Thomas Alsop #1

Thomas Alsop #1

Writer: Chris Miskiewicz Artist: Palle Schmidt Publisher: Boom! Studios Release Date: June 18, 2014 Cover Price: $3.99 Critic Reviews: 10
6.2Critic Rating
N/AUser Rating

WHY WE LOVE IT: Bringing readers great books from new talent has always been close to our hearts here at BOOM! Studios. Chris Miskiewicz and Palle Schmidt have created a warlock for these modern times, and we're delivering them to the best audience in comics!
WHY YOU'LL LOVE IT: Fans of John Constantine and Dr. Strange will love this new take on the magic-wielding hero who battles demons on the streets... and in his own mind.  Thomas has money and fame, but also the burden of a being this generation's occult warrior. Can he survive the battles both within and without?
WHAT IT'S ABOUT: Thomas Alsop is the current "Hand of the Island," a title handed down from generation to generation. He guards Manhattan from evil, using his family's prowess for magic. Being a thoroughly modern warlock, he deals with something even more evil than demons... reality television!  

  • 10
    Nerds On The Rocks - joecorallo Jun 19, 2014

    Palle Schmidt on the art really helps this story move along. I'm a fan of minimalist coloring and I think it works extraordinarily well in this story. The art itself has a nice blend of feeling somewhat minimalist, but also having a great deal of detail in the backgrounds. I was unfamiliar with Palle prior to this book, but the art really shines through here and is quickly making me a fan. I look forward to seeing where this story takes us. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Spectrum - Adam Alamo Jun 21, 2014

    So who is Thomas Alsop? I don't think we fully get the answer to that with this very first issue. As the story unfolds, I suspect he will be more than the sum of the parts presented. I think the real winner here is the story, which ties Thomas's past and present together in a way that's interesting and compelling. And it definitely compels me to read the next issue. Read Full Review

  • 8.0
    Comic Bastards - Dustin Cabeal Jun 21, 2014

    I was surprised by this issue. I didn't know what to expect, but the concept quickly won me over and the rest managed to build past my initial interest. For a first issue it stumbles some, but overall it introduces the reader to the world that isn't forced or annoying and leaves the reader wanting more. I have a feeling this first issue only skims the surface of the story and that the next issue will dive in deeper. I'll be back to find out and hopefully you will be too. Read Full Review

  • 7.0
    Comic Book City Podcast - Fetch Dec 31, 1969

    Speaking of story, although this is not the most original premise in the history of comics, the creative team execute it really well. Miskiewicz especially has a great feel for pacing and character development. I feel I know the characters in this comic, which make me feel comfortable and invested in them. I want to know their story and although I think I know how the story it ends, I don't care. I want to see the journey. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    All-Comic - Kyle Welch Jun 17, 2014

    The Thomas half of the story feels familiar and not all that interesting. Richard carries the book both in terms of meaningful plot and real interest. The large amount of exposition and back story might turn some readers off. However, buried in this first issue is Richard, an interesting and compelling character, as well as a mystery spanning decades that could drive this story into really interesting places. Issue one may stumble out of the gate but its art, the character of Richard, and final few pages help get Thomas Alsop back in the race. Read Full Review

  • 6.0
    Florida Geek Scene - Peter Schmeiser Jun 18, 2014

    Im not a big reader of John Constantine, but the various shout outs and similarities are appreciated in this book, as well as the differences. Its easier for American audiences to get behind a Yank that is more modern and his cause is more local. The ease of adoption makes it a fun read for newer readers, but readers who have been reading Constantine for a while might find it to be a more generic knock off of what they love. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comics: The Gathering - F.D. White Jun 18, 2014

    So “What is Thomas Alsop?” to be honest I’m not sure. It’s part knock-off Hellblazer, part supernatural Scarlet Letter. I don’t think the story has found its footing just yet, but it definitely has the potential to turn itself around. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Comic Book Resources - Marykate Jasper Jun 23, 2014

    All told, "Thomas Alsop" could develop into an interesting series if it tones down Thomas' character and brings out its intriguing mythology more and more. Read Full Review

  • 5.0
    Major Spoilers - Chris Wilson Jun 24, 2014

    Thomas Alsop #1 has enough good ideas that it could turn out to be a really good mini-series. The look at a family curse through the past and present and the idea that Manhattan is a place for the supernatural are all nice. Unfortunately, Miskiewicz leaves so much of Thomass powers and position vague that its unclear just what it is were reading. Palle Schmidts coloring is great even if the art is a tad uneven. Ill read the next issue purely out of curiosity to see if things are cleared up more but I cant recommend it as a purchase. Read Full Review

  • 2.0
    Comics Bulletin - Joe Tower Jun 24, 2014

    For any of us who are dudes that would have been coming-of-age as antiheroes began standing in for real heroes" who all popped collective male envy boners as bad guys started getting dealt good guy problems "there was a time when Thomas Alsop would've seemed pretty cool too. But now we're older. Smarter. Stronger. Now is NOT that time. Read Full Review

Be the first to rate this issue!

Click the 'Rate/Write A Review' link above to get started.

Recommended For You

Reviews for
the Week of...