Tyler Harris's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Dark Knight News Reviews: 47
8.9Avg. Review Rating

8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #7

Nov 26, 2016

All around this was a pretty solid issue, however I am glad that this arc is coming to an end, as I feel the story will suffer if it continues for very much longer. That being said, I am also very interested to see what comes next for this series and whether it will retain the tone and structure that has been cemented across this arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #8

Dec 17, 2016

“The Professional” was an interesting arc to say the least. It provided a deeper look into the human side of Slade, but was at times hard to follow and a little confusing. That being said, this final issue delivered on the promise that Priest has been teasing since issue one and I am very excited to see what the future holds for Slade, Rose and Jericho as this series continues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Deathstroke (2016) #9

Dec 31, 2016

This first issue was a good start to the story however, and I am interested to see if Priest does a better job at telling a smaller story across two issues rather than a long and drawn-out one. Quite honestly though, as much as I enjoyed the story, I'm mostly coming back for Nord's artwork at this point.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Deathstroke (2016) #10

Jan 13, 2017

Art wise, Nord's work was just as consistent as last issue. The unique art style really brings these characters to life in a way that is completely different to any previous interpretation, and that honestly saved this issue for me. I am a big believer in telling stories with a purpose, and while this issue did provide some more backstory into the Wilson family, it felt like an out of place mess as a whole. I didn't connect with the arc as well as I wanted to, which is a shame because of the strong opening issue, but alas – and I never thought I would say this – Priest is better at telling longer stories. It's a strange thing to say that this issue felt completely empty but also overcrowded, however it was still readable and told the story it needed to, so I can't fault it on that account.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #11

Jan 28, 2017

It was incredible to see Priest tackling this issue with no sugar coating. Everything he wanted to say was put on full display, and despite the seemingly obvious stance that he presents readers with, it is handled in an extremely mature and thoughtful way. The art in this issue is provided by Denys Cowan and Bill Sienkiewicz and stands out as some of the most raw and heart-felt art I've ever seen in a comic book. The pencil work and colors used really brought the text to life, which made for an all-round incredible read. Priest and the team really brought it together this issue. This unflinching look at such a divisive and important issue was an eye-opener for someone like me who hasn't experienced it first-hand, so I can only imagine the impact it might have on someone who knows more about the issue than I. All I can say in summary is to read this book, because it might be one of the most important comics you will ever pick up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #12

Feb 11, 2017

Priest and co. have presented us here with a very solid first issue of the new “Twilight” arc, and with the arrival of Raptor and the showdown that is going to take place next issue, I feel like the conductor of the Hype Train – and it's full steam ahead!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #13

Feb 24, 2017

It seems like all I do is sing praises for Christopher Priest when I write these reviews. Every issue he and his team find a new way to excite and engage me and this series has proven to me time and time again that Priest is one of the best in the industry right now. The art from Bennett was tight and gorgeous, and the overarching story became increasingly clear. “Twilight” is shaping up to be a solid arc, and I am excited to see what comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #14

Mar 10, 2017

I have to admit I had my doubts about this arc going in, but this issue proved all of my doubts wrong. Priest and Bennett are presenting one of the best books DC has to offer right now, and with each new issue I am growing more and more invested in this new "Twilight" arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #15

Mar 25, 2017

Part four of “Twilight” was an exciting issue that reminded me of everything I love about this series. Priest and his incredibly talented team have stepped up the bar and laid out the groundwork for an exciting finale to exciting arc.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #16

Apr 7, 2017

All in all, I really enjoyed this issue. It's mostly a set-up story wise, but it carried some of the most important character development to date. With only two issues left, “Twilight” is coming along as one of my favourite arcs not only of this series, but of the entire Rebirth line-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Deathstroke (2016) #17

