Tony Farina's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: DC Comics News Reviews: 109
8.1Avg. Review Rating

9.0
Aquaman (2016) #23

May 17, 2017

"We see their wars. Their poverty. The corrosion of their culture. Their wild metahumans and their degenerate leaders. You think yourself progressive, but you are part of the blight we seek to avoid."

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Aquaman (2016) #24

Jun 7, 2017

That last panel is pretty amazing. If you have not read Aquaman before, you need to start right now.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Booster Gold / The Flinstones Special #1

Mar 29, 2017

Did you know that if you put $10 in the bank in 1966, by 2472, you will have $3.8 billion? Nice. This is a fun one off that is worth your time and money. It is a nice set up for the new Jetsons comic that will most likely be essential reading for those of us who have totally loved the Hanna Barbera lineup.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #1

May 10, 2017

This is only a six issue mini-series, so the Allred clan has a lot to do to make this come together. I am intrigued by the story and totally enamored by the art and colors.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Bug: The Adventures of Forager #2

Jun 14, 2017

I am kind of glad this is only 6 issues. I am not sure how many times I can handle Forager doing the same thing. At this point, only two issues in, we have the same formulaic book twice. Can we do that four more times? Hmmm.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight Returns: The Last Crusade #1

Jun 15, 2016

If you like this universe, pick this up; you will not be let down.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Night: A True Batman Story #1

Jun 21, 2016

Do we finally see those faceless members of the DC/Vertigo editorial team? We do. For you to see the big reveal, you should pick up the book yourself at Amazon, Barnes and Noble or wherever books and comic books are sold.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
DC Rebirth Holiday Special #1

Dec 21, 2016

I get it. I do. I don't have to like it personally to understand why it was made and to whom it appeals. It is nice to see Paul Dini do some work with Harley and it is nice to see Jessica Cruz get a win.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #1

Oct 5, 2016

This is going to be a quick six months and I suspect when we get to the final panel of issue six, the full tragedy will be revealed. I know that by the time this story is over, I will go back to this issue and start all over. I will mark my calendar for the first week of November so I can be the first to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #2

Nov 2, 2016

Honestly, I think this is going to be a winner. There are some long-neglected characters coming back into the forefront. How does all of this tie into Rebirth? That is yet to be determined, but I suspect, when we hit issue six, all will be revealed.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #3

Dec 7, 2016

I still dig the Hamlet and Horatio vibe I am getting from this book. There is still a chance for a final battle where everyone dies except Horatio. I am rooting for his “Goodnight sweet prince” moment.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Death of Hawkman #4

Jan 4, 2017

I like where this story is headed. I am not a huge believer in "deaths" in comic book universes but it seems to me that Andreyko is really planning on killing Hawkman. If he were not, we would not need Adam Strange to tell the story. Even if he chooses not to kill him off, this has been a fun intergalactic ride so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of Hawkman #5

Feb 1, 2017

This is the weak link of this series. I have been totally invested up to this point, but I am disappointed. Fingers crossed for a strong finish and the actual death of Hawkman. Not that I want him to die, but you can not call the book that and have it end differently.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Death of Hawkman #6

Mar 1, 2017

If this is setting up a stand-alone Adam Strange book, that would be a mistake too. He is a supporting character in every single way. Lets keep him that way. This book was good but not great. If there are some hardcore Hawkman fans out there, this will be pretty upsetting. I am not sure there are so this book does what it supposed to do. Advance a plot in the DC universe at the expense of a hero. Heroes die sometimes and it makes even more sense for a hero to sacrifice himself to save the universe.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Flash (2016) #1

Jun 22, 2016

The last panel is totally going to make you wish you could run through time to get the second issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Frostbite #1

Sep 28, 2016

Contrarily, I am one of those people who loves Kafka and thinks Mr. Robot is the best show on TV. I am finewith a slow reveal. There is something going on here and I want to figure it out. I do not want to read the last page of the mystery novel first and neither should you. This is going to be a limited series and based on what I have seen so far, it is going to be worth your time. This is a great start to a series that has great potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Frostbite #2

