The Truth's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: PopnComics Reviews: 8
8.2Avg. Review Rating

8.3
American Way: Those Above and Those Below #1

Jul 12, 2017

Gripping story by Academy Award Winnder John Ridley in this alternate American history. As usual, automatic bonus for being alternate history. The art feels a little meeeeeeeeeh but it does not detract. On my to read list going forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman/Elmer Fudd Special #1

Jun 28, 2017

My favorite in the crossover series so far. Tom King delivers in spades, art by Lee Weeks is solid, execution is excellent. Warmly recommended.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.5
Jonah Hex/Yosemite Sam Special #1

Jun 29, 2017

Color me underwhelmed. I've basically loved the rest of the series, this did not give that same instant feeling of joy and nostalgia that the rest of the books inspired. The art and lettering carry the day. Go pick up one of the other numbers instead!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.5
Lazarus: X+66 #1

Jul 19, 2017

A small piece of a larger universe that I'm peeking into. I could take it or leave it, but let's see where we go in issue two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Lobo/Road Runner Special #1

Jun 26, 2017

No hiding it, love this story, and the two art styles went well together. High scores on both departments.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sacred Creatures #1

Jul 5, 2017

Solid first issue of a new series from Image. Forces of good and evil appear to be starting a major battle, and an innocent is chosen, but for what? I'm aboard the Sacred Creatures train, you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Shirtless Bear Fighter #1

Jun 22, 2017

A fun trip through the forest with the manly new hero our country so sorely needs.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Wonder Woman/Tasmanian Devil Special #1

Jun 26, 2017

I am in heaven with these mashups. Another super solid one shot if you are into this stuff. My question with this is the same as with my review of Lobo Road Runner Special #1: Can you keep this up without taking all the joy out of it? I think we will have our answer after the next issue.-EDIT-I now know that these ARE one-offs, not the start of a series. Original score still stands.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

July

June

More