William Evans's Comic Reviews

Reviewer For: Black Nerd Problems Reviews: 119
8.5Avg. Review Rating

8.8
Black Canary (2015) #3

Aug 20, 2015

Still, Black Canary is interesting, the supporting cast is getting more run, and little by little we are getting a unique backstory for Dinah. Yeah… I'm in.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Black Canary (2015) #4

Sep 17, 2015

Black Canary is a pretty damn good book and this might be the best issue so far. Fletcher is building on levels of this story and we could be in for something special moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Black Canary (2015) #5

Oct 24, 2015

Black Canary continues to be one of DC's brightest stars, but takes a small step back this issue as it dove deeper into the minutia of the band itself. Next issue promises to be a big one with the inevitable showdown with Bo Maeve and her very Dinah-like upgrades.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Canary (2015) #6

Jan 1, 2016

You should really read Black Canary. It's good, strange, affirming and unique. It combines a lot of different storytelling elements while still maintaining the spirit of the Black Canary character.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Black Canary (2015) #7

Jan 25, 2016

Black Canary wraps its first arc and quickly established itself as one of DC's top books out. The narrative gets a little wonky, but is still effective and Wu just does the damn thing as usual and carries large sections of this book. A fitting end to the first arc, and promises to show us a lot more.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Black Panther (2016) #1

Apr 6, 2016

Black Panther #1 had a ridiculous amount of expectation and hype, as it should with all the moving parts involved. Coates and Stelfreeze set a very ambitious agenda, with 3 very large plot threads weaving through the narrative. It is off to great start as far as setups go and here's hoping they can keep the momentum as these threads start converging on each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther (2016) #3

Jun 29, 2016

As amazing as the first two issues of been, this might have been my favorite. Each part of the story gets its own due and yet is building into a sweeping tale that finally befits our favorite fictional City on the Hill in Wakanda.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Black Panther (2016) #5

Aug 10, 2016

The story continues to barrel forward into darker territory as we root for both T'Challa and the country of Wakanda to root out those who do them harm. You are about four issues too late if you don't already know that Black Panther isn't just the result of hype and meeting those expectations, but also a book that is truly special in its relevance and artistry. Those of us who have ached for a good Black Panther series are being treated to more than we probably anticipated.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Black Panther (2016) #7

Oct 19, 2016

A little bit slower plotting this time around and a fun reunion colors this issue. Black Panther is still building upon the movements of the seen and unseen threats to Wakanda, but it looks like at least T'Challa has some back-up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Black Panther (2016) #9

Dec 28, 2016

We have raved about this book for each of the 9 issues that we've been provided and its possible the most complex and layered aspects of the story are being handled with the most precision now. I am anxious about every character standing in this book and curious as to what possible outcomes await us.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Black Panther (2016) #11

Feb 23, 2017

It's hard to top some truly great issues that came before, but Black Panther #11 still delivers a satisfying end to the physical war it's promised since the first issue. Seeing the fallout and the fate of T'Challa in a Wakanda that must be rebuilt will be another fascinating war altogether.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Black Panther (2016) #13

Apr 28, 2017

Black Panther baaaaack, with a new story arc, and a new love story, same as the old love story except with Coates behind the boards. So far, it's all off to a good start.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Black Science #22

Jul 4, 2016

Black Science is back from its hiatus with a good, if somewhat uneven start, to the new arc following "Godworld." It feels good for this book to be back on the stands (and personally, for me to be reviewing it).