Oct 28, 2016

Bundle up and get reading. Don't wait for the trade paperback. That would feel like cheating. This story is going to be best consumed in small bites that leave you hungry for more. Oh, and, there is a last scene that makes you worry. Well, it made me worry. Keaton…Look out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Future Quest #3

Jul 27, 2016

If this were the first issue of the series one were to read, it would work perfectly as the reader could go back and pick up issues 1 and 2 and be totally up to speed. It is recommended that the reader do just that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Future Quest #4

Aug 31, 2016

If you need your comic books to brood and only brood, do not pick this up. If you need your comics to take themselves totally seriously, do not pick this up. If you are someone who wants those comics, but also appreciates things that are self-aware and silly, while telling compelling stories, this is your book. The new Hanna-Barbera line is really a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Future Quest #5

Oct 5, 2016

Parker is playing the long game here and patience is needed by the reader. The first few issues have been fun and there is hope with the B-Story. Luckily, this is really well drawn and all of the crazy action fits nicely in the boxes provided.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Future Quest #6

Oct 28, 2016

It seems that Parker is playing a long game. It seems like he really knows what he is doing. He has a great grasp of character and dialogue. Those things keep me interested for now. A glimpse of Space Ghost is a great sign of things to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Future Quest #7

Nov 23, 2016

The pieces are in place. The story is moving the right way. How far it goes is uncertain, but I feel good about this glorious trip down nostalgia lane.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Future Quest #8

Dec 28, 2016

I have a feeling this book is coming to a conclusion and I think that will be a good idea. I like seeing all these characters and I am not opposed to Future Quest continuing on as mash up one shots. Imagine Johnny Quest and Mi-tor in one 23-page book and then Space Ghost and The Impossibles in another the following month. With all of the chaos, Olivetti saves this issue. He is spectacular.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Future Quest #9

Jan 25, 2017

I had to read this a few times to take it all in. That is what I suggest. Read the book to follow the plot. See how the Impossibles are going to get into trouble. Buzz is likely to get a stern lecture later too. We can wonder what is up with F.E.A.R. and how much we can trust Zin. The last panel leaves us wondering what will come next for Gargantuan/Frankenstein Jr. as the Herculoids arrive and are none too pleased. Yikes. Things look tense. Then, after worrying about the plot. Go through this page by page and look at Randall's magnificent artwork. There is so much to love. I can not imagine this book has much longer to go in the current state. At some point this story will end and either the book will end or we will see those individualized stories like we used to see on the old Hanna-Barbera cartoons. Either way, it is my opinion that the next few issues of this are going to be stupendous.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Future Quest #10

Feb 22, 2017

As this run comes to an end, Parker has this book heading on the right path. With that final panel of this issue, we see that he is planning an epic hero/villain/robot/monster battle of the century. I hope he brings the whole art team back for the final few issues. It should be fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Future Quest #11

Mar 22, 2017

I am not sure if there is a future forFuture Quest but I suspect there is. I am hoping for short chunks of team up time. The Impossibles and Space Ghost. Johnny Quest and Birdman. You get it. That would be big fun. For now, I am looking forward to see what happens in issue 12. Doc, Jeff, you have my attention.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Future Quest #12

May 10, 2017

This is the end of the run. It was fun while it lasted, but it just didn't work. I have nothing but praise to heap on Jeff Parker for what he did here. I just think the lift was too heavy as there was just too much. I hope he comes back for more. Would I like to see Parker and Shaner team up for a Space Ghost/Team Quest crossover? Yes. I could also deal with the Impossibles having their own run where they play music and solve crimes. It would be absurd and wonderful. I appreciate what Parker brought to life here. He helped me relive my childhood and have a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Gotham Academy: Second Semester #1

