Wayne Hall's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Major Spoilers, Comic Booked Reviews: 169
9.0Avg. Review Rating

8.0
24: Underground #1

Apr 27, 2014

If you haven't watched the series before, you might want to get the DVDs first. This book will make more sense after you watch them, but it's not required! It's just so worth your time!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
4001 A.D. #1

May 10, 2016

Kindt and company deliver high-power sci-fi.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Adventures of Supergirl #1

Jan 28, 2016

If you enjoy the CBS show, you'll also want to read this digital-first comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Alex + Ada #4

Feb 20, 2014

If you havent read Alex + Ada yet, see if you can pick up the previous three issues at your local comics shop. If you cant find them that way, I encourage you to purchase the digital versions. Now, wouldnt it be perfectly appropriate to read this story on your iPad?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Alex + Ada #14

Apr 30, 2015

In this penultimate issue, things take a turn for the worse for our Romeo and Juliet.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Alien Legion: Uncivil War #1

Jun 26, 2014

If youre looking for action, adventure and drama, pick up this book! I cant wait to see how things progress, and am seriously hoping for more Alien Legion once this miniseries has been completed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
All-New Hawkeye #3

May 29, 2015

Hawkeye has been worth the wait, and Im glad Ive had my chance to talk about the series.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
All-New Invaders #4

Apr 24, 2014

You can listen to my recent interview with artist Steve Pugh in my Wayne's Comics podcast at this link!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
All-Star Batman #2

Sep 16, 2016

This multi-part story has me by the short and curlies, and I'm waiting breathlessly for the next issue. $4.99 is more than a good price for all this excellent Bat-storytelling! Really!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Animal Man #22

Jul 18, 2013

I've always liked Buddy Baker and his family, but since the debut of the New 52, Animal Man has become one of my favorite books to read each month. While there was a crossover with Swamp Thing several months back, this title reminds me of the days when a strong monthly comic was enough to grab our attention! I wish more books were as consistently enjoyable as Animal Man! Can't wait for next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Animal Man #29

Mar 20, 2014

Thanks to everyone involved with this tremendous and classic comic, be it writer, artist (including Steve Pugh) or anything else! Its been an incredible ride, and Im thrilled I got a chance to climb on board and go along!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Animosity #1

Aug 27, 2016

Good storytelling will challenge your thinking, and I find myself seriously challenged by this debut issue! Where will it go from here? I'm not entirely sure, but I'll be reading" and wondering if I should show this comic to Bullet and Mandy, our two dogs, as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Anti-Hero #5

Nov 29, 2013

Anti-Hero is a high-octane, moving and engaging book that you should seek out on Monkeybraincomics.com! It's one of the best deals offered today! Not only that, it's terrific!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Aquaman: Rebirth #1

Jun 14, 2016

This was a good refocus for Aquaman, although I must admit this was my least favorite of the Rebirth titles so far.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #19

Apr 11, 2013

The "Court of Owls" story has already become a classic, in my opinion, and "Death of the Family" has set the standard extremely high for any future confrontations with the Joker. I'm glad that the book also gives us engrossing shorter tales as well! Be sure you pick up this issue, and be back next month for the conclusions!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #21

Jun 13, 2013

ProsFilling in some of the gaps in Batman's history will help us understand the hero better.Both Capullo and Albuquerque deliver strong art matching the stories.ConsReaders should learn as much as you can about the Dark Knight's past to get as much out of the book as possible.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #22

Jul 11, 2013

Honestly, I had such high expectations after the "Court of Owls" and "Death of the Family" stories that I wasn't sure "Zero Year" could match them. But I should have known better! Whenever you see the names of this issue's creators on a book, buy it because it's going to be great storytelling! Now I have to find the patience to wait a whole month for the next chapter.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #23

Aug 15, 2013

During the video interview I watched, Snyder said he'd stay on the title for as long as the fans wanted him to. Well, since he's had the top two highest-selling comics the past two months (Superman Unchained and Batman), I hope he'll be bringing both to life for a long time to come! Five out of five stars!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #23.3

Sep 20, 2013

It's another one of the best I've read so far in September, and it makes me anxious for the next appearance of Oswald Chesterfield Cobblepot!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #25

Nov 14, 2013

Here at MajorSpoilers.com, there's a weekly "Staff Picks" column. I often think we should develop a Hall of Fame we can put Batman in because it's consistently terrific from month to month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #31

May 30, 2014

Some people grumbled when Zero Year was announced, but Im not hearing any of that now. This re-focusing of Batmans origin will be classic, and will plant the seeds for many excellent Bat-stories for years to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman (2011) #33

