The Unsound #1

The Unsound #1

Writer: Cullen Bunn Artist: Jack Cole Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: June 7, 2017 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 17 User Reviews: 7
7.7Critic Rating
7.6User Rating

+ Pull List

Ashli's first day as a nurse at Wiermont Psychiatric Hospital turns into a nightmare as a bloody riot sends her fleeing into the bowels of the hospital. Her descent takes her to a hellish world populated by lunatics and monsters, cloaked in a secret history of black magic and heinous scientific experiments.

  • 10
    Outright Geekery - Fabienne Payet Jun 14, 2017

    If you have read Regression by Cullen Bunn then you will NOT want to miss The Unsound. Heck, if you have not read Regression you still will not want to miss The Unsound, it's that good people! So do yourself a favor and go pick this up as soon as possible and be prepared to get creeped out in the best way possible! Read Full Review

  • 9.6
    Comicsverse - Ashley Wertz Jun 7, 2017

    THE UNSOUND #1 is enticingly steady-paced, giving the reader time to acclimate to this new world. With amazing illustrations by Jack T. Cole and Cullen Bunn's chilling narrative, THE UNSOUND is a must-read for horror fans. Read Full Review

  • 9.5
    GWW - Quickmood Jun 7, 2017

    I must admit I was itching to get my teeth into this new series, being a big horror fan anyway and reading the synopsis I immediately thought 'This is right up my street'. Like I said don't expect to be blown away by the art but that in no way means I didn't like it, it really fits. Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    ComicWow!TV - Huck Talwar Jun 6, 2017

    The creative team has done an amazing job on this premiere issue, and I can't wait to read more! This gorgeous issue comes out tomorrow, so don't forget to head out to your local comic shop and give it a read! Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    The Pop Break - Rachel Freeman Jun 7, 2017

    I was very impressed with this first issue. Horror generally isn't a genre I connect with BOOM! Studios, but this series may change that. If you like horror and supernatural, then you'll definitely like this book. Make sure you stop by your local comic store and get a copy! Read Full Review

  • 9.0
    Nerdophiles - Kylee Sills Jun 10, 2017

    The Unsound #1 takes a familiar concept and adds depth, sprawling unease, and paranoia in heaps " both to the main character and to readers. The creative team succeeds in this stunning debut, evoking that feeling you get when the hairs on the back of your neck stand up. For psychological horror fans, this one is not to be missed. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Graphic Policy - Brett Jun 7, 2017

    As I said, I'm not a fan of horror but Bunn has me really interested in seeing what happens next. This feels like the beginning of the spiral down to wherever we're going to be taken and what's been flashed so far is enough to get any horror fan excited. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    The GCRN - Dan Clark Jun 9, 2017

    It all starts with the proper pacing of this issue. Bunn gives us the gradual build that makes you forget you are reading a horror book at first. Bit by bit it is evident something is not quite right. That gradual pace is quickly escalated with the last few panels as we come face to face with how truly insane this medical institution. Bunn is like the pitcher who is just on a role. Locating his pitches exactly where he wants them so he has us expecting a curveball but instead, we get a fastball straight down the middle that leaves us standing still. Read Full Review

  • 7.5
    Outright Geekery - Matt Bentley Jun 7, 2017

    Overall, this was a solid first issue. The story may not be ground breaking, but Cullen Bunn has created a world that I want to explore. I want to walk the halls of the Saint Cascia Psychiatric Hospital with Ashli and see what we uncover next! The options are endless and I trust Bunn to take us for a ride. While I may not have enjoyed the art, it wasn't weak enough to take me out of the story. I'm definitely in for the next issue and I have high hopes for this series going forward. Read Full Review

  • 7.4
    Word Of The Nerd - Brent Jackson Jun 8, 2017

    Unsound #1 is a great introduction into this story and world. Bunn writes an effective start to this horror/supernatural thriller. Jack T. Cole settles the reader in with a very distinct "creepy" color palette and art style. If you are looking for a new horror comic than look no further than Unsound #1. The creators deliver a great start to a very unsettling story that will make you think twice before turning off the lights or going down into a dark basement alone! Read Full Review

  • 7.2
    IGN - Jeff Lake Jun 8, 2017

    Cullen Bunn knows his way around a horror tale. And yet, with The Unsound it feels like the writer simply can't wait to get to the good stuff, and as a result this first issue comes off somewhat rushed. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Outright Geekery - Tom Guilfoyle Jun 4, 2017

    Cullen has an interesting idea that works, however the art is of an acquired taste and will be the main factor of if you pick this issue up or not. I personally not a fan of the art does want to read the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    ComicBuzz - Sean M. Morse Jun 20, 2017

    While it's just the tip off the iceberg, this book has a beautiful art style and promises plenty of psychological horrors to keep you awake at night. Fans of "American Horror Story" or "Legion" will feel right at home in the halls of Saint Cascia. Some of the most interesting characters and aspects of the story are only introduced briefly, but give you plenty of reason to stick with this title. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Comic Bastards - Daniel Vlasaty Jun 7, 2017

    I did enjoy The Unsound, but this is only the first issues and it's mostly set-up. I think Cullen Bunn has a good premise here to work with. But it's definitely a wait-and-see kind of book. I can see going either way. I'll probably check out the next issue but I will go in not expecting much. If nothing else, what I'm going to take away from The Unsound is being reminded of a really weird time in my life when I got to meet and work with some really interesting patients. And I can't help but wonder what's happened to some of them since we closed our doors. Hmm" Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Horror Talk - James Ferguson Jun 8, 2017

    The Unsound is a brilliantly paced and unsettling horror comic.  It makes Arkham Asylum look like a day spa. The book delivers the kind of terror that gets under your skin.  You may want to sleep with the light on after reading it. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    AiPT! - Patrick Hellen Jun 7, 2017

    While the art does an admirable job of trying to carry a creepy story, the tale itself doesn't raise a goosebump. The bones are there, and maybe this can rise above the cliche haunted building and plucky final girl, but the jury is out. Read Full Review

  • 5.1
    Multiversity Comics - Ken Godberson III Jun 8, 2017

    The story is something you've seen in horror before and does little to effectively popout or play with or even provide a bit of camp ala "Nailbiter". It has some nice, if flawed, artwork, however that isn't enough to elevate it, especially considering the lack of depth or even hook the protagonist or the plot really gives. Read Full Review

Reviews for
the Week of...

August

2nd

July

June

More