a man that's at odds with himself constantly because he doesn't know exactly what he is, and the big reveal about his Dad's recording last issue doesn't exactly make him feel better either. I hope that Semper keeps up this story of Cyborg trying to gain some identity of his human self while trying to still be a hero — and I'm also eager to see if he'll eventually confront Dr. Stone about that recording he made as well! Definitely check out Cyborg! It's worth the read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #2

Oct 5, 2016

Cyborg #2 is a great read if you're a Cyborg fan and a great read if you're not. You don't have to know what's happened in the previous issue to dive in and enjoy, but you will want to read the next with the cliffhanger they leave at the end. Not to spoil it for you, but even in Killgore's defeat Victor still has no closure although he thinks he does — and that's dangerous. I can't wait to see how Victor responds when the truth is revealed! Check out Cyborg#2!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #3

Oct 19, 2016

Cyborg #3 is a great read! Now I recommend reading at least issue #2 before diving into this one, but this issue stands fine on its own as well. Semper gives us plenty of action against a vengeful Justice League, who seems ready to send Cyborg to the scrap pile! Semper also gives us a quick look at the first battle the Justice League fought against Darkseid in the New 52, and what would've happened if Cyborg would've never sent the God of Apokolips home using the boom tube. I gotta admit the alternate story was pretty dark, and Semper does a great job of telling it! Check out Cyborg #3! It's definitely worth the read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #4

Nov 2, 2016

Cyborg #4 is a great read! From the first issue to this recent one its been truly a good time to be a Cyborg fan. I have to admit that when Cyborg first made the leap to being one of the League's members years ago, I was one of the few who was hesitant. However that was because I've always known Victor as a Teen Titan. I never thought of him in the same class as the “heavyweights” of the DC Universe. Thankfully I can say that I'm wrong! This issue and really the entire series so far proves just how powerful and dangerous Cyborg can really be, and exactly why he actually belongs on the League!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Cyborg (2016) #6

Dec 7, 2016

Cyborg #6 really shows you how vulnerable Cyborg is and there's nothing wrong with that. Immediately once Agent Taylor, now known as Variant, came to life, Victor says he knows how she must feel.He lets her know he's finally relieved not to be the only one that's a walking CPU. The ending is where Semper, Jr. really threw me off and that's great, because I totally didn't see this twist, and I think it will mess with Victor's mind for a while.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cyborg (2016) #7

Dec 22, 2016

Cyborg #7 is an enjoyable read and helps you understand how ultimately alone Victor feels. Throughout the course of this series no matter who he's encountered, for better or worse, he's always been different. The making of Variant changed that for him and made him feel better about himself as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #8

Jan 4, 2017

Cyborg #8 is a good read, and is something can be read separate from the series as well. My only complaint is to the introduction of the villain that Cyborg now faces. I hope that there is more backstory to his hatred of both Silas and Victor and maybe that will better justify his actions so far in the series. Cyborg has actually grown on me as a book because before that I only knew him as a Teen Titan for years, and that was before him being a part of the Justice League. It would be nice to see Cyborg have his own "Luthor" or "Joker" type of villain that forces him to elevate himself as a hero. If this is what Semper Jr. has in mind then I'm definitely all for it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #9

Feb 1, 2017

Cyborg #9 is a good read! I enjoyed the final reveal about the villain, and Cyborg now knows that this father is being held hostage. I'm eager to see how he plans to get Dr. Stone back, but also what Anomaly's revelation does to their relationship as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cyborg (2016) #10

Mar 1, 2017

I thought Semper Jr. told a good story.However, it was the unnecessary addition of another hero that ultimately drags it down. The last few issues have been strictly Exxy and Cyborg dealing with Anomaly, so maybe Semper was hoping to change things up a little. Honestly I feel like he should've stuck with the relationship between Exxy and Cyborg, which takes a backseat in this issue because of Black Narcissus and I didn't like it at all.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Cyborg (2016) #11

Apr 5, 2017

Although Will Conrad delivers great detail in his pencils and overall work, its the story that Semper Jr. provides that makes it fall flat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg (2016) #12

May 3, 2017

Overall this was a great issue, although it was really the return of Exxy that I was most happy about. In the end it seems that the two come to terms that they are more than just friends and that they're actually partners when it comes to stopping Anomaly.Hopefully next issue we get to see exactly what Anomaly's endgame is and how it will affect Cyborg and S.T.A.R. Labs.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Cyborg (2016) #13

Jun 7, 2017

Cyborg #13 is a great read. If you enjoy the interaction between Exxy and Cyborg, you'll enjoy this issue. We also have plenty of action, a great backstory, and finally the big reveal at the end. It seems that Cyborg may have jumped into something he didn't expect while attempting to infiltrate S.T.A.R. Labs again. It's a shame we have to wait until the next issue to see exactly what's next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Cyborg: Rebirth #1

Sep 7, 2016

The #1 issue for Cyborg is a great read if you love origin stories. Semper and Pelletier do a great job of showing not only Victor but also his father, Dr. Stone, in a completely different light than we might have already known.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #6