Jul 24, 2014

I cant wait until the next story starts in August! I think itll continue to keep Batman as the top-selling comic each month, so I highly recommend you dont miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2011) #36

Nov 13, 2014

I get asked occasionally just why Batman is one of the best-selling, if not THE top-selling book many months. This issue is a perfect example of why " strong story with powerful art. It doesn't get any better than this.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Batman (2011) #42

Jul 10, 2015

If you can't see anyone else but Bruce in the suit, I'd implore you to give these two issues a try. I am one of the biggest Bat-fans I know, and I'm loving it! I highly recommend you dive into this new status quo regardless of how big a fan of the character you are " you won't regret it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
Batman (2011) #50

Mar 27, 2016

Snyder and Capullo continue to provide great storytelling in Batman as they near the end of their terrific run.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.9
Batman (2011) #51

Apr 29, 2016

If you've been reading Batman as faithfully as I have, you'll find reward after reward in the pages inside.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Batman (2011) #52

May 13, 2016

I imagine there are some folks who decided to pass on this book since it didn't have Snyder and Capullo working on it. I'm sorry if you decided to do that because you missed a great issue! It's an excellent way to bring a high-power Bat-book to its conclusion while looking ahead to Rebirth. Nicely done!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Batman (2016) #1

Jun 16, 2016

Can a man interact with metahumans? That seems to be the question posed by this storyline.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #4

Aug 14, 2016

As I said, the first issue flummoxed me some, but Batman is hitting its stride, falling plane aside! The blend of art and script is really, really strong, and I look forward to this title arriving every two weeks!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #7

Sep 26, 2016

This week's beginning to "Night of the Monster Men" is off to a great start. A few more surprises would be very cool, though!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Batman (2016) #14

Jan 7, 2017

While I'm enjoying this series, to me it doesn't compete with All-Star Batman. I'm happy the sales continue to be high. As a long-time Bat-fan, I'm always thrilled when the Dark Knight is successful. But my final thoughts have been, "Okay, we had sex. That's over. We can move on to other things now, right?" (I'm sure some folks will be unhappy with me for saying that " "typical male thinking!")

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman (2016) #20

Apr 8, 2017

The fact that there are a lot of "I Am" arcs happening shows that King is finding quite a bit of depth to Batman. I'm not sure he'll ever run out of ideas as he takes us on a journey "where no Batman has gone before," if I can use a Star Trek reference.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman / TMNT Adventures #5

Mar 30, 2017

If you're a fan of either shows, or both, I think you'll find these comics so worth the buying and reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman and Robin (2011) #23.2

Sep 13, 2013

It's one of the best I've read so far in September, but it does make me anxious to read the rest of the month's offerings!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman and Robin (2011) #26

Dec 19, 2013

For a long-term Bat-fan like myself, it can't get much better with this group of comics. I can think of only one way right now - bring on Batman: Eternal, the weekly series debuting in early 2014!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman and Robin (2011) Annual #2

Jan 31, 2014

The last page of the issue shows Bruce, Dick and Damian swinging through Gotham in their most recent costumes. Could this annual and that panel be a hint that Damians not long for the land of the dead? I still think he could have ended up in the Lazarus Pit in time, and is waiting in the wings (so to speak) to become Robin again.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Batman And Robin Eternal #3

Oct 27, 2015

It's great to have another weekly Bat-title to take home every Wednesday!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman Incorporated #13

Aug 1, 2013

The best way to sum up this review is to quote Mr. Morrison through Commissioner Gordon's last words about the Dark Knight: "Batman always comes back, bigger and better, shiny and new. Batman never dies. It never ends. It probably never will."

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Batman/Superman (2013) #21

Jun 11, 2015

How will the "New" Batman and Superman interact? We'll begin to find that out here!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman/Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles #5

Apr 15, 2016

I never thought this team-up would work, but it does!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Black and White #1

Sep 5, 2013

As a life-long Batman fan, I love seeing all these wonderful comics based on or around The Dark Knight. I wouldn't mind seeing this title come out every month, but that would likely put a serious crimp in getting "name" talent working on stories. If it sells as well as I think it will, I hope we get a new Batman: Black and White mini-series once every year! Rating:

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batman: Earth One #2

May 7, 2015

An excellent follow-up by two great creators!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Batman: Eternal #39

Jan 1, 2015

As I mentioned earlier, there will be a Batman: Eternal-sized hole in my reading after this book concludes. However, I did get a chance during an interview with Mr. Tynion to ask if we might see another year of this title somewhere down the road, and he hinted that it could happen! I sure hope it does! Batman's flying high right now, and that's such a pleasure for a long-time Bat-fan like me. I was sorry to see Arkham Manor bite the big one, but there are so many other excellent Bat-titles out there now that it's lessening my pain.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batman: Joker's Daughter #1