Apr 23, 2017

Priest and his team delivered an issue that made me sit back afterwards and smile. It was almost flawless in its execution, bringing together plot threads that have been woven into the series since the beginning. This issue has to be my favorite of the entire Deathstroke run thus far, and I am excited to see how it all comes to a head next issue!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Deathstroke (2016) #20

Jun 9, 2017

A great jumping on point for new readers, Deathstroke #20 delivered in every aspect, bringing a great epilogue to “The Lazarus Contract” whilst also laying groundwork for the series moving forward. I think it's safe to say that this book is definitely one to watch over the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #11

Dec 24, 2016

Overall, “Outbreak” has been an interesting story with some awesome moments, but I am glad it found the place to end without running too long. I'm excited to read the JLvSS crossover (which one of my colleagues has already written a review for here) and see what direction Hitch takes these characters in both during and after this event has ended.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League (2016) #12

Jan 6, 2017

Read the book. Really read it. Seeley does this marvelous thing where he uses insane amounts of subtext in his writing " more than most people really tend to look for. If you read Justice League vs. Suicide Squad #1 before and after this tie-in, it makes the story come together in a way that is really satisfying. So that is why the perfect 10 score. I have been pretty happy with most all of the Rebirth books since the launch, but this could potentially be my favourite issue so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League (2016) #13

Jan 21, 2017

On the art side of things, Eaton delivers a solid book and really manages to get across the gruesomeness of this new world. There is nothing amazing distinctive about his art style, but it fits well with Seeley's writing and really captured every detail. Overall, this is not my favourite work of Seeley's, and despite my problems with it, this issue is a solid tie-in for the main story, and it will be interesting to see how all of this is concluded next week.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #14

Feb 4, 2017

This issue wasn't all negatives, however. The actual story of the team regrouping (as the title suggests) while trapped underground was a really strong piece of writing and honestly felt more like The Breakfast Club: Justice League Edition. The banter amongst the team members, the revelation that Batman has files on all of them, and the idea that Batman reads the jokes at the Justice League Christmas party honestly made this issue one of the nicest Rebirth issues I've ever read. The guest art contribution from Daniel Henriques was a gorgeous edition to Hitch's writing and made the whole issue feel grounded but still as surreal as a Justice League title needs to be.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #15

Feb 18, 2017

Ultimately, Hitch and his team have set up a potentially interesting story in a somewhat confusing way. I am intrigued to see where they take this arc and whether or not things will smooth out as time goes on (if you'll pardon the pun). “Timeless” seems like it is going to make more sense with each issue, but for now I'm left happy, but confused.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League (2016) #16

Mar 4, 2017

ConclusionA very exciting follow-up issue to what could've otherwise been a boring arc. My doubts from the previous issue were all put to rest and I got to read an interesting and well presented set-up for what is to come. “Timeless” is shaping up to be a brilliant arc, and I hope that going forward things stay at this level – or continue to rise!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
Justice League (2016) #17

Mar 18, 2017

Part three of “Timeless” didn't really lead anywhere. If next issue delivers, this one will be made almost a completely pointless addition. We have a lot cool plot points left floating up in the air, but I have faith that Hitch and his team will find a way to bring them back down to earth.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #18

Apr 8, 2017

There's certainly things to love about this book, but in this issue you would be hard-pressed to find many of them. The art holds up as well as ever, but the writing fell flat, though still enjoyable in some moments. I had my reservations about this arc from the beginning, and it's certainly been a roller coaster since then.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Justice League (2016) #19

Apr 23, 2017

As the final chapter of “Timeless” closes off this arc by leading into the next one, I hate to say that I won't miss it. This arc was set up to be something more than what we got, and I feel as though even one more issue could've redeemed it in my eyes.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
New Talent Showcase #1

Dec 1, 2016

All in all, this was a strong issue featuring a mixed bag of stories that showcased a lot of new talent. If the future of comics is in the hands of these creatives, then we have a bright future to look forward to, indeed. I am hoping that DC might consider making more of these issues in the future, such was the way with the original anthology series back in the 80s, but I guess we will see as time goes on. This is definitely worth picking up; it provided me with an afternoon of delightful reading and I know it will do the same for you.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #10