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Black Science #23

Aug 2, 2016

The second issue of this new arc substituted more genuine and naturalized humor for the slapstick we saw in the previous issue and it was better for it. A nice twist on a Grimm fairy tale delivers and leaves Grant in yet another perilous situation.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #24

Sep 15, 2016

Black Science #24 takes a serious turn left from everything we've known previously and puts the crew in possibly a more precarious position then they've experienced thus far. Which is saying a lot. Few books have hook eagerly waiting for the next issue like Black Science does and I personally anticipate how the next chapter unfolds.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Black Science #26

Dec 6, 2016

Black Science looks like its about to upend itself, again, and I'm all for it. This book has a way of widening its net frequently and still circling back to some familiar characters and situations that make the book feel hugely expansive and still rooted where we can find it.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Science #27

Jan 5, 2017

With a cliffhanger of an ending, Black Science has pushed the stakes all the way up and its pretty hard to tell where the story goes from here, but you'll definitely be willing to follow wherever it ends up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Science #28

Feb 9, 2017

Black Science gets weirder and, dare I say, more potent with each issue. Giving us more of the world and often wrecking it in the same issue. Not often that a book can keep you on your toes throughout and still end in a way that leaves you grasping at what possibly comes next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Black Science #29

Apr 19, 2017

Black Science is back for the '17 fam and it's like this book never left. Great action, great and agile writing. This book is always one of the best on the shelves for as long as it's running.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Civil War II #1

Jun 1, 2016

Overall, this is a good start to Civil War II. We still get a bunch of crossovers that essentially pit hero vs hero (especially in Marvel) so we weren't exactly in need of this sequel, but it's welcome nonetheless. Bendis and Marquez, as always, will make a good team on this as we find out how the sides get drawn in successive issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
Civil War II #3

Jul 13, 2016

Civil War II started off with a bang (and some controversy) but has done some wonky things since. And not moved much. Here's hoping the exposition phase is over (but judging by the last page, it doesn't seem like it) and we can get into some hero on hero action moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.6
Civil War II #5

Sep 22, 2016

Civil War II isn't really getting better, but it's far from the worst thing on the stands. Still, with so many heroes and personalities at your disposal, this book just isn't giving us a quality story to fully invest in. Here's to hoping (HOPING) we get a real shift in the second half of the book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Civil War II #7

Nov 24, 2016

Civil War II #7 is actually a pretty good individual book, it just has to carry the weight for some inconsistent and unfulfilling aspects of the story. If the book can end at the caliber that the last two issues have, then it will have ended in a much better place than it started. And considering how low this book has felt at times, that would be a win.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.2
Civil War II: X-Men #1

Jun 15, 2016

All in all, this feels like a mini-series to find a way to incorporate the X-Men into the overall conflict, similar to the previous Civil War event. With 4 issues promised, we'll see if this gets more interesting or continues to tread heavily walked ground.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Civil War II: X-Men #2

Jul 7, 2016

The chess pieces get moved a little bit in issue #2 to make the conflict a little more interesting, but in a four issue arc, it's hard not to wonder if it's still moving a bit too slow. The teams seem to be drawn as far as who is on who's side, all that's left now is the fight we know is coming.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.4
Civil War II: X-Men #3

Aug 18, 2016

In the penultimate book of this spin-off, the war part actually happens, somewhat and we move closer to Magneto's endgame. Sadly, with just a few highlights, nothing particularly stands out for this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #1

Nov 27, 2015

It's hard to tell what the public anticipation was for the book and what exactly were the expectations upon launch. Speaking for myself, they were fairly low and they surpassed that, even if they didn't blow me away. A solid start to the new series, but it may need to tie somethings together quick to keep that potential.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #3

Feb 26, 2016

Okay, fine, it isn't wholly spectacular but I am enjoying Master Race more than I thought I would. The next issue, provided it doesn't give us some sideways plot movement, should have some big developments in it that genuinely make me excited to see what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #4

May 2, 2016

All in all, its a forward progression of the story, though the most interesting aspects are fueled by the cliffhanger in issue #3. The stakes are finally high for Batman himself, so it will be nice to see him back in action next issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #7

Dec 28, 2016

Issue #7 asks a lot of questions and answers a big one, but leaves the real solution for the last issue, setting up a pretty big and anticipated battle. The book has been pretty good with only a few dips so far. If you're reading this, you'll probably agree it's worth seeing out to the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Dark Knight III: The Master Race #8