Feb 6, 2014

Women have been interesting additions to the Jokers life. Take Harley Quinn, for example. Ive long been a fan of new Batman villains, including Magpie, for instance. Will the Jokers Daughter catch on? Will she eventually get her own title? I hope so!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) #29

Mar 27, 2014

Hurwitz has done an exceptional job of playing the dark tone of Batman stories off genuinely funny sequences. Given how fans of the Bat don't often take kindly to humor, I thought he did a spectacular job of not only challenging Batman, but making him as realistic as possible. I mean, NOBODY lives life without ANY humor at all, even the Dark Knight of Gotham City.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Batman: The Dark Knight (2011) Annual #1

May 30, 2013

Sometimes annuals don't measure up to the monthly title, but this one is a perfect companion. Having three villains appear ups the ante in the book, and the mystery surrounding what's going will help the Dark Knight's mystique grow in Gotham's criminal underworld since I just KNOW one of them will blab about it anyway! While it's a great read at any time, I would highly recommend returning to this annual on Halloween when it will be a perfect way to celebrate that holiday!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Batwing #29

Mar 6, 2014

If you like Batman and havent checked out this newer direction for Batwing, I encourage you to try it out. Its a significant member of the Bat-family, and I hope it continues on for a long time to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Batwoman (2017) #1

Mar 18, 2017

Highly recommended! This is the first book of the new series, so I strongly suggest you jump on board now so you can enjoy future issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Birthright #1

Oct 7, 2014

I have to say, if you see the name Josh Williamson on the cover of a comic, buy it! You may be surprised by what genre story he's telling, but you won't be disappointed! Be sure to pick up Birthright #1 so you can get into this book on the ground floor! It's terrific!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Black Knight (2015) #1

Nov 20, 2015

I found this debut issue engaging, and liked the fact that Whitmans abilities are being put to good use.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Black Knight (2015) #5

Mar 10, 2016

The final issue in the current run of Black Knight prompts me to make suggestions for next time!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Tiger #1

Aug 30, 2015

A great start to a new title from Graphic India!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Bloodshot: Reborn #1

Apr 18, 2015

Lemire's script and Suayan's art brings Bloodshot back with a bang!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
C.O.W.L. #4

Aug 28, 2014

If you haven't read this comic yet, I highly encourage you to dive in and at least give it a try. With only two issues out, you should be able to catch up easily. And with the gritty city and its heroes taking center stage, it should give you a new longjohns experience!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Captain Canuck #6

Dec 24, 2015

I often see this hero referred to as Canadas version of Captain America, representing the nation as Steve Rogers does for the U.S. Since Captain America came first, Im okay with that.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Captain Kid #1

Jul 22, 2016

Who told Mark Waid and Tom Peyer my fantasy about being able to turn into a superhero?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Midnight #12

Jun 19, 2014

Needless to say, Captain Midnight is classic because he works and works well. Want to know how? Be sure to pick up this issue and youll begin to understand!

View Issue       View Full Review
6.0
Captain Midnight #15

Sep 25, 2014

I always wanted to see Captain America deal more with Hydra and other baddies from the Second World War, but it looks like it's Captain Midnight who's doing that instead!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Captain Ultimate #3

Oct 16, 2013

If you're looking for a fun, adventurous read, you should definitely seek out Captain Ultimate! (Cue the orchestra again!) And maybe you can get your Mom or Dad to sit down and read it with you!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Cognetic #1

Oct 28, 2015

Cognetic, like Memetic before it, is perfect reading for Halloween!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Copperhead #1

Sep 11, 2014

I always like to point out how much I love variety in my reading, and Copperhead scratches an itch for things that move along like the Old West did. It's fun, it's fascinating and it's going places I can't wait to go, so I do recommend this title if you enjoy strong writing, great situations and characters you can understand easily.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Dark Night: A True Batman Story #1

Jun 17, 2016

If you've experienced this kind of personal tragedy, regardless to what degree, I think you'll find this as cathartic an experience as I did.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
DC Universe: Rebirth #1

May 25, 2016

The only fault I find is that readers who are not long-time DC fans will be somewhat lost when various characters appear.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Delete #1

Mar 30, 2016

Delete will make you care about the characters, and bring you to the edge of your seat, pulling for them all the way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Dept Of Monsterology #2

Nov 22, 2013

I have to repeat myself here: If you want to read a comic that delivers bigger and better horror, Dept. of Monsterology is just what you've been looking for!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dept Of Monsterology #4