Dec 9, 2016

These small complaints aside, this issue was a solid start to the Bldhaven arc and I am very excited to see where Seeley and To take it over the next four issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #11

Dec 23, 2016

Overall, I am loving what this issue brought to the series and am excited to see how this arc progresses as the Bldhaven story draws near its conclusion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #12

Jan 6, 2017

Pacing wise, Seeley has been running a tight ship, however this issue felt too heavy with exposition and backstory. While I'm not complaining about a bit of backstory, it should've been taken care of much earlier than this. The previous two issues have been filled with action and detective work, but this one got a bit bogged down in its own narrative. Despite this, I still thoroughly enjoyed the story. I say it every two weeks but I will say it again: this arc really excites me and I am ready for anything Seeley and To throw at me. This pairing has brought to life one of the best Nightwing series we've had in a long time (in my opinion anyway) and to say that I will be sad when this arc is over is a gross understatement.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #13

Jan 20, 2017

All in all, another absolutely solid issue from Seeley and To. I am loving this creative team, and with only one issue left in the “Bldhaven” arc, I just know it is going to be a good one.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #14

Feb 3, 2017

On the negative side of things, I have to say that I felt like the action resolved itself kind of quickly. In saying this, however, it was nice to see the conclusion was given a solid amount of pages. It made the final moments of the arc feel complete and not rushed like some arcs often are. I would've liked to see more of a fight between Dick and Jimmy, but the conclusion we were given was a very solid final issue and ended the Bldhaven story. Overall, this arc has proven to me once again that Seeley's Nightwing is one of the best series that Rebirth has to offer, and the guest contribution from Marcus To has made this perhaps one of my favourite story arcs of any Batman Family series ever.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #15

Feb 17, 2017

Seeley really stuck the landing with this “Bldhaven” epilogue issue. The execution was some of the best that I've seen in recent times and the set-up for the next arc felt meaningful and not shoe-horned in. I am undoubtedly more excited than ever to see what comes next from Seeley and his team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 4, 2017

ConclusionSeeley and his team have a long term and invested fan in me. The more I read this series, the more I grow excited for what is to come, and tying this arc to “Bldhaven,” I can't hide how happy I am. The feeling I get reading Seeley's work is what made me fall in love with comics in the first place; familiarity, yet something entirely new and wonderful, and I don't want that feeling to ever go away.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #17

Mar 17, 2017

Part two of the latest Nightwing arc has presented a solid and well-told story that dives straight into all of the most exciting things about a new arc. Where this book goes next " I have no idea, but I'm also theorizing like crazy! Cannot recommend it enough.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 8, 2017

I feel as though you already know my conclusion. Get this book. Get all of this series. Wait for the trades, or collect them as they come. Do anything you can to read this book. I wish my excitement and love could come across even stronger on paper (“paper”), but it really can't. Bless this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 24, 2017

Anyone who reads my reviews of this book frequently knows what I'm going to say: I loved it. This arc has been absolutely fantastic thus far and with Seeley bringing in elements from the Grant Morrison Batman and Robin run, things are shaping up to get even more exciting as time goes on!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #20

May 5, 2017

There is very little to say that I haven't said before. Seeley and his team have delivered an all-round incredible arc that ended in this issue on a very strong and potent note. I cannot recommend this series enough to anyone who will listen, so if you only pick up one book this week, make it this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #21

May 20, 2017

This weeks issue of Nightwing proved that you can have a one-off issue in between arcs still be just as fun as the arcs themselves – something that a lot of other titles in comics today seem to have forgotten. I was worried about the shift in creative teams, but honestly this issue felt just as fun as this series has always felt, and that consistency is one of the things that draws me to this book every two weeks when it hits shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #22