Mar 29, 2017

The DC event that almost wasn't is still a pretty good book with the biggest showdown on the horizon. A pissed off Superman, a blood thirsty Wonder Woman, and a baby faced Bruce all barreling towards the end of this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.1
East of West #20

Aug 26, 2015

This issue was almost 100% setup with no real forward movement of the plot. Still gorgeous, still interesting, but not a whole lot that was new to hang your hat on.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.0
East of West #21

Oct 14, 2015

East of West is playing the long game right now by bringing more relevance to little-known characters. It's a mixed bag, but to be honest, it's a Hickman mixed bag, which elevates it over other table-setter issues. However, the longer we get away from Death, the Horsemaen, or the Beast, the more this story begins to drift into something far less engaging than the one we were introduced to.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.8
East of West #22

Dec 1, 2015

You don't expect a Hickman written story to possess a minimalist approach, but this issue couldn't have come at a better time. This is war and we got the riskiest venture in that war so far with this issue. We don't know how it will affect the world of East of West, but it is an absolutely joy for the reader this month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
East of West #23

Dec 30, 2015

East of West slows down just a bit, but we get to revisit with a character we hadn't seen in a while in how they tie into this overall conflict. So far in this arc, we've touched upon different characters and their relationship to the overall conflict, rotating between plotting and physical warfare. Even with more dialogue heavy issues like this one, it's still a good ride.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
East of West #24

Jan 28, 2016

The meet is set. The players are moving and shit is about to go down. Does that mean the next issue will be action packed? I doubt it. But SOMETHING is going to happen. And the anticipation of that is often the best part of reading this book.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
East of West #25

Apr 22, 2016

Some cool moments and still a good amount of set up, we're still ramping up to more fruitful revelations. If we get East and West back on a regular schedule, there's no doubt that big things are in the coming months.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
East of West #26

May 25, 2016

A small ripple of revelation here and there, but nothing has significantly changed since last issue. The ending does lead one to believe that shit is about to go down soon, but we'll have to wait and see on that one. I've been wrong before.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
East of West #27

Jun 28, 2016

They set us up for this last issue and it delivered, big time. East of West has been in a perpetual state of war for several issues now, but almost impossibly so, the stakes are even higher now. What comes next is going to be good. Really, really good.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
East of West #28

Jul 26, 2016

We are moving chess pieces around again, but this is still a solid issue as we (hopefully) move closer to the confration / meeting between father and son that we've literally waited years for. One wonders if Hickman is going to give us what we want or throw another curveball our way.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
East of West #29

Aug 30, 2016

East of West ends year two in spectacular fashion and the ending is like the beginning as we spin towards year three. Hickman and Dragotta are still making a great book. What a time to be alive.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
East of West #30

Dec 28, 2016

Not a ton of (present day) action in this issue, but we did get a revelation that is clever and makes complete sense. Year Three starts off well and hopefully the next few issues will have us checking in with the other factions and how they are dealing with the war.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
East of West #31

Feb 7, 2017

Another great issue of East of West that keeps this war entertaining and unpredictable. There's not many books that have kept a story like this fresh and engaging while navigating in the same story.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
East of West #32

Mar 14, 2017

The book starts and ends in brutal fashion, why also making great use of flashback and backstory. Dragotta is, as always, doing the lord's work on this book. Constantly complimenting the brutal nature of what Hickman articulates with a kinetic and unflinching style to match. This is a world I'd never want to live in, but one I sure as hell enjoy visiting that these cats create once a month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.3
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #1

Nov 9, 2016

With those caveats, how does the overall book play out? I still like it. I didn't like the shooting. At all. But I liked everything else a great deal. If Bendis avoids dipping into scenarios of the fragile Black life experience and can stay in a lane that shows Riri for the likable badass she can be, I'm all aboard. Only time will tell.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #2