Jan 13, 2014

If you havent had the chance to explore it, Im hoping this run of Dept. of Monsterology will be collected into a trade. If youre already a fan of horror or just starting to explore it, this series is worth your money and time!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Detective Comics (2011) #19

Apr 4, 2013

This was a good celebration of 900 issues of Detective Comics! Of course, it would have been nice to see that numbering restored, but I'm okay with this kind of recognition. It literally drives me batty to see a comic go on for 10-20 issues, then get renumbered when a company thinks they can sell more copies by leaping back to the numbering they just left a few months back!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Detective Comics (2011) #24

Oct 3, 2013

I'm going to miss Mr. Layman on Detective Comics. He's done good! I'll be sure to follow him to Catwoman and keep reading Chew from Image. I'm hoping Detective will continue to shine with new scripters. Batman and his clan are flying high these days, and I hope that will stay true for a long time to come!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Drive #1

Aug 26, 2015

Drive is a lean, taut story, where the details lend that feel of authenticity.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Earth 2 #18

Dec 5, 2013

Of course, some folks will never like an alternate Earth. But if you thought Earth 2 would be a book worth giving up on, I would encourage you to keep at it or return to this title! It's still great!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Earth 2 #26

Aug 7, 2014

I've enjoyed this title ever since it debuted, and even with Mr. Taylor taking over the writing from James Robinson, I feel the quality has remained excellent.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Earth 2: World's End #26

Apr 3, 2015

A weekly worth the following!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Edison Rex #15

Apr 4, 2014

Strong characters, fast-paced stories, comics Easter eggs, and a great price (ninety-nine cents) are excellent reasons to read this comic! If you haven't read this title before, you can go through their site to pick up the previous issues at the same price each. However, you can now pick up the trade collection for the early stores at local comics shops if you prefer a paper copy. I highly recommend this book! It's what I think good comics should be!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Elfquest: Final Quest #1

Jan 23, 2014

If youre looking for some engaging fantasy, dont miss Elfquest: The Final Quest! Its something special and will pull you in from the first time you read it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Faster than Light #1

Sep 15, 2015

That seems to be the focus of this title Can man and woman survive and thrive in outer space, given the perils and problems well encounter there?

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Figment #2

Jul 3, 2014

Want to hear more about this book? Be sure to tune in to the 131st episode of my Waynes Comics Podcast, which you can find at this link! I interview Mr. Zub, who gives a lot of insight into this comic, so dont miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Flash (2016) #17

Feb 26, 2017

I know that Detective Comics and Hal Jordan and the Green Lantern Corps are getting all the attention, but right up there with them should be The Flash, which is one of the very best reads I dive into when the new issues come out! Fun, high-octane energy, surprises, challenges? Yup, all there, and all what you'd expect reading a comic focusing on the Fastest Man Alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Forever Evil #4

Dec 26, 2013

David Finch remains one of my favorite artists because he can make action literally "pop" off the page. He also has a great way with character's faces and their costumes. I still enjoy his Batman the most.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Forever Evil: A.R.G.U.S. #1

Oct 31, 2013

Look for me to be keeping up with this title going forward. Mr. Gates' ability to weave a strong story will keep me on the edge of my seat even if the art isn't as strong as I'd like it to be!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Frostbite #1

Sep 30, 2016

This is a great time to jump on, so I highly recommend you find this debut issue. If there aren't any paper copies around, digital ones are easy to purchase and download. Don't miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Geek Girl #1

Oct 31, 2016

It's taken some time for Sam to get the team together, but I think he's done very well in making this issue sparkle and be worth your hard-earned quatloos. It's important to me that the women aren't just "men with (female appendages)," as some like to say. They're people and yet still believable, and I look forward to following the adventures of Ruby, her friends and foes in the months ahead. Geek-Girl puts the human back in super-human.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
George Perez's Sirens #1

Sep 18, 2014

If you are a big Perez fan like I am, or this is the first time you've encountered his work, or even somewhere in between, be sure to give this a try! You may just fall in love with his creative genius the way I have!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Ghosted #5

Nov 7, 2013

If you didn't get the chance to pick up Ghosted's previous issues, the first five-issue arc is being collected into a trade for only $9.99 as reported here on MajorSpoilers.com! If you haven't read this excellent title, pick up the trade so you can enjoy it as well as future issues of this terrific comic! Five out of five stars and a must-read!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghosted #6

Jan 16, 2014

If you didnt get the chance to pick up Ghosteds previous issues, the first five-issue arc has been collected into a trade for only $9.99! Be sure to pick up the trade so you can enjoy it as well as future issues of this terrific comic! That way you pick up everything thats going on in this wonderful book! Ghosted #6 earns 4 Stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Ghosted #11

