HaloGen #1

HaloGen #1

Writer: Josh Tierney Artist: Afu Chan Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: March 4, 2015 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10 User Reviews: 1
7.2Critic Rating
7.0User Rating

There's a rumor on Cityship Q that the gigantic body of a dead god was found floating in space. Rell, an agent woking for the HaloGen organization, is tasked with finding the location of the god and retrieving it by any means necessary. Using her ability to form hyperrealistic holograms, Rell is about to take on the first mission she might not be able to finish.

  • 8.4
    Multiversity Comics - Michelle White Mar 5, 2015

    "HaloGen" is obviously an unconventional read, and not everybody's cup of tea. But it's also got some tried-and-true elements: a compelling heroine, an epic quest, and a staggeringly big universe to explore. It feels fresh and classic at the same time " no mean feat, and a clue that we can expect great things from this sprawling tale. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    All-Comic - Ian Stephen Mar 2, 2015

    HaloGen came with a loaded debut that wastes no time jumping into the story. There is no shortage of space thrillers out there right now, so for HaloGen to stand-out onits own was no easy feat. This team of creators have had experience working together before and it shows on HaloGen‘s pages. It'll be interesting to see where HaloGen goes from here. Even though this is slated to be only a four issue mini-series, there already feels like HaloGen has a plethora of stories yet to tell. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Rhymes With Geek - Ben Penfold-Marwick Mar 3, 2015

    After issue one I'm not really sure of anything, but I know we're in safe hands.There is a plot, with the body of the god missing and HaloGen interested in finding it, but why? And what's the deal with these suits? After issue one I'm not really sure of anything, but I'm sure that Tierney and Chan know what's going on and that we're in safe hands. This feels like the first glimpse into a much larger world with its own logic and reason, and with only four issues to flesh it out, I'm interested to see what comes next. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicWow!TV - Bhavna Bakshi Mar 9, 2015

    HaloGen is a new and interesting book about a weird and fascinating world, and I recommend it to any and every science fiction/fantasy fanatic. It’s got holograms, aliens, and robots…and it all takes place in space! Read Full Review

  • 7.7
    Graphic Policy - Edward Wendt Mar 3, 2015

    The problem with this series is that it does not really try anything new. The mixture of all the elements together takes a smart approach to telling its own story, but it never hits anything deeper than the surface of the characters interacting. As opposed to some series where characters jump out and beg to be paid to attention to, the characters here just aren't as dynamic. That is not to say that this is a bad series, it is quite readable (even if the formatting of the text bubbles is a bit sloppy at times), but it is also not gripping nor is it much different from thousands of other space stories. The potential is there for something better, and hopefully the creative team manages to harness is in the coming issues. Read Full Review

  • 7.7
    Florida Geek Scene - Bryce Osceola Apr 1, 2015

    The artwork of this issue mesmerizes with its simplicity. The colors are very realistic and do a fantastic job of setting the mood for the environment. The story flow of this issue is slightly choppy, with sudden scene transitions that seem out of place and/or out of context. But overall, Halogen appears to bring intriguing characters and a captivating plot that promises an epic adventure. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Jim Taylor Mar 5, 2015

    A bold and intriguing vision of the future, with flaws that will hopefully be ironed out over subsequent issues. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book Resources - Marykate Jasper Mar 9, 2015

    Altogether, "HaloGen" #1 has an intriguing world and a curious plot to keep me coming back for issue #2. If the creative team's execution can get just a touch smoother, this miniseries will be a real winner. Fans of Tierney and Chan's past work won't be disappointed. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jimmy Cupp Mar 10, 2015

    This first book is a little slow, but seems to be setting up some good action to come. The characters are fun and original.Afu Chans (The Spera Series) art is child-like, but somehow seems to fit the story perfectly. I think Tierney gives us a great introduction to a new series that will be fun, campy, and exciting without being overtly sexual and derogatory. Not to mention there is a kick-ass robot assassin who is cryptic as all Hell, and Im certain we will see more of her. So Ill keep reading it for sure. Read Full Review

  • 2.7
    Major Spoilers - Ashley Victoria Robinson Mar 10, 2015

    Halogen #1 throws so much at the readers and lacks a strong protagonist to carry the weight of the story. Skip it. Read Full Review

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...