Dec 23, 2016

Invincible Iron Man has a few flaws in its armor, but the book still has a good start with a promising future. Riri is what a hero looks like in today's comic book and I look forward to seeing what she does next.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #3

Jan 19, 2017

I didn't even get to address the surprise visitor or what looks like the first real conflict that Riri will face, but let's just say that this book could be going in some really exciting directions. Riri might have one of the best origin stories in recent memory, and three issues in, this might be the perfect time to catch on and catch up.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #4

Feb 16, 2017

Even with the cliffhanger ending, this was a pretty great installment and appropriate for the legend building that is Marvel's newest badass.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #5

Mar 22, 2017

Not only is Invincible Iron Man a good book that is getting better, but Riri put on some big hero boots this week and showed a part of her personality we hadn't seen yet with satisfying results. Combine that with the heart this issue showed with Riri's mom and the balance she faces as the parent of a teenage superhero, and this book just about claimed the week.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.5
Invincible Iron Man (2016) #6

Apr 19, 2017

Riri gets a dose of fame and all the good stuff that comes with it. For now. The book is mostly dialogue as Riri gets a lot of options thrown at her. Its a lot of set up and a calming after the last arc, but it puts the story in prime position for some big things moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League #43

Aug 20, 2015

Pretty good issue, light on action, but bigger on answers as the war finally kicks off in earnest. This series will be large and sprawling, so it's really hard to tell where exactly all this is going, but that's part of the fun.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League #44

Oct 1, 2015

Justice League #44 continues the Darkseid War in epic fashion, letting you know the end of this story is far from over and that the repercussions might linger longer than we previously thought.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.6
Justice League #45

Oct 24, 2015

Justice League #45 is a departure from the beginning of this arc, which has both it's ups and downs. There's a lot of intrigue for what comes next now that some of the members have “ascended” to different roles, but overall movement of this issue brings it in lower than the preceding issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.9
Justice League #46

Dec 20, 2015

Justice League still has a great story to tell in front of it, but this issue was dedicated to set up and giving some lesser characters more spotlight that may or may not prove fruitful. Hopefully next issue we get some of these new Gods facing each other.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League #47

Dec 31, 2015

After a couple of slower weeks of set up and exploration of some of the B characters, this issue comes back with a lot of movement and intrigue in the story. And the return of one of the best artists on DC's roster doesn't hurt.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Justice League #48

Feb 28, 2016

I wasn't a huge fan of The Trinity War and liked but didn't always love Forever Evil. Yet, those stories were absolutely worth it to bring us to this moment. Short of Snyder and Capullo's Batman, Justice League has had the strongest book from issue #1 in DC's catalog. We've reached the point where no matter how this ends, something will profoundly be changed in the DCU.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Justice League #49

Apr 29, 2016

Justice League is crazy as hell, folks. But it's still really good. We still see these heroes we've been so familiar with in a pretty unfamiliar setting, and that alone keeps this book interesting with anticipation for what happens next.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Justice League #50

May 26, 2016

There are triumphant moments, some silly moments, but altogether satisfying moments in Johns/Fabok's dismount on Justice League before DC Rebirth. With a few dips in certain storylines, since the beginning, Justice League has been one of the most consistent books in DC's catalog and this issue was a fitting end to it all.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Lazarus #19

Sep 3, 2015

Lazarus is building up to something big, as usual. The plot threads have wove themselves together and it looks like the world that Rucka and Lark have built might change profoundly over the next couple of issues. I for one, want to see where that ride goes.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.5
Lazarus #20

Nov 3, 2015

I have long touted this book as one my favorite comic books out and this was almost as good as it gets for the run. Considering this probably wasn't the big finale of any sort, it was a spectacular issue that highlighted the potency of this arc and brought a lot of threads together.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Lazarus #21