Jul 10, 2014

If you didnt get the chance to pick up Ghosteds previous stories, the previous two five-issue arcs have been collected into trades! This is the perfect time to do that since a new story will begin next time, and it will help enjoy it as much as possible! That way you pick up everything thats going on in this wonderful book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Great Pacific #13

Feb 13, 2014

If you havent read Great Pacific before, be sure to pick up the trades so you can get whats happening in this and future issues. Its worth your time and money!Share this:TwitterFacebookGoogleRedditTumblrEmailMoreLinkedInStumbleUponPrintDiggPinterest

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Arrow (2011) #21

Jun 6, 2013

DC might have considered restarting this title with a new number one, but they're letting this comic pick up steam via excellent word of mouth, in my opinion. If you haven't been reading Green Arrow, you definitely should be! Now that the set-up is complete, expect big things in the months ahead as the stories take off! I know I can't wait for this book each month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Green Lantern (2011) #20

May 23, 2013

Am I looking forward to GL's future? Yes, actually. As great as Johns' writing is, I think even he hasn't thought of everything the Corps can encounter, something I bet he'd agree with. I'll be buying the GL family moving forward, and hope the new guys take us where no Lantern has gone before! Green Lantern #20 gets 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
GRIMM #1

May 9, 2013

I think it's a high compliment to say that I often heard the show's theme music, which I really like, in my head as I was reading this comic. I'm anxiously awaiting the next issue. If I'm really lucky, this book will not be a miniseries but an ongoing title that can give me my Grimm fix even when the show is on hiatus on NBC! Grimm #1 gets 5 out of 5 stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Gutter Magic #1

Jan 14, 2014

Gutter Magic is an enjoyable read full of clearly defined characters in a world that is both intriguing and fun. You can't take anything for granted in a magical environment, and that kept me moving from page to page quickly.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Hal Jordan And The Green Lantern Corps #7

Oct 28, 2016

In my opinion, this will go down as one of the classic Corps stories of all time. It takes Hal and Sinestro to the edges of their interaction, and I loved it! I imagine Mr. Venditti and company already have more surprises in store for us readers, so I can't wait!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Harrow County #1

May 15, 2015

Thats what horror is all about, taking our imaginations places weve never even conceived of. Itll be something else again to keep up with Harrow County.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Hawkeye Vol. 2 Annual #1

Jul 25, 2013

Since this comic has more to do with everyday life than superheroics, it's good that the art team is using a simpler, more relaxed style than many superhero books that focus on trying to make the fights pop off the page. And it works with Fraction's stories. In this annual, the style remains the same, and you might even think that there could be a Lady Hawkeye book in our future!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Hexed (2014) #6

Jan 15, 2015

I often complain about how poorly supernatural events in comics are handled. When the writer has painted himself or herself into a corner, the (in)famous "Woo-Woo Ray" appears, something that we've never had any indication of seeing suddenly appears and resolves the situation. Nelson and company NEVER do that, thankfully. The characters shine, the scripting is powerful and the art is eye-popping. What else could you want from a comic?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Hulk (2014) #2

May 2, 2014

Every good jumping-on place can also be a jumping-off time. If youve decided the latter, I think you should reconsider that. Mr. Waid always delivers engaging stories and characters, so youd be missing out on a lot if you let Hulk go!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Imperium #1

Feb 6, 2015

We explore the world through Harada's eyes in this intriguing comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Insufferable (IDW) #1

May 22, 2015

If you haven't read this series before, I highly recommend it, particularly if you're a fan of Batman like I am. Waid takes the two leads where the Bat-titles often cannot go, and that's what makes it worth the reading!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Invincible #111

May 24, 2014

Still, Invincible has been a good ride to date, so why mess too much with success?

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible #117

Feb 19, 2015

As Kirkman moves this title in a new direction, he continues to deliver on character and action.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Iron Fist: The Living Weapon #2

May 8, 2014

If you haven't picked up the first and second issues, now's the perfect time to do it! You'll get in on the ground floor with what I consider one of the best comics you could choose! I highly encourage you to either buy it digitally or at your local comics shop! You won't be disappointed!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
John Flood #1

Aug 10, 2015

If you enjoy something of a different spin on characters and mysteries, I recommend you pick up this first issue! John Flood pulls my brain in a different direction, something I look forward to happening every month!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Justice League #23.4

Sep 26, 2013

I often don't care much for mega-events (or even regular events), but this one is proving to be a good one in that we're getting a diverse take on the bad guys and gals. This book is one I highly recommend to "get" what's going on in particular! Rating: Five out of five stars.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Justice League #33