Oct 19, 2016

Dark Knight III: The Master Race#6 is a good book, but better if read as part of the collection. I'd definitely suggest going back and catching up before immediately diving in this one. I'm a fan of Frank Miller and love this particular series, but please change Carrie's costume! It's the only fault I can actually find in the entire read. The Dark Knight Returnsis a good book and very inspirational as well. To me Miller is basically telling us about the last days of Batman's career in a way. I find it inspirational in that it doesn't matter how old Bruce is, he still knows he has a mission to accomplish in life and he won't stop until he's done. I think a lot us would love to have a drive and dedication like Batman does. I'm not gonna tell you to purchase The Master Race #6 –I'm telling you to purchase ALL the issues! I guarantee you won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #7

Dec 28, 2016

This issue was awesome! Miller and Azzarello gave us a story full of action and emotion on all sides and it was told well. Each character in the book, whether hero or villain, has a motivation or goal " but it doesn't feel like too much is going on at once. Miller and Azzarello give us a war that we not only experience from Batman and Superman's point of view, but also that of the Commissioner, Carrie Kelley, Kara and others. I can't wait to see the fallout from Batman's return from near death, and we still have an invasion of Paradise Island that's coming as well. I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how the next issue plays out. Maybe we'll finally see Wonder Woman's return!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 29, 2017

The Master Race #8 is a great read if you've been following the series as a whole. The relationships between allies and friends are explored, and we actually see that the members of the Justice League are more than just members " they are actual friends who'd die for each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #9

Jun 7, 2017

The Master Race was a great series, period! The action was intense, the bond between Superman and Batman reinforced, and we get to see an older Justice League in action. It's very rare in a series where you see the growth of all characters and their consequences carry so much weight, but Miller and Azzarello do it flawlessly. This is definitely a series I will be reading over again very soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love #1

Oct 5, 2016

Deadman #1 was a decent read. If you're a fan of suspense and the supernatural or unknown this obviously this book is for you. I haven't read many of the supernatural books of the heroes of the DCU unless it's been Constantine or Doctor Fate or so it's good to enjoy a completely different character. Definitely read Deadman #1 and I promise you won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love #2

Dec 7, 2016

Deadman #2 is a good book to read as a followup to its previous issue. Although not meant to be a standalone issue, if you've never read Deadman before, it's a great introduction to the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deadman: Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love #3

Feb 8, 2017

Dark Mansion of Forbidden Love #3 is a great read, but definitely pick up the previous issues before reading this one. Sarah Vaughn answers everything in this issue, and the action is pretty good too. I look forward to seeing exactly where Boston went to in his next issue. I was never really a fan of Deadman"when it comes to the supernatural I've always like John Constantine, however Sarah Vaughn has made me embrace Deadman more. I can't wait to see how the next issue starts up!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #1

Aug 24, 2016

"Among Thieves" is a great read and makes you want the next issue immediately. Priest does a great job of giving Deathstroke an actual conscience in this book instead of the regular mercenary for hire that you're use to seeing in other appearances by Deathstroke. As I said in my previous review, this is my first time even reading a Deathstroke title"and Priest has made me regret absolutely nothing about it!!! I love when we see the dark side of DC Universe and that's exactly what we have here in this title. Deathstroke's world isn't all superpowers and abilities. Priest gives us the guts of the DC Universe in these issues by showing us how the villains deal with things on their own terms and I love it!!! If you're a fan of Deathstroke definitely check this issue out, and if you're not" I promise that you will be by the last panel of the book!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

“Band of Brothers” is a good read although not a solid stand alone book. You really need to read the previous issue to understand what exactly is going on here. Priest does a great job of actually humanizing the mercenary Deathstroke and making him appear more than just a criminal. Here we have glimpses of his past as a father and a soldier and now I'm starting to wonder will the series actually cover any of his history in the military! I want to know just exactly why did Slade become a mercenary instead of a hero, especially when his record shows us different! I'm already looking for to the next issue and once you read Deathstroke #2 you will be too!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

Deathstroke #3 is a great read, especially if you've already been following the character. The story is awesome and Joe Bennett's detailing is amazing and showcased perfectly. You can see how distinct he makes Rose's and Slade's suits and both look great! I love how Rose pays homage to her father with her uniform without exactly copying his style. Priest himself makes the book completely stand on its own so this is a book you can actually read without having read the previous issues. I know I've said it in my reviews before, but I have to compliment how much of a fresh look Priest is giving us with Deathstroke's character. Here in this particular issue we see how he copes with loss, and what it does to him. Not to spoil it for you, but I believe this particular loss leads to his focusing on protecting Rose so much, so it's good to see a real villain with a conscience. I wasn't disappointed reading Deathstroke #3 — and you won't be, either!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #4

Oct 12, 2016

Deathstroke #4 is a great read! It starts off pretty slow because of the “road trip” vibe, but because of the world of Slade Wilson we soon get nothing but action throughout! I'm particularly enjoying the connection that's starting to form between Wilson and his daughter especially. If you've been reading the previous issues, the relationship between Rose and Slade is slowly evolving and I enjoy that. When we look into Wilson's history and see his immense losses, especially with his own sons you can see why he hesitates to be close with Rose. Priest does a great job of explaining all of it perfectly and I have to admit that although he's a cold-hearted murderer, Deathstroke has some good fatherly moments about him too! If you've even been a fan of Deathstroke, or even remotely curious about his backstory then I definitely suggest you read this issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #6

