The Rinse #1

The Rinse #1

Writer: Gary Phillips Artist: Marc Laming Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: August 31, 2011 Cover Price: $1.00 Critic Reviews: 6
8.2Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

SPECIAL $1 DEBUT ISSUE! Acclaimed crime novelist Gary Phillips (THE JOOK, VERTIGO’S ANGELTOWN and COWBOYS) returns to BOOM! with a new brand of crime! High finance and low-down greed rear their ugly heads as Jeff Sinclair, the premiere laundryman in San Francisco—and we’re not talkin’ wrinkled jeans and dirty gym socks—is unwillingly pulled into a dangerous gig laundering $25 million in stolen casino skim money. Forced to truly consider his line of work and the evil that he facilitates, Jeff must find a way to clean the cash and wash away his own sins. A grounded, gritty look at the world of money laundering in the vein of Elmore Leonard, THE RINSE is a modern crime classic in the making! For fans of Ed Brubaker and Sean Phillips’s CRIMINAL!

  • 9.0
    Eye On Comics - Don MacPherson Jul 25, 2011

    The most fascinating aspect of this comic book is Phillips' successful description of how dirty or hidden money is moved through channels to make it accessible and legit. At times, it feels like we're watching an episode of How It's Made about laundered money, only there's a lot more personality in the narration and descriptions. Phillips goes beyond the mob-movie cliches of money laundering and directs out attention to a wider yet more nuanced scope of the practice. It feels incredibly well-researched and genuine, and I'd be shocked to learn Phillips dreamed it all up as a pure fiction. The Rinse is as strong as such other Boom crime/intrigue comics as Talent, Potter's Field and The Foundation, and this first chapter is being offered at a price that most shouldn't pass up for even a middling comic. And this is no middling comic. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Comics Bulletin - Jamil Scalese Aug 30, 2011

    Thats where Jeff Sinclair comes in. Jeff is the best money rinse guy in the grand city of San Francisco. Everyone from mob bosses to small time crooks request his services for their own. Jeff is a slick, though levelheaded, guy who appears focused only on making as much money and the score of the baseball game. He lives in a fast, dangerous world that requires equal parts grit and ingenuity to stay one step ahead of the technology and people that make his job so difficult. Established creator Gary Phillips (Angeltown, Highrollers) does an excellent job of quickly establishing the setting and tone of Jeffs world and getting us into some of the juicer aspects of the plot. Admittedly, in this debut issue Jeff Sinclair is like a stone skipping along the service of the narrative pond. We only get the information we need to get the meat of the story, but for the purposes of drawing in the reader it was appropriate. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Major Spoilers - Stephen Schleicher Sep 1, 2011

    When all is said and done, anytime I can get a smart book that gives me story that doesn't involve a building being dropped on someone's head I'm more than interested. When BOOM! tells stories outside of the superhero genre, they generally do a good job, and they do a great job with titles in the thriller/spy genre. The Rinse is no exception. Though we don't know the character's full backstory, The Rinse has enough of a hook to bring me back for the next chapter. And when the book has a one dollar cover price, The Rinse is definitely worth picking up, earning 4 out of 5 Stars. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    ComicList - Brandon Borzelli Aug 29, 2011

    The Rinse is something to check out and not just because of the price. The comic book is a real page-turner and has me impatiently waiting for the second issue. Even if crime comic books aren't normally your thing, for a buck how can you go wrong? I can't imagine fans of the genre turning this one away. Either way I think you will like what you find. I definitely recommend this comic book. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    CHUD - Jeb Delia Sep 3, 2011

    At full price, this one would be recommended; I'm giving it an extra “star” for being a bargain. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    IGN - Erik Norris Aug 31, 2011

    But again, at only $1, The Rinse is worth checking out. So forget about that soda or bag of Cheetos with your name on it. Spend that dollar on The Rinse. Who knows, you might find yourself a new favorite series. Because trust me, as delicious as that bag of Cheetos seems, don't let it fool you, it's a fleeting feeling. But comics are for life. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...