Sep 4, 2014

Since I'm a big fan of Geoff Johns, I've been loving this title since the New 52 came into being, so I'm happy that the stories have been as entertaining as ever. If you haven't been reading them, I would recommend you give them a chance. Mr. Johns continues to update the League, making them relevant to today's readers and chock full of adventure!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Justice League #41

Jun 6, 2015

The Darkseid War begins, and it's a doozy!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Justice League United #4

Aug 14, 2014

As I mentioned earlier in this review, you could do worse than to buy a DC comic with "Justice League" in the title. When competing with the "regular" Justice League title and Justice League Dark, I find this book to be a nice change of pace from the others.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
King #2

Sep 21, 2015

Fialkov and Chang have developed an excellent story featuring the last humans on Earth in L.A.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Letter 44 #3

Jan 9, 2014

Whatever you need to do to read this comic, do it! Check your local comics shop, go online to comixology.com … whatever it takes! I think youll enjoy it as much as I have! Get this book!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magnus: Robot Fighter #1

Mar 12, 2014

Not only am I going to be there for Magnus, I cant wait for other Gold Key books to come my way. Im catching up on Turok very soon as well, so kudos to Dynamite and these creators for grabbing me by the short and curlies and not letting go until I read these comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Magnus: Robot Fighter #7

Oct 15, 2014

Whether you've read Magnus before or not, it doesn't take more than a few pages in before you understand him very well, and I need that! Not only am I going to be there for Magnus, I'm enjoying other Gold Key books that come my way. Kudos to Dynamite and these creators for grabbing me by the short and curlies and not letting go until I read these comics!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Mantle #3

Jul 16, 2015

It's a great book, one I'm glad I had the chance to jump on early. If you haven't read this title yet, I recommend you check your local shops. If you can't find #1 or #2 that way, I'd check out digital outlets so you can catch up and move forward with this fascinating comic!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Max Ride: First Flight #5

Aug 18, 2015

You don't need to be a teen to like this miniseries, in my opinion.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Millennium #1

Jan 24, 2015

The magic of Chris Carter (and Joe Harris) lives on in Millennium #1

View Issue       View Full Review
2.0
Miniature Jesus #3

Jun 21, 2013

Many times, I come away from my time reading comics elated, excited and anxious to share about the great stories I've just read. This issue left me down and certain that it's time to go back and read Batman #21 so I can feel good again! Granted, the story's not over yet, but I won't be around to see how this one ends!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Mouse Guard: Legends of the Guard Vol. 2 #1

Jun 27, 2013

ProsDiverse, interesting stories from a variety of creators.Colorful, fascinating characters in "real" stories that will keep you on the edge of your seat.ConsIf only all four issues had all come out at the same time! Oh, well, there's always next month!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
New Superman #6

Dec 17, 2016

I plan on following this book continuing forward. It has a great cast of characters, a variety of situations around the heroes, and the freedom to go places we've never seen the "regular" Justice League go. I like that!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Ninjak #1

Mar 14, 2015

Matt Kindt and company give us a great start to a series that will deal with Mr. Kindt's favorite comics characters!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
No Angel #1

Nov 30, 2016

For those of us who like high-octane supernatural tales, No Angel is heavenly!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Northguard #2

Sep 19, 2016

It's a fun, enjoyable, action-oriented story. Granted, most people come out of all this scot-free, but that's the superhero biz! I'm interested in what they'll do next!

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Old Guard #1

Feb 27, 2017

This series is scheduled to be an ongoing one, so the creators are certain to have some really twisted and amazing things in store for these people. I'm anxious to see how this problem resolves as well as what challenges they'll face in the future. Worth picking up this initial issue and sticking with, so I recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Over The Garden Wall #3

Oct 29, 2015

I think adults will find Over the Garden Wall oddly disturbing and creepy, so its just in time for the scariest season of the year! Its weird, its dark, its mysterious and its different.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Parallel Man #7

Apr 11, 2015

It's a game-changing issue featuring triumph, tragedy, and a betrayal that will reveal the ultimate enemy of the multiverse.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Past Aways #9

Mar 29, 2016

I loved this series from its start, sorry to see it go!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Pestilence #1

May 22, 2017

I always enjoy AfterShock's comics because stories are told with such high quality! I love the level of engaging both character and plot in this debut issue and will be back for more! If you can't get enough zombie in your reading diet, be sure to let Pestilence ravage you!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Plutona #3