Dec 30, 2015

Hey, nothing has changed, Lazarus is still one of the best books on the shelves. The “Poison” arc ends in bombastic fashion and simultaneously sets the stage for some insane plot developments for next arc in the last pages. Since the book will be on hiatus for a while, now is a great time to get caught up on the whole story if you're not already.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Lazarus #22

Jun 15, 2016

Lazarus is back and almost no one is happier about it than me. The trademark story telling and development that Rucka and Lark have sculpted over 20 issues continues. It is crisp and ripe with intrigue, but also has great looking action per usual. It's nice to have this back on the shelves.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Lazarus #23

Jul 18, 2016

Lazarus turns in another stellar issue with some big, bit questions answered and a few more asked for the future. The tight storytelling and beautiful art combine to give a very dense, yet quick moving story that lets you know this tale is far from over or losing any steam.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Lazarus #24

Aug 31, 2016

The Cull is in full effect. Forever gets closer to knowing the full truth and another family gets cleared off the map. Things will only get heavier from here.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Lazarus #25

Oct 11, 2016

I've been saying it for over 20 issues now: Lazarus is good. So very good. They moved some chess pieces around this issue, but gave us enough action and foreshadowing to leave us lost in the storytelling. It's. About. To Go. Down.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Lazarus #26

Mar 29, 2017

Lark, as always, does the damn thing in this issue. The side by side panels of "Number 8" and Forever going through their regiment is just familiar and different enough from each other. But you know where he drops the bars at: The big Lazari pile up. I can't even say any more about it for fear of spoiling it. But it's" brutal. Sorry, that's all I got. It's fantastic, cop the issue, we'll talk about it.

View Issue       View Full Review
5.8
New Avengers (2015) #1

Oct 15, 2015

The art is sharp and largely stylized with Almara's glossy and vibrant color style. It works for this book, the question is, does the tone of the book work for you. For me personally, I'm a bigger fan of more grounded type of humor and hyperbole for my superheroes, so I didn't love how this book has opened. This definitely isn't the previous and ultra-serious New Avengers under Hickman, but this isn't even the heralded Mighty Avengers that Ewing penned himself. This is something a little more light and obscure, hopefully yielding some better results in the future.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Nightwing (2016) #1

Jul 27, 2016

Nightwing starts a new adventure in earnest with decent promise for where this story could go. The introduction of new villains and expansion of others should make this a unique story, but still keep enough ties to familiar stories.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nightwing (2016) #2

Aug 3, 2016

Nightwing looks like it could be a pretty enjoyable book with an original premise for Nightwing. While I doubt we'll see Dick Grayson dip into Jason Todd territory, seeing Grayson with a little bit more moral ambiguity could be an entertaining venture.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Nightwing (2016) #3

Aug 17, 2016

Nightwing continues to incrimentally get better, with a fellow Bat-Family member coming through to throw a curveball to the narrative. There seems to be a confrontation approaching with the Owls with Nightwing having to decide who he can ultimately trust when the fighting starts.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Nightwing (2016) #6

Oct 7, 2016

All in all, it is an investment to follow the whole Monster Men storyline, but it has been worthwhile to see something a bit new that involved all the heroes around Gotham.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #7

Oct 20, 2016

We get back to the Raptor story line with Nightwing after the briefest of hiatus. But the claw is back and he holds court over this book in a mesmerizing way.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #8

Nov 2, 2016

The Rise of the Raptor arc seems done for now, which means that Nightwing is probably off to a new adventure next issue. Which is ok, the character's immediate future seems to be in good hands with Seely.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.2
Nightwing (2016) #9

Nov 16, 2016

Nightwing takes a month off from the arc it was building and sacrificed an issue for the transition of Nightwing to familiar places. And that's enough, I'm still excited to see Nightwing's progression and maturation with this creative team.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Nightwing (2016) #10

Dec 6, 2016

Nightwing is back in Bludhaven (for the first Rebirth time) with a little mystery to kick things off for him. The intrigue is there to see how our hero explores his new home and sees what is lurking beneath the surface.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Nightwing (2016) #11

