Feathers #1

Feathers #1

Writer: Jorge Corona Artist: Jorge Corona Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: January 7, 2015 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 25 User Reviews: 1
7.6Critic Rating
9.0User Rating

WHY WE LOVE IT: In the footsteps of Archaia titles Rust, Iron, Will o' the Wisp, and The Reason for Dragons, debut writerartist Jorge Corona brings a brandn-ew voice to the comics industry with Feathers. With our passion for working with fresh talent, we could not be happier to introduce his work to a wider audience.

WHY YOU'LL LOVE IT: There's never been a better time for fantastic, all-ages comics that embrace both the darkness and beauty in life. Fans of Avatar: Legend of Korra, Mike Mignola, and Amulet will fall in love with Poe, the boy covered in feathers.

WHAT IT'S ABOUT: A recluse boy born covered in feathers must help his firstever friend, a young girl named Bianca, as she tries to return to her home beyond the slums of the Maze. They must dodge street gangs and childsnatchers along the way, and perhaps together will learn the secrets to his mysterious past.

  • 10
    Big Comic Page - Craig Neilson Jan 9, 2015

    Overall, Feathersis a charmingly adventurous series that incorporates some of the best aspects from the fairy tales we all know and love to create something truly memorable. I challenge anyone toread this first issue and not find themselves deeply invested in Poe and his mysterious origin by the time they put it down. Anotherall-ages success story from the folks at BOOM!, whoare undoubtedly setting the standard for this particular genre right now. Read Full Review

  • 9.4
    Word Of The Nerd - Travis Anderson Jan 9, 2015

    Pick this up if you have kids or if you happen to like fantasy with a dose of fairy tale. It oozes style, looks great, and pulls you into a world that's as mysterious as it is fun. BOOM! has got a winner in this all-ages fantasy. Grab it before it starts flying off the shelves. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Capeless Crusader - Joshua Epstein Jan 6, 2015

    Feathers is a breath of fresh air. Its fun, action-packed, and subtly smart in its subtext. The themes of class warfare, gentrification, and even the dangers of a dominant military machine are all layered wonderfully under a facade of gloriously cartoonish adventure. If you want a story to read to your kids that will delight them and teach them something about the world at the same time, pick this book up immediately. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comicosity - Kelly Richards Jan 7, 2015

    Feathers really is a delightful read. Poe makes for an excellent and sympathetic protagonist, who would not be out of place amongst the cast of Grimms Fairy Tales. If youre looking for an all ages, adventure story in the vein of Coraline and Over The Garden Wall, you may want to pick this up. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Geeks Unleashed - Chris Romero Jan 9, 2015

    Feathers #1 debuts with an equally fresh blend of intrigue and mystery, all wrapped up with popping colors. Corona is on to something cool here. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    ComicWow!TV - Bhavna Bakshi Jan 9, 2015

    The first issue involves binaries of light and dark, old and young, and safe and adventurous, to propose the choices we are forced to make as both child and adult. Being a comic for all ages, children can imagine the adventure and adults are offered a chance to relive their own. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Geeked Out Nation - Jess Camacho Jan 8, 2015

    “Feathers” #1 is an edgy but fun fantasy, all ages comic that will appeal to a very big audience. I'm already attached to Poe and Bianca. Corona does a strong job establishing the premise and introducing the characters and the art is wonderful. This is highly recommended for fantasy fans and any readers looking for something to enjoy with their kids. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Multiversity Comics - Matthew Garcia Jan 8, 2015

    Intriguing and captivating, I'm definitely interested to see how this story will play out, especially once Corona fully kicks it into gear. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Comic Crusaders - Martin Ferretti Jan 8, 2015

    While there are some darker elements to the story " the mysterious man on the carriage who kidnaps children, for example " this is a very fun story that anyone can get into. In many respects, Feathers offers us a new perspective on the typical superhero story by throwing in elements of ancient fairy tales which I found refreshing. I eagerly await the release of the next issue in this series. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Geek Sushi - Gary Hilson Jan 7, 2015

    All in all, Feathers is an all-ages comic that hits the mark, and the first issue is a promising beginning for this six-part mini-series. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Rhymes With Geek - Denise Blakely Jan 8, 2015

    Overall I would say Feathers is a great start to something that can be shared by a wide age range of comic book enthusiasts. The storyline is compelling and mysterious and the artwork is a delight to look at. I love that I'm left with questions about the past and future of the characters, who is this little feathered boy? Who were the narrators and what kind of game do they mean? Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Major Spoilers - Stephen Schleicher Jan 12, 2015

    Overall, Feathers is a nice, kid friendly (8+) story that is a nice flight of fancy for those who want to get their fantasy fix in. The underlying conversation of class may be a bit much for younger readers, but hopefully it can serve as a point of discussion between grownups and children. The art is fantastic and worth the price, just to look at. Feathers #1 is definitely an interesting book, and I'll check out the next issue just to see if my suspicions of what happens next turn out to be true. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Outright Geekery - Akadavid Jan 12, 2015