Dec 6, 2015

If you like this kind of story, I highly recommend this title. It's something along the lines of Gotham Central, but looking through the prism of younger eyes instead of police officers. If you can get the previous issues, I'd seriously recommend that since it will help you understand all that's happening. Still, an engaging comic for sure!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Protocol: Orphans #1

Nov 15, 2013

If you are as big a spy story fan as I am and am looking for a different take on the genre, give Protocol - Orphans your attention! I think you'll find a tale that will grab your attention and keep you coming back for more!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Reborn #1

Oct 14, 2016

The notion that people move on to another life is a comforting one to me. On the other hand, having to get shot to get there, and in a rather gruesome circumstance, well, that was tough to read.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Red City #1

Jun 13, 2014

As I often like to point out, I enjoy something different in my reading diet. Murder mysteries are great as well as science fiction stories, but when you mix the two together as effectively as Red City does, you have to pay attention. What technology may prove the be significant? Also, which characters are necessary for us to follow to figure out whodunt? Its those kinds of things that will keep me visiting Red City for months to come! I hope you will be, too!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Red Hood And The Outlaws #19

Apr 18, 2013

The events of this issue greatly intrigue me. What's next for this crazy trio? Will Jason really lose his past forever? Will Roy be the one who pays the price for these escapades? Will Kori continue to find their friendships enough to keep her on Earth? I have to know! Red Hood and the Outlaws has been a good comic since it debuted, but I'm hoping Tynion, Gopez and all will kick it up to a higher level for me and other fans!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Replica #1

Dec 20, 2015

AfterShock Comics leads off with Replica #1 and others!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Ringside #2

Dec 31, 2015

As I often say, I love variety in my reading. This book introduced me to people I might never have known and put them in circumstances I may never completely understand. But I'm all the better for having read this comic. I'm not sure I'll ever really become a wrestling fan, but I feel I have at least learned a lot about that profession. I see the why's and wherefore's, particularly when it comes to those around the ring.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Robert Heinlein's Citizen of the Galaxy #3

Apr 25, 2015

This miniseries deals with slavery in its various forms in powerful ways1

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robin Rises: Alpha #1

Dec 24, 2014

If you liked Damian as much as I did or maybe even more, this issue is a must-have. If you didn't care for him or have no idea who he is, you'll find this issue a great jumping-on point. Hey, if you're a Batman fan, you'll enjoy this book because it's got the Dark Knight and those strange and wonderful allies he often surrounds himself with, taking to task those villains beyond Batman's ability! That's always fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Robin Rises: Omega #1

Jul 17, 2014

If you liked Damian as much as I did or even more, this issue is a must-have. If you didn't care for him or have no idea who he is, you'll find this issue a great jumping-on point. Hey, if you're a Batman fan, you'll enjoy this book because it's got the Dark Knight and those strange and wonderful allies he often surrounds himself with, taking the villains to task as they deserve to be fought!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Rom #2

Aug 28, 2016

It's fun to revisit this top-notch sci-fi series, and I hope it lasts for a long, long time. Batman will always be called "The Dark Knight," but now ROM will be called "The Space Knight" again, something I'm truly enjoying! (Even his nickname was ahead of its time!)

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Samurai Jack #12

Dec 12, 2014

If you miss the program or just enjoy samurai adventures, I highly recommend you get into this comic! It's like Samurai Jack never left!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Samurai Jack #15

Dec 12, 2014

I have some friends who simply hated Samurai Jack. It's a brand of storytelling that not everyone here in the States warms up to, but for those of us who enjoyed the animated series, the comic is a gift from the Cartoon Network gods. Oh, and IDW Publishing as well!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Second Sight #1

Feb 21, 2016

Second Sight is an amazing supernatural murder book, not to be missed!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Separators #1

Nov 26, 2014

I'm very excited about what OSSM Comics is doing, and Separators looks to be their flagship title. I like the mystical/supernatural elements of the Xenoglylphs and their impact on history as well as how they influence the characters. I also am impressed with all the possibilities and the relationships among the people and how they're growing.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Separators #2

Jan 9, 2015

I'm very excited about what OSSM Comics is doing, and Separators looks to be their flagship title. Good choice!I like the mystical/supernatural elements of the Xenoglylphs and their impact on history as well as how they influence the characters. I also am impressed with all the possibilities and the relationships among the people and how they're growing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Sinestro #1

Apr 18, 2014

I highly recommend this series! Both Magento and Sinestro deserve your attention!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Smoketown #1

Mar 12, 2017

Highly recommended! This is the first book of the series, so I strongly suggest you jump on board now so you can enjoy future issues!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Snowfall #1

Feb 28, 2016

A great debut issue to a fascinating sci-fi weather/environmental concept.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Solar Flare #5

