Long Walk To Valhalla #1

Long Walk To Valhalla #1

Writer: Adam Smith Artist: Matt Fox Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: July 15, 2015 Cover Price: $24.99 Critic Reviews: 6 User Reviews: 3
9.1Critic Rating
9.7User Rating

What's to Love: At Archaia, we are constantly on the lookout for that next special story that moves us, so when Long Walk to Valhalla crossed our path, we knew we had something special. This stunning debut graphic novel from writer Adam Smith and artist Matthew Fox weaves a lyrical Southern fable exploring loss, family, and what it means to truly come home. Great for fans of Blankets, Fun Home, and I Kill Giants.

What It Is: There are many things that Rory would like to forget about his childhood growing up in rural Arkansas. Sometimes, he'd even like to forget about Joe, his mentally challenged older brother, both his closest friend and biggest problem. But when a young girl named Sylvia shows up, claiming to be a Valkyrie sent by the Norse god Odin to deliver Rory to Valhalla, he will have to face the past he's tried to lock away.

  • 10
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal Jul 15, 2015

    I've been looking forward to talking about this story for a while. I enjoyed the hell out of it as it was a simple concept, but very clever at the same time. If you like stories like Doomboy or I Kill Giants then you're bound to like Long Walk to Valhalla. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Nerd Rock from the Sun - Neil Bason Aug 3, 2015

    Masterful storytelling and delicate artwork combine to produce something absolutely drenched in beauty and heartbreak. Truly wonderful. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Kabooooom - Marcus Hammond Aug 20, 2015

    Long Walk to Valhalla uses human suffering and intense imagination to show how an ordinary man faces the reality of all the battles he's fought to survive everyday life, and in the end, comes out stronger than ever. This message inspires strength and leaves the reader wanting more from this creative duo. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Geeked Out Nation - Jess Camacho Jul 15, 2015

    "Long Walk To Valhalla" is an emotional and gripping story that looks at family ties and bonds. It defines that physical violence is not necessarily what makes someone a warrior. Adam Smith and Matthew Fox have a really long career ahead of them and I can't wait to see what comes next. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Infinite Comix - Daniel Gehen Jul 17, 2015

    Long Walk to Valhalla may not be released to the most fanfare, but it deserves recognition. Look for this to be on many "best of" lists at the end of the year. Read Full Review

  • 6.5
    We The Nerdy - Jack Johnston Jul 16, 2015

    Reading through this review I think I come across as rather hard so I feel I must end by saying that I did enjoy the book, although it did take me a few rereads and some time to think about it to appreciate it. The characters are enjoyable and you do genuinely feel the warmth between Rory and Joe although there are some issues with the framing devices of Sylvia and Rory intruding too muchand I still question what I was supposed to leave thinking and feeling. Overall I think that Long Walk to Valhalla is a promising enough beginning to what I hope will be two exceptional careers. Read Full Review

  • 10
    Nulanula5 Apr 11, 2016

    One of the best comics I've ever read. The progression is perfectly paces, and the art fits the style to effortlessly. Adam Smith and Matthew Fox are rock stars. I just wish there were more!

  • 10
    Cablev94 Jun 27, 2016

    This was just a completely different type of comic book read for me, and I loved it. Cool art, great story.

  • 9.0
    PedroB23 Oct 9, 2015

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...