Revelations #1

Revelations #1

Writer: Paul Jenkins Artist: Humberto Ramos Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: January 1, 2014 Cover Price: $3.00 Critic Reviews: 7
7.8Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

CIVIL WAR) have created a compelling mystery thriller that is truly one of a kind.
WHY YOU WILL LOVE IT: The beautiful work of Humberto Ramos unfolds a story of religion, atheism, murder, and mystery, as told by Paul Jenkins. Fans of BBC's Sherlock and Luther will not want to miss this tale of corruption through the eyes of an outsider. WHAT IT'S ABOUT: A potential successor to the dying pope is killed at the Vatican. Longtime atheist and hardedged London detective, Charlie Northern, is put on the case by a Vatican priest, and long forgotten
friend. He must solve the case that the local police cannot, coming face to face with hundreds of years of conspiracy and corruption in the seat of the world's wealthiest religion.

  • 9.5
    AiPT! - David Brooke Dec 31, 2013

    Hey, we got ourselves a neat mystery book with potential supernatural goodness on the way! I'm all for strong characters in any work and this puppy has it in droves. Worth a look and worth your dime! Read Full Review

  • 8.8
    Culture Mass - Joshua Eubanks Jan 11, 2014

    Revelations is a great title for this series, which is teeming with just that. Read Full Review

  • 8.2
    Graphic Policy - Brett Schenker Jan 5, 2014

    Judging by this first issue, mystery fans will not want to miss this tale of corruption through the eyes of an outsider. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Crave Online - Andy Hunsaker Jan 2, 2014

    Revelations #1 is a palatable kind of dark, with characters you can like right away, but it doesn't quite rocket out of the gate – and that's fine. It's got six issues to work with, and not every story has to be a barn-burner. Ain't nothin' wrong with a whodunit. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The Weekly Crisis - Gord Cummings Jan 7, 2014

    The title truly shines with the art of Humberto Ramos. His range of panels is astonishing. I did not expect the level of humor he could achieve with his characters given the macabre open to the title. Ramos effectively evokes high levels of emotion from his characters and his style compliments the writing of Jenkins in a positive manner. At times it feels quite vaudeville, but it works as I think there is no issue with the reader knowing who the villain is. The tension exists among the characters that Jenkins and Ramos have created. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Samantha Roehrig Jan 3, 2014

    I would give this issue a 3, because it was average. There were things that foreshadowed a copycat murder. And there were things that brought a much more riveting plot surrounding by a mysterious setting. The Vatican will always be this elusive place and perfect backdrop for some revelations. So stick with this mini-series, and I hope my doubts will soon fade with this artistic masterpiece. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Book Resources - Kelly Thompson Jan 3, 2014

    On the whole, the set up here for the mini-series is nice, and Ramos's unique visuals combined with Jenkins capable writing are more than enough to warrant a look. However, in this first issue at least, "Revelations" is missing some deeper layers or exceptional execution that might make it work more effectively in 2014 than in 2005. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...