Todd Fisher's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Outright Geekery Reviews: 9
8.9Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Bloodshot's Day Off #1

Jul 1, 2017

As we start this week as Americans celebrating our independence, it's nice to read the stories of two soldiers who have sacrificed for us. And though their tale is fictional, there are very real stories that mirror the themes of this book. Well worth the pick up. As always, Stay Valiant my friends.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Briggs Land: Lone Wolves #1

Jun 17, 2017

If you are fans of shows like The Son, The Sopranos, or Queen of the South then you will love the drama unfolding with this crime family. I know i am looking forward to the next issue you should be too!! and remember Sic semper tyrannis!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Divinity III: Stalinverse: Escape From Gulag 396 #1

Mar 14, 2017

In closing, Gulag 396is the Archer and Armstrong story I've always wanted to read. And is by far my favorite single issue to date. I only hope Valiant lets Eliot and friends write more tales of Archer and Armstrong.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Eternal Warrior: Awakening #1

May 9, 2017

This is the second book that Valiant has done recently as a one shot. Revisiting a beloved character that is currently not featured in a ongoing book. Last month we got the Tales of the Green Knight with the immortal brothers. This month we revisit the Eternal Warrior. And i have to say I am enjoying it as a Valiant fan. And hope we keep getting to see more of these. As always Stay Valiant friends!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ether #3

Jan 29, 2017

Ether continues to be one my most anticipated books each and every month and has yet to disappoint. It reminds me of the early days of Hellboy in that here is a world that you are familiar with, but there are things that go bump in the night. However instead of the monsters coming to get you we see there is a mundane bureaucratic system to the world of magic, even baboon gatekeepers are nine to five.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Generation Zero #9

Apr 18, 2017

Normally when i series comes to a close like this it feels like the ending was rushed. However this issue wraps everything up with a satisfying conclusion. And it expertly sets up Generation Zero for the future so that we can come back and visit them anytime. Generation Zero has been a fan favorite since there introduction in Harbinger Wars through Armour Hunters and I hope we get to see more from them real soon. And anytime we get a chance to see Fred Van Lente play in the Valiant universe you just know you are going to have a great time.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Jupiter's Legacy Vol. 2 #5

Jul 5, 2017

Even with a 10 month delay this book offers a satisfying conclusion and sets up the next chapter to be called Jupiter's Requiem in 2019. Sigh, two years is that long right? I know I am hooked and am willing to wait those two years. There are few pairings that work so well together, Hitch and Millar, Lee and Kirby, Bendis and Bagley are just a few that comes to mind. What it really comes down to is Both Millar's writing and Quietly's art shine in this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rai: The History of the Valiant Universe #1

Jun 17, 2017

While not required reader or the dedicated fans of the valiant universe it is a great jumping on point, and has some fun nods to every important character within the universe both current and future versions. I think however this would have been a great book for an event like free comic day or even a $1 debut type of thing. Overall, I will recommend this book for people who want to learn more about the Valiant universe as a whole so they can get a good overview of the entire universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Renato Jones: Season 2 #1

May 10, 2017

Renato Jones is one part Fight Club, one part Marshal Law (a great book in its own right) a splash of Sin City and stirred with radical economic politics. While I likely do not agree with the driving philosophical beliefs behind this book, I do quite enjoy the book itself. It is so well done that it transcends ideological divides. This comic holds a mirror up to ourselves and shows us the warts we have become numb too.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More