Aliens Vs. Parker #1

Aliens Vs. Parker #1

Writer: Nick Giovannetti, Paul Scheer Artist: Manuel Bracchi Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: March 13, 2013 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 6
6.2Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

From comedian Paul Scheer (NTSF:SD:SUV::, THE LEAGUE & HUMAN GIANT) and writer Nick Giovannetti (MTV, ADULT SWIM) comes a sci-fi action comedy for fans of SHAUN OF THE DEAD and ALIENS! Set in the not so distance future, a group of slacker delivery guys spend their days avoiding responsibility and playing video games, until one day they deliver a classified package to a mysterious planet.

  • 8.0
    Comic Book Resources - Ryan K. Lindsay Mar 13, 2013

    "Aliens Vs Parker" #1 is my surprise hit of the year so far. There is heart, good characterization, the opportunity for so much more in nearly every direction, and also many laughs to be had. If you need a comic as close to a sitcom as you can manage then this book is going to pay off in spades for you. It's interesting to see a book that's written more like a screenplay and yet it's made to work in the comic format. Pick this one up and reward good form. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Addicts - Akshay Dhar Mar 18, 2013

    Coupled with the nicely drawn pages, I'd say this is well worth a read and possibly a series to be keeping an eye on in the coming months. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics: The Gathering - TylerM Mar 16, 2013

    This kind of thing is exactly what would make me not buy this comic if I didn't know that it was by Paul Scheer. Hopefully people will literally not judge this book by its cover and give it the fair shot that it deserves. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Newsarama - Aaron Duran Mar 14, 2013

    If anything, the writing pedigree between Paul Scheer and Nick Gionvannetti on Aliens vs. Parker #1 suggested some good laughs from within. And it did, for the first few pages. In time, the jokes became old and the overall story simply isn't strong enough to maintain interest. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    CHUD - Jeb Delia Apr 12, 2013

    There's the germ of a good genre-comedy here, and Scheer and Giovannetti are talented enough to pull it off, but they need more familiarity with storytelling in the medium and tailoring to their artist's strengths to do so. Maybe with this first series under their belt a sequel or second effort from the team would prove more successful? It wouldn't be unwelcome anyway. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comic Bastards - Eric Biewenga Mar 14, 2013

    This book is trying too hard or maybe this is just the wrong medium for this story. It had me hooked then let me down shortly after. Maybe I was expecting too much from the title and opening pages because I’m still trying to find the aliens. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...