Jun 9, 2017

Nightwing proves yet again why it's one of the best books DC has to offer right now; in a solid opener to a new arc featuring a classic Nightwing villain, this is shaping up to potentially outdo anything Seeley has done before. This is also a great jumping on point for new readers, but if you haven't been reading this series already then you're definitely missing out.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #23

Jun 22, 2017

Yet another brilliant entry into this fantastic series, we have now reached the halfway point of the "Blockbuster" arc. I find myself racing out to pick up this book every two weeks when it hits shelves, and implore anyone who isn't reading this series to do the same.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Nightwing (2016) #26

Aug 4, 2017

Despite all of the references to previous arcs and series, this issue could serve as a great jumping on point for new readers. Seeley and his team have set up a solid first issue for their new arc "Spyral" " and this is looking like one you won't want to miss!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Teen Titans (2016) #7

Apr 29, 2017

A super-fun issue that was perfectly balanced and showed exactly what a team book needs to be. Teen Titans is definitely something to watch, and with it still being early days for the series, this particular issue promises some big things in the series' future. I can't fault it in any way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Teen Titans (2016) #8

May 20, 2017

Teen Titans #8 built from the solid foundation that last weeks Titans #11 gave us, creating a second part that leaves a lot of doors open for the final two issues, as well as future issues of the series. While it may not have moved the story forward all that much, it was still a very enjoyable issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Teen Titans (2016) Annual #1

Jun 5, 2017

A solid ending to a solid crossover, “The Lazarus Contract” and its aftermath will certainly be felt in each of the three books upcoming arcs. The oversized annual as a closing issue worked wonders in wrapping up the story, and was an all-round enjoyable read.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #7

Jan 14, 2017

Moving on to the artwork, Weeks really delivers in this book. His drawings are incredible to look at and while I enjoyed the work of Brett Booth during the first arc, I would have no complaints if Weeks decided to stick around, even though that seems very unlikely. All in all, this book was a solid brick in the wall of the DC Universe. The way Abnett handled the characters was amazing and just topped off with the solid art from Weeks. Moving forward, I am very interested to see what happens with this series. The move to Manhattan is an interesting one and will no doubt bring a whole lot more trouble for the Titans as time goes on, and I will definitely be there to soak all of it in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #8

Feb 11, 2017

All in all, I really enjoyed this first chapter of Titans' new arc and am super excited to see what Abnett and Booth have in store for the next couple of issues. The set-up was executed incredibly well and this strong groundwork will make the upcoming parts of this arc (hopefully) some of the best Titans action we've seen in recent times.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #9

Mar 10, 2017

ConclusionAbnett and Booth prove once again that they know how to handle a team book. Titans has been one of the most consistent series of Rebirth so far and this arc looks as though it might be up with “Bldhaven” for me. I will definitely be picking up the rest of the series so long as it keeps up this incredibly story telling.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) #10

Apr 15, 2017

A satisfying conclusion to a solid three-part arc, “Made in Manhattan” was a great read and arguably my favorite Titans Rebirth story to date. I'm excited to get into “The Lazarus Contract” and see where this set-up is leading, not only here but also in Deathstrokeand Teen Titans.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Titans (2016) #11

May 13, 2017

A solid first issue to what is shaping up to be a Rebirth-defining crossover event. Titans provided a good backdrop for Part One, and I have complete faith that next week's Teen Titans is going to take this event to the next level.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Titans (2016) #12

Jun 16, 2017

An issue that I can sit back and say “I'm glad I read that – but I probably wouldn't go back.” It was enjoyable to read and look at, and I am interested to see what this upcoming arc is going to be like.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Apr 1, 2017

One of the most interesting and engaging stories I've read in a while, Abnett and Jung took this book to a whole new level that I didn't know was possible. While I'm already loving the current arc, this annual has made me incredibly excited for what's to come! If you read one book this week – this month – this year – make it this one.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

July

More