Nov 10, 2016

Deathstroke #6 was a great read and a decent follow up to the previous issue and I can't wait to see what happens next, after receivingthe revelation that comes near the end of the book. It seems that Sladeis still struggling with skeletons in the past still coming around in the present. I think that very same struggle is something we all can identify with to a degree.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #7

Nov 23, 2016

Deathstroke #7 is a good read but better when you're reading the entire series as a whole. This is basically coming to a conclusion of what's been going on in the previous issues so by itself this issue doesn't give too much. As part of the whole Priest is giving us a great ride as seen by one of the deadliest men on the planet! I'm definitely looking forward to seeing how Deathstroke holds his own against the Man of Steel!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #8

Dec 14, 2016

Hands down this book is insane! I went into it think a fight against Superman would be extremely one sided, however Slade shows off his skills in stealth and being a tactician. The story was great, the action flawless and I can only hope their will be another Deathstroke vs Superman encounter in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Deathstroke (2016) #9

Dec 28, 2016

Deathstroke #9 is a good story that basically gives you a look into the history of Slade Wilson from his military days. Here we get a glimpse into the life of a villain who calls himself a "personal security contractor." That part had me laughing a little bit when he tells that to the person that's interviewing him. I'm just looking forward to how exactly the breakout will happen, and hopefully Rose may be involved to some extent, although she's doing her own thing at the moment as shown in this book as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #10

Jan 11, 2017

Deathstroke #10 is a good title, but it could've been a little better. I give Priest a break on this one because of the fact that Wilson is currently locked up with only the Navy officer to talk to " so there's little room for much else. However we do get more information on how Deathstroke's abilities work and I have to admit it's pretty impressive. What I'd like to know, and it's something that Priest hasn't covered yet, is exactly what happened that turned Wilson rogue? What makes such a decorated soldier who enlists at the young age of 17 become a hardened assassin? Hopefully as the story goes on we'll get to see that one event " or person that made Wilson the man he is today.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #11

Jan 25, 2017

Deathstroke #11 is a great read and I hope DC continues to put out more titles that talk about and tackle issues like this book did. It wasn't too political and it still kept me plenty entertained while at the same time forcing me to think. I hope Priest and other writers at DC continue to put out good, informative stories like this one in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #12

Feb 8, 2017

Deathstroke #12 is a good read. I'd recommend reading at least the previous two issues before diving into this one however. Priest tells a good story and along with Joe Bennett's art it just gets better. Bennett's detail of characters and background is amazing and I look forward to seeing more in later books.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #13

Feb 23, 2017

Deathstroke #13 is an awesome read but I really missed seeing Rose in this issue. I know Priest can't include her in every book though so I completely understand. Overall the pacing is great, the action was flawless, and the pencils by Joe Bennett were amazing. His eye to detail of every scene was perfect and combined with the writing of Priest it makes for a good overall story. The ending is what really still gets me as it shows how low sometimes Deathstroke can be. When is a villain not ever a villain?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #14

Mar 8, 2017

I thought Deathstroke #14 was a good read. I didn't expect the plot twist, I was happy to have Rose appear once again, and Joe Bennett did an awesome job with the pencils and details. I can't wait to see how next issue starts since Priest leaves us with a crazy cliffhanger at the end!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #15

Mar 22, 2017

Deathstroke #15 is a good read, especially is you've been reading the series as a whole. Rose has finally decided to leave home, and I'm excited that she's ready to go back into the world. She seems determined not to follow in Slade's footsteps and I'm eager to see how she goes about doing things differently. Tanya was alsoa great addition, and I must admit I thought she'd slow Slade down. Priest proved me wrong and I loved her interactions with Slade, and she proved just how valuable she was to him. Priestat the book's conclusiondoes a wonderful job of leaving us on a cliffhanger that involves a blind Deathstroke in a shootout!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #16

Apr 5, 2017

Overall Deathstroke #16 was a good read. Slade really shows us how adaptive he is in this book as well. It's amazing how when faced with all of the obstacles in front of him Slade still finds away to overcome! I'm definitely looking forward to the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #17

Apr 19, 2017

Deathstroke #17 wraps up a lot of the character interactions in Slade Wilson's world. Although there are a lot of supporting characters in this issue, Priest doesn't slow the feel of the book because of it. Instead he gives you brief but harsh truths that come out from the supporting cast of Slade's world, while at the same time keeping you focused on the fight between Slade and Tanya. I'm definitely looking forward to next issue as we have Slade attending his son's own wedding " with consequences, I'm sure.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #18

May 3, 2017

Overall I thought that Priest told a great emotion-driven story in this issue. Everything that Slade has done has come home to roost and in the end he had to know it would at some point. In some ways I feel sympathy for Slade, but then I'm reminded that a lot of the pain he has is caused by his own actions as well. Everyone he gets close to ends up becoming bitter and hateful toward him. The more I read this series the more I want redemption for Deathstroke at some point. He's too good of a character to stay completely a villain.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #19

May 24, 2017

Deathstroke #19 is a good read. It has plenty of action, and the art provided by Carlo and Roberto is awesome. Each page is full of color and life, and even the fight scenes were vivid and intense! I admit that I love having Deathstroke using the speedforce for his benefit! It's clear that he enjoys the near godlike power that he has, and I can't wait to see how the Titans attempt to take him down!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #20

