Taylor's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 14
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Doctor Strange (2015) #1

Oct 10, 2015

In the end, Doctor Strange is a pretty solid debut. It is too early to say whether or not this title can overcome past trends with the character and sustain itself for a long run, but at the very least it looks like we'll be having fun in the mean time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2015) #1

Oct 12, 2015

Of all the new relaunches I read over the weekend, this one surprised me by being my favorite. The book is off to a good start, and that's even before we got to see Tony's newest armor in action. The character seems to be heading in a great direction, and you can be sure that I'll be appropriately excited for Issue #2.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Moon Girl and Devil Dinosaur #1

Dec 1, 2015

Overall, the book has a good homespun feel to it, and exudes plenty of warmth and charm. It does have a noticeable case of First Issue Syndrome where not much happens beyond introductions, but it'll have me coming back for more next month. The comic scene continues to branch out with more diverse characters and more small scale stories, and I think this odd couple book will make a fine addition to that landscape.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ms. Marvel (2014) #5

Jun 26, 2014

Ms. Marvelis a book with a lot of heart, one that's not afraid to be lighthearted and fun. It hits home with a simple but powerful message that we all need to be reminded of every now and then, expertly delivered. This comic is a real breath of fresh air, and one that you should most certainly experience for yourself.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ms. Marvel (2014) #6

Jul 18, 2014

At the end of the day, this book continues to impress month after month. This issue marks an important checkpoint that has been passed, showing that the book can maintain its charm when interacting with the larger Marvel Universe, and also showing that it works well even without its inaugural creative team. If you're still on the fence, I highly recommend that you give it a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
New Avengers (2013) Annual #1

Jun 26, 2014

With strong writing and beautiful art, then, this issue is a standout comic book, and treat for any fans of Doctor Strange. There is one sticking point, however, that might be off-putting for some: the price. This being an annual, it comes with the obligatory $4.99 price tag. And while the story itself is amazing, and does clock in at 30 pages, the issue comes with nothing else to justify the price hike. Still, this is ultimately a very small complaint, and there will no doubt be many people who are willing the pay an extra dollar for very strong work.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Secret Wars #9

Jan 15, 2016

Yes, it sucked that this issue was delayed so much. Yes, it's been disorienting for the new status quo for the Marvel Universe to be in play before this concluding chapter could be told. Yes, REALLY sucked that the final-page reveal from this issue was spoiled back in October. But all of these are complaints that will fade with time. As story, this event has been spectacular, and every comic fan owes it to themselves to check it out.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Star Wars (2014) #1

Jan 14, 2015

So this series starts off with an exhilarating first chapter, one that should delight long-time fans of the epic space-opera. That being said, this is definitely a popcorn comic, one that has not as of yet taken us places we weren't expecting. This could certainly change in the next few issues, and I surely hope it does, but for now, we're still in the roller coaster stage, fun and thrilling, but not terribly complex. I have every reason to trust this creative team, though, and this issue has definitely got me hooked in for more. If you're willing to put down the kind-of-steep admission price of $5, this is sure to be a ride you'll enjoy.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Storm #1

Jul 24, 2014

At the end of the day, there's nothing disastrously controversialor offensive going on here, but the comic still disappoints for being flatand forgettable, and for missing the mark on the character. If you'd like to read about strong female characters in the Marvel U, I'm glad to say that you have plenty of other options (see the first paragraph). Pass onStorm #1 and try one of those instead.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl (2015) #1

Nov 1, 2015

Honestly, my biggest complaint about the book is that it makes me feel like a fool for having missed out on the previous volume. Rest assured that I will correct that mistake at the first opportunity, and that you should run out and grab this issue as soon as you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Unstoppable Wasp #1

Jan 8, 2017

The Unstoppable Wasp is a damn good book. You should definitely read it, and when you're done, give to your kids, cause they need these types of stories even more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine #1

Jun 19, 2014

This being a first issue, there are naturally a number of questions that will need to be answered going forward. There's plenty of characters we still need to get to know, mythology that needs to be expanded upon, and ne'er-do-wells that need exposing. But with Gillen and McKelvie at the helm, I have absolute faith thatthis tale of ancient gods will be something truly extraordinary. Don't let this issue pass you by.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Wicked + The Divine #2

Jul 18, 2014

If you're looking for a refreshing change of pace from your normal reads, a smartly-written book about young people, or just an all-around good comic book, you should really give this title a try.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Thor (2014) #1

Oct 2, 2014

If you never read any of his work in the last two years, go out and do so. And be sure to pick up this issue when you're done.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

March

More