Sep 14, 2016

This book has not cast the widest of nets. However, if you, like this reviewer, find that sometimes you need to read a book for and about kids to remind you that life is not as horrible as you think it is, this book is for you. There is something about a story that focuses on a kid that puts your own life in perspective. The lens through which adults view angst is different than the lens the kids are using. Angst is real pain. We can see it for what it is and be glad that our problems are not those. This book is all about growing up. Sure, growing up literally in the shadow of the Bat, but growing up nonetheless. I appreciate the truth that is told in this tale and you should too.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #3

Jul 20, 2016

The new Green Lanterns are not a joke. This is a great way to have a social conversation while still having super beings flying around literally imposing their wills on the world. The tension between Simon and Jessica is real and manifests on the final page. No evil shall escape their sight. Bring it on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #5

Aug 18, 2016

The cliffhangers of each issue of this series are excellent. This issue is no different. The dysfunctional nature of the titular characters relationship is a strong foundation upon which to build a comic. There is clearly more to come with this and that is intriguing. While this issue is a bit too fast, almost breathtaking, it is a lot of fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #6

Sep 14, 2016

The reason that John Stewart is my favorite Green Lantern of all time is that he was complex as a person. Being a Green Lantern was not his only existence. Mosaic was such great title from back in the day. This book seems to be crafted in that same format. There is enough action to keep the pace fast, but the story matters. If things keep going on this trajectory, there is a chance that Jessica Cruz will soar past John as my favorite with Simon Baz as a close second.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #7

Sep 21, 2016

High quality writing, with superb art and ink. What else could a comic reader want? Oh right, explosions. The last panel leads us to believe that those are coming. This is a twice a month comic, so the action will be coming fast and furious. These characters feel like real people and that is a great thing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #8

Oct 5, 2016

Eight issues in and this book keeps getting stronger. We know the Red Lanterns are waiting in the weeds. The Dominators are working hard to catch Rami. Simon and Jessica are still figuring out how to be Green Lanterns with almost no guidance. The intrigue is built by the final panel. Good thing we only have to wait two weeks to find out who that guy is (Is it Kyle? Where the hell is Kyle? Don't let it be Kyle, but seriously, is it Kyle?).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #9

Oct 19, 2016

This new story line seems pretty cool. Humphries has continued to grow the Green Lantern universe in a way that feels organic and true. The whole universe is a bit of mystery. We really only see it through the lenses of these Earthlings. By giving us rogue Guardians and ancient Lanterns, Humphrieshas filled in the gaps. I like it a lot. If you are reading this book, I assume you are thrilled.If you are just getting started, this is the perfect timeto get on board. There is a new story arc just for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #10

Nov 2, 2016

This is the best issue so far. There is a painful, really honest moment when Frank and Simon's brother, Nazir, come face to face. It broke my heart and it will break yours too. I am from Michigan so I get it. I understand the story that Humphries is telling. Pay attention to this book. I will not be shocked when it starts to win awards.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #11

Nov 16, 2016

It may sound apocryphal, but if you only have time and money for one Green Lantern comic, this is the one to get. The layers of complexity that Sam Humphries and his art team bring to this book is inspired. I am not suggesting it is easy to write Hal, John and Guy, but they are what they are. There is a history to them. Humphries and his team have to create a new world. They have to give life to these characters with whom most readers and most of the other characters in the DC Universe are unfamiliar. That is a heavy load, but this team has broad shoulders.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Green Lanterns #12

Dec 7, 2016

It is hard to do anything but heap praise on Humphries. I am so impressed at the quality of this book because it comes out twice a month. That is a lot of ideas and a lot of panels and a lot of work. I love where this book is headed. I foresee a clash of wills between Jessica and Simon. That should be a great show.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #13

Dec 21, 2016

If you have not been reading this, what is wrong with you? Complexity in characterization. An A + artistic team. A thoughtful, timely story. This book has everything.Run, don't walk.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #14