Dec 21, 2016

Nightwing is still a fun book, but it is exploring Grayson in a refreshing, self-effacing way that makes the character a little more three-dimensional. He is now fully immersed in Bldhave, for better or worse. Probably the latter.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #12

Jan 4, 2017

Nightwing continues to be a damn good book and the Bldhaven arc is getting more intriguing with each issue. This is a very Nightwing story, heart, detective work and resiliency.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Nightwing (2016) #13

Jan 18, 2017

Nightwing finally identifies the villain, but much more has yet to be revealed and we have new people working together to bring them down. This book is still an enjoyable read while carving new and familiar tones for Dick Grayson.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Nightwing (2016) #15

Feb 15, 2017

Of course, this is a superhero book and as you can imagine, not everything is roses and swinging through open windows, so the book does lead us to the next arc for Nightwing, which will of course having him squaring off with some villain. But this book as a standalone story was unique and lighthearted and needed for any kind of book where the hero is usually in peril.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Nightwing (2016) #16

Mar 1, 2017

A new arc, another hero in town and new potential "problem" maybe, sorta in addition to Shawn being kidnapped. I'm here for the buddy cop story with Damian and Dick any day of the week, especially facing basically Bizarro Nightwing for the next few issues.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Nightwing (2016) #17

Mar 18, 2017

The villain is revealed and Robin has Nightwing's back as the story jumps up a notch. Now that we know what the plan is, it will be interesting to see what the cost is of Shawn being kidnapped and its ultimate effect on Nightwing.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
Nightwing (2016) #18

Apr 5, 2017

Nightwing Must Die continues with its fatalistic storyline, putting everyone in danger at one time or another. With one problem down, another one looms and a bigger player is introduced for the rest of the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Nightwing (2016) #19

Apr 19, 2017

All in all, the issue is pretty decent but not quite to the narrative stature of previous issues. It does look great however with some excellent showcase panels by the artist.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Nightwing: Rebirth #1

Jul 13, 2016

It's nice to get Nightwing back in a proper book after the successful Grayson run, but this book is all setup to why we're getting that book. It may be the product of a Rebirth title, but one can hope the next issue hits the ground running with the actual conflict.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.9
ODY-C #6

Aug 12, 2015

ODY-C comes back after a short break and goes left with the story, which expands the scope beyond Oddysia's quest home. It does some things well, and some story elements get a little lost in the wash, but overall a solid installment to continue the story.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
ODY-C #7

Sep 17, 2015

Ody-C continues to be a good, unique and challenging read in how Fraction presents and directs the story. Some of the momentum has waned in the wake of going away from such an incredible character that guided began the series, but there is still some really good stuff and progressive story to find here.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
ODY-C #8

Nov 2, 2015

ODY-C is so, so different than anything else out there and that doesn't seem to be changing any time soon. There have been some peaks and valleys, but this was a particularly strong issue that might move us closer to some cohesion of the stories down the road.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #1

Feb 18, 2016

Overall, the first issue of Power Man and Iron Fist is solid; good in some spots, a little flat in others. Ultimately, this book will hinge on the ways that Walker can bring the friendship of Luke and Danny to an enjoyable spectacle, which I have a lot of confidence in him doing.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.7
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #6

Jul 13, 2016

Power Man and Iron Fist continues to be a very high-quality book with a unique language and story to much of the Marvel lineup. We'll see if this serving as a tie in to the Civil War conflict is just a one and done or if their conflict with the vigilantes (using some predictive reasoning for targeting ex-villains) will prompt them into the fray. Either way, Power Man and Iron Fist is absolutely worth your time. This month or any other.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #7

Aug 18, 2016

Power Man and Iron Fist continues to be one of Marvel's most consistent books along with being a complicated and nuanced read. This issue managed to move things forward and set up some possible big stuff to go down next issue, which is always a good combination.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #11