Jun 7, 2017

Deathstroke #20 isn't memorable because of action, or any one particular moment, but it's memorable because it serves as a turning point for Slade's story. Everything he's done from murder, to betrayal, to the lies"all has to be redeemed and paid for. My only concern is that I've grown so attached to Deathstroke that I really hope that this isn't some elaborate deceit. Only Deathstroke knows his intentions"and Priest does a great job of showing them!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke: Rebirth #1

Aug 10, 2016

Deathstroke Rebirth is a great read! I've never actually read a titled Deathstroke book before and this one has me excited! I've always thought Slade was a great character in his own right, and this issue shows you just how badass he is! Priest and Carlo give us something that looks past Deathstroke the super villain and instead gives us a man" a man with a conflicted and broken past that comes back to haunt him. I think we can all identify with that in some point in our lives. I love when we get to see the backstories and flaws of our greatest DC villains"check out Deathstroke Rebirth!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Detective Comics (2011) #45

Oct 8, 2015

I have to say the Detective Comics #45 was a pretty good read. The artwork was great and the storytelling was strong. Tomasi really shows in the first few pages just how important Bruce as Batman was to the League. If Superman and Wonder Woman are the muscle of the group, then Batman is definitely the brain"and they struggle without him.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #47

Dec 13, 2015

I thought #47 was a good read, especially if you like to see the interactions of Tim, Damian, and Jason. We get very few issues where we see them all together, so when it does happen I definitely like to read it. I won't spoil it for you but once the mastermind is revealed it really throws everything you think out the window"I never saw it coming myself. If you're a fan of the Robin character in general then this is a great read for you! And if you're not then it's an issue that will definitely make you a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #48

Jan 27, 2016

“Blood of Heroes” is a good, solid and entertaining read. It has its elements of intense action, but here we see Jim's detective skills at work and its almost flawless. In some scenes Jim reminds you of “our” Batman and Tomasi does a good job of showing us that. The supporting cast of Barbara and Harvey don't feel rushed in or forced in this issue and its good seeing Jim interact with the people before he put on the cowl. I'm not big on admitting when I'm wrong but yea– I was wrong…each issue Jim gets more awesome! Buy the book!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #49

Mar 8, 2016

Detective Comics #49 is a good read! I'm enjoying Gordon's run as the Batman! It's pretty interesting to see life outside of the batcave, Alfred, Robin and etc. Pretty much everything we've known about Batman has been tossed out the window for a moment– and that's completely fine. With Gordon we have a completely new, yet familiar set of supporting characters that make for a great story. Definitely check out Detective Comics #49–its worth your time–and your money!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #50

Mar 27, 2016

Tomasi, Pasarin, and Takara give us a great story in “Martyrs and Madmen”. The series as a whole is a great read and if you were ever not sold on Gordon as Batman this series will definitely make you change your mind. I'm now eager to see where else if possible could Gordon go with his role as the Bat. If you were ever unsure about Gordon bearing the Bat-symbol I suggest you read Detective Comics #50!!! You'll change your mind!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #1

Sep 14, 2016

If you're already a fan of Doom Patrol then I think this will be a great read for you! However if you're a novice to the book like me then you'll probably want to either read previous issues of the book or get the next issue along with this one to give it a proper shot. I really enjoyed the character of Casey Brinke and I hope to see more of what her true role is in the series itself but the first issue really doesn't set you up for that. The ending instead takes you somewhere else completely and makes you wonder what exactly this has to do with Casey at all? Gerard Way has an interesting way of wanting you to grab another issue of Doom Patrol but I just hope that when I do I'll at least have some of my questions answered about the ending.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Doom Patrol (2016) #2

Oct 12, 2016

Doom Patrol #2 is an issue that can't be read on its own, but that's not a bad thing at all. I personally went back and read the first issue but not because I needed to, but because I wanted to see the story unfold again as a whole and that's a good thing. It seems that towards the end of the issue Casey is about to begin a journey that will hopefully answer all of her questions and mine as well! It seems that in a way Casey Brinke is alike many of us — she's just a girl who wants answers on what direction her life is really supposed to go. I'm really enjoying the journey that she's only started to take so far. Check out Doom Patrol so you can witness it for yourself!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #1

Dec 14, 2016

Society was a good read but definitely must be read with the previous issue. It directly throws you into the action and we all know how much I'm a fan of that. Abnett does a wonderful job showing heroes who've already seen a world lost, but now they make sure it won't and can't happen again. I'm excited to see how the next issue plays out with the Ultra-Humanite.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: Society #13

Jun 15, 2016

A Whole New World is a decent read, but it could've been more to it. We don't see the reveal of our new villain until the end, which is fine however the rest of the book comes off as a giant discussion about Fury's proposal to save them all. I'm sure that Abnett is using this particular issue as a stepping stone to something else, so I'll give him a pass here on the slow pacing of the book. Dan's previous stories always involve build up to something dramatic, and that's what he's done here in this issue. I love Dan's attention to every part of the story here, and you really get an idea of what every hero's stance is in allowing Fury to use this technology to possibly save them and the world. I believe we're gonna be looking at a great story in the next issues coming up! Check out Earth 2 #13 and see for yourself!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2: Society #16