Jan 4, 2017

I read Green Lantern comics way back in the day. My first comic was the introduction of the Demolition Team. John Stewart came along and he was my favorite. His Mosaic comic was my favorite run in the history of the all the titles. It was short lived, but it has a social commentary and it was wonderfully written by Gerard Jones. Sam Humphries has a lot of that going on in this book. This story arc was not just well written and beautifully drawn. It, like Mosaic before it, is important. Thankfully, this book is doing well and hopefully Sam has no plans to leave it. Bravo to Mr. Humphries and his team for writing a smart, artful, and glorious book.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lanterns #15

Jan 19, 2017

I can not explain to you how delightful, honest and wonderful this book is. You should read it. If you have not read Green Lanterns before, this is the perfect time to start. This book starts a new story and the last scene sets up a pretty awesome crossover event.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Green Lanterns #16

Feb 1, 2017

I will follow Sam Humphries anywhere he wants to take me on this Green Lantern journey. I just hope the next issues area bit more even. Maybe it is the use of Bruce that is throwing him off, but I trust. I believe.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Green Lanterns #17

Feb 15, 2017

As Jim Gordon says, "Good work Lanterns, get the hell out of Gotham." I totally agree. I liked this story. It wasa good development for Simon, but this story was just not what I want out of the this book. It is time to head back to Dearborn and deal with that whole Volthoom/Rami thing. I am all about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #14

Feb 8, 2017

Green Lanterns are not for everyone. Hal is a pompous jerk all the time and John is a bit sullen and Guy is a giant bag of douche. You throw Kyle and a whole bunch of other super will and fear wielding beings you have the perfect mess of awesome. Seriously, this is really going to be the perfect template for the newly announced movie.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #4

Sep 8, 2016

If you need a traditional superhero team up book where they are all back to back to back to back kicking some badguy ass, this will not fill your need. However, if you are willing to accept Victor as the real focus of this Justice League Reborn and you understand why he is the center, you will be happy. The art is amazing. The story is fast paced. All around, this is high quality stuff. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League of America: Killer Frost Rebirth #1

Jan 25, 2017

Killer Frost is going to be a member of the Justice League of America. I think she will be a welcome supporting cast member. Her moral issues will surely cause a lot of tension and issues. That should be a really fun and interesting book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Mother Panic #1

Nov 10, 2016

I like it. I think Mother Panic is a nice addition to the Bat universe. Gotham is a huge place. Horrible things are always happening there and it makes sense that some of those things are a bit too graphic and nasty for regular readers. This title, under this banner, allow readers to see Gotham the way it really is. Violet Paige is an intriguing character and I am excited to see where this is going.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Mother Panic #7

May 24, 2017

This is issue 7. That means, it would not take much for you to get caught up. I can not recommend to you strongly enough that you should get caught up. If you love the Bat or hate the Bat, this book is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #1

Aug 10, 2016

If you are one of the people who said, "Red Hood and the Outlaws are back in Rebirth, who cares?" you need to change your attitude and pick this up. Lobdell and Soy have this train running in the right direction. Jump on before you get run over.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

This book is funny. In fact, there is a joke on the cover. That sets the reader up for everything she or he needs to know. It is packed with action. It is beautifully drawn. Each issues leaves us with a cliffhanger and begging for the next issue. Bravo Mr. Lobdell. Bravo.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #3

Oct 12, 2016

Tell your friends. There are only a few issues so far. Catching up will be easy. Get on board. This book is in the perfect hands. Fingers crossed that this dream team stays together for years to come.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #4

Nov 10, 2016

I really like this book. I am not ashamed to admit it. Jason was never my favorite Robin. He and Damian are tied for last place, but as Red Hood, he is just perfect. He brings the issues of the Bat world to life. It is fitting that this book and Mother Panic come out the same week. Hopefully, those two books will smash into each other as she and Jason are kindred spirits.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #5

Dec 14, 2016

I wish this was a bi-monthly book. The story has been slow to build and it is pretty clear that Lobdell knows exactly where he wants to take us, so I would like to get there a bit faster. I understand part of the Rebirth line is to rebuild the world. That takes time. I am being patient. I really am, but when does issue 6 come out? Hurry.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #6