    Feathers has turned out to be a good read. I was pleasantly surprised by the story and loved the small little details about it. Again, I would recommend this comic for anyone, from kids to adults. I'm looking forward to the second issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Lost Lighthouse - thelostlighthouse Jan 8, 2015

    Feathers#1 is a nice, dark all-ages comic that is well-worth picking up either for yourself, or to get any potential new young comics fans into the fold. Check it out at your local comic book shop, or digital comics platform now! Read Full Review

  • 7.9
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Jordanne MacDonald Jan 7, 2015

    Feathers #1 is a fun-filled adventure which appeals to anyone who enjoys such things. Read Full Review

  • 7.8
    GWW - Cory Anderson Jan 6, 2015

    The artwork and story go nicely hand in hand. There is a cartoony feel to the illustrations, in the sense this is not a realistic world with exact details, but a slightly exaggerated decomposition and deconstruction of the city. The coloring though is fantastic and conveys that sense of wonder and desperation that is in this city. The overall feeling I get from this Archaia comic book is the same awe from the other titles in the lineup. Which is a fantastic world that I just want to dig into to experience the rich characters and colors, all this from just one issue. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Coming Up Comics - David Melton Jan 6, 2015

    A safe for all ages read that will grab your attention for all the right reasons. Corona tackles every job on this book and does it to perfection. Being in control of both writing and art, Corona is able to transport us into this world he has created, and entertain us with his imagination. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Newsarama - David Pepose Jan 6, 2015

    While the introduction of this book may be just a hair too scary for some, this gothic Disney-style story will likely draw in plenty of young new readers. There's action, there's heart, there's just a little bit of humor and mythology, and all of that keeps this book aloft. If the worst thing about Feathers is that people will be impatient to find out what happens next, that's a very good thing for Corona and Archaia. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Marykate Jasper Jan 12, 2015

    Still, I suspect "Feathers" will read best as a full story, when all six issues are collected together. Though I quite enjoyed issue #1, it didn't leave me particularly eager for the next, so the structure doesn't seem well-serialized. However, Corona has clearly thought about this world, the colors are lovely and the writing is clever and kind enough for both adults and younger readers. "Feathers" is certainly worth your time. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Nick Philpott Jan 7, 2015

    Corona apparently started this book as part of his coursework at SCAD, and as a piece created for a class requirement, it's one of those rare beasts that can stand on its own outside of the critical eye of the classroom. That being said, it could have used some polish before being let out into the wide-open world. The concepts here are interesting, and they feel like they have some weight, but there are some shortcuts in this issue that speak more to a deadline than they do to a burning need to tell a story. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    All-Comic - Jeremy Matcho Jan 7, 2015

    Feathers is a fun read if youre in the mood for something different. Its a book you could read to your kids, but also might enjoy yourself. While there were some odd things going on during the writing portion, the art is a breath of fresh air. Jorge Corona did a good job in this first issue and wrote an interesting story that could be enjoyed by all. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Asa Giannini Dec 4, 2015

    As a final upside to Feathers, Corona is at times willing to let things get pleasantly dark–giving stakes to a story that could easily have none. This sophistication of storytelling is perhaps the reason I wanted Feathers to be more original and daring than it ended up being. Good children's books are few and far between, especially ones with as much potential as Feathers. As it stands, the playful Feathers would make a great Christmas gift for any new comics reader even if it may not give adults as much to chew on. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    8CN - Andrew Tran Jan 10, 2015

    Feathers didn't make the impression on me that I felt it could have, given some more convincing stakes and non-conventional exposition, but I can see people holding onto the series on the visual style and the promise of a grandiose tale about to unfold. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Newsarama - Michael Moccio Jan 12, 2015

    Overall, Feathers is worth reading through that first issue. It takes time-old tropes and spins them anew, making for an interesting premise that has potential to be a fantastic all ages story. Even though Corona doesn't take as much time with character development in this issue, it's understandable because he's worldibuilding. Perhaps as the series continues, we'll get more of a focus on who Poe is as a character, why he does what he does, and what exactly is at stake in the story. Until then, just enjoy the cool character designs and artwork, because it is that good. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comics Bulletin - Daniel Gehen Jan 12, 2015

    Unfortunately, the artwork cannot save Feathers from Coronas formulaic script, which rehashes classic storytelling tropes throughout. It would have been appreciated if there was more to pull in readers other than boy with feathers. Seasoned readers will have few surprises beyond the opening sequence, which sets up a mystery that will presumably run the course of the 6-issue miniseries. Unless there is significant improvement in the second chapter, I cant see myself continuing further. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...