Sep 14, 2016

“A Whole New World” is a great read! Dan Abnett shows us a world where our heroes are not only flawed, but they actually failed. They failed saving their world and in those ashes they're trying to build something better. The Wonders face the same challenges from the villains of old, and although there's still a Superman, Batman, and a Wonder Woman to protect this new world — will it be enough? Combined with the writing talents of Abnett and the artistry of Hernandez you see how grim this Earth 2 is in a great detail. Abnett shows us a world where our heroes actually failed us, but they're still fighting the good fight anyway. I can't wait to see the ramifications of Fury opening Pandora's Box as Abnett gives us a very satisfying cliffhanger to think on until the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #17

Oct 12, 2016

Earth 2 #17 is a great read! I'd recommend reading the previous issues as well to prevent getting confused about the story.However, if you're interested in seeing how good the Earth 2 heroes are in combat, then this a good book to read! Each page is full of action, along with a great story as well! Each time I turned a page I kept hoping it wasn't gonna be the last one! I'm really looking forward to finding out if Ultra-Humanite is still alive and inside of Pandora's Box. If he is, I'm sure there will be hell to pay to the heroes, especially Fury!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: Society #18

Nov 10, 2016

Earth 2 was, as always, a good read. I'd recommend reading at least the previous two issues to have a clear understanding of what's happening here in this issue though. The issue is a great read, but not something meant to be read completely on its own. Abnett does a wonderful job writingheroes who are struggling not only to fight the good fight but just to rebuild a broken world, period.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2: Society #20

Jan 11, 2017

This issue was pretty good if you've been reading the last few books. I didn't like the character of the Ultra-Humanite at all, but Abnett definitely changed my mind with this issue. Hopefully we'll see more of the Ultra-Humanite because I've become a fan!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Earth 2: Society #21

Feb 8, 2017

Earth 2 Society #21 was a great read. I'm looking forward to the next issue, especially after the ending that we received in this one. We have the return a crucial character in this issue, and his encounter against Superman and the other wonders was epic!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Earth 2: Society #22

Mar 8, 2017

I thought that Earth 2 was a good read. There is no real threat in this book, as we see the Wonders pretty much just stopping everyday crime. However Abnett does a great job at showing the hope and optimism that these heroes have. They truly survived their entire world being lost, and they definitely won't let it happen again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Flash (2011) #1

Nov 23, 2015

Overall I thought Gorilla Warfare was a great and solid episode. We saw the return of Henry Allen, the revelation of more heroes to come through Cisco's vibe, and also we see a glimpse of Gorilla City- which hopefully means Grodd's return. The writers of The Flash continue to not disappoint me and I'm definitely glad that we se Earth 2's Dr. Wells sacrifice to save Caitlin's life. I hope that this changes the interaction between himself and the rest of the team. Will Grodd return? Does Dr. Wells finally have a way of stopping Zoom? I promise you that you'll be asking the same questions right after you see the show credits.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Harley Quinn and Her Gang Of Harleys #6

Sep 28, 2016

If you're a fan of Harley Quinn, or you just want to enjoy a good read then this an issue that's definitely for you. It wouldn't be Harley Quinn if it didn't have some funny moments in it — and that it does. I went into this book thinking it was going to be boredom. I'm glad that it wasn't. I was thinking boredom because I usually review Batman, Action Comics, or other “standard” bearing issues, so Harley Quinn was outside my realm. I'm glad to say I took that step outside what I normally read here and actually enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to actually reading more issues of Harley Quinn to see how this group deals with certain threats in the future.Check out Harley Quinn and her Gang of Harleys— you'll definitely enjoy it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Injustice: Year Five #26

Jun 23, 2016

Injustice #26 just like the series as a whole was a good read. Injustice hands down has to be one of the best non canon comic book series I've ever read. It's a great spin on morals and what exactly is justice and revenge"and it shows us the consequences of crossing the line. The emotional story between Bruce and Damian is shown well here and you can clearly see the Bruce gives Damian chances to constantly redeem himself"but it's apparent he's too far gone. Check out Injustice #26 and I promise you a great story!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Injustice: Year Five #29

Jul 18, 2016

"Thrones" from start to finish kept me interested. Hands down I think Injustice is one of the best comic book series ever written by DC. Although it's not canon from the first issue to now has been a giant emotional rollercoaster. Buccellato does a wonderful job of showing us just how thin the line between hero and villain is. I think the greatest spin of it all is the fact that it's Superman that's the villain here. I've been reading this series since it's launch and I've seen Superman go from unshakable hero, to unquestionable dictator and it's a great ride. Check out Injustice #29!!! Great read!!!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2015) #4

Oct 16, 2015

Overall I thought Justice League of America #4 was a solid issue. It doesn't give you a major fight–but I think Hitch is saving that for the endgame. He does a good job showing the League trying to understand how the world they've fought for is slowly being undone around them. Average people are being converted and its obvious that there is an bigger scheme that Rao is orchestrating. Just exactly what we don't know and that's the part I really do love. Hitch never shows you Rao's master plan and everything that Rao says in this issue makes you think he has humanity's best interest at heart although you already know otherwise.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2015) #5