Jan 11, 2017

Red Hood and the Outlaws is just what the Rebirth era needs. It is action packed. The characters are flawed. There are jokes. It is beautifully drawn and it has a ton of potential. I really wish this was a bi-weekly like a lot of the other titles.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #7

Feb 8, 2017

This book is great. I like the direction Lobdell has taken. I like that Jason compares himself to both Bruce and Bizarro. He has grown up so much in the Rebirth era while losing 10 years of his life. Complexity is always good. Complexity is probably an understatement.One must be a bit off one's rocker to strap guns on, throw on a hood and go kill people in the name of justice. This is a great book. It is only issue #7. Get on board.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #8

Mar 8, 2017

Have I mentioned how much I wish this book were bi-monthly? I really wish this book were bi-monthly. Everything about it is good. The upside for you is that there only 8 issues so far. Read. Get on board. If not, Artemis might punch you in the head.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #9

Apr 12, 2017

This book keeps getting better. I need more stars than 5. I love where this is headed and I never want it to end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #10

May 10, 2017

The art is spot on (as always). The characters are layered (as always). This book has been so good, that it only can be judged against itself. When this comes out in TBP, this story will fit quite nicely. However, as a stand alone issue, it is a bit light.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws (2016) #11

Jun 14, 2017

Once again, Dexter Soy has proven that he has a grasp of these characters that no one ever has. Seriously, if anyone else uses Bizarro as a walk on, they should bring Soy in to just draw those panels. The anguish on the face of a clone, a dead man in a mask and a fallen Amazonian princess is palpable. Honestly, I want to make a poster for every single panel. I think we should spend some time looking at his brilliant work.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Red Hood and the Outlaws: Rebirth #1

Jul 27, 2016

The story has an excellent twist that sets Jason on a mission that kick starts the first story arc. Red Hood is in the right hands. If you have not tried Red Hood and the Outlaws before, this is the perfect time. If, like this writer, you unabashedly like Jason Todd and voted to keep him alive, you are going to be thrilled.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #13

May 10, 2017

This is a fun book that begins year two with a bang. I say, buckle up, grab a sandwich and a shotgun and come along for the ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Scooby Apocalypse #14

Jun 14, 2017

This is a fun, thoughtful, well drawn read. Pick it up.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #1

Aug 24, 2016

In order to love things, you need to see their flaws. Ennis makes fun of the things we love about comics, but he does it as a comic. Satire works that way. That is what this is. If you have an open heart, this is for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #2

Sep 28, 2016

This is a bridge issue, so it is a step forward, but it feels like a step back. It is supposed to get us to where our heroz start travelin' hard. Hopefully, the next issue will focus on them and the irreverent humor that Ennis is known for. The art work here is really good even if Constantine says it is not.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #3

Oct 28, 2016

As a fan of Ennis, I was really hoping that this book was going somewhere. I am really rooting for it go somewhere. I thought with the Dogwelder stuff it was heading down a road to somewhere. I am not sure it is on the road. There is a lot of tongue-in-cheek stuff happening that is absolutely brilliant, but then there are pages and pages of nothing happening with dialogue that is not fun or clever.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #4

Nov 23, 2016

While I totally respect Garth Ennis and I am always willing to bow to his creative license, I just do not see the point of this. I want to see it the point, but I do not. I love satire and I was pretty excited when this book started. I am in for the long haul, so I can only hope that next month, something happens.

View Issue       View Full Review
4.0
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #5

Dec 28, 2016

Maybe I am too stupid to understand what Ennis is doing here. Maybe, I just need someone smarter than me to explain it, but I do not get it. I dont get why this is funny. You do not like that Hellblazer is now part of the main DC universe and not in Vertigo anymore. Okay. Right. I see the point. It was funny in the first issue, but now, it is just frustrating.

