Sombra #1

Sombra #1

Writer: Justin Jordan Artist: Raul Trevino Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: July 20, 2016 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 13 User Reviews: 4
7.5Critic Rating
8.0User Rating

+ Pull List

Justin Jordan (John Flood, Spread) tackles a provocative topic-the violent drug cartels of Mexico-partnering with artist Raúl Treviño, who lives in Mexico and is drawing on his first-hand experiences to inform the story.
A DEA agent, who disappeared in Mexico years ago, has resurfaced and is now out-brutalizing some of the cartels he was sent to investigate. His daughter has been tasked with stopping any means necessary.
Perfect for fans of Scalped, the novels Heart of Darkness and Savages, or the film Apocalypse Now.

  • 10
    Pop Culture Uncovered - Ray W Jul 21, 2016

    For a first issue, this was good and I enjoyed it. The writing is fine and gets you into the story. The art and colors make the issue look amazing. The are some violent scenes in the issue, but only pop up a few times. Also, Sombra #1 features a Spanish-language version of the issue. Read Full Review

  • 10
    All-Comic - Matthew Strackbein Jul 21, 2016

    If you havent noticed yet, this is a five-star review for the first issue of a limited series. Its a badass book. Comparisons could be made to other series in the genre such as Image'sThe Cross Bronx, or even Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips Criminal. Theres nothing here that you wouldnt see in those examples except Sombra manages to keep a level of true realism within the boundaries of what a comic book should be. It doesnt pay homage, capitalize on pulpy nostalgia or introduce any supernatural elements. There always seems to be a catch when a comic book sets out to do a dramatic crime story like this one, but Sombra comes across like a straightforward, yet highly entertaining, story. Grab this one. If you like anything about the subject of a female DEA agent in Mexico trying to solve the mystery of a legendary agent who also happens to be her father, then go to the comic shop and pick this book up. Youll be glad you did. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    ComicWow!TV - Bhavna Bakshi Jul 18, 2016

    I’m really excited for this series, not only because I love Jordan’s work, but because there are so many themes and ideas hidden within it. The creative team has done a beautiful job orchestrating such a dramatic and bold story for us. I can already tell this is going to be an amazing series, so make sure to go to your local comic shop this Wednesday and pick it up! Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Flickering Myth - Zeb Larson Jul 20, 2016

    And if the connections to Heart of Darkness/Apocalypse Now are a good thing for the most part, they are fairly literal in this first issue. On top of everything else, there's a pretty far out-there journalist named Esteban Tolva who's got shades of Dennis Hopper's character. None of this is inherently bad, but I want to attach a big caveat. Apocalypse Now falters because the content that wasn't straight out of Conrad wasn't nearly as compelling (Robert Duvall's character aside), but you also don't want to make a straight remake. This first issue of Sombra is a stage-setter, and I'm just hoping that it both makes a break with Heart of Darkness to say something new, and that it does so well. I'm optimistic for the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    We The Nerdy - Jean-Luc Botbyl Jul 21, 2016

    Regardless, I thinkSombrais a series to watch. This issue was quite good as an opening salvo, and I'm excited to see where it goes from here, especially when it comes to character relations. Sure, Jordan may be hitting theHeart of Darkness parallels a bit too hard by naming a major player Marlowe, but hey, it's a good story, and one that needs to be retold in different settings from time to time. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    AiPT! - David Brooke Jul 18, 2016

    A fine introduction that harbors an intriguing mystery and a compelling idea of the cartels fighting a war by a man who uses their tactics. Marlow is a strong character, and it'll be interesting to see where the creative team takes this next. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Plug - Mike Speakman Jul 19, 2016

    BOOM! Studios have been hitting it out of the park over the last few years with title after title of pure gold. Sombra is no exception. Sombra gives off a Kurt Sutter-esque feel and this series is for those readers who like titles that when the going gets tough, the series keeps on going. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Big Glasgow Comic Page - Morag Lee Jul 20, 2016

    The art receives a thumbs up, and there's a female-fronted female character who is female just for the hell of it. However, the story does leave a bit to be desired. Issue 2 will be worth a read but if Issue 2 doesn't fill I these plot holes then it's maybe a comic just to leave out (unless you live in America, in which case it might be worth reading). Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    The GCRN - Dan Clark Aug 24, 2016

    So far while Sombra isnot be a book that elevates the brutal crime genre it is at leastprovides some new ideas to make itstandout above an increasing crowded market. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    ComicList - Eric Bradach Jul 28, 2016

    I'm a sucker for crime thrillers, so when I came across this comic I had to pick it off the rack and give it a look. What I got was a genuinely grim and somber story with characters that feel authentic. Which makes it all the more disappointing when the artwork is a miss in the tone department. However Sombra is still off to a solid start and I'll definitely stick with it and see what the next three issues have in store. Read Full Review

  • 6.9
    Multiversity Comics - Stephenson Ardern-Sodje Jul 21, 2016

    Cool and confident, with a clever conceit at the core. A comic for readers not looking for any easy answers. Read Full Review

  • 4.0
    Comic Bastards - Allen Wiggs Jul 21, 2016

    This book is pretty skippable. Maybe later chapters it will have something to invest in but right now it is just this hallowed out crime book with glimpses of action and horror. I am not anticipating much, though. This is already one fourth of the story and there is not any connection. Read Full Review

  • 3.0
    Comics: The Gathering - Hctor A Jul 21, 2016

    It's unfair to judge the book by these standards but by choosing a real, very politicized setting Jordan invites this critique. Sombra #1 is not a smart book, and the fact that so much of it is comprised of really boneheaded dialogue drags the whole thing down. I would be interested in reading the rest of this mini-series and maybe some of my gripes with this issue would be resolved but based on this issue, I don't recommend this comic book at all. Read Full Review

  • 8.5
    Marvelrock Jul 21, 2016

    I think the art is average at best (though, title pages were great). The story, however, is off to a great start -- it's exciting and decently intriguing, with a sprinkle of gore/violence. The best thing about this issue, is probably the pacing -- it's great.

  • 9.0
    FT Metler Jul 22, 2016

  • 7.5
    Houdini Aug 17, 2016

  • 7.0
    DXO Aug 26, 2016

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...