Dec 7, 2015

Overall I thought this was a great read. Justice League of America #5 gives us a view in the life of one of the most powerful members of the Justice League. It seems that J'onn struggles with his own past versus his present humanity often sets him apart from the League, however it seems to also make him more human than counterparts. With just one thought he could make you do his bidding or if he wanted he could erase your mind entirely and these very abilities often makes him question where he exactly belongs. If you're fan of the Martian Manhunter then this isa great read for you"and if you're not I guarantee that once you finish reading this issue you will be.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #4

Apr 12, 2017

JLA #4 is a great read that's full of action and the dialogue between characters is awesome. Batman is a badass like always and it seems no matter the company he keeps,he always has to take charge of the situation. It seems that Batman and Vixen share the leadership of the team, and Vixen is looking to be a great leader so far. I'm looking forward to seeing what threats a team like this could possibly face in the future!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #5

Apr 26, 2017

Justice League of America #5 has plenty of action, a great story and hopefully the beginnings ofa pretty solid villain. The addition of Batman leading the team is something I hope is temporary, but so far I've enjoyed it. Andy MacDonald does a wonderful job with our artwork as each fight and each emotional moment is done with detail. A particular good moment happens between Lobo and Batman in which Batman reminds Lobo exactly what kind of person he can be. I thought that this was a really good point in the story and I can't wait to see how the League reacts to Aegeus' entire flying army!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #6

May 10, 2017

Overall Justice League of America #6 is a decent read. There's plenty of action, a good story, and I love to see things from a villain's point of view. The struggles that Lobo and Killer Frost make to being heroes go from straight funny, to some serious emotional moments. It seems that there's alsoa connection between the Atom and Lobo as well and I hope Orlando definitely explores that in an issue! With the Atom being so smart and serious, contrasted by Lobo's craziness, I can only imagine what would happen with those two! I must admit that I was pretty uncertain about the team that Batman had put together, but so far I'm enjoying the ride!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League of America (2017) #7

May 24, 2017

Justice League of America was a good read and I'm already looking forward to the next issue. This story seems to be mainly about redemption for Killer Frost and I'm completely ok with that. For some reason certain villains of the DC universe I actually cheer for"Killer Frost, Deathstroke, or Captain Cold for example. Although they're bad people, you can't help but to want the best for them. Maybe that's because there's a little bit of villain in all of us that we can identify with and we can sympathize with these and other villains to a degree. Either way I can't wait to see how this relationship between Atom and Killer Frost plays out"she really deserves a win.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America (2017) #8

Jun 14, 2017

I enjoyed Orlando's spin on a homicidal Tarzan who I can't wait see take on the Justice League of America. From the early pages of the book, we see Makson as being a pretty fierce fighter, so it's a safe bet he's gonna give Vixen, Black Canary, and maybe even Batman a run. Orlando leaves the book on a cliffhanger with the plan being revealed " just as it's about to be carried out! Hopefully the League can stop it in time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1

Dec 22, 2016

Justice League vs Suicide Squad is already becoming a favorite book of mine in only it's first issue! The Justice League has been on course against the government before but Waller is someone to be taken seriously. Always one of my favorite DC characters, although she has no powers Waller is one of the most dangerous women on the planet in my opinion. So far Williamson is showing us why she is, and I'm enjoying it!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #2

Dec 28, 2016

Justice League Vs Suicide Squad #2 is a good read and if you're a fan of either group you'll definitely enjoy it! Like I said before, I went intothis bookthinking this was going to be a one-sided event but Williamson proves us wrong with that one! The Squad not only shows how dangerous they are, but so has Amanda Waller. I swear she's one of the few characters I love but hate at the same time. She has admirable goals for keeping innocents and the country safe. However with her ANY means justify the overall goal and that is what makes her so dangerous. Now I'm wondering what exactly will she do with a captured Justice League?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #3

Jan 4, 2017

Justice League Vs Suicide Squad #3 is a great read! You have plenty of action, plenty of heroes and villains, and just when you think it couldn't get any better " it does! I'm looking forward to seeing exactly how Waller's Suicide Squad and the Justice League work together especially since the team's best two tacticians, Batman and Deadshot, are bitter enemies. Also I think there has to be more to Max Lord's plan than just simply killing Waller. Throughout the course of the issues Max is slowly enacting a plan piece by piece, and his own team has no idea what he's doing. He's keeping the master plan all to himself, and it seems that it may be revealed next issue as well. So far I'm enjoying the series and expecting the next one to be just as amazing.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #4

Jan 11, 2017

This book is strictly action with the appetizers being the story itself and that's completely okay! Williamson does awesome work with the team-ups of heroes and villains along with the conversations that take place the action starts. It's rare that I bust out laughing while reading a comic, but I found myself doing it here. Once you combine that with the art of Fernando Pasarin whose detail throughout the series has been remarkable, you instantly get a favorite. The story isn't even over yet and I already know that this particular series is going to be a personal favorite of mine for a long time.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League: Darkseid War: Lex Luthor #1