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Sixpack & Dogwelder: Hard-Travelin' Heroz #6

Jan 25, 2017

Everything about this book that was supposed to be funny came across as mean. Satire works when it is honest. Sure, feelings may get hurt with some stinging satire, but being mean, for the sake of being mean, does not work for me. I may be in the minority, but this whole thing was a waste of time. Please, Mr. Ennis. Make something good. I know you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #1

Aug 18, 2016

You only need to notice that Harleys shirt reads Rebirth to fully understand what this book is about. It is funny, it has heart, it is fully aware of itself and it has Jim Lee. JIM LEE. Wow.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #2

Sep 14, 2016

This two story thing is disconcerting. The main story is so good and the art is incredible. I feel like I keep getting ripped off of a full book. That is not to say the second stories are bad. They are not bad at all, I just want more of the main story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #3

Sep 28, 2016

This book just keeps getting better. Williams is playing for keeps. This book is so fun but it has a heart and it is heartless. That is a hard thing to pull off, but it works.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #4

Oct 12, 2016

Williams and Lee. Dream Team. Williams and whomever he brings in for each back story, pretty impressive. The causal Ramones mentions with the title of each main story has been pretty awesome too. Read this book. You will be overwhelmed with awesome.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #5

Oct 28, 2016

Look, this is only the fifth issue. If you are not reading this series, you are really missing out. Action. Humor. Story. Characters that are so real you forget this is fiction. Oh yeah…and Jim Lee.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Suicide Squad (2016) #6

Nov 16, 2016

Hack is such an interesting character and now we know how important she is as Boomerang is inside her code. I am not sure how all of that will play out, but I know I would not want that lunatic living inside my brain. The next issue is called “Harley Quinn vs the Suicide Squad.” Really, it is not Harley Quinn but Dr. Quinzel. It is going to be so good. Thankfully, I only have to wait two weeks.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #7

Dec 2, 2016

If you can only read one DC book, read this one. Of course, you will also need to read Justice League and the cross over books for the next few months, so, read those too. I know I will.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #8

Dec 14, 2016

This is not as good as it has been. This is a transition issue and in general, those leave the reader wanting something. Sure, it is nice to have Boomerang back, so there is some resolution there, but overall, this was not as fulfilling as I was hoping it would be. Still, it is better than a lot of other books.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #9

Jan 11, 2017

This story is part of the Justice League vs. Suicide Squadarc, but clearly is not about that, not really. Still, it is clever. It is fun. It has Lobo (that is always good) and it has Waller at her creepy beginnings. All-in-all it is pretty solid.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #10

Jan 25, 2017

Suicide Squad, under the direction of Rob Williams, has become storytelling at its finest. Good storytelling requires interesting characters doing interesting things. I think this qualifies. The next book is called, "The end of Amanda Waller." I am intrigued but I am not concerned. No one stays dead in the DC universe. Not even Jason Todd.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #11

Feb 8, 2017

The first run all had Ramones songs as titles. This one started with a Talking Heads song. Williams is talking right to me. I can only hope he keeps it up. The Suicide Squad are a bunch of punks and misfits and I love them for it. I love the world that Williams has created. I have great hopes. Plus, that ending. Damn.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Suicide Squad (2016) #12

Feb 22, 2017

Rob Williams just keeps reminding us that he knows how to tell a story and that he can allow characters to come to life. He has made us care about serial killers. That is no small feat. In real life, I am not a fan, but in this world, ever other week, I root for the baddies.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #3

Oct 19, 2016

In general, this is good, but not on par with the main title. Sure, they all hate Waller and sure they would all go to great lengths to get away from her, but really, that is not much of a story. The main title works so well because it has action and it has humor. There is angst, but the members understand they have no choice, so they relish the work. Some of that joy is missing here. Still, the stories are compelling and entice the reader back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #5

Dec 21, 2016

The back stories in this series have really kept the book afloat. I hope that issue six gives me some resolution for Chato. He seems like a good guy. That last page of the second story is kind of amazing. I am really looking forward to see how that concludes.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Suicide Squad Most Wanted: El Diablo #6

Jan 19, 2017

It was good to see the softer side of Waller and to take a deeper dive into Croc and Boomerang early on in this series. It should have been a stand alone El Diablo book and the other stories should have been told in the back pages of the Suicide Squad.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Suicide Squad: Rebirth #1