Dec 18, 2016

The Power Man and Iron Fist book continues to be a good one for Marvel, with both it's mostly POC cast and grounded narrative. The Harlem Burns storyline isn't as strong as the initial ones thus far, but this still a worthwhile read each month.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #12

Jan 12, 2017

It is Hell up in Harlem as the war goes bigger than anyone anticipated. With some succinct storytelling and plenty of action, this is another good issue of the Heroes for Hire with the biggest showdown on the horizon.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.2
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #13

Feb 10, 2017

While it has been good, I do think we've reached the end of this storyline (and sadly this book via the Luke Cage book announcement) as we've gotten the deep dive and then some on all characters involved.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #14

Mar 13, 2017

Sadly, we're almost at the end of this terrific book. But the story has somehow grown wider than we originally thought and things are more grave than first imagined. Here's to seeing how Walker ties this story up before the end.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.8
Power Man and Iron Fist (2016) #15

Apr 17, 2017

Its sad to see this book go, especially with its creative team, but they gave us a nice, localized ride for the time being.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Saga #35

Mar 31, 2016

Saga #35 moves some chess pieces forward, setting up some really big moments ahead but doesn't give away the store yet. The character interactions have always been the strength of this book and this issue is no exception.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.4
Saga #38

Oct 3, 2016

The story jumps forward a bit and we say farewell to a beloved character, but Saga is as it's always been: great. There is some crucial character development and a good setup moving forward.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.9
Saga #39

Oct 27, 2016

Saga continues to give us the family drama that we have learned to covet over the last few years. Hazel is growing into the promise that Vaughan and Staples made with those first words of the book. The book is still one of the best on the shelves each month and there is plenty of reward for rocking with this book this long.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.6
Saga #40

Dec 1, 2016

Saga keeps being great, even though this issue spun in place a little bit not too much forward action. Still, numerous showdowns are on the horizon and surely, the plot will shift when that occurs.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Saga #41

Jan 5, 2017

Our heroes solve one problem, but haven't solved the big problem of their planet heading into a Timesuck (which is all kinds of disturbing). I have no idea how they have kept the momentum feeling like it is always moving forward through 40+ issues, but Saga continues to feel like a comic you can't let fall off your pull list.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.6
Saga #42

Jan 26, 2017

Saga closes this traumatic arc in brutal fashion and gives us no indication of what is supposed to happen next. An incredible issue all the way around.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.0
Secret Wars #5

Aug 14, 2015

Secret Wars continues to be great, even when our heroes aren't battling with each other. The exposition is handled so well to not be drawn out and make sure that any background info is directly functional to how we see the action. Just a great book. Period.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #6

Oct 8, 2015

We got our second exposition heavy issue in Secret Wars that carried some very cool and fascinating elements. Even with a lack of action, we learned a ton about the world that Doom has created and a little bit about how it might get destroyed. There seem to be several factions that might threaten Doom's stranglehold on Battleworld and any of them has a legit shot. Still, this is Hickman, so you know it won't be that straight a line.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Secret Wars #7

Nov 13, 2015

Secret Wars finally creeps back into our consciousness considering how many books have started in what is supposed to be the wake of the series. More action and plots converging on each other make this a worthy installment, as we wait to see what will be come of Doom the God.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Secret Wars #8

Dec 10, 2015

Only one more issue of Secret Wars left, which, hopefully, we'll get next month, but I wouldn't hold my breath on that. Still, even with the release schedule making it impossible to gather momentum, this book is still an incredible voyage and really underscores that Hickman has cultivated something so ambitious and rewarding, that it will be hard to not compare other long form stories to his.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.7
Secret Wars #9

Jan 13, 2016

Does it complete stick the landing? Mostly. With one extra over-sized issue, there was never going to be a complete wrap up of a story that Hickman has been telling for multiple years like this. There is enough explanation and cool Easter eggs and call-backs that makes this a satisfying finish. The most tragic realization, however, is that Hickman is done writing Avengers-themed books for the foreseeable future, and THAT saddens me deeply.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Southern Bastards #11