Dec 17, 2015

I thought "The Omega Judgment" was a good read. It gives you a chance to look inside the mind and machinations of one the DC Universe's greatest villians. Manapul and Dazo do a great job of showing you Lex's triumphs, failures, and struggles however I felt that the ending was too open ended. I was left with too many questions and not a hint of what's next for Lex. Will he return to Earth with his godly power? Will he remain to rule Apokolips? Does he ever encounter the Justice League who also have the power of the gods as well? Nothing wrong with asking these questions however I just wish that Manapul and Dazo perhaps would've gave us a hint of what Lex's plans are"but then again do we ever know truly what Lex has planned? Check out Justice League: Lex Luthor #1 and see what happens when powerful men acquire absolute power"its nothing good!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #44

Oct 5, 2015

Yangimpresses with his writing which makes you feel Clark's struggle from adapting from being Superman almost all the time. while showing that being friends or even an associate of a super hero can have consequences. Will we see Superman maybe assume another identity? Will he become a 24 hour a day Superman? Yes, I'm definitely asking these questions and after reading Superman #44 you will too!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #45

Oct 29, 2015

I thought Superman #45 was a great issue. It was an interesting read, and Yang and Howard did a great job on the action scenes"we all know I love those. Here we actually see Superman in a familiar element fighting the bad guys but its more difficult. No super-speed, heat vision, even his strength is almost not a factor" and I love it. At first I got to admit I was not on board but I was proven wrong. Superman #45 shows you that it takes more than powers and a cape to be Superman. It takes courage, conviction and belief to always place others above yourself. Clark hasn't stopped doing that yet"and it makes me more of a Superman fan than before.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman (2011) #47

Jan 8, 2016

This issue of Superman was a great and enjoyable read. The more issues I read from Yang on Superman the more I like. I've said from the beginning of my coverage of this issue I wasn't a fan of the depowered Superman but Yang makes us actually appreciate this particular Superman. I like that although he's gone through his identity being tossed out the window, his powers have been drained, and his allies few"Superman still remains in his character. Its a great storytelling concept that makes you actually want more. You want my advice? Pick up Superman #47"its something you'll want to finish.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Superman (2011) #49

Mar 8, 2016

Superman #49 is a great read! Superman is knocking his enemies around, Wonder Woman is knocking her enemies around– everyone is getting knocked around here! No complaints from me! Throw that in with great writing from Yang and what you have is an amazing issue. If you're a fan of action and slugfests then this is your issue– check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #50

Mar 27, 2016

I thought that Superman #50 was a great read. The “Savage Dawn” series was a great read period! If you're a fan of Vandal Savage I definitely suggest reading this series! Throughout the entire book we have action packed fight scenes and the storyline was great as well. I'm looking forward to see how exactly Lois and Clark rebuild their relationship in future books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman (2011) #52

May 24, 2016

“The Great Pretender” is a good read especially if you enjoy the Trinity in action like I do. I always love seeing Wonder Woman, Batman and Superman work together and their interactions often times have their funny moments too. “The Final Days of Superman” is a good story arc to read and it involves a lot of characters that I already enjoy reading separately from the series. I'm eager to see what role this “Solar Superman” has truly and if my theory is correct! Check out Superman #52!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Superman (2016) Annual #1

Nov 30, 2016

Superman Annual #1 is a good book that does great work with Superman and Swamp Thing. I enjoyed seeing these two heroes oppose each other, then finally try to help each other. However there is a distrust that exists between them and I hope that we see it unfold further in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: American Alien #2

Dec 30, 2015

In my opinion American Alien is a good read. This book shows the growth of the Man of Steel and gives credence to how he establishes his beliefs and code. I love character backstories and Landis and Edwards do a great job of giving us that. I look forward to seeing more issues of Clark before the cape. It's a great testimony to the character and core ideals of what make Superman a staple character. Good job Landis and Edwards"definitely grab a copy!!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Superman: American Alien #4

Apr 5, 2016

If you've been reading Superman: American Alien from the beginning then naturally you'll want to pick this up. I only say this cause reading it by itself it'll come across as a bit slow. However when read as part of the series it looks great. So far we've seen Clark as a kid, make mistakes as a teenager, and now he's in college preparing for his future. It's a completely different side of Superman that we've never seen before and I think that's what makes this series so good.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: American Alien #5

May 21, 2016

"Eagle" is a great read if you treat it as what it is"an coming of age issue. Here we have Clark still trying to identify himself with something"he's still trying to attach himself to an ideal and we see him struggle with it in this issue. Landis and Manapul do a great job of showing us Clark's humanity in some pages, and his ego in others. However if you're a real Superman fan you'll especially love the exchange between Clark and Lex in the end, it really shows you perfectly how the rivalry between the two will start and exactly where each man stands in his beliefs. Enough of me telling you about American Alien #5" read it for yourself!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Superman: The Coming of the Supermen #1

Mar 14, 2016

I thought that "The Coming of the Supermen" was a decent read. It has plenty of action and conflict as we're dealing with an invasion in Metropolis on a large scale, however it leaves you wanting more in terms of a real story. I feel like I just got dropped in the middle of a war and have no clue as to what's going on. Hopefully I'll get the answers in the next issue, and that will make this first issue a better read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2014) #14

Dec 17, 2015

If you're a fan of Red Robin or just the Titans in general then this is a good read. Scott, Will and Noel combine to tell a great story that's fast paced and action packed. It even gives us a peek into the Robin War and how it all ties into the Titans and Red Robin. I'm a fan of connecting story arcs across different books and this issue gives you that perfectly. Soon as I finished reading I immediately wanted to pick up the next issue" yea I gotta wait for that. However I guarantee that the next issue of the Teen Titans will be a great read too"especially if it was anything like this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #4