Aug 3, 2016

There is a high body count and gallons of blood. If that is what you wanted out of the reborn Squad, you will be thrilled. If that is not your thing, this is not for you. Nothing about Suicide Squad is for the meek. Bring the pain.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Teen Titans (2014) Annual #2

Jul 3, 2016

If you have been reading Teen Titans the whole time, you need this to round out your collection. If you are looking for a great team book, pick up the revamped Rebirth edition of both Titans and Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Flintstones #3

Sep 7, 2016

This book stretches everything you think you know about the residents of Bedrock. It is clever, it is funny, and it is touching. While this book is rated T, it might go over some younger readers' heads. Still, this is a solid book and it is promising.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #4

Oct 5, 2016

After a bit of a step back with issue three, this issue is strong. While there is often some idea as to what is coming next with the titles of the next story, each issue, much like the show upon which it is based, is self-contained. Characters come in and out, but one could pick up anywhere and be okay. If you are a fan of excellent art and pitch-perfect, clever and intelligent writing, The Flintstones is a must.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #5

Nov 2, 2016

Satire is hard. The book is brilliant satire. I have to say, that the only bad thing about this book is that not enough people are reading it. Seriously. Run. Do not walk. Get on a dinosaur if you have to. Get this book. Tell your friends. I have.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #6

Dec 7, 2016

The only concern I have for this book is that it has to eventually stop because all good things come to an end and eventually, the stories will repeat themselves. For now, we must bask in the glory of The Flintstones.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #7

Jan 4, 2017

This begins the second half of Marc Russells run on this book. He comes out swinging and it is magnificent to behold. Get this book. Tell your pals. I have. Seriously, this is fantastic.How is this not the top selling book each and every week?

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #8

Feb 1, 2017

Mark Russell only has a few issues left on his run. Seriously, Gerald dammit, get reading. Tell a friend. Tell ten friends. Petition DC to turn this into a new animated series, if and only if it is written by Mark Russell and drawn perfectly by Steve Pugh.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #9

Mar 1, 2017

Russell and Pugh just keep setting them up and knocking them down (with an armadillo I assume). There are only three issues left in this run. Enjoy the brilliance while you can.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #10

Apr 5, 2017

Honestly, I could go on an on about this book, but I am going to save some of my musing for the final issue. There are only two left and I feel that my final review will go on and on. Brace yourself. Until then, laugh at the master of funny, Mark Russell.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Flintstones #11

May 3, 2017

What happens to humanity? Are they saved? Pick up this book and find out. I may like to quote Mark Russell and ruin all the jokes, but I am not going to give away the punchline. There is only one book to go. Only one. I am so sad about that.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Flintstones #12

Jun 7, 2017

It is not a secret; I love this book. Seriously. It is the best thing that came out of the DC/Hanna-Barbera crossover event. In this issue, every aspect of why this title is so brilliant comes out to play. I feel like I really got to know these characters in a whole new way. It is funny, touching and wonderful. I will admit that I got a bit choked up at that final page. Unless you are a Gearldless heathen, you will too.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Sheriff Of Babylon #10

Sep 7, 2016

There are no Space Cops nor Amazons. There are no aliens nor robots. Those things are great and it is good they are out there. I am going to jump into some serious robot from Detroit action right now. However, this book is powerful. It is well written. It is tense. It is real. If I were teaching modern World History, I would use this series. Issue 10, ends with the line “Where were the terrorists?” The room is full of dead Iraqis with Bob's men standing around them wearing night vision goggles. The answer to that, is in the question and it is on the last page. If you have not read this yet, start from the beginning and get caught up. You have a month before issue 11 comes out.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
The Sheriff Of Babylon #11

Oct 12, 2016

The last panel. Honestly, if you did not read a word of this book, but you saw the last panel with the words, “To be concluded” there, you would run for issue one. Go. Get this book. Now. Seriously. What is wrong? Go.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Sheriff Of Babylon #12