Oct 6, 2015

We're still circling the big event, but we are getting some great character studies in the process. Boone is instantly fascinating and consequential to the story moving forward, even being introduced this late.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Southern Bastards #13

Jan 26, 2016

Southern Bastards is still one of the best comic books out and now, that we've gotten the result to the game, there's a huge anticipation for all the other pieces we're aware of to show themselves. This is storytelling at it's apex and I hope a lot of people are enjoying the ride like I am.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.2
Southern Bastards #14

May 10, 2016

We've been waiting a long time for this issue and now with the Homecoming Arc done, it seems that all the pieces are in place for the big game in Craw County. With the arrival of Roberta on the scene, I just can't imagine who is going to make it out alive when the shit hits the fan. But seriously, Jasons, y'all took Earl from us mad early, please let Roberta LIVE!

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Southern Bastards #15

Nov 1, 2016

Southern Bastards is back and we could not be more happy about that. There seems to be no refuge for Coach Boss as things go from worst to even more worse and the vultures from all walks of life have began to circle.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.3
Southern Bastards #16

Jan 10, 2017

Southern Bastards is a good, challenging and sometimes difficult read. But the book never loses its potency and things have been converging for a long time now.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.4
Spider-Man (2016) #1

Feb 4, 2016

This is a solid first book for Miles as he sits at the big kids table for the first time at Marvel. I'm happy that this book is simply named Spider-Man #1, with no qualifiers or disclaimers. This is Spider-Man. Not Ultimate Super All New Different You Won't Believe It Kind of Sorta Spider-Man. He's the real deal, he's here and he's not going anywhere, anytime soon.

View Issue       View Full Review
9.1
Spider-Man (2016) #3

May 15, 2016

The action is all but non-existent, but we got a great moment with Miles and Kamala, the introduction of our villain for this book and the a surprise new mutant joining Miles' class. All in all, pretty hard to go wrong in this one.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.4
Spider-Man (2016) #5

Jun 29, 2016

Even in the wake of the news that Sara Pichelli is leaving the book soon (as it goes to twice a month), let's just enjoy the pencils while we can. This issue, like the previous ones, looks great in almost each panel (some of the distant shots of Miles aren't as crisp as other similar situations). All in all, the book still looks great with a good flow from page to page, even when the narrative isn't at its strongest.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.1
Spider-Man (2016) #7

Aug 31, 2016

The issue is mostly enjoyable with a couple of bumps and good dialogue, but admittedly nothing really moves forward while Miles hand wrings his way throughout the issue. I imagine the next issue puts Miles squarely in the conflict somehow, so I anticipate the stakes will ramp up a bit.

View Issue       View Full Review
8.0
Spider-Man (2016) #11

Dec 29, 2016

Spider-Man #11 goes left a bit after it's last Civil War tie-in and an emotionally exhausting previous issue. We get to see Jefferson in action, which isn't bad, even if it's a little familiar for long time fans. It definitely sets up his involvement in Miles story to a great degree as the series progresses.

View Issue       View Full Review
7.8
Spider-Man (2016) #13

Mar 14, 2017

Sitting in a Tree continues to be interesting, but this part of the story was a little disjointed for how the story had been running previously.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Spider-Man (2016) #15

Apr 7, 2017

There's no understating the importance of this moment in Spider-Man and will probably lead to a lot of more complex story developments down the line, but it lacked the punch that this kind of reveal should have, especially since it dominated the issue.

View Issue       View Full Review
6.8
Superman (2011) #43

Aug 28, 2015

The story lost a lot of steam this week from the momentum it had built up in Yang's first two entries. The villain is a little uninspired thus far and the big reveal of how Superman's identity is released didn't have the punch it should have. Still, Superman is on the run now, and not exactly his super self, so that should make the following issues worth checking out to see where Yang takes the story.

View Issue       View Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

May

3rd

April

March

More