Apr 24, 2016

I'm really big on this Solar Flare comic because I can imagine my life without the power I depend on, and it likely wouldn't be very much fun!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Star Trek #39

Dec 18, 2014

If you want to see Trek that you haven't read previously, I encourage you to pick up this event. It's been such a pleasure to go "where no Trek has gone before," if you'll pardon the expression!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Star Trek/Green Lantern: The Spectrum War #6

Dec 14, 2015

Two diverse science-fiction universes collide, and not everything returns to “normal” when it's over!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Strayer #1

Jan 28, 2016

A great new title from AfterShock Comics, so it comes highly recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Supergirl (2011) #20

May 16, 2013

Honestly, I think this book could outdo the other Superman family titles with Nelson's strong characterization and plotting. Wouldn't it be great to have Supergirl be the lead "super" title at DC for a change? I'd love that! I highly recommend you jump on now (if you don't buy this comic already) so you'll enjoy the book when the high-octane action and personal interaction hits!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Unchained #3

Aug 22, 2013

Long may Superman Unchained fly to the top of the charts!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Superman Unchained #5

Jan 1, 2014

Thats obviously not a problem for Snyder, Lee and Nguyen, who seem to have easily brushed aside all my concerns and have breathed much-needed life into Superman. And it couldnt have happened a moment too soon!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Superman: American Alien #1

Nov 14, 2015

A Man of Steel we can relate to!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Superman: Lois and Clark #4

Jan 31, 2016

What happens when the moral Superman ends up in the very gray New 52 universe? Check it out!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
Talon #1

Oct 6, 2012

It's high-octane mystery and action that clearly fits the Bat-family! Wow! Don't miss this strong new addition to the Batman group of comics! Get in on the ground floor while you still can!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Teen Titans (2016) #2

Nov 30, 2016

Teen Titans is a perfect example of what the Rebirth event has been all about " returning to the core of what made this book so popular while also updating some necessary items.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Teen Titans (2016) #5

Feb 26, 2017

This initial story has been a strong one for the Teen Titans, establishing them as individuals in their own rights while blending them together as a group. Nicely done!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Terrible Lizard #5

Mar 20, 2015

This all-ages book really delivers!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
The Beauty #2

Sep 22, 2015

I'm fully locked into this series, anxious to know how things will progress from issue to issue. It makes me think about beauty and its importance while making me care about the people we're following.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
The Black Bat #9

Feb 27, 2014

If you havent added this bat to your comics collection, I highly encourage you to pick up the title! Every time it hits the stores, I go crazy until I get my copy! Dont miss it!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
The Black Hood #1

Mar 1, 2015

A terrific start to a new universe!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Dresden Files: War Cry #1

Jun 6, 2014

If youve considered getting intoThe Dresden Files, this comic might be a good place to give it a try. Some stores will likely still have the previous issues for sale. If you enjoy it,Fool Moon(the second novel) came out in comics adaptation. Or you can go to the novels and catch up that way!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
The Few #2

Feb 28, 2017

It's a very engrossing story, and two issues have me very seriously looking forward to more.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
The Fix #1

Apr 10, 2016

Nick Spencer takes a break from two Captain America titles to explore the other side.

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Owl #2

Aug 8, 2013

The Owl is a mini-series of only four issues, so those of us interested in it should be buying it as much as possible so we can get more! It's a unique take on costumed crime fighters, so it gets 5 out of 5 stars from me!

View Issue       View Full Review
10
The Owl #4

Oct 10, 2013

I loved this update for a classic hero. I would beg Dynamite to make more because I'm sure Mr. Krul and company have other stories that many of us would like to dive into.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Titans (2016) Annual #1

Mar 31, 2017

I do love me a team-up, and giving these "big guns" and "new guns" a chance to work together with hints of what's to come in Rebirth made this an annual worth picking up. Recommended!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Trinity of Sin: Pandora #1

Jul 6, 2013

ProsSets up the "Trinity War" involving all three Justice Leagues.Updates the Pandora legend for the New 52.ConsSometimes the story is told out of sequence, which can be confusing.Pandora's Box is radically changed from previous tales involving it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Venture #2

Aug 15, 2015

A landmark superhero comic a decade ahead of its time!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
We Can Never Go Home #4

Aug 31, 2015

This time I want to bring another terrific series to your attention, and thats We Can Never Go Home from Black Mask Studios.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Winterworld #1

Jun 19, 2014

This is the perfect way to cool down on a hot summer afternoon! I highly recommend it!

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Wolf #1

Jul 26, 2015

This book is a good start and a new spin on werewolves and other supernatural happenings.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

June

May

More