TalkNerdy2Me's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Comics: The Gathering Reviews: 15
8.1Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Archie (2015) #18

Mar 15, 2017

Like I said, I’m wondering how long it’s going to be be before things fracture between Archie and Veronica, and I really can’t wait to see what the knock-on effects will be amongst their circle of friends. I have every confidence that Waid will make it funny and endearing, even if he does have to break our hearts for a little bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #19

Apr 21, 2017

The only thing that's tempered my enjoyment of this lighthearted tale is the knowledge of what's coming. It's been all over the Internet lately that the next three issues of this book may very well kill off a major character. We don't know for sure, and folks rarely stay dead for long in comics, but Waid has at the very least made me care enough about all the folks in this cast that I would hate to see any of them go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Archie (2015) #19

Apr 21, 2017

The only thing that’s tempered my enjoyment of this lighthearted tale is the knowledge of what’s coming. It’s been all over the Internet lately that the next three issues of this book may very well kill off a major character. We don’t know for sure, and folks rarely stay dead for long in comics, but Waid has at the very least made me care enough about all the folks in this cast that I would hate to see any of them go.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman '66 Meets Wonder Woman '77 #1

Jan 18, 2017

The art and color by Hahn and Kesel and Madpencil were just as bright and vivid and sharp as I remember the show being. Also clever was the visual way Batman’s and Robin’s voiceovers of the flashback were represented in print (little Bat symbol and a grey box, yellow letter “R” and yellow box). The final, cliffhanger panel of the book made me gasp out loud at the size of the blade being waved at Bruce, and because the art and writing worked together to make me willingly suspend my disbelief and be entertained. I will indeed be tuning in next month, same Bat-time and same Bat-channel, to see what’s next for our intrepid heroes.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.0
Dante (One Shot) #1

Jan 25, 2017

It’s a real shame that the writing is so subpar, since the art by Darick Robertson is actually quite good. It took me longer than it should have to place where I knew his work from, but I caught myself thinking that Ruby could have been called “filthy assistant”. Robertson was artist and co-creator of “Transmetropolitan”, one of most excellent and essential comics it’s ever been my pleasure to read. “Dante” isn’t worth two tugs of dead dog’s cock in comparison.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Josie and the Pussycats #6

Apr 21, 2017

The ending was actually really satisfying, emotionally speaking. I like that I can actually not hate Alexandra Cabot. She's still a rich girl and still prickly and snarky, but not the mean-girl Chryl Blossom knockoff she was in the classic Josie stories. I'm really looking forward to seeing where this story arc is heading next month.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jughead (2015) #14

Apr 5, 2017

It's too bad that this issue is likely to be North's last writing credit on the book, as Mark Waid is set to take an expanded role at Archie Comics later this year and will start writing Jughead himself. That being said, I enjoy what he's been doing with Archie's book, I just hope he continues to keep the gang together in this book. It's been a small, steady complaint of mine that the kids seem to run in such different circles in the main Archie storyline; it doesn't really feel like "the gang's all here". That's been rectified a great deal in Jughead, and I really hope it stays that way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jughead: The Hunger (One Shot) #1

Mar 29, 2017

I've always been a fan of Jughead as the "weird kid" in Riverdale, and I extra-super enjoy him as the focal point of any horrific exposure of Archie Comics' soft, creepy underbelly. It would certainly not break my heart to see more of Jughead on the run, with a Buffy-esque Betty Cooper hot on his heels.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Little Archie #1

Apr 5, 2017

As this is a one-shot, I can't say that I hope for more stories like this (even if I do), but I can say that the humor is top-notch (pay special attention to Jughead's awful puns) and I only have one lingering question - what happened to the blue and yellow kitties that Salem sneezed out?! Inquiring minds want to know...

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
My Little Pony: Legends of Magic #1

Apr 12, 2017

I'm here to tell you that for a number 1 issue of a property that's been pretty intensely done to death, it's not half bad. It's actually pretty good, to be perfectly honest. The art and the story work well together, and if you've seen any episodes of the show, the visual aesthetic will be immediately comfortable and familiar.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Reggie and Me #4

Mar 29, 2017

I'll say again that Reggie Mantle has been a world-class jerk in the new Archie books, but anybody who inspires this much love from a little dog can't be all bad. Even if the great Mantle doesn't get to keep his own title after this miniseries, I hope at the very least that he gets to play a larger part in the main "Archie" book, and that Vader gets to come along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Revolutionaries #1

Jan 18, 2017

I will say that for my particular tastes, the art is the best part of the book. The opening and closing pages were my favorites, particularly the image of Action Man in a space suit marooned on a frozen world with nothing but the ruins of a Cobra landing site. Anyone who’s seen “The Martian” will have an added appreciation for his terror, and Ossio conveyed it brilliantly on the poor guy’s face. I also dug the sheer reflectivity of the face shield on his space helmet - Ossio and Cheng used pen and ink to make it *shine*. All in all, this is a better-than-average read for fans of G.I. Joe, Transformers, or Halo-style space marine video games.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Riverdale #1

Apr 7, 2017

That complaint aside, I’m really looking forward to more issues of this book, particularly as way to tide myself over until the second season after the first one ends. I’m hoping that there will be more focus on different characters as the book continues, because I found the lack of Kevin Keller in this issue to be particularly annoying.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Sex Criminals #17

Mar 15, 2017

What I'm hoping for is an eventual showdown of sorts between Kegelface and her minions and Jon and Suzie. In the meantime, it looks like we're going to have to settle for the invasion of the creepy little sex trolls. I just hope they don't stick around for too long.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Sex Criminals #18

Apr 19, 2017

I won't spoil the best of Fraction's writing in this issue, but suffice to say that many misunderstandings actually get worked out, and no Cheap Trick songs are actually quoted with any accuracy. We still don't know what the deal is with the creepy little sex dolls, but I suspect we'll find out more about that next month. I'm just glad to see that love seems to be conquering a lot of things, and I hope it keeps it up.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More