Nov 2, 2016

If you did not read this book, go to the bookstore or comic shop and get the TPB of the first six issues and then get the last six. Read them all in one sitting and try not to be shaken. There is still a place for honest story-telling at Vertigo Comics. Mr. King and Mr. Gerads, I tip my hat.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Unfollow #11

Sep 7, 2016

Unfollow is not for the meek. Of course, that is the case for everything that Vertigo does. Also, like everything from Vertigo, we are faced with our own ugliness and that is important. This is not the strongest issue in the run thus far, but it advances the plot, but the last page which features Courtney's realization should make readers get in line for issue 12. Rob Williams has proven to be a storyteller who pulls no punches. This is a great story and we can only hope that we have several more years until the number remaining of the 140 is 2.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unfollow #12

Oct 12, 2016

This marks the end of one year of Unfollow. As is the case with everything Vertigo does, you cheer, you hold down your lunch, you cringe and you hold back tears. Rob Williams and Mike Dowling have created a world that, while it might seem like fiction, isn't. Unfollow is not just a product of two amazingly creative guys, it is a reflection of who we are and what we could easily become. We have to analyze how we work with social media and how we function in the world of “instant celebrity.” Truly, this book needs to be loaded up with awards. Raise a glass to year one and tip it back for, what I can only assume will be, a spectacular year two.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Unfollow #13

Nov 2, 2016

Year two of this book is still a mystery. Year one was so good and Williams is a character and dialogue genius so I trust his story telling as well. I am ready for year two and you should be too.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Unfollow #16

Feb 15, 2017

If you do not like soul searching, if you do not like reality, if you do not like looking in the mirror, don't read this book. If you like those things, pick this up. Plus, Rob Effing Williams drops the mic with that last page. Damn.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wacky Raceland #1

Jun 14, 2016

I am not too sure if Pontac is taking himself seriously or not. I am not sure if he wants the audience to laugh, cheer or smirk at some inside joke he thinks we are all in together. What I do know is that this book has some serious potential to be fun. Sign me up for issue two, I am ready to go racing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wacky Raceland #2

Jul 13, 2016

Considering the only negative is that the story is so good, the reader wants more, the whole experience is positive. Get in on this book before everyone else finds out and your shop sells out before you can get there.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wacky Raceland #3

Aug 27, 2016

Nobody wins a race this issue. In each of the first two, the reader had a sense that this was going somewhere. This issue, while clearly world building, does not move the story along to the Announcer's promised ending. The upside to this kind of pit stop (pun intended) story is that it means the book and the race. Out of Poseidons Toilet and onto Vegas.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wacky Raceland #4

Sep 28, 2016

Buy buy buy. This is only issue 4. If you have not picked these up yet, do so. Seriously, what is stopping you? Do you hate fun?

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Wacky Raceland #5

Oct 19, 2016

Of the five issues, this is the weakest link. However, if I only read this one issue, I would have loved it. The problem with creating something amazing is that all of your future work will be held against what came before it. Comparing issue five to issue one feels like Closing Time in comparison to Catch-22 or Go Set a Watchman in comparison to To Kill a Mockingbird. It could be great, but it is hard to tell. I am looking forward to seeing what Pontacand team have for us next month. I hope DC gives him a double issue. There are a lot of loose ends.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Wacky Raceland #6

Dec 2, 2016

There is an opening on the final panel that leaves a dusty, nanobot, blood caked foot in the door. We can only hope.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Wild Storm #2

Mar 15, 2017

Issue two has a lot of promise. I like the storylines and I like that there will be a huge collision course. Since this is a stand alone property in a stand alone universe, one can only hope that we will see some spin-offs from the mind of the great Jim Lee.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Wild Storm #4

May 17, 2017

Miles' husband sums it up best when he says, "So, how did crazy girl, get robot skin inside of her? Oh my God, that is something that I actually just said. God." That is pretty much where we are in this book. The characters are all in the dark, so the readers are as well. Still, the characters are interesting and they make me want to come back for more.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More