Oct 28, 2016

Titans #4 was a great read, especially if you're a fan of the rivalry between Kadabra and The Flash. I have a few comics from the 90s with The Flash and Kadabra fighting it out so this book had a brief moment of nostalgia for me. I'm looking forward to finding out Kadabra's endgame! Definitely check out Titans #4!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #5

Nov 23, 2016

Titans #5 is great book that gives a great introduction to Kadabra, if you're not already familiar with his character. Abnett does a great job of reintroducing him and reminding us just exactly how powerful and how much of a threat he can be. Hopefully we'll have more conflicts between the two in the future because he's one of my favorite Flash villains for Wally to face.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #8

Feb 8, 2017

Titans #8 is a good read. I enjoyed the overall book, however you will definitely need to read the previous issues if you really want to understand exactly what the Titans are dealing with. Brett Booth does a great job with the art in this issue, bringing each to page life. Even the small, simple parts of conversation with the Titans are detailed and colorful"nothing is taken for granted. Thanks to the cliffhanger we have I'm now left wondering exactly how will the Titans react when they learn the truth about this kidnapping"if you can really call it that. Can't wait for the next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #9

Mar 8, 2017

I thought the Titans #9 was a good read. You'd definitely have to read the previous issue however if you want any clue on what's going on. Abnett directly drops you in from the previous issue and immediately introduces you into the Fearsome Five. Abnett also addressesRoy's drug addiction as well, which I thought was a great moment for Roy and the team.Although they're heroes it's good to see a humanizing or emotional moment for them and Abnett has this moment with Roy.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #10

Apr 12, 2017

Titans #10 is a great read but I definitely recommend going back at least 2 or 3 issues to get the full scope of the story. Dan Abnett hits the nail on the head with the characters in battle this issue! Abnett leaves us on a great cliffhanger that I look forward to reading in the next issue as well.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #11

May 10, 2017

Titans #11 is a great read! This issue has plenty of action, plenty of emotion, and Deathstroke steals the issue although it's not his title! The issue ends in a cliffhanger with Flash about to make a decision and I can't wait to see what he does!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans (2016) #12

Jun 14, 2017

Titans #12 is a good read, especially during the psychic battles between Psimon and Omen. It's pretty apparent that when it comes to the psychics of the DCU, she's clearly a powerhouse " she just doesn't show it too often. I wish we'd have an opportunity for her to actually let loose on all of her powers, but maybe Abnett is saving that for another time.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Titans Hunt #1

Oct 23, 2015

Overall this issue was decent, but it doesn't stand out at all. I'm hoping that Abnett uses this issue as a stepping stone to something greater–and more than likely he will. I got to be honest and say as a long time Batman fan I hate seeing Grayson out of the uniform, but hopefully it'll grow on me. I'm guessing that Abnett is using this brief memory loss to bring our Titans back better than ever. And after reading this issue that's all one can hope for.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans Hunt #2

Nov 26, 2015

I thought Titans Hunt was a good read to me. Although the beginning was slow due to Roy's intro it really picks up after the first few pages. The ending definitely gives you a surprise twist as Grayson already is involved in a fight with Garth, until a new player shows up that changes the dynamic of the fight. The ending alone makes me want to pick up issue 3 when it comes out. This has to be the first issue where I didn't complain about not having the Nightwing uniform"and that's saying something. I actually appreciated him being out of it this issue, and maybe it was due to the introduction of Alfred and the batcave. Abnett in this issue shows us that its not just the costume that makes the hero" good supporting characters do too and it does well in this issue through Alfred. I have to admit that I'm starting to like the espionage role that Dick has taken on"he does it very well.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans Hunt #3

Jan 8, 2016

I thought Titans Hunt #3 was a great issue. It takes things up a notch and gives us plenty of action, great dialogue between characters and the penciling was an awesome effort. I'm actually eager to see where the story goes and what happens with the Titans next. As I stated before, I'm really missing Kid Flash here but that's because the interaction between the characters is so good, it makes you wonder where exactly he is. Hopefully this will be addressed next issue"but definitely pick up Titans Hunt #3"its worth your money.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Titans Hunt #4

Feb 3, 2016

I thought Titans Hunt #4 was a good read. Dan Abnett gives us great dialogue between our heroes who seem to argue more than they work together but I think this is what makes the Titans so awesome. Unlike the Justice League that runs like a well-tuned up and built machine, the Titans stumble, they argue, and they nitpick with each other. However when everything is on the line–they become what they have to be–heroes. The art by Paulo and Stephen compliments it further. I'm a big fan of detail with my art, especially in fight scenes, and this issue gives you that perfectly. If you're a fan of the Titans and especially of Dick Grayson like I am then this is a good issue to read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans Hunt #5

Mar 11, 2016

Titans Hunt #5 is very enjoyable read. It provides a good layer of action, great interactions between the team, and we see Nightwing back in uniform finally! The story line as a whole has picked up from issue #3 and I'm eager to see exactly what happens with the Titans next. Right now everyone is moving to the tune of Mr. Twister–and they just don't know it–great read!

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More